Mega Thread Trade Period: Lets get that delisted guy. He could be good, yeah?

Anyone interested in Dayle Garlett?
Reckon he has got it together and could be just what we need

His talent is unquestionable, he's a legitimate gun...... there would be a queue of clubs lining up for his services now . I thought we should have taken the punt on him in the rookie draft last year.
He has an A grade dickhead status and is a party boy but that never stopped us drafting Franklin. He loves football, but he was young and immature. I thought we could trust in our club culture and have Micthell Sewell Hodge Burgoyne etc all watching over him, if that failed a simple old fashioned smashing in the boxing ring with a who the F*ck do you think you are attitude may have knocked some sense into him.
He had the potential to be lining up on the wing for us right now but just as equally he could still be in hospital after having a severe beating from the playing group.

I think the boat has now sailed.

For the extreme talent he posses, I though it was a risk worth taking.

His talent is unquestionable, he's a legitimate gun...... there would be a queue of clubs lining up for his services now . I thought we should have taken the punt on him in the rookie draft last year.
He has an A grade dickhead status and is a party boy but that never stopped us drafting Franklin. He loves football, but he was young and immature. I thought we could trust in our club culture and have Micthell Sewell Hodge Burgoyne etc all watching over him, if that failed a simple old fashioned smashing in the boxing ring with a who the F*ck do you think you are attitude may have knocked some sense into him.
He had the potential to be lining up on the wing for us right now but just as equally he could still be in hospital after having a severe beating from the playing group.

I think the boat has now sailed.

For the extreme talent he posses, I though it was a risk worth taking.
Agree wholeheartedly. I would have thought our culture and leadership of the current group would get the best out of him. In saying that, there was quite a lot of evidence to suggest he was going no where in life and for 18 clubs to pass on a player that was touted as going 10 in some mock drafts there must have been something wrong.
He just tweeted how much he loves Melbourne and doesn't want to leave so hopefully we go hard for him!!

Patrick Karnezis has told the Brisbane Lions he wants to head home to Victoria at the end of this season, having failed to overcome homesickness. Collingwood are very interested in getting him to the club.

Not really sold on this bloke, but with that being said I haven't seen enough of him when he's up and about to form an educated opinion. Do you think he'd be a valuable asset? We're not exactly hamstrung for forwards are we?

In the same boat as you but I don't think we would be looking at him. Then again I didn't think we'd go for Gunston either

Karenzis will be a useful player and if at the right club he will prove to be an asset. Tall running forward / midfilder much like Gunston. We do not need him but he would be valuable at Collingwood. Trade worth around Pick 35-40.

Collingwood clearly looking to replace the Q stick and youngy with the one player!

Anyone else keen on Andrew Walker in the Carlton Fire Sale that will take place come trade week?

I'd love to see a bit of this from at least someone in a Hawks jumper occassionally.

Anyone else keen on Andrew Walker in the Carlton Fire Sale that will take place come trade week?

I'd love to see a bit of this from at least someone in a Hawks jumper occassionally.

Carlton would not let him go, we would have to pay massive overs for a guy who has been around awhile

Buddy, Cyril and Smith have all done that at least once already this season. And that's just off the top of my head.

This type of play is breath taking if it comes off but if he misses the goal or gets run down it's incredibly selfish. Especially given he had the chance to hand ball it off through the centre of the ground (instead opting to change direction and force his smaller team mate to lay the sheppard). He also had a free man 40m out, directly in front of goal that he ignored so that he could take a punt from outside 50 on an angle.

Like I said, great if you can pull it off but just one mistake and you look incredibly selfish.
I'd much rather the Hawks play team footy and win often rather than have every second goal be on the high light reel and we only win 50% of games.

Walker has a couple of spectacular plays every game, then disappears into a bottomless pit.
Regularly turns the ball over.

Overrated, overpaid, and over there.

01. Quality big inside mid with pace and skills

02. Young big key defender with pace

03. Quality big inside mid with pace and skills

In 2014 we'll have Schoenmakers, Lake, Gibson and Heatherley on the list.

You can't just keep collecting key defenders, when the 2 spots already filled.

We do need some more toe in the middle, and some star power to take over from Mitchell and Hodge.

Walker has a couple of spectacular plays every game, then disappears into a bottomless pit.
Regularly turns the ball over.

Overrated, overpaid, and over there.

That's a croc of shi*t. You continually act as if no other player is good enough to play for the Hawthorn FC and everyone on our list are all superstars.

He has many qualities that would compliment our side, he has pace, ball carrying ability, breaks the lines and he has an elite tank. The point is moot either way, Carlton won't be willing to give up one of there better players, they don't have many to start with, and if they were, it would have to be a deal that absolutely rips us off.

Walker has disposal efficiency of 77% from 22.7 disposals.....hardly a turnover merchant.

To put it into perspective

Lewis 73% from 22.2 disposals.
Hodge 68.9% from 22.1
Smith 70.7% from 20.7
Burgoyne 72.2% from 19.7 disposals
Hill 67% from 16.3
Shiels 65.3% from 16.8
Sewell 66.3% from 20.6
Mitchell 73.5% from 28.7

Agree
Sometimes a change of scenery does wonders for a player
All said and done, has heaps of ability

I hope we make a play for him. He is a real talent, needs to harden up of course. But as you said, a change of scenery and culture might be the tonic. He is definitely out of favour with the blues supporters and don't think Mick is much of a fan either.

I wouldn't pay overs for him, but he seemed to preform pretty good for Ratten in his first few years, has extreme pace, good disposal and can play half back, wing or, half forward and is still only 22. He could be a late developer like Daniel Wells.

Think he is contracted for 2014, so we would have to trade, which would be difficult.

We do need some more toe in the middle, and some star power to take over from Mitchell and Hodge.

Yep, I only see Lake and Schoey as keys though.

Unless Heatherly has put on an inch and can add 10 kilos, I can't see him ever being big enough to hold down a key position and we've seen how Gibbo's been handled by some of the bigger, stronger forwards.

There will come a time one day when both Lake and Gibson retire. We know that Schoenmakers is our Center half back for the next decade. But who will be our future full back? This is one area we need to fill going forward. I reckon we need to recruit at least one more young key defender within the next couple of years to develop so when the time does comes when Lake and Gibson aren't there, that player can step in and take over that role.

Mega Thread Trade Period: Lets get that delisted guy. He could be good, yeah?