I think the Leadership and off field capability is what I really don't want to lose from Baker. Captaincy should be on the table because he plays that style that you would just want to get behind.Baker has chosen a great time to be having a career best season. Career high disposals, goals, clearances, tackles…. the 2 x seasons prior to this he has been a 19 x disposals, half a goal a game player. Eg. Shiel, Ward, Simpkin, Jarrod Berry.
I don’t want to lose him, but rest assured we will get massive overs in a trade for a 173cm ‘utility’. He’s 27yo start of 2025, so it’ll hurt the short term on-field but can really help get the absolute elite talent we need.
Based on his current year and the contract offer he’ll get, I think we can get a top-10 pick plus a little extra. Freo will see him as a crucial piece of a Premiership puzzle and will pay overs.
Can’t possibly see Eagles trading high draft capital and offering a big contract for a 27yo 173cm utility. Would be crazy list management move for Eagles. Eagles need to hit the draft or bring in nobody over 23yo… anything else would be crazy given they need elite youth.
And another 3 picks in first roundGunna be the quickest list rebuild in history.
1st round Richmond Top 4 pick
1st round Gold Coast pick for Rioli
1st round Freo pick for Baker
1st round Brisbane pick swaps for Ashcroft
1st round Carlton pick swaps for Camporeale kid
Yeah but not all of the older guys will leave this year. I reckon Rioli stays for sure, Pickett probably gets another year, as does Prestia, Dusty 50/50. Plus by the end of next season Koschitzke, Mansell, MRJ and Miller will likely have played 50 games too. The players just on that list is the core of a very good side still.This is who would be left in term of experience 50+ games, should we lose those players:
Lynch
Broad
Vlastuin
Nankervis
Short
Hopper
Taranto
Graham(?)
Bolton
Balta
Ross
That's not a heap of quality and a few injuries would quickly see us fielding a team like Sunday again. That is why I believe we need to find a balance between getting picks and ready made replacements.
I absolutely agree with you. Free agency ONLY for 26yo and above, otherwise 23yo or younger for us. Some are taking the view that we just need talent regardless of age but I think that list strategy ignoring age profile would be absolutely nuts.Can’t possibly see Eagles trading high draft capital and offering a big contract for a 27yo 173cm utility. Would be crazy list management move for Eagles. Eagles need to hit the draft or bring in nobody over 23yo… anything else would be crazy given they need elite youth.
Top 10 pick plus more for Bakes? You’re dreaming Mate. Be lucky to get a mid to late first rounder for him. And I love him as a playerBaker has chosen a great time to be having a career best season. Career high disposals, goals, clearances, tackles…. the 2 x seasons prior to this he has been a 19 x disposals, half a goal a game player. Eg. Shiel, Ward, Simpkin, Jarrod Berry.
I don’t want to lose him, but rest assured we will get massive overs in a trade for a 173cm ‘utility’. He’s 27yo start of 2025, so it’ll hurt the short term on-field but can really help get the absolute elite talent we need.
Based on his current year and the contract offer he’ll get, I think we can get a top-10 pick plus a little extra. Freo will see him as a crucial piece of a Premiership puzzle and will pay overs.
He won’t go down that pathWould be a dog act if Baker agrees to that without Tiges getting anything in return... can't see it happening myself but you never know
Reckon Baker might’ve got an offer too good to refuse,(5-6 years, $1million a year) I’m becoming more and more resigned to the fact this may be his final year at the tigers
Prefer it if it was Neil from Richmond.Callet on SEN…John from Mill Park reckons Blair will ensure we get good draft picks coming back to us big time
I know one, just off Betula.There are no john's in mill park
I highly doubt it. He's hardly had an injury until recent times. And he's contracted for another year....and the S&C dept will be cleaned out shortly you'd think.Ok folks have a bit of info albeit a week old now and things may have changed for obvious reasons.
I hear strong word Judson Clarke looking to exit RFC. It is mooted that he is not happy with S&C and both SA clubs were making offers but no suggestion of any other Vic clubs.
The second ACL now looms to be deal breaking so watch this space i say now that he stays a risk is too high.
This is who would be left in term of experience 50+ games, should we lose those players:
Lynch
Broad
Vlastuin
Nankervis
Short
Hopper
Taranto
Graham(?)
Bolton
Balta
Ross
That's not a heap of quality and a few injuries would quickly see us fielding a team like Sunday again. That is why I believe we need to find a balance between getting picks and ready made replacements.
