Unpopular Port Adelaide opinion you may have

John Butcher is the worst player to ever represent this club.

Simon Phillips, Yoey Wagner, Sam Russell, Cam Hewett, Riley Grundy.

He's just good at playing scales m8. You probably won't even disagree with this (going by your avatar), but Malcolm was the brains and the balls.
Malcolm was behind the band all those things, but Angus as lead guitarist was up there with all of his contemporaries in the 70s.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Jasper Pittard was in the AA squad playing for us. He doesn't deserve to be near any sort of list for worst Port player ever.
Should be in the top 3, comedy hour every time he had the ball, how he made the AA squad I’ll never know, we have never had a worse player sitting under a ball then him, he had the capacity to drop a mark and in the process of picking it up he would knock over 2 of his teammates. Cloke was gifted whatever games he played

as for Chappy, worst 200 gamer in the history of the AFL let alone port. Soft, weak, insipid as well as a blame game specialist. The one th8ng he could do was talk a good game, pity he was absolutely rubbish. How the **** he got His name on a locker at port Adelaide, it instantly devalued that.

when they both left we were a 4 goal better side

Reckon the club doesn't honour Bruce Weber as much. He's the reason we're in the AFL and he barely gets a mention outside of documentaries and books about our history.

Things like statues and getting a stand in your name should be reserved for legends of the club and he deserves one of those for what he did for Port.

Very unpopular: Bruce Webers clandestine approach delayed our entry, effectively gave us teal and consigned SA Football to obscurity.
He should have worked with Norwood in the breakaway.

Popular: Imagine a world without the Crows

Very unpopular: Bruce Webers clandestine approach delayed our entry, effectively gave us teal and consigned SA Football to obscurity.

1) We got teal because an important backer of ours in AFL house (Alan Schwab) passed away during the second bid process and the SNAFL were calling Collingwood to scare them about the Magpies shit. Weber had little control over any of that.

2) Neither Bruce nor Port consigned SA footy to obscurity. The SANFL did that when they decided that rather then back their own clubs in to compete in the big league, they'd bring in a quasi state team that's still stuck in the 80's.

3) Ross Oakley himself has admitted that the AFL preferred a West Coast style team coming from SA and that's what they always pushed for. It was either get the SANFL's biggest and strongest club or a new team operated by the SANFL. The dumb and dumber team running the SANFL were holding out for the AFL to cede partial control to them and weren't even interested in talking to the AFL until 1993. Bruce saw the writing on the wall for where Port was headed if he didn't act.

4) Norwood were talking to the AFL at the same time we did about coming in and when everything became public about us trying to join, Norwood decided to hand their balls over to the SANFL rather than stand with us. I believe that footy would be a lot better off in SA for many reasons if it was Port and Norwood who came in but when we stood our ground, they went to the SANFL's side and now get to reap the rewards of it.

I hope this is not an unpopular opinion, but I'm sick of people bagging teal. It's a great 3rd colour and looks killer with B&W. **** knows what all the sooking is around it. We were never entering the AFL/VFL in a purely B&W outfit. We needed to change and we adopted teal. It was a good decision. Sure it mightve been even better if we went with say silver, B&W, but we picked teal and it's a good colour. Quit the whinging, accept it and move on.

I hope this is not an unpopular opinion, but I'm sick of people bagging teal. It's a great 3rd colour and looks killer with B&W. fu** knows what all the sooking is around it. We were never entering the AFL/VFL in a purely B&W outfit. We needed to change and we adopted teal. It was a good decision. Sure it mightve been even better if we went with say silver, B&W, but we picked teal and it's a good colour. Quit the whinging, accept it and move on.
There's nothing wrong with teal.

It's the expectation from external places that believe it's our main colour and we should use it as our main colour, not a sometimes colour is the issue.

Re - Weber. No. Norwood were happy guests at a vfl presentation to join a national competition. Port asked Norwood to support each other. They didn't want to work with Port. They wanted to be the first to join but got cold feet when the s..t hit the fan. Kept denying their interest to join. They f.....ed it for themselves, but yeah, no crows would've been better.

I hope this is not an unpopular opinion, but I'm sick of people bagging teal. It's a great 3rd colour and looks killer with B&W. fu** knows what all the sooking is around it. We were never entering the AFL/VFL in a purely B&W outfit. We needed to change and we adopted teal. It was a good decision. Sure it mightve been even better if we went with say silver, B&W, but we picked teal and it's a good colour. Quit the whinging, accept it and move on.

We were entering with black&white, & silver when Alan Schwab was alive. Teal is a 'nice' 4th colour but much of our merch still appears to have it is our 1st/2nd colour.

We didn't pick teal over silver we were told silver, black & white wasn't different enough.

Simon Phillips

We’ve had a stack of guys who were never up to it, and were objectively inferior footballers in real terms, but following a complex algorithm of subjectivities, this is the answer right here.

We all know the leap from SANFL to AFL is chasmic, but man, this guy.

Would go from clinically-lethal while playing for Norwood, featuring super clean hands and extraordinary all-angles goalsense, to fumbly, sloppy and with a fouled-up targeting system the instant he was splashed with teal.

It wasn’t even an increased physical pressure thing, he’d often have ample time and space, but would execute like he was a yet-to-be-discovered identical twin who majored in Studies Studies.

4) Norwood were talking to the AFL at the same time we did about coming in and when everything became public about us trying to join, Norwood decided to hand their balls over to the SANFL rather than stand with us. I believe that footy would be a lot better off in SA for many reasons if it was Port and Norwood who came in but when we stood our ground, they went to the SANFL's side and now get to reap the rewards of it.

Norwood sent this state back 20 years with their lack of Balls. Imagine Port, Norwood and the Bays playing AFL football each and every week in 2021! This state COULD have provided for three teams in the late 80’s early 90’s and financial opportunities may not have left town for more exposure on the Eastern Sea Boarder or Fled for the mining Boom out West.

but this is an unpopular opinion board, so my two cents - Norwood would have been the powerhouse of SA footy today if the model above came to fruition. Their proximity to Adelaide CBD and their affluent supporters would have them one of the biggest clubs in the country. Shit, even Glenelg would have probably done really well with the commercial opportunities that come with their destination.

Norwood sent this state back 20 years with their lack of Balls. Imagine Port, Norwood and the Bays playing AFL football each and every week in 2021! This state COULD have provided for three teams in the late 80’s early 90’s and financial opportunities may not have left town for more exposure on the Eastern Sea Boarder or Fled for the mining Boom out West.

but this is an unpopular opinion board, so my two cents - Norwood would have been the powerhouse of SA footy today if the model above came to fruition. Their proximity to Adelaide CBD and their affluent supporters would have them one of the biggest clubs in the country. sh*t, even Glenelg would have probably done really well with the commercial opportunities that come with their destination.

If WA aren't getting 3 teams then we aren't either. It should have just been Port and Norwood coming in but I do agree with you that Norwood would be a powerhouse. Most of the Crow's affluent supporters are Norwood people too and I reckon a lot of unaffiliated supporters would have gone for Norwood over Port considering we've always been a love/hate club. And like you said their proximity would get them some pretty decent sponsorship's too.

It really shits me when Crows nuffies say that Port people only prefer Norwood because then we'd be bigger or something like that. Every Port supporter I know who agrees with Norwood being in the competition over the Crows says so because it would have been better for the game in this state and none of them have said that Norwood would be the smaller club. You'd have to be absolutely oblivious to think Glenelg/Sturt/North Adelaide supporters would barrack for us over Norwood if we're both in the AFL.

Unpopular Port Adelaide opinion you may have