List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 6

Why would you accept a deal that's take you twice as long too get the same amount of money in 2.
What am I missing?
Change of environment, maybe a change of role at the new club to a position they are more comfortable with playing.
There could be a multitude of reasons.

I don’t think you can break the afl player contract why was everyone saying they have to take on the 800000 salary per year you can’t change a players contract in the middle of it if that was the case every team would be doing it just saying for example hey dusty you ain’t worth 1.4 mill this next 2 years can we pay you the 2.8 over 4 years it can’t be done
Of course you can renegotiate. Don't be ridiculous. It happens all the time and is completely legal. What we're talking about even has a name - it's a "blend and extend".

It can be done if the player agrees.
Players have renegotiated mid contract previously.
Geelong have to take on the value of the contract, but they can spread it over a longer duration if the player agrees.
Well bowes is qld player why wouldn’t gc offer the same contract and spreading it out over 4 years a contract is a contract particularly with a player you cannot renegotiate to even fit in other players in your cap otherwise heaps of teams would be doing it and why would bowed accept 1.6 over 4 years and not get a game compared to 2 years and get the same money

So like someone else said, maybe they up it a little bit and make it worth his while, enough to garner his interest but not enough to piss his future team mates off. Believe it or not, some people just want to play for a decent team that plays finals consistently.

Sure Scott would of told him he’s the best player he’s ever coached against too.

Everyone jumping at shadows in here.
There's still a week left of the trade period, I guarantee you that the Hopper trade will get done.

I strongly suggest to a lot of you, not to work in a field where negotiation is a key aspect of your role.
Why would you accept a deal that's take you twice as long too get the same amount of money in 2.
What am I missing?
You wouldn't, it's effectively giving up two years of salary. The only reason you'd do it is if you were getting a contract extension and therefore getting paid more total, even then you have to weigh up the loss of potential upside through the chance of increasing your value in the short term

Change of environment, maybe a change of role at the new club to a position they are more comfortable with playing.
There could be a multitude of reasons.
No player is halving what he's owed just for a better role at a new club.

Only way a player is agreeing to spread out what he's owed over double the time period is if the club offers more $ on top. Looks like that's what happened with Bowes, 1.7M + 700k on top spread over 4.

I cant believe gws and gold campaigners still exist if it was any other sports league instead of the stubborn corrupt afl boys club they wouldve been taken out the back and shot years ago without a thought

Well bowes is qld player why wouldn’t gc offer the same contract and spreading it out over 4 years a contract is a contract particularly with a player you cannot renegotiate to even fit in other players in your cap otherwise heaps of teams would be doing it and why would bowed accept 1.6 over 4 years and not get a game compared to 2 years and get the same money
??? Because they don't need him...

Jeez you blokes never seem to learn - there's no "n" in his name.

It's Bolto

Geelong is the best club he can land at. Takes up any form of gun free agent money they might've had until 2025, lobs them with another serious list-clogger, and anyone they get at Pick #7 won't necessarily be a starting 1st XXII next year if they happen to be still in the window.

The next 2-3 years will see them lose a dozen or so of their top line players - Selwood, Danger, Hawkins, Tuohy, Smith, Cameron, Stanley, Bews, CGuthrie, Duncan, Rohan, Menegola plus Higgins and Dahlhaus. By the time Pick 7 matures at Geelong, the window is shut - their bottom half of the senior team, despite what the media tell you after their flag, is not great.

I'd probably rather Pick 7 2022 go to a team not seriously contending 2025-2028.
Or...or...or the scats can trade that pick 7 for more plus 30yo players!

I reckon it’s Bowes / Geelong holding the Hopper deal up.

GWS need to know what they are getting for Bruhn so they can then decide what to send to Melbourne for Bedford.

If it’s 38 GWS get for Bruhn then Melbourne may want more than that and pick 31 this year is the best GWS is willing to part with. Bedford and future 1st for Hopper is fairly reasonable.

GWS have indicated they want a first-rounder off the cats. Geelong has pick 18. Also, pies want a first-rounder, guessing a future first for henry
Tanner Bruhn - DRAFT pick 12,2020 National Draft

No player is halving what he's owed just for a better role at a new club.

Only way a player is agreeing to spread out what he's owed over double the time period is if the club offers more $ on top. Looks like that's what happened with Bowes, 1.7M + 700k on top spread over 4.
Yeah he is likely getting more on top but it wouldn't be much more.

Theres zero chance he would agree to spread the same money but over 4 years

They would renegotiate to add years and $ but smooth it out over the extra years

Because he's not a very good player.

He honestly makes Anthony Miles look like Usain Bolt. That's why he played a spare half back, he's too slow to play midfield.

He's been in the system for 6 years and done SFA.

I'm sure the Cats will find a role for him and he'll look better but people are acting like he's a gun lol.

Because he's not a very good player.

He honestly makes Anthony Miles look like Usain Bolt. That's why he played a spare half back, he's too slow to play midfield.

He's been in the system for 6 years and done SFA.

I'm sure the Cats will find a role for him and he'll look better but people are acting like he's a gun lol.
so scats have zero interest in the player he cant break into the gold campaigners best 22 , they just want pick 7 lol sounds like cheating to me

flog radio trying to get hopper to the aints cos apparently we cant do the deal 😂
St.Kilda give out a free noose in their membership pack these days they are that ****en insignificant

Theres zero chance he would agree to spread the same money but over 4 years

They would renegotiate to add years and $ but smooth it out over the extra years
This. Lol at people thinking the first one 🤣🤣

so scats have zero interest in the player he cant break into the gold campaigners best 22 , they just want pick 7 lol sounds like cheating to me
They still lose the list spot and salary space

They are essentially trading in an overpriced list clogger, all for pick 7 that may not even turn out to be a good player

They are taking on a fair amount of risk