VFL - Collingwood vs Casey, Elimination Final

I don't think we will promote Blair onto the list. We have him for another year anyway - he can play seniors from round 11 - and may wish instead to pick up another player from the national draft.

The only reason we would is if we wanted it to become one of the 3 national draft selections, and take him instead of someone else in the draft, implying that we rate the last player on our list higher than the next player off our list.

It is that simple.

If we don't offer him a senior list spot, technically, he can turn down our offer of a second year on the rookie list and instead choose to enter the National Draft.

It probably wouldn't happen, but that's why you make room for a guy like Blair.

I'd presume that we're probably going to delist Bryan, Cook, Stanley and Rocca, at a minimum, and in this draft, we're not going to want to pick into the fourth round, so we might as well promote Blair.

Here's the thing - wouldn't Collingwood want a strong VFL team? Bryan was the VFL leading goalkicker this season and Cook/Stanley have been ripping it up. They may not be cracking the seniors, but they're raising the bar for the skill level of the VFL players, so it means that the senior players who have to 'drop back' still play in a well-drilled, better skilled team.

If we stack the VFL side full of projects and/or underdone players it can't be good for consistency can it? Marty Clarke's a good example - he plays better when the players around him are better - he seems to perform worse at VFL level some times simply because of the overall quality of ball use and decision-making. The VFL skills improve, our 'worst' keeps getting less severe.

TBH, it's pretty hard to see too many players being let go - most of 'em are young and still developing or good enough to keep for at least another year.

Here's the thing - wouldn't Collingwood want a strong VFL team? Bryan was the VFL leading goalkicker this season and Cook/Stanley have been ripping it up. They may not be cracking the seniors, but they're raising the bar for the skill level of the VFL players, so it means that the senior players who have to 'drop back' still play in a well-drilled, better skilled team.

If we stack the VFL side full of projects and/or underdone players it can't be good for consistency can it? Marty Clarke's a good example - he plays better when the players around him are better - he seems to perform worse at VFL level some times simply because of the overall quality of ball use and decision-making. The VFL skills improve, our 'worst' keeps getting less severe.

TBH, it's pretty hard to see too many players being let go - most of 'em are young and still developing or good enough to keep for at least another year.
Are you proposing that we keep Bryan, Cook and Stanley on our AFL list becuase they'll be good for the VFL team?

That's the reason we have a VFL list - Delist them, and sign them as VFL players if no other team signs them up.

We have a best 22, and the other 25-odd spots on our list need to be used to unearth the players that are going to push into that 22 in the future. We can't afford to be carrying players on our list that are of no potential future value.

Are you proposing that we keep Bryan, Cook and Stanley on our AFL list becuase they'll be good for the VFL team?

Yep, because they still do have the potential to be pinch-hitters in an AFL if required. Cookie was in last year's Elimination final if I'm not mistaken? Bryno has also played some big stage matches.

TBH, if yer looking to shuffle the list I'd delist Cox and Corrie ahead of the three you mentioned.

Yep, because they still do have the potential to be pinch-hitters in an AFL if required. Cookie was in last year's Elimination final if I'm not mistaken? Bryno has also played some big stage matches.

TBH, if yer looking to shuffle the list I'd delist Cox and Corrie ahead of the three you mentioned.

VV has already answered this, but i will reiterate his sentiments. You cannot hang onto someone just because they are good VFL / reserve players.

If someone is not in the best 22, then they need to show that there is a chance that one day they can be in the best 22, or they must go. Why would you hang onto a player (ie Cook) who is not going to make AFL level, when you can replace him with someone who may one day make AFL level?

Lists are too small these days to have specialist depth players. If they are have peaked, are not in the best 22, then they must go.

I wouldn't mind seeing what Macaffer can do in the middle. Really like the way he plays, and reminds me a bit of Boyd from the Dogs in his early years.

I'd like to see him off a HBF. He could be really good there I reckon. Blight, Clarke and Macaffer fighting for that spot with Shaw. Or maybe move Shaw into Tooveys spot and have two of the above play HBF. Adds a bit of versatility.

The art of timing here is an issue. All our young prospects are coming on at the same time rather than being spread out over time. So many up and comers and only so many positions in the seniors.

I think we need to try and squeeze a reasonable player plus a rd 3 draft pick, or two okay players into a B-grade player. We can't accomodate them all anyway, so may as well lose some in a deal to get an upgrade.

Maybe Cox plus another WA player can get us Hasleby or similar.

...Why would you hang onto a player (ie Cook) who is not going to make AFL level, when you can replace him with someone who may one day make AFL level?...

Still to young to say. Johnny Mac and Wellers are the next in line for the midfield brigade, but what if the unthinkable happens to them next year and they're struck with injury? Cook and/or Stanley (and perhaps even Macaffer) would be worthy replacements. They've all played at senior level so they can still make it there.

Like I said, I'd rather lose Corry who's able but lacks the intensity or Cox who's able but is getting nudged out of his spot in the backline.

Bryno is a borderline case, obviously, but we have Woody, Keeffe in waiting.

I can't believe some on this thread can even suggest that we might, at best, elevate Blair to the senior list sometime next year, if at all. The kid is a talent and should be elevated ASAP. He's the best replacement for O'Bree that we have on our list.

With Pendlebury out this is the week I reckon it's time to roll out another one of our best up-and-coming players and and have a finals debutante. It has been done before, and although their are risks involved, big risk takers DO win flags.

