Review vs Melbourne & the Maggots review/rant megathread

and I think I sent a few Melbourne supporters home feeling a bit annoyed (Footscray 'scum' putting a few noses out of joint in the MCC members, :p).

Are you me? :confused:

Which level were you on? I had the Balcony and what would have been straight-in-front seats to the Crameri free, but I missed it. Didn't even hear the whistle, just noticed all the Dees fans go troppo at once and wondered what happened. It was glorious :D

Are you me? :confused:

Which level were you on? I had the Balcony and what would have been straight-in-front seats to the Crameri free, but I missed it. Didn't even hear the whistle, just noticed all the Dees fans go troppo at once and wondered what happened. It was glorious :D
I was 5 rows from the front on the top deck, and variously in the Dogs cheer squad and around the ground as I wandered back up and down. Was on Level 1 and Dawes dropped a mark in front of the section I was standing behind, and I let out a big 'worth every penny Dawes, you big dud' and had a few heads turn around and copped some abuse back, which was good fun.
Was quite fun stirring up the Melbourne supporters around me - they were all quite whiny about the umpires even though it was going their way and were a bit upset that I was in their midst.

I sat on the balcony for last year's game which was a horrifying experience. Surrounded by oldie Melbourne supporters who didn't like me at all until the final siren and then had a couple of good chats with them. Walked out in absolute disbelief, thronged by Demons, it was horrible. Will not be repeating it at a Bulldogs MCG game - maybe a Melbourne game against a side I don't like.

Some of the shit I've read on here posted last night has been nothing short of infuriating.
Anyone who can't see heart, determination and leadership out of that game is trying too hard not to see it. We weren't clean, we weren't skillfull, we certainly weren't fitter. But we still won. Not only that we dominated the last part of the last quarter. Even while playing with a man who couldn't ****ing run!
If you can't take a positive out of that, I can't help you.

As a sidenote if you want to see where we are going, watch the VFL game, that is the end game. And it looks brilliant.
Another sidenote, Tom Liberatore at his best is as good as anyone in the league, superstar!

I was 5 rows from the front on the top deck, and variously in the Dogs cheer squad and around the ground as I wandered back up and down. Was on Level 1 and Dawes dropped a mark in front of the section I was standing behind, and I let out a big 'worth every penny Dawes, you big dud' and had a few heads turn around and copped some abuse back, which was good fun.
Was quite fun stirring up the Melbourne supporters around me - they were all quite whiny about the umpires even though it was going their way and were a bit upset that I was in their midst.

I sat on the balcony for last year's game which was a horrifying experience. Surrounded by oldie Melbourne supporters who didn't like me at all until the final siren and then had a couple of good chats with them. Walked out in absolute disbelief, thronged by Demons, it was horrible. Will not be repeating it at a Bulldogs MCG game - maybe a Melbourne game against a side I don't like.

The balcony is a good spot to watch not only the game but the fans, and I'll usually go there for neutral games. It was fun listening to the unholy bile coming out of these "seasoned affluent gentlemen" during the Richmond-Carlton game in Round 2 :p

It's as good a place to watch sport as there can be - brilliant viewing angle of the whole ground and yet you feel right on top of the action.
Sort of breaks the footballing serenity when some fossil looks up from the crossword he was doing to yell out 'rubbish' at a free kick awarded against the team he apparently barracks for.

Just watched the last 1/4 again. A few thoughts -

The senior guys really stood up in the 4th, and in fact the whole team got involved like I haven't seen for a while.
Murphy had a big big moment where he put his body on the line.
Crameri slotted two goals that he had to kick.
Boyd was great.
Ryan Griffen and Tom Liberatore were some kind of weird tag team duo out there involved in everything in the 4th.
Libba's goal was very nice, too.
Once Cross had left him, Macrae was still getting involved and still getting important touches.

TOM WILLIAMS, MATE, WHAT A GOAL AT THE START OF THE 4TH!!! Not enough has been made of how sweet this was. McCartney basically said in the post match that external criticism from Bulldogs fans had gotten to Williams over the last couple of weeks. Let's hope he can take some confidence out of this game. He may be injury prone, BUT HE IS NOT SHIT.

Tutt had a pretty good game, got in some packs and got some hard ball? And kicked 2 goals? More of that thanks.
Roberts didn't noticeably **** anything up that I saw - might sound like a bit of a backhanded compliment but I think it was a decent effort for a guy who hasn't played any games.

Another solid game from Wood. I thought he may have been borderline best 22 with Young/Goodes etc hanging about, but he's been right up there for us the last month.

Liam Picken had another good game. I can't see a spot for Wallis with Picken in this sort of form.

It wasn't pretty, but we got it done. Finally.

Some of the shit I've read on here posted last night has been nothing short of infuriating.
Anyone who can't see heart, determination and leadership out of that game is trying to hard not to see it. We weren't clean, we weren't skillfull, we certainly weren't fitter. But we still won. Not only that we dominated the last part of the last quarter. Even while playing with a man who couldn't ******* run!

