U19 Under 19 Premier Division

Am one of the older boys around the club and was a keen observer from the side-lines today at the Scotch V Xavier match. I am very proud of the boys and their efforts.
3 points to note:
1. Scotch had 13 players out, and almost rolled the top team.
2. Xavier are beatable and have fluked most of their wins, de la should of beaten them as should of scotch today
3. Scotch are the real deal just wait until Xavier have to face them at full strength would of been at least a 6-8 goal turn around today, if not more.

I am tipping a De la V Scotch granny!!

So why weren't you at Marcellin watching your seniors get done? Go write your tripe elsewhere... Standard excuses from perennial standard chokers.

Midweek Thoughts are...

The top of the competition is going to be very tight, along with the competition in general, besides trinity who will battle to win a game.

Top 2 will be fought out by Xavier, De La and Scotch, but i think it will finish:
Xavier
De La
Scotch

Beauy are just half a step behind.

Marcellin arent in the mix in my opinion and are probably too far behind already to become a threat, cant see any of those top 3 dropping more than 2 or 3 games for the year. So Beauy and bedes will fight it out for the 4th spot.

In my opinion, Bedes must be done. Marcellin were average in the 2 games i have watched, and i think de la may have just had a bad day.

Even though its early, you can see the shape of the competition coming through already.

Xavier, de la and scotch will be ahead of the bunch, while the middle of the table will be fairly even.

Should be very interesting come round 13-14 to see where the points sit from positions 3-7.

Am one of the older boys around the club and was a keen observer from the side-lines today at the Scotch V Xavier match. I am very proud of the boys and their efforts.
3 points to note:
1. Scotch had 13 players out, and almost rolled the top team.
2. Xavier are beatable and have fluked most of their wins, de la should of beaten them as should of scotch today
3. Scotch are the real deal just wait until Xavier have to face them at full strength would of been at least a 6-8 goal turn around today, if not more.

I am tipping a De la V Scotch granny!!

Why I am not surprised that you would be proud of the boys on saturday. Following a rich tradition of applying the Gas to Xavs.

You poor thing.

Would love to hear the top 2 players from all 8 teams so i know who to keep my eyes on.

Surely everyone here combined has seen all teams play.

Give me some names or some numbers of those with the most potential / are having the biggest impact

cheers

keep it in your jocks tommyboy.

as for scotchie4life, i tend to agree with you on 2 of your 3 fronts. I was at the game at Camberwell today. Gee how was the excitement! :eek:

1. 13 players out, unrealistic lie which noone could possibly be expected to believe. it was more like 3-4 but all of these were top players who would stroll onto the park for any other side in the Premier division.

2. I agree that Old Xavs are definately a beatable opposition. Vulnerable areas include across the half forward line, no real goal scoring opportunities. Brazzale (16) could not catch a cold while Sanfillipo (? unsure on number but he is a school yard bitch at times) is yet to learn how to execute a punt kick- although he is a fantastic ball winner i don't think he hurts oppositions as much as he should/could. The backline of the Xavs does not give an inch though so in that sense, they are hard to score against! Just 200 points against up to round 5!

3. Old Scotch are definately the real deal, make no mistake about it. Scotch won 3 out of 4 terms. The game was all about the contests around the game and Scotch eventually gained the ascendency in this area after quarter time. Old Xavs had no midfield prowess after S.Lees (3) and Batten (15) went down in the 2nd. Fraser Macfarlane (1) for Scotch was best afield and the Xavs had no answers for this rocket who commanded the midfield then went forward and had the Xavs backline in all sorts. Furey (58) was a big body the Xavs couldn't deal with in the middle. I see many vulnerabilities in this Xavier side. Do you boys agree??

