List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 4

It's a shame we won't get the chance to watch Vic Metro flog the pants off WA.
Thats what usually happens MOST years but not every year. Yeah it is a shame more for the kids themselves than anyone else.

And leave Georgiades for Port after drafting two Victorians.

To be fair, Serong and Young are great talents, but that's back to back drafts Freo ignored generational home grown key forwards in favour of four Victorian small to medium mids/flankers.

And Claw, I'd say with Williams, WA probably has three of the top 4-5 key forward prospects (Darcy, Andrew) but none of them at the level of recent draftees like Naughton, Georgiades, the Kings, Balta, Ugle-Hagan or McDonald.
Dont worry there were plenty of people over here who were scratching their heads over Naughton and Georgiades and rueing McDonald. Georgiades was one i really wanted us to go hard at he would compliment Jack and Tom perfectly and would take over from JR in time. Reckon with Georgiades and say Van Rooyen we would not have any long term key fwd problems.Alas atm we don't have either and shows imo just how much work we need to do in this area with just a 33 yo and a 29yo on the list.

Ladhams is a very high possession ruckman who is normally one grab, good on the ground, fast reactions and good disposal skills. He is listed as 95kgs which is light for a 202cm player. This probably gives a clue as to why he isn’t the best tap ruckman, also not a brutal pack crasher, so those look to be his downsides.

I would say if anything he is as co-ordinated and skilful as say Nankervis, if not moreso. Just nowhere near as assertive in contests. So he is probably a very talented player but a bit of a square peg type.

Good assessment mate. :thumbsu:

Like a lot of 'tweener ruck/fwds, he mixes really good games with largely anonymous ones and has ended up starved of opportunities because of both that and Port's strong tall stocks (not dissimilar with Marbs and CCJ). I reckon they underrate him a bit, but they've got Hayes coming through who looks a more promising 1st ruck option that needs opportunities, Lycett with a few years left and no shortage of key forwards.

He's steadily improved his consistency year to year and as you say, there's some real talent there and he's the exact opposite of a lumbering dinosaur, low skill variety of ruck. No idea on his attitude, on-field seems OK.

Probably doesn't really suit us for anything but depth, but I'd be surprised if he doesn't play a lot more games *somewhere*.

I personally don't think we are contending unless they get games into the young players quickly and I think that like CCJ there is every chance Miller will leave which sort of negates the ideas of Tarrant coming in. Miller will be 23 next year, surely he doesn't need his hand held any longer especially when grimes, Broad, Short, Vlastuin are even Balta are lining up next to you.

Lack of faith in our young players last year I thought was our biggest mistake, last game of the season without any leaders we flew home and played footy like we hadn't all season, well like our young players hadn't. No co-incidence I reckon.
I think Miller is more likely to be delisted than wish to leave.

Baker is too little too play full time mid
Baker for me is tracking like a young Sam Mitchell. Brilliantly two sided and superb vision. He has enough talent to rule around the centre and stoppages if he trained with the mids full time for a couple of seasons. He could be a weapon. The time is now.

it’s not his strength. He’s a modern day outside utility. Bit of back, midfield/wing and forward

indispensable to us in that role. But let’s throw him in as an inside mid and see him bashed
Cant agree with that...the kid is hard as nails.

People are giving age profiles and averages way too much air time coz they're getting sucked into the Geelong narrative driven by the media.

Geelong coughed up 3 first rounders for Cameron, insane and ludicrous to do stuff like that. If we do that we should be rightfully pissed but can't see us doing something so dumb.
Not what i would have done but they did get back two second rounders. Just shows you can be lucky with F/A Lynch or your not lucky and pay thru the nose Cameron.

When people say they traded out of the draft thats true but the year before they recieved 14, 24 a 2020 first rounder and pick 33 for Tim Kelly.if you take it over the two years they basically traded Kelly for Cameron with a few later picks shuffled about.

Just a bit of perspective on it all.

Not that easy getting a gig in the best backline in the league over the last few years, Rance, Grimes, Broad, Astbury, Balta, Vlastuin..... stuff all VFL and injury.
Kingy saying today that Melbourne’s defence is the best seen for a while.

They haven’t won anything yet!

Dimma should be posting that statement in the rooms for all to see, every game.

I said after the 2017 flag that I didn’t know if we would win more premierships but I knew we would remain a strong challenger because of the defensive unit we had.

Short memories and buying into the hype and romanticism.

And leave Georgiades for Port after drafting two Victorians.

To be fair, Serong and Young are great talents, but that's back to back drafts Freo ignored generational home grown key forwards in favour of four Victorian small to medium mids/flankers.

And Claw, I'd say with Williams, WA probably has three of the top 4-5 key forward prospects (Darcy, Andrew) but none of them at the level of recent draftees like Naughton, Georgiades, the Kings, Balta, Ugle-Hagan or McDonald.
Naughton was drafted as a defender. If Tom Boyd never retired he'd prob still be a defender.