The midfield group need an energizer. Blair would be ideal.

The kid is a talent and should be elevated ASAP. He's the best replacement for O'Bree that we have on our list.

While I agree Blair should be elevated, even as early as before the drafts, Steele Sidebottom is the perfect replacement for Shane O'Bree, Blair is a little small and will struggle at first at AFL level, but will eventually make a good AFL player, as Sidebottom will be a star.

i spoke to my mate scott reed yesterday and he said that the team is goin great, they are playin as a team as the scoreline suggests and he thinks they are a real chance of making the GF and winning it..the fact that the VFL team is going so great i think its awesome for the AFL team also with so many guys pushing for selection, especially the younger guys..just a side note did any one se the goal scott reed kicked?? he said it was alright, i noticed on the collingwood website that he got 21 touches which aint to bad for a first year player with only 60% game time...

i wish the VFL team all the best this week against willo...cheers

If we had Davis, Swan and Beams go down with injuries at training before Round 1 next year (fingers crossed that does not happen) then I'd want us to pick Blair before Stanley or Cook - that is why we need to elevate him at the end of this year. He was great on the weekend as he has been a lot of the time this year.

Like mdc said I'd like to see Macaffer through the middle as well. The Boyd comparison is a very interesting one and he could be a tough run with player who could hurt going forward. Not sure what his endurance is like though.....

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/newsfeatures/news/newsarticle/tabid/5586/newsid/84249/default.aspx

Didn't see this anywhere, sorry if it has already been posted....

The VFL Magpies have kicked off their September campaign in scintillating style recording a 115-point win over the Casey Scorpions at TEAC Oval on Saturday afternoon.
Collingwood will now face Williamstown in a semi final match on Saturday afternoon at TEAC Oval.
The VFL Magpies overcame wayward goal kicking in the first term to eventually record their highest score of the season.
With Scott Pendlebury set to miss next week's final with a leg injury, there is no doubt the focus will be on the VFL side and its performance on Saturday.

Match report

Casey Scorpions 0.1 4.3 6.4 9.8-62
Collingwood 4.7 8.14 19.20 26.21-177

Casey Scorpions
Goal Kickers: M. Newton 3, R. Creed 2, B. Waite, J. Wall, J. Taylor, J. Blaser
Best Players: E. Panozza, S. Valenti, K. Matthews, J. Wall, B. McDonald, P. Faulks

Goal Kickers: B. Dick 5, D. Stanley 4, J. Blair 3, A. Corrie 3, L. Rounds 2, R. Cook 2, J. Bennell 2, C. Bryan, C. Dawes, S. Reed, J. Blight, J. Barham
Best Players: D. Stanley, J. Blair, B. MacAffer, B. Reid, B. Dick, R. Cook

AFL-listed players and comments by development manager Luke Beveridge
2. Sean Rusling (7k, 5h, 2m, 1t): Some really strong involvements. An improvement on his game sense.

6. Tyson Goldsack (10k, 9h, 4m, 2t): A real quick game off halfback. Speed was noticeable. Strong run on both sides.

14. Anthony Corrie (12k, 7h, 2m, 3g, 3t): Head over the footy and led by example with his contested possession.

18. Marty Clarke (6k, 9h, 2m, 3t): Quiet possession-wise but nullified his opponent.

19. Cameron Wood (4k, 7h, 2m, 3t): Woody played a strong game in the ruck. Great attitude coming back from the seniors.

20. Ben Reid (16k, 7h, 2m, 1t): Instrumental from halfback and did the work when the ball went out of his area really well.

27. Jarrad Blight (6k, 7h, 2m, 1g): Quality involvements. Great goal on his non preferred side.

28. Danny Stanley (22k, 12h, 9m, 4g, 5t): Dominant midfield game, stoppage work excellent.

29. Ryan Cook (15k, 19h, 4m, 2g, 4t): Used the ball very well on both sides of his body.

30. Brent Macaffer (18k, 9h, 3m, 2t): Best game he has played of the year with his ball use off halfback. His option choices were excellent.
31. Chris Dawes (6k, 11h, 5m, 2g, 3t): First 15 minutes when we needed a big forward to stand up he was exceptional. Lifted his teammates.

33. Brad Dick (15k, 2h, 7m, 5g, 6t): Worked very hard and like Woody showed a good attitude.

37. Luke Rounds (8k, 8h, 2m, 1g, 5t): Very good game from Luke. His defensive chase and his crumbing and work offensively were good as it has been.

38. Scott Reed (11k, 10h, 2m, 1g, 5t): Strong head over the footy. Played up around the wing and half forward. Won the ball in tight.

40. Chris Bryan (11k, 5h, 11m, 1g, 3t): Big target up forward. Strong game.

41. Kevin Dyas (5k, 6h, 2m, 3t): Solid. Opponent didn't get a touch.

43. Jaxson Barham (7k, 11h, 5m, 1g, 7t): Possessions were down but defensively was outstanding.

44. Lachlan Keeffe (7k, 5h, 3m, 1t): Did a very good job on Michael Newton.

45. Toby Thoolen (3k, 6h, 1t): Filled gaps at both ends.

47. Jarryd Blair (13k, 20h, 3m, 3g, 5t): A real good mix of contested and outside footy. Set a good example at the stoppages.

48. John Bennell (9k, 2h, 2m, 2g, 3t): Lively game from John. Chased really hard

VFL - Collingwood vs Casey, Elimination Final