Trent Croad to call it quits

The players arent dumb. Croad playing would have made no difference to their pre game attitude. We have moved past the 60's.

In fact their their "psyche" would have been better running out with 22 fit players rather than knowing their CHB was on one leg.

So you're saying that the players would have preferred Croad not to be playing?

It was a decision that both he and the club made. If you think Croad was just going to sit back and watch his teammates run out on the ground you are seriously underestimating the competitive juices that flow through the body of an AFL player. They play through pain most weeks, and the Grand Final is the game that most have waited their whole careers for.

The players arent dumb. Croad playing would have made no difference to their pre game attitude. We have moved past the 60's.

In fact their their "psyche" would have been better running out with 22 fit players rather than knowing their CHB was on one leg.

Sorry, I disagree with your assertion that the players' psyche would have been better running out with 22 fit men, because at that time of the year, it's highly unlikely that you are going to have your entire team at 100% fitness - because most players would do whatever it takes for the opportunity to play in a GF. If that means playing with more painkillers than usual, then so be it.

IIRC, we had question marks over several players heading into GF week.

Okay, let's forget Croad for a second - what about Hodge? He supposedly played with "broken ribs". Do you also believe that he shouldn't have been playing, due to allegedly not being at 100% fitness?

Do you think Hodge not playing would not have affected the players' collective psyche? I reckon it would have made all the diffence in the world, as the players ALL know what a general Hodge is, and how hard he works to make thing happen anywhere on the ground!

I think the part that I have quoted from Galon speaks volumes. Most players DO play through pain most weeks and to them, playing in Grand Final is the pinnacle of their careers (as it is not easy to get to one, and many players never even get that chance).

As for Trent, I wish him all the best for whatever he chooses to do. Croady, you'll definitely be missed.

Sorry, I disagree with your assertion that the players' psyche would have been better running out with 22 fit men, because at that time of the year, it's highly unlikely that you are going to have your entire team at 100% fitness - because most players would do whatever it takes for the opportunity to play in a GF. If that means playing with more painkillers than usual, then so be it.

IIRC, we had question marks over several players heading into GF week.

Okay, let's forget Croad for a second - what about Hodge? He supposedly played with "broken ribs". Do you also believe that he shouldn't have been playing, due to allegedly not being at 100% fitness?

Do you think Hodge not playing would not have affected the players' collective psyche? I reckon it would have made all the diffence in the world, as the players ALL know what a general Hodge is, and how hard he works to make thing happen anywhere on the ground!

I think the part that I have quoted from Galon speaks volumes. Most players DO play through pain most weeks and to them, playing in Grand Final is the pinnacle of their careers (as it is not easy to get to one, and many players never even get that chance).

As for Trent, I wish him all the best for whatever he chooses to do. Croady, you'll definitely be missed.

Brown played with a broken bone in his foot.
Ellis needed a hip operation.

No body is going to lay down on grand final day as Hole would have had them do.

I wonder if we had rested Croad and lost, what Hole in Bucket would have said?

Some people are always right in making decisions...after they have been made by someone else.

Absolute disgrace he was allowed to play on Grand Final day.

He clearly wasnt fit, it could have cost us a flag and has ended his career. Moronic decision.

Speaking of moronic. ^^^^^^^^^ :eek:

Sad day for Croady and the HFC.

He will go out as a Hawk Premiership player and there can be no higher honor.

I posted on this board about a month ago that it is the expectation of the club that Croad announces his retirement around late January and that Skipper will be elevated from the rookie list.

In the interim, they've allowed Trent every chance to prove fitness as he would be a valuable member of team if anywhere near match fit.

For members of the media to report on Croad's retirement prior to the final decision being made is mischievous and typical of the poor level of standards exhibited by an undisciplined industry.

We all know Trent is unlikely to play again, but what's wrong with just waiting for the player himself to make the announcement? The media annoys me beyond belief.

Good call about the media. It is likely that they are right so they will hang their hat on that, but their job if they are proper jounalists is not to give crystal ball predictions about the future - it is to report actual events. They are not proper jounalists though are they.

ps. in response to another post, one good thing about TC playing in the GF was he got a premiership medel and it was thouroughly deserved :thumbsu:

I think we know who the disgrace is.

Why is it every time I read garbage on this board, it's a newbie?

They've certainly disgraced themselves today.

tighty-whitey-gloves.jpg

Well Done Trent, I've known you since our Year 10 days at De La Salle.
I remember as a young 16 year old, I was playing basketball against you and you virtually dunked over me. That vertical leap of yours that you set in 1997 still stands, and forever you will be known as "The Athlete"

well done mate - great effort!

Croad has officially retired. Congrats on an awesome career, including a premiership in the mighty brown and gold. Always happy to say g'day around the club and have a chat too.

Can anyone confirm the exact nature of the injury? All I can find is suggestion of fracture dislocation. Not sure such an injury is as predictable as you are trumpeting...

Can we all get back on track?

What a champion bloke Croad is. I spoke to him at a best and fairest and he would have been one of the most down to earth blokes you could come across and his taste in woman is pretty good too. (Good get Croady) haha.

It's a sad day to see one of the legends and premiership player of our club retire at the best of times. It's even worse when its forced.

It was a pleasure to see you run out of the backline and bomb 60m into our forward line. It will be sorely missed.

Good luck Trent with your next phase of life I am sure you will be as successful off the field as you were on it.

Congratulations Croady on a great career, Our football club treated him poorly, but am wrapt that he returned back to Hawthorn and had the great success that he deserves. All the best for the future.

Congrats again Croady, we'll miss ya mate. Atleast now you can concentrate on getting the foot ready for kick to kick in the park with the kids.

See ya round the club champ!

Hole in the Bucket, as TWITA pointed out, highsight is 20/20. It's easy to look back and see what was right and what was a wrong decision. It's extremely pointless to be saying 'If this ...', 'If that ...'.

Looking back, i'd have to say it was the right decision. Him and Crawf were the 2 players that deserved it the most! Seeing their medal celebrations made it all that bit sweeter!

I still think they should give premiership medallions to people who have played a certain percentage of games for the year, rather than just the GF team. It's not really fair that someone can play the 24 or 25 games beforehand and then miss out.

Croad, you are a champion! Good luck with your post AFL player life! :thumbsu:

Trent Croad to call it quits