State Focus WA 2024 - Western Australia’s junior footy talent

Has anyone got a final list for the side? Did they add 5 or more after the initial squad announcement?
Yes it went up to 36

Chayse Martinson (SD), Toby Whan (SF), Tom.Bell (SF), Andre Gulluni (EP), Jayden Rigoll (WP), Hudson Pivac (SF)

Good additions I feel.

Apart from Luke Cotellessa (SD) I can't fault the selectors and I think they got it right and coach Marc Webb is clearly a great motivator.

William Akec (EP/PSA) is my new hope after 12 months of injuries. (A broken foot I seem to remember) But he left his run for the state 18's way too late. However his run for the draft is still well and truly on. I think he has AFL qualities and I hope a fair few folks get behind him and see what he has to offer.

Yes it went up to 36

Chayse Martinson (SD), Toby Whan (SF), Tom.Bell (SF), Andre Gulluni (EP), Jayden Rigoll (WP), Hudson Pivac (SF)

Good additions I feel.

Apart from Luke Cotellessa (SD) I can't fault the selectors and I think they got it right and coach Marc Webb is clearly a great motivator.

William Akec (EP/PSA) is my new hope after 12 months of injuries. (A broken foot I seem to remember) But he left his run for the state 18's way too late. However his run for the draft is still well and truly on. I think he has AFL qualities and I hope a fair few folks get behind him and see what he has to offer.
Thanks, wasn't aware of Pivac as a late selection. I'll pay attention to Akec in tomorrow's clash against SF!

Not that I'd have access to the games but the Raven seems up and down in your rankings FB.
He's up and down mate but so much potential. He too may be a late riser. Jeepers he looked good up forward in the last match. But there's every chance he wont fire a shot this week.

That's why the list changes dramatically. Players are talented but inconsistent and I sure feel as though it's more fun for people to follow......although this thread has half the followers as last year.....I'm concerned about that.....maybe I need to be a little more cautious or add some other features to make the thread more interesting?

I don't care so much for me but I'd like to get players noticed. That's the aim and then everybody can watch a highlights video or full video and place players where they see fit.

He's up and down mate but so much potential. He too may be a late riser. Jeepers he looked good up forward in the last match. But there's every chance he wont fire a shot this week.

That's why the list changes dramatically. Players are talented but inconsistent and I sure feel as though it's more fun for people to follow......although this thread has half the followers as last year.....I'm concerned about that.....maybe I need to be a little more cautious or add some other features to make the thread more interesting?

I don't care so much for me but I'd like to get players noticed. That's the aim and then everybody can watch a highlights video or full video and place players where they see fit.
Love your work! we can certainly get a lot more followers on this thread if thats the aim!

2006 DOB/2024 Draft/WA 18's contenders in colts/PSA Round 13 update
1=Kayle Gerreyn (WP)
1=Bo Allan (PT)
3-Luke Urquhart (EF/PSA)
4-Hamish Davis (CL)

5-Luke Cotellessa (SD/PSA)
6-Malakai Champion (S)
7-Hugh Boxshall (CL/PSA)
8-Charlie Burke (S)
9-Clancy Dennis (CL/PSA)
10-Cody Angove (CL)
11-William Akec (EP/PSA)
12-Lucas Ravenhill (CL)

13-Jaxon Artemis (SF/PSA)
14-Andre Gulluni (EP)
15-Chayse Martinson (SD)
16-Will.Hayes (CL)

17-Darcy Petersen (PT)
18-Loch MacTaggart (P/PSA)
19-Austin Van Der Struyf (CL)
20-Deian Roberts (PT)
21-Otis Harvey (SD)
22-Robert Warrell (P)
23-Jack Wooden (WP)
24-Trent Hiscock (WP)
25-Colby McDonald (SD)
26-Jayden Rigoll (WP)
27-Jaxon Douglas (CL)

28-Orlando Keleman (SF)
29-Thomas Cathcart (SD)
30-Cooper Moore (P)
31-Declan Pauline (EF)
32-Koopa Walsh (S)
33-Tom Smedley (PT)
34-Xavier Hickey (S)
35-Tom.Bell (SF)
36-Jake Soutar (EP)
37-Lukas Jakovich (PT)
38-Hudson Pivac (SF)
39-Ryan Bizzell (PT)

