• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

A Section VAFA Premier 2017

Could the VAFA Board look at Punt Rd Oval, Richmond, as a possible Premier Grand Final venue rather than IKON Park, Carlton? (And forgive me for saying it, because I do support Richmond!) And when will the VAFA move back to its traditional venue, Sportscover Arena?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
When will you give it up, just play all finals at Boss James.

Embrace anyone and everyone guys. It just doesn't matter where players have come from as long as they are at your club, enjoy it, play well (hopefully) and enjoy an icy cold beer post game. Be all welcoming. Be the best of yourselves.

Give it up champ.

Each to there own Bedders. I'm happy to go with the model that works well for me. ... He's more 'mobile' thinking.

Edit: Deleted tit-for-tat comment - OTP

Last edited by a moderator:
AM De La have only beaten Collegians out of the top four sides? As for 'genuine home grown' you need to check your facts. De La had no less than 7 non De La boys in their team on the weekend, that's 5 more than your favourite team SKOB!

Was 5, not 7. The most I can remember in recent memory and all new players this year. 3 from interstate, one from the bush and from the MPNFL. Lucky to have one on release from C’wood VFL returning from injury playing his 1st game. Unfortunately I don’t think we will see him again.

Bloody tough recruiting quality players from outside your usual feeders if you don’t have the same networks as the ‘elite’ schools and Uni’s. Wish we could land a few more but have a long, long way to go to rival the 6 or 7 non-old boy ex AFL players on the books at SKOBs, notwithstanding only a couple turned out for them on the weekend.

Knew I'd get you Jimmy, you just need to recognise that Lachie and Andrew Walker are St Kevin's boys too, as is Xavier Morgan who may get a game soon. That by my reckoning is 7 from Saturday's team, may even be 8 next year if the Generals boy Ethan heads to De La.

Good on De La, as long as Xavier don't win it again I'll be happy.

Knew I'd get you Jimmy, you just need to recognise that Lachie and Andrew Walker are St Kevin's boys too, as is Xavier Morgan who may get a game soon. That by my reckoning is 7 from Saturday's team, may even be 8 next year if the Generals boy Ethan heads to De La.

Good on De La, as long as Xavier don't win it again I'll be happy.

They are actually De La boys who finished their schooling at St Kevins. A win/win as we can both claim them as 1 pointer old boys! Not unusual for kids from humble ACC schools to be picked off in this manner. Just glad they saw the light and came back;). St Bedes also got r*ped for years by Haileybury.

Young Morgan has been impressive in the unders. Played some senior practice games and if he can remain injury free I expect to see him in the 2.00pm game before long.

Think Ethan has higher aspirations at this stage.

Each to there own Bedders. I'm happy to go with the model that works well for me. .... He's more 'mobile' thinking.

I'm Old School on this matter. I reckon one of the poorer things Sholly introduced was allowing players to earn big bucks one year, return to the VAFA the following year. Go pro again. Then return to the VAFA - and so it could go.

There was even the ludicrous situation for awhile last year when a player could pick-up a couple of grand one week and suit-up for a VAFA club the very next.

It debases the amateur model in my view, allows wealthy clubs to 'fund' flags and is impossible to police.

One of the reasons we fairly much see the usual suspects in Prem is because they are fiscally strong, they can manipulate arrangements and have advantageous feeder systems.

One of the first actions I'd like to see the new CEO push for is a reduction of allowable points to mid thirties - gradually.

Edit: removed deleted quote bit - OTP

Last edited by a moderator:
Why? They've won three games out of eight? The only two teams guaranteed to be playing in Premier in 2018 are Collegians and St Kevin's.

Why you ask? It's called an opinion. Like I think Xavs will stay up. Same with DLS and Blues for that matter. I think Blacks and Beauy will go down. So in my opinion OM's won't be in B Grade next year.

Guys, if I have to deal with one more reported post tonight going "waah waah" then there will be red cards handed out. Do nothing that will mash other posters' buttons, set off their triggers, rattle their cages, rustle their jimmies, poke them with a stick, or any other bloody thing else. No more warnings.

