Review vs Melbourne & the Maggots review/rant megathread

I have some time for fronkalicious
The tackle count was impressive but maybe a bit misleading. Quite a few times it looked to me like our players assessed the situation as "I am only a 30% chance to win this contest so I'll wait until he gathers and just grab him". The result was twofold:
  1. We sometimes looked to be not as committed at the contest
  2. The tackle count was high, but as has been noticed a lot of those were relatively easy tackles that ended up being bear-hugs, not brilliant goal-saving lunges at a player about to break free

Geelong were quite good at doing this in their last premiership year and were still doing it quite effectively the last couple of years. Haven't watched them enough this year to see if they still do it.

It makes sense to play the percentages. At the moment it doesn't look pretty because some of the tackling is pretty average. Like you said, just a bear hug. There are times when a bad tackle is made and the ball gets out easily. Tutt does it a fair bit. His tackling while running is excellent, but from a more or less stationary position it's not so great. Needs to learn how to twist them up a bit and use leverage to take them down. Wallis also does the same bear hug thing where all he does it hang off them but doesn't put them off balance. If the player is strong it won't do anything. Players like Picken and Boyd are very good at stationary tackles. I've even seen Jones get a few nice trips in. I remember a few years ago (while Everitt was still at the Dogs) they were doing Judo in the preseason. I wonder if they still do some form of grappling to assist with the tackling.

They don't need to be olympic calibre freestyle wrestlers, but a little more than just hanging off a guy who can easily take their weight isn't enough most of the time.

Jones suspended? Viney gets off for breaking someone's jaw. Jones should be fine. Shame he will get 10 for it though.
Viney braced for contact and much of the impact came from the momentum of Georgiou's tackle on Lynch. Jones ran hard at the ball and at the last second elected to bump Terlich out of the contest. He tried to get low and there was certainly no malice, but his shoulder hit Terlich in the face and he was noticeably concussed. The fact that Jones elected to bump is the difference. Will get 2-3. Rough conduct: reckless, high, high.

Jones will be treated harshly because the AFL MRP will be keen to assert themselves over the 'bump' rulings again post Viney embarrassment. Expect the full force of the law and some to go Jones' way, they will use him to make a statement.

On Macrae's and Hunter's games: I'm hoping people are starting to see what I've been seeing regarding their work rate. I've probably sounded like I have an agenda at times, harping on about how they don't work as hard as people think they do, but honestly it's just a really weak aspect of their game that needs to be improved. They both got found out yesterday for application and for work rate and I think they'll be better for it, but it's a problem that needs to be addressed. Credit to both - Macrae especially - for recovering and having an impact in the fourth quarter, they really rebounded with some good efforts, and that's why I think yesterday was good for them. Hopefully they can bring that sort of application every week now.

If you want a Size comparison between myself and VitalDread here you go

1510579_10203943365568793_3710083125794024850_n.jpg

I normally enjoy listening to Finey but I had to turn the radio over 15 mins ago. He mentioned very briefly that Morris clearly touched a Melbourne goal and than went on taking about how the Crameri decision changed the game. Took phone calls on it and was very sympathetic with the callers who thought Melbourne were robbed.

The only reason why Melbourne were still in it was because of the 7-19 free kick count at 3qtr time. Yet they still want to minus more free kicks from the dogs for sliding ect. SEN coupled with channel 7 couldn't have willed Melbourne over the line any harder. Proof we're becoming a more irrelevant club that Melbourne these days.

I think Finey did say the tv commentary was badly Melbourne orientated etc

We got beat in the contested ball, again

Isn't that good?

The contested ball count means nothing to dogs supporters, supporters have been complaining about this obsession with contested ball when we lose. But we've won games when we've lost the count...so that's good right?

Well if Dickson's Shoulder needs a reconstruction (Hope Not) he will be put on the LTI List and Elevate Redpath if anything for reassurance you have someone there to bring in if need be

Loved the win last night, agreed it wasn't pretty but we got the job done and that took courage, plenty of positives to take out of last night IMO.

