List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 4

Yes, same for me also. Was outstanding in his under 17 year. Didn't get to play at all in his draft year.
The Bears traded one of the Beams picks to Port for their 2020 1st rounder, which Port used on Georgiades. Pies missing out on another key forward
Pies wanted Georgiades too

Kingy saying today that Melbourne’s defence is the best seen for a while.

They haven’t won anything yet!

Dimma should be posting that statement in the rooms for all to see, every game.

I said after the 2017 flag that I didn’t know if we would win more premierships but I knew we would remain a strong challenger because of the defensive unit we had.

Short memories and buying into the hype and romanticism.
Melb have been talked up on so many fronts , they better win it or there won’t be enough egg to go around

Cameron is not old. But I reckon he has never lived up to what I thought he was going to be early on. So I think they paid overs but that is a different argument. Smith still a good footballer because he is still quick. But he and Higgins took the spot of developing players, that is why they were let go in the first place, not because they were no good. Two years ago I thought Jordan Clarke sat right behind Stack in talent in his draft, a gun in his first year. Now he wants out because he can't get a game at Geelong.

Tarrant of course can hold down a spot, providing he stays fit, he has been a great footballer. But will Richmond press for a Premiership next year, need everything to go right. Meantime will Miller stay. If not Garth stays which is not ideal. Got a good feeling about Nyuon, so who knows. Fast tracking young players is in my opinion our best shot at success, even as early as next year. Most other clubs have no problem doing it.
Miller and Biggy need to be signed , first objective is to contend , and I think with a healthy list we can legit hope to play finals , who knows from there

it’s not his strength. He’s a modern day outside utility. Bit of back, midfield/wing and forward

indispensable to us in that role. But let’s throw him in as an inside mid and see him bashed
Rubbish.
He actually throws himself into the contest.
And his size(lack of)makes it much easier to (a) swoop on the ball(b)attract a head high tackle.

Lol Grrr we are only better off going with Miller Nyuon and Brander if they are up to it. Cmon in all honesty how can you say with any sort of confidence that they are good enough.

At least with Tarrant we know he can play well at the level.

IMO assume the worst and that is neither Miller or Nyuon will make it and my god there is a strong case for this, then taking Tarrant is a no brainer what should also happen is we target with one of our better picks say 26 or 28 a very good kpd in the nd.
At the moment we have 7, 15, 26, 28 probably 38 ccj, possibly 39 Chol, 40 and 44 Fmd if we use em all that really is loading up for the future while covering a huge list weakness in the short term with a proven player thru F/A.

iM NOT SURE WHAT YOUR SO UPSET ABOUT.

As another poster said if Astbury did not retire no one would be complaining. No one would be talking about selling the future or such nonsense. so in effect its out Astbury and in with a similar aged better Tarrant just imagine Tarrants name is Astbury.
I'm not that upset I just think it is very short term thinking due to the fact that he is 33 and it's risky given Miller might look elsewhere, why wouldn't he. I'm putting myself in Millers shoes. So we are left with Biggy and Garth? perhaps. Draft picks are irrelevant this season because we will not be playing a skinny 18-19 year old at full back.

Would have been happy for them to go to the state league, you have said so for year on BF to do that, as backup, or try and recruit a youngish back as backup.

Of course Tarrant will make us better in the short run, but only if we challenge for a premiership this year, and to do that would require no injuries, young players to be given a good crack, and old players to reinvent themselves. I can't see all three of those things happening, given how poor we were in the last half of the year, and how loyal Dimma is to his old player, Castagna just signed on for 2 more years. Just looking at how Melbourne and the Dogs dismantled the 2 and 3rd best sides in the league, both with old midfields in particular, we have a bit of rapid development needed.

The Tackle: Jon Ralph’s Pre-2021 grand final likes and dislikes
Ralphy has had plenty of time to work on his Tackle this week, given that the grand final is still nearly a week away.