40-Hayden Windsor (S)
41-Tyler Rowe (SF)
42-Jesse Grant (PT)
43-Toby Jones (S/PSA)

44-Max Burbury (CL/PSA)
45-Jaden Funazzi (PT)
46-Preston Cherry-Bayles (P/PSA)

47-Harrison Creighton (SD)
48-Tore Nelson (S/PSA)
49-Ned Reiger (SD/PSA)
50=Ashton Warner (EF/PSA)
50=Liam Cooley (P)
50=Bailey Morgan (EF/PSA)
50=Jezurahn Balacky (CL)

50=Carlos Partington (SD)

NA-Joseph Hopkyns (CL/Inj)
NA-Kindrael Hooker (EF/Inj)
NA-Jye Sander (EF/Inj)

Others To Keep an Eye on: Anthony Hansen (SD), Elijah Huddlestone (SD), Jake Austin (EF), Riley Longson (EP/PSA), Tynan Garlett (P), Zane Triscari (SF), Liam Hrarbar (SD), James Meszaros (P/PSA), Tre Healey (SF), Nick Campo (SF/PSA),

Overagers to keep an eye on: (Potentially will play colts 2024)

1-Max Rohr (CL)
2-Bailey.Banfield (CL)
3-Aiden Riddle (CL)
4-Evan Smith (SD)
5-Jett Sibosado (CL)

6-Cuba Garlett (PT/Inj-NA)
7-Adam De Masi (EP)
8-Cruz Woodley (SD)
9-Kobe Austin (EF)
10-Presley Campbell (EF)

11-Sullivan Moody (CL)
12-Zac Petersen (EF)
13-Elijah Stockden (EF)
14-Campbell Knox (CL)

15-Jack Eastaugh (EF)
16-Kieren Douglas (S)

17-Max York (SD)
18-Lucas Naylies-Pereira (EP/Inj-NA)
19-Liam Clarke (P/Inj-NA)
20-Brodie McLean (P)

Others to keep an eye on: Aidan Harvey (SF), Mitchell Keene (P), Oliver Martin (WP), Hamish Brogan (CL)

Votes
+ = over age
** = below age
*** = 2008 DOB
Leader Board Games Votes Ave Goals
Preston Cherry-Bayles (P) 1 10 10.00 -
Cooper Moore (P) 3 29 9.67 1
Luke Urquhart (EF) 2 19 9.50 4
Evan Smith+ (SD) 2 17 8.50 -
Luke Cotellessa (SD) 3 25 8.33 1
Max Burbury (CL) 2 15 7.50 3
Bo Allan (PT) 2 15 7.50 1
Bailey.Banfield+ (CL) 6 42 7.00 7
Kayle Gerreyn (WP) 5 33 6.60 5
Jack Wooden (WP) 10 64 6.40 5
Declan Pauline (EF) 10 60 6.00 3
Elijah Stockden+ (EF) 10 60 6.00 3
Adam De Masi+ (EP) 9 54 6.00 2
Jadd Hill** (P) 6 36 6.00 1
Hugh Boxshall (CL) 3 18 6.00 1
Kobe Austin+ (EF) 2 12 6.00 7
Leo Steed*** (SD) 1 6 6.00 -
Max McCullough** (S) 1 6 6.00 -
Fred Rodriguez** (SF) 4 22 5.50 1
Otis Harvey (SD) 9 47 5.22 8
Charlie Burke (S) 6 30 5.00 3
Luke Hallett** (EP) 4 20 5.00 3
Kindrael Hooker (EF) 2 10 5.00 4
Mitchell Geier+ (SF) 9 41 4.55 8
Jett Sibosado+ (CL) 10 45 4.50 2
Jaxon Douglas (CL) 6 27 4.50 -
Austin Van Der Struyf (CL) 5 22 4.40 2
Chayse Martinson (SD) 6 26 4.33 3
Austin Chapman (WP) 8 34 4.25 5
Codan Daddow+ (WP) 4 17 4.25 2
Tyler Rowe (SF) 8 33 4.12 -
Orlando Kelleman (SF) 9 37 4.11 5
Tye Kemp+ (PT) 10 40 4.00 4
Sullivan Moody+ (CL) 10 40 4.00 3
Tom Smedley (PT) 9 36 4.00 5
Andre Gulluni (EP) 8 32 4.00 1
Millar Rank** (SF) 7 28 4.00 1
Hamish Davis (CL) 6 24 4.00 11
Darcy Petersen (PT) 3 12 4.00 -
William Akec (EP) 2 8 4.00 -
Jude Axford+ (PT) 9 35 3.88 1
Jayden Rigoll (WP) 8 31 3.87 1
Aiden Riddle+ (CL) 6 23 3.83 1
Sam Swadling** (WP) 8 30 3.75 10
Carlos Partington (SD) 3 11 3.67 9
Ned Reiger (SD) 3 11 3.67 1
Presley Campbell+ (EF) 3 11 3.67 1
Jaden Funazzi (PT) 9 32 3.55 4
Judd Marcello** (WP) 10 35 3.50 22
Toby Whan** (SF) 4 14 3.50 1
Mitch Roche (S) 2 7 3.50 -
Dale Sutherland** (P) 5 17 3.40 -
Marcus Cassidy** (EP) 3 10 3.33 7
Colby McDonald (SD) 7 23 3.28 13
Hudson Pivac (SF) 4 13 3.25 7
Ben Steinmann+ (S) 4 13 3.25 3
Rohan Keys** (P) 5 16 3.20 1
Jye Sander (EF) 5 16 3.20 1
Xavier Hickey (S) 10 31 3.10 1