* I rate De La highly, they will be there or there abouts.
* SBMT will bounce back against the Claret and Stout after a loss to lowly Marcellin. This is a danger game for the Xavs. SBMT have runners who will be like kids in a candy story at Elsternwick Park. They like the backward handball to a quarterback player and the wide expanses of the Wick could be perfect for an upset to knock the Xavs off their high horse.
* Uni Blues. Not good enough to get the bacon in 4 out of 5 games so far, I think that this may continue.
* Beaumaris and Uni Blacks- admittedly not as knowledgable on these two sides as I'd like to be, but from what I hear from Fitzy at VAFA HQ they will struggle to be up there competing with the likes of OX, OS and DLS come September.
* Trinity- Put down your glasses now. You won't need to be on the ball against these bunnies. 4 points on the board here.
* Marcellin- Early on perceived them as garbage. Saw them play the Xavs at home and whilst noble, offered little in terms of threatening a result. No chance of finals footy. Too many Sam Murphys and not enough Jack Furey's in that side. Although appear to be on the rise with a win over SBMT. Teams will have to be on the ball when facing Marcellin, my smokey for upsets.
* Ruperstwood- as good as they want to be. Could play finals if they gel together and become a more tight knit unit. Have some dangerous forwards and a dense onball division who can win a hard ball. At 2-3 will want to win the next couple to get up and about in the 4.

Round 6
OXFC vs SBMT- SBMT to come out hard and shae the Xavs foundations, but Xavs by 20-25 points.
DLS vs Rupertswood- Good match up. Will be tight early, but De La too strong however, kick away by 42 points.
Marcellin vs Old Trinity- Shit! If I were a supporter of OT I'd be getting a refund. The Year 12's can look forward to being demoted next season. Not sold on Marcellin, but if they can't do it this week they never will. The Eagles by 30 points.
Beaumaris vs Scotch- Scotch have now lost two on the go (Xavs and DLS), will be desperate to get the 4 his week. Scotch to get the biccies in a tough one by 15 points.
Blues vs Blacks- The students will battle it out on Saturday. Blues were flogged by DLS and the Blacks had a walkover over Trinity by 52 points. Both Unis need a win for different reasons- Blacks to possibly get one up on Scotch and Beauy, and Blues to get their season back on track. To be at 1-5 after 6 would be a terrible start. Blacks by 12pts.

3. Old Scotch are definately the real deal, make no mistake about it. Scotch won 3 out of 4 terms. The game was all about the contests around the game and Scotch eventually gained the ascendency in this area after quarter time. Old Xavs had no midfield prowess after S.Lees (3) and Batten (15) went down in the 2nd. Fraser Macfarlane (1) for Scotch was best afield and the Xavs had no answers for this rocket who commanded the midfield then went forward and had the Xavs backline in all sorts. Furey (58) was a big body the Xavs couldn't deal with in the middle. I see many vulnerabilities in this Xavier side. Do you boys agree??

Do you also see vulnerabilites in the stkilda and geelong sides who also remain undefeated Pearl. Clearly the xavs did have answers for the bloke with two surnames, because they outscored scotch by 3 points at the end of the day. It doesn't matter how you do it, as long as you do it and scotch were unable to do it.

keep it in your jocks tommyboy.

as for scotchie4life, i tend to agree with you on 2 of your 3 fronts. I was at the game at Camberwell today. Gee how was the excitement! :eek:

1. 13 players out, unrealistic lie which noone could possibly be expected to believe. it was more like 3-4 but all of these were top players who would stroll onto the park for any other side in the Premier division.

2. I agree that Old Xavs are definately a beatable opposition. Vulnerable areas include across the half forward line, no real goal scoring opportunities. Brazzale (16) could not catch a cold while Sanfillipo (? unsure on number but he is a school yard bitch at times) is yet to learn how to execute a punt kick- although he is a fantastic ball winner i don't think he hurts oppositions as much as he should/could. The backline of the Xavs does not give an inch though so in that sense, they are hard to score against! Just 200 points against up to round 5!