2. Tigers strike

What a smart bit of business by Richmond to nab North Melbourne’s Robbie Tarrant as a stopgap to play alongside Dylan Grimes and Noah Balta while the likes of Ben Miller take time to develop as key backs.
Is he washed up at 32?
Not on his return from the removal of a lump on his kidney that saw him play the final 10 games of the year.
On his return Matt Flynn and Jeremy Finlayson each kicked a pair of goals on him and in Round 18 Cale Hooker and Peter Wright kicked three in total.
But in the back half of the year he kept Joe Daniher goalless, Josh Bruce to two goals, Jack Riewoldt to one, Riley Thilthorpe to one goal and kept Esava Ratugolea goalless.
Tarrant is basically a David Astbury clone — dependable, versatile and low profile, with his absence only truly noticed by the vacuum left when he is not out on the park
Miss finals and we're liked again.

View attachment 1241454

Richmond coach Damien Hardwick believes outgoing Tiger Mabior Chol “probably needs a change” but says Callum Coleman-Jones’ recent trade request was “disappointing”.

Hardwick on Monday night spoke about the recent trade developments involving the tall Tigers duo, as well as the likely acquisition of North Melbourne free agent Robbie Tarrant and the impact he could have at the club.

The Tigers are set to be one of the most active clubs during the off-season, with an already-stacked draft hand set to increase due to the impending departures of Chol and Coleman-Jones.

As reported by foxfooty.com.au last week, Chol has chosen to exercise his free agency rights, with the versatile forward-ruck to join the Gold Coast Suns on a four-year deal.

Speaking on Fox Footy’s AFL 360, Hardwick said it was tough to face the prospect of losing Chol, but suggested it might be the best move for him.
“Mabs has been a friend of ours, my family, and started his journey six years ago. But he’s got a fantastic opportunity, four years up at Gold Coast – and I think he’s only scratching the surface of what he could become,” Hardwick told AFL 360.

Mabior Chol is set to join the Gold Coast Suns. Picture: Jake Nowakowski
Mabior Chol is set to join the Gold Coast Suns. Picture: Jake NowakowskiSource: News Corp Australia

“He’s looking forward to the change and I think, in fairness, he probably needs a change as well. But he can be a talent, that lad.”

Multiple reports last week indicated Coleman-Jones, 22, was set to request a trade to North Melbourne.

Hardwick said there was still a bit to play out in Coleman-Jones’ situation, even declaring the out-of-contract Tiger was a “required player”.
“We haven’t actually worked our way through this, but for us he’s a required player. He’s requested a trade to the Kangas, which is disappointing.

Hardwick then cheekily added: “We look forward to receiving Pick 1 coming back our way.”

Chol, 24, has played 31 games for Richmond since being selected as a rookie in late 2015, while Coleman-Jones has managed just nine matches after being taken with Pick 20 in the 2017 national draft.

“It is hard because we’ve been together on a journey,” Hardwick said.
“They just want to play. I can sit there and say ‘listen I can try and try and try’, but the reality is they want to play, every kid – and that’s the challenge (for us) being at the top for a little period of time. We’ve got some players that are capable of playing some regular AFL footy and they just don’t quite get the chance.”

Callum Coleman-Jones wants to join North Melbourne. Picture: Brendon Thorne
Callum Coleman-Jones wants to join North Melbourne. Picture: Brendon ThorneSource: Getty Images

While the Tigers are set to lose the young duo, they’re preparing to welcome gun veteran defender Tarrant, who last week notified North Melbourne officials of his intention to join Richmond as an unrestricted free agent.

Tarrant looms as an ideal replacement for triple premiership defender David Astbury, who retired last month.
“That period is yet to open, the free agency window. But obviously with Dave retiring, we felt we had a need for a bigger body-type defender,” Hardwick said.

“I think that will allow Dylan Grimes and Noah Balta to be a little bit freer down there. Dylan’s done an incredible job ever since the retirement of Alex (Rance) maintaining that back six, but he’s really capable of playing some really damaging footy for us as well getting a little bit higher up the ground.

“I’m really excited by bringing in Robbie that will allow us to explore the avenue of others as well. I think our forwards are pretty keen to get Robbie out of North Melbourne too because he does a hell of a job.