Leading Goal Scorers M G
Robert Warrell (P) 9 24
Judd Marcello** (WP) 10 22
Lucas Ravenhill (CL) 10 16
Finley Henderson (S) 10 15
Rory Luscombe (CL) 8 14
Lukas Jakovich (PT) 9 14
Kayde Sherwood (WP) 10 14
Colby McDonald (SD) 7 13
Koopa Walsh (S) 8 13
Hamish Davis (CL) 6 11
Jessie Hollins (SD) 8 11
Adam Sandrini (SD) 9 11
Joshua Nomlatyu** (EF) 10 11
Sam Swadling** (WP) 8 10
Wesley Walley Jnr** (S) 9 10
Luke Pynes+ (CL) 9 10
Carlos Partington (SD) 3 9
Darcy Montgomery** (S) 4 8
Taj Forrest+ (EF) 4 8
Mitchell Geier+ (SF) 8 8
Otis Harvey (SD) 9 8
Angus Motherwell (EP) 9 8

With the champs now over for the WA lads I think it is fair to acknowledge they performed better than many predicted. A few familiar names did their chances no harm, some have put themselves forward and a few probably had hoped for stronger performances throughout the champs.

Whilst there is a lot to play out over the next few months below are some names I think could have some interest.

Bo Allen. A strong champs and leader for WA. Will he or wont he be a first rounder? Really hope so and am sure he will be around the mark. All reports have him as a strong and genuine leader with future AFL captain written all over him. Either way and not surprisingly I think Allen will be the first picked out of WA
Malakai Champion. Was probably hoping for a stronger champs but think he will go as a next gen 40+ West Coast pick up.
Luke Urquhart. A really strong carnival from Urquhart Not sure he is going to go as high as some may think with midfield depth being so strong nationally but think he will be Top 5 out of WA.
Jaxon Artemis. Good to see him named MVP for WA. One that I think has put his name forward with a strong champs performance. Needs to finish the year strongly at colts
Hamish Davis. A solid carnival and WA's highest goalkicker for the carnival. I see a few boards have him as a smokey round 1 pick. Workrate, athletic upside and footy smarts could see him as one of the higher picks out of WA. Will benefit from a strong finish to the season.
Kayle Gerreyn. Was a little underwhelmed overall with Gerryns champs. Thought his size alone would have had him a little more dominant. Had some good moments but was just expecting a little more from him leading in. Still think he will go Top 5 out of WA. Could possibly get a league game for West Perth which would be a good challenge for him.
Cody Angove. Looking forward to seeing what he does for the remainder of the season. Moves really well and possesses the footy smarts that makes him exciting and entertaining to watch. Needs to put on some size in the coming years which will help. Think he will definitely be on recruiters radars.
Will Hayes. Similar to Angove in that he needs to put on some size but thought he also had a really solid carnival. Good lateral mover, good kick and smart footballer. Is part of the Claremont Colts team which should see him have a long season to prove himself as they should feature deep into the finals.
Clancy Dennis. Somewhat of a quiet achiever, finishing his campaign well on Saturday with his strongest game. Also part of the Claremont Colts team which will see him have a long season and provide himself with plenty of opportunities to prove himself to recruiters.
Aiden Riddle. 19 year old that I think performed really well throughout carnival. Great to see him get an opportunity as a 19 year old. With quality ruckmen always in demand he would have to be a chance.