Thin ice: Canada, Chaos, AM, Bedford et al. "Why me??? Whaddido???" == ignored

I'm Old School on this matter. I reckon one of the poorer things Sholly introduced was allowing players to earn big bucks one year, return to the VAFA the following year. Go pro again. Then return to the VAFA - and so it could go.

There was even the ludicrous situation for awhile last year when a player could pick-up a couple of grand one week and suit-up for a VAFA club the very next.

It debases the amateur model in my view, allows wealthy clubs to 'fund' flags and is impossible to police.

One of the reasons we fairly much see the usual suspects in Prem is because they are fiscally strong, they can manipulate arrangements and have advantageous feeder systems.

One of the first actions I'd like to see the new CEO push for is a reduction of allowable points to mid thirties - gradually.

Excellent post AM

Guys, if I have to deal with one more reported post tonight going "waah waah" then there will be red cards handed out. Do nothing that will mash other posters' buttons, set off their triggers, rattle their cages, rustle their jimmies, poke them with a stick, or any other bloody thing else. No more warnings.

Have absolutely no idea what was in my last post that was in anyway "waah waahish'

I give up!

Old Mate, who are the usual suspects in 'Prem'? Can only think of OX, Collegians, Blues and De La as long termers.

In regards to wealthy clubs funding flags, Beauy have Sam Fisher, Steve Milne, Raph Clarke and Schneider as coach, yet haven't won a game yet. Meanwhile, their under 19 team sits atop premier and they lost 80K last year. Are they wealthy because of the ex AFL?

There's only two clubs that regularly win A section flags, that's OX and Collegians, so I think your argument is flawed. Wayne Dyer worked his backside off for 18 years, regularly doing everything by himself, as did his wife. They are great VAFA people, like Paul Murphy who practically built TH King with his own hands.

As far as your points scenario going back to mid 30's, that would be a disaster for district clubs for obvious reasons. We shouldn't even have points as we don't pay!

Let's remember first and foremost that this is a football competition and ALL teams play under the same set of rules and IF they work hard enough can all build to sustained success. It's bloody hard, anyone who thinks it's not has no idea about VAFA football.

Old Mate, who are the usual suspects in 'Prem'? Can only think of OX, Collegians, Blues and De La as long termers.

In regards to wealthy clubs funding flags, Beauy have Sam Fisher, Steve Milne, Raph Clarke and Schneider as coach, yet haven't won a game yet. Meanwhile, their under 19 team sits atop premier and they lost 80K last year. Are they wealthy because of the ex AFL?

There's only two clubs that regularly win A section flags, that's OX and Collegians, so I think your argument is flawed. Wayne Dyer worked his backside off for 18 years, regularly doing everything by himself, as did his wife. They are great VAFa people, like Paul Murphy who practically built TH King with his own hands.

As far as your points scenario going back to mid 30's, that would be a disaster for district clubs for obvious reasons. We shouldn't even have points as we don't pay!

Excellent post Brian

There's only two clubs that regularly win A section flags, that's OX and Collegians, so I think your argument is flawed. Wayne Dyer worked his backside off for 18 years, regularly doing everything by himself, as did his wife. They are great VAFA people, like Paul Murphy who practically built TH King with his own hands.

Let's remember first and foremost that this is a football competition and ALL teams play under the same set of rules and IF they work hard enough can all build to sustained success. It's bloody hard, anyone who thinks it's not has no idea about VAFA football.
It is good to find out what it takes to be successful in the ammos. Guess that means skobs need to work harder?

Based on results so far Collegians the standout. Will probably be further reinforced next round.

This is a forum for banter, nobody is hurting anyone.

This isn't OTP's fault. He is receiving reported posts with people going 'waah waah'
If you don't want OTP to have to jump on and delete things..don't sook it up when somebody writes something you dont like.
Pretty simple.

SKOB no hope, sitting 7-1, relegation candidates.[/Q

BS, 100% correct on all points.....Go to the top of the class, a very accurate "post"...