“He’s 32, but he’s missed a lot of footy at the start of this year and we think he’s got some really good footy in front of him.”

excellent by Dimma…

* sorry to lose Cholly but fully supportive
* pissed of with CJ…agree 100%…interestingly it ain’t a done deal going off Dimmas comments …let’s see what transpires
* over the moon that RT wants to come to a real club…despite being 32 …his body is not broken….and allows us to mix it up a bit…bring it

excellent by Dimma…

* sorry to lose Cholly but fully supportive
* pissed of with CJ…agree 100%…interestingly it ain’t a done deal going off Dimmas comments …let’s see what transpires
* over the moon that RT wants to come to a real club…despite being 32 …his body is not broken….and allows us to mix it up a bit…bring it

So Dimma telling us CCJ ain't gone yet....

Thats what usually happens MOST years but not every year. Yeah it is a shame more for the kids themselves than anyone else.

Dont worry there were plenty of people over here who were scratching their heads over Naughton and Georgiades and rueing McDonald. Georgiades was one i really wanted us to go hard at he would compliment Jack and Tom perfectly and would take over from JR in time. Reckon with Georgiades and say Van Rooyen we would not have any long term key fwd problems.Alas atm we don't have either and shows imo just how much work we need to do in this area with just a 33 yo and a 29yo on the list.
It would have happened this year.

We couldn't get Georgiades without trading up. Given our WA scout is apparently a bit of a gun, either we tried to trade up and no one was having it, or his judgement ain't worth his rep.

I'm just not sure on JVR. He can't jump.

Baker for me is tracking like a young Sam Mitchell. Brilliantly two sided and superb vision. He has enough talent to rule around the centre and stoppages if he trained with the mids full time for a couple of seasons. He could be a weapon. The time is now.
I love Bakes but Mitchell was another level. Not only a better kick but much better by hand. And he had 10-15kg on Bakes which meant he could shrug tackles in tight. Bakes needs to be on the move or he'll get hammered.

Naughton was drafted as a defender. If Tom Boyd never retired he'd prob still be a defender.
Naughton was drafted as a footballer. He played back for WA but forward for his club.

he is. But he’s not a Trent Cotchin type and we shouldn’t expect him to be
There are no Trent Cotchin types. There's Trent Cotchin and a broken mould.

Here is our current midfield group:

Prestia 175cm 82kg
Martin 187cm 91kg
Cotchin 185cm 86kg
Edwards 182cm 78kg
Lambert 178cm 77kg
Bolton 175cm 77kg
McIntosh 191cm 92kg
Graham 181cm 83kg
Pickett 184cm 80kg

I've seen people suggesting that we add Baker into the mix to fix our issues. Baker is 173cm & 72kg.

Now compare that to the 2 midfields lining up on Saturday.

Dogs
Treloar 184cm 89kg
Bontempelli 193cm 93kg
Dunkley 191cm 91kg
Smith 185cm 86kg
Hunter 182cm 81kg
Macrae 192cm 88kg
Liberatore 184cm 85kg

Demons
Harmes 185cm 85kg
Petracca 186cm 97kg
Viney 178cm 86kg
Brayshaw 187cm 91kg
Oliver 187cm 88kg
Langdon 182cm 76kg
Jordan 187cm 82kg

The difference in the make up between the 3 groups stands out like dogs balls. Both the Dogs and Demons have midfielders that are big solidly built units, whereas the majority of our are undersized.

However we have the players on our list already that can change up our mix moving forward. For mine it's imperative that we get these 4 into the line up more often from the start of next season to change up our mix.

Ross 187cm 85kg
RCD 191cm 90kg
Dow 183cm 77kg
Martyn 186cm 82kg

As I believe they hold the key to how our midfield will go from 2022 onwards, hopefully we add another 2 similarly sized midfielder to the list in the draft as well, which will hold us in good stead.

What has that got to do things when comparing list ages? People saying they have 15 over the 30s I say we are not far behind on 11 and if ash houli didn't retire we would have 13!
People are also saying we brought in Tarrant because we have another tilt so why are Geelong any different?
And Richmond has 3 flags to many more 30 year olds Geelong no flags, doughnuts,bombed out every year pussys.
Tigers 4 picks in top 28,Geelong doughnuts, none ,not one.

Liam McBean or Jon Patton.

Who would you choose?

Maybe, at least we have Garthwaite and Biggy as backup....

I hope I'm right in reading that as sarcasm.

Garth is a battler and good on him but he's way off AFL standard. Thanks for your effort mate but the AFL is a cruel world.