Many vulnerabilities??? I think you've recieved too many pearl necklaces in your time champ.
How can you say that about a team which sits 5-0 and has by far the best % in the competition. You are a GIMP...

Beauy are the real deal.

Don't really know what you're smoking there RIVERMAN.

No Noonan, No Xavs.

Noonan on fire in opening term, lost his way a little after that and wasn't so prominent in the forward 50. The "Noonaniacs" behind the sticks surely didn't. OX only kicked 2 after the quarter time bell. Forward line a worry when Noonan not on song, or when he doesn't play. Plus they lack goal kicking small forwards. I do however think OX have the best mids in the league, with the likes of Batten, Lees etc and a super duper back 6. Noone will score against the likes of Rowse and Moylan- this kid never gets beaten at a contest one on one. A little lebanese looking forward, i think no.37 can't remember, from Scotch had an absolute mare on the "Moysty Man".

I realise saying the Xavs have vulnerabilities was probably a bit excessive, given they are at 5 and 000000, but I think if Noonan goes down they are only working at 75% of their max output. Macfarlane went to Buckley (soft as butter) in the last and cut him up like cheap silk, make him accountable and you are back in the game

i have to agree with come around the neck.

i know the xavier army are stoked to be up and about after a disgustingly bad year last year.

they do have some positives though:
1. they are keen, enthuasiastic and confident to knock off big teams with a team mentality (well most of them have a team mentality anyway)
2. they have a great captain - atleast they have improved in that department compared to the flog they had last year.

now to the negatives:
1. noonan goes - xavs goes. apparently he is walking wounded. tips for other teams. hack the bone. hack the bone.
2. unaccountable. hello sanfilipo. hello buckley. hello evans. hello xavs. lift ur accountability in all facets of the game and you will see vast improvements on the pitch.
3. stop picking red heads and freckled freaks - im looking at u sleeman, im looking at you ulbrick, im looking at you lees, im looking at u prowse.
4. xavs will be beaten time and time again but discipline outfits who are not starving for a sausage roll (aka wanna kick a goal), accountable and use the ball better with using the space xavs leave copious amounts of around the ground
5. games will fall. heads will roll and the premier division will be back to normal when scotch flog xavs next time.

Gassed, that wasn't you who missed the goal after the siren on Saturday was it?

I've also been meaning to ask, how did that poor boy sleep on Saturday night.

From all reports, everyone in the Xavs camp slept like babies...

Interesting thoughts by you, "Gassed". Although you do sound like yet another village idiot.

I agree that Buckley is a great skipper. Not so much by his actions, but more so his positivity, voice, and command around the stoppages and keeping the side structured. Thats one thing I noticed from the game on Saturday. Who was the captain last year though?? I always though it was that Joe Rush fellow who retired midyear???? Oh well.

Accountability- Xavs were't necessarily unaccountable in the 2nd and 3rds, but on some occasions went kick chasing which resulted in some quality goals for Scotch on the counter.

I have a sneaking suspicion that you have a role down at OX, Gassed. You know many player names, even who has the freckles in the starting 22! Who is Sleeman? Any good?

Ah Dshlapp if the Xavs were going to sleep like babies it would have been post 4am. I rolled past the Tower Hotel in Hawthorn East on my motorised scooter at about 12.30am with my missus on the back and cited a few of the lads looking a little brain fried. On the soup, and on the smokes. Cousins/Kerr circa 03/04 display

i have to agree with come around the neck.

i know the xavier army are stoked to be up and about after a disgustingly bad year last year.

they do have some positives though:
1. they are keen, enthuasiastic and confident to knock off big teams with a team mentality (well most of them have a team mentality anyway)
2. they have a great captain - atleast they have improved in that department compared to the flog they had last year.

now to the negatives:
1. noonan goes - xavs goes. apparently he is walking wounded. tips for other teams. hack the bone. hack the bone.
2. unaccountable. hello sanfilipo. hello buckley. hello evans. hello xavs. lift ur accountability in all facets of the game and you will see vast improvements on the pitch.
3. stop picking red heads and freckled freaks - im looking at u sleeman, im looking at you ulbrick, im looking at you lees, im looking at u prowse.
4. xavs will be beaten time and time again but discipline outfits who are not starving for a sausage roll (aka wanna kick a goal), accountable and use the ball better with using the space xavs leave copious amounts of around the ground
5. games will fall. heads will roll and the premier division will be back to normal when scotch flog xavs next time.