Richmond might be able to use 6 selections, to use 8 would need to see some drastic trading/delisting
  • Houli
  • Naish
  • Coleman-Jones
  • Chol
  • Garthwaite
  • Eggmolesse-Smith (R)
Possibles
  • Caddy
  • Parker (R)
  • Pickett (R)
I have omitted Astbury as it is a straight swap with Tarrant.
That is only 5 spots, as delisting Egg wouldn't free up a spot. We have an extra rookie after picking up Parker in the MSD

Yeah, and how many were brought in as top ups?
What has that got to do things when comparing list ages? People saying they have 15 over the 30s I say we are not far behind on 11 and if ash houli didn't retire we would have 13!
People are also saying we brought in Tarrant because we have another tilt so why are Geelong any different?

Kingy saying today that Melbourne’s defence is the best seen for a while.

They haven’t won anything yet!

Dimma should be posting that statement in the rooms for all to see, every game.

I said after the 2017 flag that I didn’t know if we would win more premierships but I knew we would remain a strong challenger because of the defensive unit we had.

Short memories and buying into the hype and romanticism.
Our game in 17 changed to all-out defence meaning all over the ground as a result our defenders didn't have any extra bourdons to carry. Yes, we had great players made better by the game style. Last 2 seasons as we got older that game style was there but not as effective hence putting the extra pressure back on
Injuries this season played a big part also but as the list develops that style won't hold up we need to invent one that suits the list.

I know Harmesy personally and he is a fantastic bloke .
Isn’t he the dees player that has befriended the Down syndrome dees supporter?
Seems like a bloody legend to me

I’d love to see the AFL bring in a mid-season trade deadline. From the start of the pre-season game through until round 6. This allows teams who get struck down with early injuries to trade for player who have gone down. For us in recent years, Rance went down in rd1, Soldo injured a week or 2 before the start of the season.

And what gets other clubs players that cant gets a game? No club would trade a decent player that early in a season. Besides that is why we have reserves as in the VFL.

Thats what usually happens MOST years but not every year. Yeah it is a shame more for the kids themselves than anyone else.

Dont worry there were plenty of people over here who were scratching their heads over Naughton and Georgiades and rueing McDonald. Georgiades was one i really wanted us to go hard at he would compliment Jack and Tom perfectly and would take over from JR in time. Reckon with Georgiades and say Van Rooyen we would not have any long term key fwd problems.Alas atm we don't have either and shows imo just how much work we need to do in this area with just a 33 yo and a 29yo on the list.
I too was keen on Georgiades but he was gone before our 1st pick, he went at 18 and we took Dow at 21.

The Tackle: Jon Ralph’s Pre-2021 grand final likes and dislikes
Ralphy has had plenty of time to work on his Tackle this week, given that the grand final is still nearly a week away.

2. Tigers strike

What a smart bit of business by Richmond to nab North Melbourne’s Robbie Tarrant as a stopgap to play alongside Dylan Grimes and Noah Balta while the likes of Ben Miller take time to develop as key backs.
Is he washed up at 32?
Not on his return from the removal of a lump on his kidney that saw him play the final 10 games of the year.
On his return Matt Flynn and Jeremy Finlayson each kicked a pair of goals on him and in Round 18 Cale Hooker and Peter Wright kicked three in total.
But in the back half of the year he kept Joe Daniher goalless, Josh Bruce to two goals, Jack Riewoldt to one, Riley Thilthorpe to one goal and kept Esava Ratugolea goalless.
Tarrant is basically a David Astbury clone — dependable, versatile and low profile, with his absence only truly noticed by the vacuum left when he is not out on the park

The point is, did anyone think Geelong had made a mistake getting Cameron and Smith when 44-points up and flag favourites 20-minutes into the third quarter of Round 23? Of course not …. It looked like brilliant trading as had them up to their necks for a flag…. Then it went pear shaped. And in hindsight it looks like poor trading as has sacrificed their future.

If we are 44-points up in Round 23 and about to finish on top and Tarrant is holding down CHB, you tell me, success or failure?

Cameron is not old. But I reckon he has never lived up to what I thought he was going to be early on. So I think they paid overs but that is a different argument. Smith still a good footballer because he is still quick. But he and Higgins took the spot of developing players, that is why they were let go in the first place, not because they were no good. Two years ago I thought Jordan Clarke sat right behind Stack in talent in his draft, a gun in his first year. Now he wants out because he can't get a game at Geelong.

Tarrant of course can hold down a spot, providing he stays fit, he has been a great footballer. But will Richmond press for a Premiership next year, need everything to go right. Meantime will Miller stay. If not Garth stays which is not ideal. Got a good feeling about Nyuon, so who knows. Fast tracking young players is in my opinion our best shot at success, even as early as next year. Most other clubs have no problem doing it.

28. Roughead.
29. Lewis.
31. Hodge. Hale. Gibson.
32. Mitchell. Burgoyne.
33. Harris.

Hawks won their last flag with an old team.

Geelong made the gf and prelim last two season they are not terrible

View attachment 1241246
It happens, but on the other side they had Buddy and Cyril in their prime and a few others so that is top tier talent.

I too was keen on Georgiades but he was gone before our 1st pick, he went at 18 and we took Dow at 21.
Yes, same for me also. Was outstanding in his under 17 year. Didn't get to play at all in his draft year.
The Bears traded one of the Beams picks to Port for their 2020 1st rounder, which Port used on Georgiades. Pies missing out on another key forward