• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

A Section VAFA Premier 2017

There is genuine love for you here old mate, you keep the board rolling, I think I have the poster you refer too on 'Ignore' so I don't ever see any SKOB backup, I'm a lone ranger here on this board!

As I'm sure you know I was being facetious, Briza. You have a long record of keeping the board ticking over with comments protective of your alma mater and with your provocative, edgy and sometimes downright annoying (don't we all do that at times) posts. I shall probably delete this para shortly so there's no evidence thereby giving me plausible deniability.;)

Must say I do lament Scribe no longer being an active part of it. He was the forum wordsmith and resident sage.

As to the remarks by you and Canada about abuse directed toward umpires, I agree fully. There are ways of showing disappointment without vitriol and that goes for supporters too. Regrettably, Canada had to resort to a Bartlettism and in so doing let himself down and the rest of us down.:)

Notwithstanding all that I do think some umps attract poor behaviour with their on-field manner and lack of rapport with players. Also think it's a pity more don't front-up to after match get-togethers for a quick beverage and chat. Good PR I reckon.

I often mention Steve McCarthy here as he was a ripper. Didn't mind fessing-up to an error, could put out spot fires better than any ump I've come across and was quite chirpy in a pleasant way during play. Enjoyed a bit of to-n-fro after the game too.

As I'm sure you know I was being facetious, Briza. You have a long record of keeping the board ticking over with comments protective of your alma mater and with your provocative, edgy and sometimes downright annoying (don't we all do that at times) posts. I shall probably delete this para shortly so there's no evidence thereby giving me plausible deniability.;)

Must say I do lament Scribe no longer being an active part of it. He was the forum wordsmith and resident sage.

As to the remarks by you and Canada about abuse directed toward umpires, I agree fully. There are ways of showing disappointment without vitriol and that goes for supporters too. Regrettably, Canada had to resort to a Bartlettism and in so doing let himself down and the rest of us down.:)

Notwithstanding all that I do think some umps attract poor behaviour with their on-field manner and lack of rapport with players. Also think it's a pity more don't front-up to after match get-togethers for a quick beverage and chat. Good PR I reckon.

I often mention Steve McCarthy here as he was a ripper. Didn't mind fessing-up to an error, could put out spot fires better than any ump I've come across and was quite chirpy in a pleasant way during play. Enjoyed a bit of to-n-fro after the game too.
right about Macca, a beauty and is safe in London.

I am with you-I too miss the great man Scribe and his musings-especially since you have stopped saying methinks and hand on heart!

True Penski, but the reality is they do their best, I'm sure they don't want to be dropped down the grades for poor performances.
There's also been a swing towards much younger umpires, which is another reason we should all keep our mouths shut and let them do their best.
I also recommend watch the game again in video. Usually shows the umpire is right. During the game, emotion tends to colour ones judgement.

Max "man in green is usually right" Leader

I also recommend watch the game again in video. Usually shows the umpire is right. During the game, emotion tends to colour ones judgement.

Maxy, chk out the 19 to the 23 minute mark on the video. 3 decisions that didn't go OMs way.
Like to hear your views.

Whilst you're there Max, please check out the 32 minute mark where OM's were paid a push in the back in front of SKOB goals when it was clearly OM's holding the ball.
I'll be back later with a full list from the whole game for you.

Pretty poor if true that the young boundary umpire (at the 24 minute mark on the video) had to intervene and explain to the two centrals what to do.

Umpiring always is a discussion point around this time of year. Next topic will be players away overseas & then we'll discuss finals and the wind at EP. Same every season

Errors happen, I know the coaching given to the Umpires of the VAFA is the best statewide, so let's move on like I'm sure the umpires will next opportunity they have in 2 weeks time.

After the week off; Burning Question (hope this gets on VAFA Tragics) -- Is the season for whoever loses out of OMs & Trinity, finished?

Pretty poor if true that the young boundary umpire (at the 24 minute mark on the video) had to intervene and explain to the two centrals what to do.
I actually enjoyed the OM's commentary, silver spoon much? If they can't beat that team they played yesterday when they were basically at full strength then maybe they aren't out of the relegation zone?

Re the free kick after the send off, I think you'll find that the umpires were chatting whilst the fieldy was trying to write down Armstrongs details for the report. According to our guys they told all players what was going on immediately.

Should be an exciting round 9, with key games being Collegians v OX and De La vs Blues at the top and Blacks v Beauy at the bottom.

Whilst you're there Max, please check out the 32 minute mark where OM's were paid a push in the back in front of SKOB goals when it was clearly OM's holding the ball.
I'll be back later with a full list from the whole game for you.
See what you mean at 33 minute mark (30 metres out on an angle), but no prior opportunity anyway.

Actually Max I didn't make it to the game on the weekend so my thoughts are from watching the game on video. Some odd decisions indeed, even with the added benefit of slowing down and replaying the action.

While I'm at it, can someone let the guys that tape these games know that we actually want to see the ball on the screen. I don't want you to point the camera to where you think the ball will go. Happened far too many times, only to miss a number of possessions as players switch play instead and the camera has to pan back to try and catch up.

On SM-A9000 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Maxy, chk out the 19 to the 23 minute mark on the video. 3 decisions that didn't go OMs way.
Like to hear your views.

I'd love to know which decisions you were unhappy with there?

The holding the balls were all there, the mark claimed in front of OMs goal looked to be off hands and there was no free kick in the marking contest, St K player judged it perfectly.

They were possibly asking his opinion of the timing of where the ball was to judge where to give the free kick.

In actual fact that was an error, it should have been in the centre not the goal square.

Nope - free kick after a goal and all clear is in the centre or where the infringement occurs, whichever is the greater penalty to the offending team. I reckon it is too harsh a rule but it is what is. Umpys had no choice. Player only has himself to blame.

Wasn't there an incident last year at a skobs game where the oppo did something similarly dumb in the dying seconds to give a game away?

Umpiring always is a discussion point around this time of year. Next topic will be players away overseas & then we'll discuss finals and the wind at EP. Same every season

Errors happen, I know the coaching given to the Umpires of the VAFA is the best statewide, so let's move on like I'm sure the umpires will next opportunity they have in 2 weeks time.

After the week off; Burning Question (hope this gets on VAFA Tragics) -- Is the season for whoever loses out of OMs & Trinity, finished?

I think the reason some OM's feel a tad miffed in this instance is there is some history here.

We should be spending more time on the excellent play of OM's who, with a less talented crew, both outplayed and out coached the St KAFL outfit on their patch.

Had a very interesting chat with Benny . Talked about his day, which games he attended and importantly ...the people he spoke to!

I was actually hoping you were at least a partly reformed individual, but I see you've reverted to your favourite pastime of posting BS.

I know that to be a barefaced lie.

Now go troll elsewhere.

I think the reason some OM's feel a tad miffed in this instance is there is some history here.

We should be spending more time on the excellent play of OM's who, with a less talented crew, both outplayed and out coached the St KAFL outfit on their patch.

I was actually hoping you were at least a partly reformed individual, but I see you've reverted to your favourite pastime of posting BS.

I know that to be a barefaced lie.

Now go troll elsewhere.

Not in order, top 3 : Xavs, Coll, Stk. 4th and 5th UB's and OM's. Relegat : Beauy and Blacks : Raffle the rest. LOCK IT IN..

Tend to agree with all of this..other than swap OM's for DLS.
Plenty to like about how they are playing currently. Moving the ball extremely well. Can't see them slipping to 6th.