Jones will be treated harshly because the AFL MRP will be keen to assert themselves over the 'bump' rulings again post Viney embarrassment. Expect the full force of the law and some to go Jones' way, they will use him to make a statement.
Yeah this is what I'm worried about, IMO it shouldn't even get a week, maybe one at the absolute most but can definitely see him getting 3 weeks for it.

Bloody gutsy from Tommy Williams! Will be a shame if he misses a couple, deserves a good run so hopefully its not too bad and the bye allows it to heal up. Was great last night.

If, which looks pretty likely unfortunately, Tommy and Jones both missed I'll be interested to see what we do. With Talias poor game yesterday we will need Roberts down back against GC (Roberts was solid too, deserves a decent run of games), maybe Stringer too. Could bring in Campbell or Cordy, I'd probably reward Cordy at the moment just to see how much he has really improved. Pretty sure in our run of good form last year at times we were only playing Campbell and Grant as our two forwards and it worked pretty well. Maybe Grant could come up, if he trains really well and looks 100% over the next two weeks. He looked pretty ready to go in the 2s yesterday IMO, maybe a bit sloppy at times but tried extremely hard the whole game and got involved a fair bit. Agreed in a perfect world he'd spend another couple there but we might need him.

Don't think we've had a particularly great season so far but definitely not a bad one, overall. Next game against GC will really tell us a bit about our development I reckon. Tough game away against a pretty good opposition, and one who plays a style of footy which pretty much targets our weaknesses. Will be interested to see how we cope with their run and if we can really lock up the game and play it on our terms, even if it results in a tight, locked up game that would be a huge positive against the Suns IMO.

At the same time I'm pretty worried about that game, it really depends on which Bulldogs team turns up. If we turn up to play and keep the game on our terms we're a good chance but if we don't it could get pretty ugly.

Isn't that good?

The contested ball count means nothing to dogs supporters, supporters have been complaining about this obsession with contested ball when we lose. But we've won games when we've lost the count...so that's good right?
We lost the contested ball because Minson got smashed in the hitouts - but we made up for it with tackling. And Melbourne only won clearances by 1 (effectively nothing)

Looking at that Crameri free again, yeah you'd probably prefer that not paid and for most of this year it wouldn't be (but the umps are inconsistent as **** atm) but really its not an absolute shocker, Dunn made sure Crameri had no chance getting the ball, but he didn't even get near it himself.

Sat amongst the dees members and had to laugh all night at a drunk in doggies fan giving them shit all night. After the game though he turned around doing the d-x suck it sign which resulted in this senior Demons fan to unzip and expose himself with kids around. ******* disgusting.

Also loved Maccas response to the Crameri free kick.

Loved tutty and Williams game.

I sat in a melb members area - 2nd level behind punt rd goals. Only one tool near me who kept bagging our players. Otherwise i only got good natured jibes.

I don't think we can play Talia Fronk. He was truly dreadful yesterday. No pressure from the opposition for the best part of three quarters, and he struggled big time. Almost everything he got near turned to shit. Horribly down on confidence, looks to be impeded by a shoulder injury of some sort, and just not in good form at all. Shorter or not, if we're bringing in a key defender it's gotta be Young for mine. Talia needs a good run in the 2s.

I agree Dannnnnnnnn, we couldn't possibly play him on yesterdays performance. His attack on the ball and man needs to improve 10 fold before I'd bring him back. At the moment he's a classic example of built like Tarzan and playing like Jane....

One point that hasn't been made
That was the highest score kicked against Melbourne since they got smashed by the Eagles in round 2.

One point that hasn't been made
That was the highest score kicked against Melbourne since they got smashed by the Eagles in round 2.
Yeah was just about to say, they only average 11 goals against and they've played some good sides like WC, GC, Sydney. We managed to put 15 on them last night, in tough conditions too.

very happy that we won, but:

-still no leading
-still no measured kicked inside50
-very few of our goals are from marks, mostly from crumbs/frees

all in all, forward structure is still a mess