As a sidenote if you want to see where we are going, watch the VFL game, that is the end game. And it looks brilliant.
Another sidenote, Tom Liberatore at his best is as good as anyone in the league, superstar!
As a neutral ( with a vested interest, all my tribe are dyed-in-the wool scraggers ), this is the most reasoned post I have read today. I keep telling people that MFC are a vastly superior unit to the team of just four games ago, never mind 12 months ago. Jamar and Dawes have flicked the switch, in respect of KPP's, and this win should be seen as meritorious, not meh.

I've been pushing little Libba's barrow ( 'cept he's not so little ) since he turned up, majorly disappointed he didn't even get a nom for the rising star in his first year. I'm also dark on FFC ( WB ) supporters who have bagged him out this season, ffs, he is your standout player, and the one who Macca will build his team around.

Apologies if that steps on some toes.

That snap he took in the first, he might as well have ran up to the camera afterwards and said "I'm obviously taking the piss here, ladies and gents"

I've been very, very critical of Williams over the years as I feel that he's wasted obvious talent, but tonight was one of his gems. To think he did it with an amputated leg as well.

More positives to take out of this than when we made Richmond look like Richmond, shame that most people will look past it and say "oh it was only the Dees though".

At least we're spared another Mattdougie special for the next week and a bit at least.

Speaking of sidenotes: How rich is their lot whinging about the umps? Forget the fact they got the cake and the icing for the first 3/4 of the match, simply karma-come-back for 2005 when Davey and White were given frees the whole match for simply existing!

Bloody hell.

The MRP will bend to the media and make a example out of Jones. 3 weeks IMO
If jones gets 3 with a good record, then Roughead with 93.75 carry over gets 5 at least IMO

I can't believe that the AFL. has degenerated to such a level that contact like that is frowned upon. I'm sure the crowds will be up when everyone starts squabbling the ball because of it.

Don't even get me started on the taking out of the legs rule...that is a disgrace.

No heart may be the wrong term, depending on your definition. There just seems a lack of care and a lack of urgency. No leadership and no one wants to take responsibility. Whether that equates to a lack of heart or not is irrelevant. Either way, it's not good enough and so disappointing to see. At the moment we're a lazy, slow, small footy team that lacks skill, confidence and direction. That's a massive, massive drop off from the second half of last year.
i think we just have some young blokes who get happy on themselves too quickly and need a swift kick up the butt from time to time. Hunter and Stringer are two that know they're good and just cruise sometimes. We're a young team that sometimes waivers in concentration defensively. Still i didn't see anything tonight that i haven't seen in young developing teams before. They're babies.

The worst contest of the night was Tutt's disgraceful lazy pick up that handed them the footy and they kicked a goal. He was also one of our most intense players and tackled his butt off. It's just what happens.

Think we have a very clear direction but Melbourne were good enough to deprive us tonight of our key score creator (turnovers) by switching wide before we could apply any pressure (as Crammers said post game).

My concern is that we were a bit frazzled in moving the ball forward at times compared to them but i'd also put this down to our still developing ability to hold things together when things get tough in matches. Our ball movement early in quarters has started ok this year but fades when players get caught up in play deep in quarters.

we're hanging in there this year and it'll click at some point and we'll have a little form run

Good luck with that. It will all be about how Melbourne were in it and should have won, how Tyson is a star, Salem looks the goods oh and the dogs won and how Roos has got the Dees on the right path, there will be a few speed bumps, but their effort was there.

And Warwick green will give Nathan jones 3 votes, Libba 2 votes and Chris Dawes 1 vote.

The flog has no idea (will be interested to see what the votes actually are)

I've been pushing little Libba's barrow ( 'cept he's not so little ) since he turned up, majorly disappointed he didn't even get a nom for the rising star in his first year. I'm also dark on FFC ( WB ) supporters who have bagged him out this season, ffs, he is your standout player, and the one who Macca will build his team around.

Never seen or heard anyone bag Libba? Don't know where that comes from?

Most have acknowledged that he has struggled a bit with the tag this year compared to his form last year. Not "bagging" in a nasty way, just recognition that he was not having as much impact as he had done last year and pre-season.

Just on the Crameri free kick.

The ball spilled over to a Melbourne player who was about to be tackled by Bulldogs player, that would have resulted in at least a stoppage (possibly a turnover our way). The ball was going to be in our 50. From which some shot at goal was more than likely going to come, given how on top we were around the contest at that stage.

Was it a free? Of course not. But Crameri got himself in position to awarded a free by getting front position on Dunn, something he did all night one on one.