You blokes are all the same. You make excuses for your current performance and threaten to take over the world "next time" around.
It never seems to happen, but you do provide much amusement pretending it will. Its been happening at your club for about 40 years.

If Clayton (the bloke who kicked for goal) converted from the spot we'd all be saying how good Scotch are and how the Xavs choked under pressure after having the game seemingly won at the 1/4 time oranges.

Ah Dshlapp if the Xavs were going to sleep like babies it would have been post 4am. I rolled past the Tower Hotel in Hawthorn East on my motorised scooter at about 12.30am with my missus on the back and cited a few of the lads looking a little brain fried. On the soup, and on the smokes. Cousins/Kerr circa 03/04 display

Nothing wrong with a few celebratory dinks... Should've come in Pearl, and the the bloke who missed the goal after the siren was welcome as well.
Fair to say we owe him a couple of jars... ha.

You rolled past the tower at 12.30am on a motorised scooter with your girlfriend on the back.

Thats the saddest thing I have ever heard.

p.s Cousins and kerr won brownlows and premierships. Maybe you should have ditched your missus and popped in for a beer. Its seems to be a winning formula.

Ah I thought about it mate. I'm a bit older than you gents though, and I hear there was a bit of trouble at the 24 hour on Saturday night? I don't want any part in that. Plus I had to get my missus to drive me back out to Sunshine so I could coach my Bunbur Bulldogs u15s side. We are in Division 3, not flattering but I think we will get up the pack as the season goes along.

What is your predicted ladder pre finals for the premier?

You rolled past the tower at 12.30am on a motorised scooter with your girlfriend on the back.

Thats the saddest thing I have ever heard.

p.s Cousins and kerr won brownlows and premierships. Maybe you should have ditched your missus and popped in for a beer. Its seems to be a winning formula.

Very good River.

Good to see the Scotch U/19 coach at the Old Xavs Senior game on Sunday, sucking down ciggies like they were going out of fasion.

He looks like a jumping castle.

Hey Gas, what do you mean by a jumping castle???

i know the scotch coach enjoys a ciggy, have seen it myself. must be an old bad habit from back in his playing days so long ago!!!!!

interesting game on sat between xav's and scotch. i overheard one of the umpires saying it was one of the best games he had seen at this level ever!!! must admit, the ball was flying around all over the place, and if not for both sides defence, it would have been a shoot out. to only have 14 goals scored in a game played at that level was incredible. i totally forgot about the score and was surprised when such few had been scored

Ah I thought about it mate. I'm a bit older than you gents though, and I hear there was a bit of trouble at the 24 hour on Saturday night? I don't want any part in that. Plus I had to get my missus to drive me back out to Sunshine so I could coach my Bunbur Bulldogs u15s side. We are in Division 3, not flattering but I think we will get up the pack as the season goes along.

What is your predicted ladder pre finals for the premier?

Where did you hear this from? Scotch boys don't dare enter the Tower. Xava haven. You must have some connections with the boys from OX?

Few cracks appearing in your armour pearl.

Where did you hear this from? Scotch boys don't dare enter the Tower. Xava haven. You must have some connections with the boys from OX?
Few cracks appearing in your armour pearl.

Scotch boys don't dare enter the tower? Is that because it serves beer and not spritzers? Maybe if you blokes harded up, leave your scooters at home, stop looking over your shoulders and worry about your own patch of turf, you might have got over the line on saturday.

Good luck this week.