Yeah but not all of the older guys will leave this year. I reckon Rioli stays for sure, Pickett probably gets another year, as does Prestia, Dusty 50/50. Plus by the end of next season Koschitzke, Mansell, MRJ and Miller will likely have played 50 games too. The players just on that list is the core of a very good side still.
I think we'll pick up a couple of experienced, cheapish recruits come trade/free agency this year as well.
Our youth is probably the worst in the league. We need early picks badly IMO.
Mckimmies end or childs endI know one, just off Betula.
Apparently has a shoulder issue that they can't get right.I highly doubt it. He's hardly had an injury until recent times. And he's contracted for another year....and the S&C dept will be cleaned out shortly you'd think.
Reckon Baker might’ve got an offer too good to refuse,(5-6 years, $1million a year) I’m becoming more and more resigned to the fact this may be his final year at the tigers
I’d rather use our handful of pics to secure likes of Will Phillips or Josh fahey from gws , freo prob would throw in treacy but would soften the deal , I’d want freo first or their lowest r1 they gotBeen thinking about it and if the likes of Baker & Daniel want to leave then I'd be asking for proven players rather than just draft picks in return.
If Daniel wanted to go to the Suns then I'd be telling them that it's going to take someone like
Anderson
Rowell
Flanders
King
Humphrey
Baker is a bit harder being out of contract, but if he asked to go to Fremantle then I'd be asking about the following
Hayden Young
Josh Treacy
By asking for those types players it may well force them to pay more in terms of draft picks as a fall back position as theyd be reluctant to lose their talented players as they build for a shot at a flag.
Yes we will also be fair and eagles / Tigers have a good relationshipIf Baker nominates us you’ll get a fair deal, we’ve always been (overly) reasonable at the trade table. We could have walked Brockman to PSD last year but instead gave pick 44 and 63 without haggling. More than fair for a guy who was OOC, desperate to play for West Coast for club and family reasons who once Liam Ryan is fit is not a best 22 player.
We just don’t have the capital to pay you so if he leaves it’s 95% going to be Freo. Last year they too were reasonable at the trade treble. Only Essendon and Geelong and truly *wits with trade. You’ll ask for their best 1R, they’ll offer their last 1R then you’ll probably settle on their middle one, shake hands and get on with the rest of the trade period.
True but that's back when we were an amateur club with possum piss on the ceilings.Last time we had 5 x top-20 picks we got: Deledio, Tambling, Meyer, Polo and Pattison
LOL what do you expect them to sayMight add Tigers to my list of clubs not to trade with… Harley’s loving it over here, he won’t leave in 3 years you can take that to the bank. Baker will go to Freo. I actually think you guys have landed in the right spot to go hard at the draft before Tassie come in. If we had any players of value 26-29 I’d trade them and go to the draft, but we don’t.
Careful I remember a time once had 5 pics in top 20 , only 1 played > 20 games ,,, that was when beck was in charge tho , ,,, in those days giving him a bunch of draft pics was like standing on a burning deck with a pocket full of crackersGunna be the quickest list rebuild in history.
1st round Richmond Top 4 pick
1st round Gold Coast pick for Rioli
1st round Freo pick for Baker
1st round Brisbane pick swaps for Ashcroft
1st round Carlton pick swaps for Camporeale kid
True but see my post just above this one lmaoCareful I remember a time once had 5 pics in top 20 , only 1 played > 20 games ,,, that was when beck was in charge tho , ,,, in those days giving him a bunch of draft pics was like standing on a burning deck with a pocket full of crackers
No-one other than RFC faithful has heard of him.Ok folks have a bit of info albeit a week old now and things may have changed for obvious reasons.
I hear strong word Judson Clarke looking to exit RFC. It is mooted that he is not happy with S&C and both SA clubs were making offers but no suggestion of any other Vic clubs.
The second ACL now looms to be deal breaking so watch this space i say now that he stays a risk is too high.
“Him”, not “them”. A little wager might be on the cards…LOL what do you expect them to say
even JHF was loving it here
Give him 3 years and he will miss home
I’m pretty sure we would do that unless compelling reason to do it all this year and yea we’re much better resourced than 20y agoTrue but see my post just above this one lmao
If the club was even smarter they could even trade one or two of those 1st rounders for next year so we have 3 first rounders over the next 2 drafts.