Melbourne supporters want to blame someone? perhaps the person who choose to leave James Frawley in forward line instead of on Crameri.
yeah it was one of those frees i didn't really care if we got it or we didn't because i thought we were "on" anyway.

also fact is the ball was a metre over their head so Dunn's contact with Crameri was unnecessary albeit soft. I didn't shout "FREE KICK" when i saw it but when i heard the whistle i knew what it was for. The umps had been soft all night. tis footy

Anyone who can't see heart, determination and leadership out of that game is trying to hard not to see it. We weren't clean, we weren't skillfull, we certainly weren't fitter. But we still won. Not only that we dominated the last part of the last quarter. Even while playing with a man who couldn't ******* run!

What he said ^ :thumbsu:

Was at the game last night and it was as entertaining a game as I've been to

Obviously I thought melbourne should have won but to your boys credit you seemed to be able to find goals when you needed them it really was a clinic in taking your chances

I do hate to say it but taking your chances is good footy so your blokes deserved to win good luck for the rest of the year

PS Jones is in alot of trouble I'd imagine although IMO a free kick would probably have been enough , didn't think it was overly malicious but when someone is KO'd you know they will throw the book

I think our Jones was good last night. Didn't hit the scoreboard but used the ball well and hit contests ferociously. Pity he'll miss out next week. His touch around the ground is improving weekly.

So to are his efforts...

Sat amongst the dees members and had to laugh all night at a drunk in doggies fan giving them shit all night. After the game though he turned around doing the d-x suck it sign which resulted in this senior Demons fan to unzip and expose himself with kids around. ****ing disgusting.

Also loved Maccas response to the Crameri free kick.

Loved tutty and Williams game.

Happy with the win. During the game you get frustrated at the fact we aren't playing great footy but at the final siren we're up on the scoreboard so that shit footy becomes winning footy. And I love winning.

A couple of quick points:
Tutt was very good. He hit the scoreboard which was the highlight, but I was most impressed by his work in traffic. He has been able to transfer the form and elite work he has been doing at VFL level to the Show and we are a better side for it. If JJ can start to match that ability we have a pair of very quick, offensive runners.

Williams' goal in the 4th was sublime. Full credit to him for playing hurt and still producing a game that'd sit high on his list of best performances. Took his chances up front, 3 big ones at the final siren. We'd take that from a tall forward any week. When things fall in place for him, he is capable of really solid performances at both ends. I hope we see his absolute best across the back end of his career.

We really worked over N Jones. It was really blatant. Picken was a joy to watch in this role. It takes a special player to be able to stick at it all game and he was ruthless. Those three players mightn't have been the most impressive on the stats sheet but they were my standouts.

Final note:

Dees fans behaviour was poor. Belied a sense of entitlement. That with all that happened during the week, they owed one by the AFL. Probably bit of old fashioned class warfare in the stands as well, they hang onto those old beliefs a little too hard. Pipe down. You are an insignificant Club, you are cheats and you don't deserve to exist. Such passion from fans who voted their Club out of existence. Flogs. Unfortunately, the umpires officiated the game in a spirit of contrition towards Viney and his comrades.It was an atrocious display all around; goal umpires, boundary and field umpires were all poor.

Nicely said guys, was a good hard win.

Cooney excellent in the last quarter.

Possibly Tutt's best game. I keep saying it but I think we look better with him in. A few years ago I wasn't sure but he's important going forward. Some really good pressure acts not to mention a couple of tricky goals to nail the game. I'd take him over Dickson most days of the week.

Roberts was solid. Great to see.

Jones throwing his weight around. Great to see some mongrel back in this team.

Wood....y.

Picken, in great form.

At the start of the season I wouldn't have expected to mention those last five guys as being important in a hard win, especially this early in. We are developing. Winning just makes it so much easier to see.

Negative... Paul Roos complaining they had a man down after the Jones bump. We had two down. Great coach but lost some respect there.

Was at the game so was just watching some highlights... are channel 7 for real? Brian Taylor and Luke Darcy are a disgrace.
For the entire game it was all Melbourne, Melbourne, Melbourne, what they are doing well, what they could do to improve.
At half time all the tactical analysis was about Melbourne.
You wouldn't have known we were playing in the game, let alone led from the first score of the game right through to half time. Maybe we were doing something well?
Libba's game wasn't mentioned until the 3rd quarter. I don't think they mentioned how well we were doing at creating stoppages inside 50, which meant that our goal-inside 50 ratio was very high (and a complete opposite of last week where it was very low)
They hardly said a word about the complex battle between Jamar and Minson
They did not mention at all how Cross was tagging Macrae and kept him to under 20 touches for the first time this year.

But all we heard was BT bafooning on about how the boundary umpire can't throw it in straight. Yes, it's the billionth time you've said that, how about about analysing the game?

As a neutral ( with a vested interest, all my tribe are dyed-in-the wool scraggers ), this is the most reasoned post I have read today. I keep telling people that MFC are a vastly superior unit to the team of just four games ago, never mind 12 months ago. Jamar and Dawes have flicked the switch, in respect of KPP's, and this win should be seen as meritorious, not meh.

I haven't read of anyone bagging Libba --???