With the champs now over for the WA lads I think it is fair to acknowledge they performed better than many predicted. A few familiar names did their chances no harm, some have put themselves forward and a few probably had hoped for stronger performances throughout the champs.

Whilst there is a lot to play out over the next few months below are some names I think could have some interest.

Bo Allen. A strong champs and leader for WA. Will he or wont he be a first rounder? Really hope so and am sure he will be around the mark. All reports have him as a strong and genuine leader with future AFL captain written all over him. Either way and not surprisingly I think Allen will be the first picked out of WA
Malakai Champion. Was probably hoping for a stronger champs but think he will go as a next gen 40+ West Coast pick up.
Luke Urquhart. A really strong carnival from Urquhart Not sure he is going to go as high as some may think with midfield depth being so strong nationally but think he will be Top 5 out of WA.
Jaxon Artemis. Good to see him named MVP for WA. One that I think has put his name forward with a strong champs performance. Needs to finish the year strongly at colts
Hamish Davis. A solid carnival and WA's highest goalkicker for the carnival. I see a few boards have him as a smokey round 1 pick. Workrate, athletic upside and footy smarts could see him as one of the higher picks out of WA. Will benefit from a strong finish to the season.
Kayle Gerreyn. Was a little underwhelmed overall with Gerryns champs. Thought his size alone would have had him a little more dominant. Had some good moments but was just expecting a little more from him leading in. Still think he will go Top 5 out of WA. Could possibly get a league game for West Perth which would be a good challenge for him.
Cody Angove. Looking forward to seeing what he does for the remainder of the season. Moves really well and possesses the footy smarts that makes him exciting and entertaining to watch. Needs to put on some size in the coming years which will help. Think he will definitely be on recruiters radars.
Will Hayes. Similar to Angove in that he needs to put on some size but thought he also had a really solid carnival. Good lateral mover, good kick and smart footballer. Is part of the Claremont Colts team which should see him have a long season to prove himself as they should feature deep into the finals.
Clancy Dennis. Somewhat of a quiet achiever, finishing his campaign well on Saturday with his strongest game. Also part of the Claremont Colts team which will see him have a long season and provide himself with plenty of opportunities to prove himself to recruiters.
Aiden Riddle. 19 year old that I think performed really well throughout carnival. Great to see him get an opportunity as a 19 year old. With quality ruckmen always in demand he would have to be a chance.

What about Max Rohr?

So Allan, Urquhart, Davis, Gerryn and Artemis/Champion are your top 5?

What about Max Rohr?

So Allan, Urquhart, Davis, Gerryn and Artemis/Champion are your top 5?
I agree with Futbolista in terms of the Top 4 Allan, Gerreyn, Urquhart, Davis.

Max Rohr will need a big finish to the season and needs to be pushing for league games at Claremont. Had 1 good game in champs.

Don't think Champion will go top 5

Artemis obviously had a good champs but again will need a strong finish to the season.

I would be keeping an eye on Angove and Hayes from Claremont.

I agree with Futbolista in terms of the Top 4 Allan, Gerreyn, Urquhart, Davis.

Max Rohr will need a big finish to the season and needs to be pushing for league games at Claremont. Had 1 good game in champs.

Don't think Champion will go top 5

Artemis obviously had a good champs but again will need a strong finish to the season.

I would be keeping an eye on Angove and Hayes from Claremont.

Thanks - I agree on Champion; I think there will be another to go beforehand; probably as you say Angove or Hayes.

Not sure where Rohr fits but I reckon it could come down to his athletic profile more than anything.

This is the most interesting time of the season in colts footy for me. The state players have or haven't caught some hype.

Now it's time for some wildcards to stand up in the latter part of the season. All the teams can still make the finals technically although it is extremely unlikely that any team can challenge Claremont. West Perth are the best chance with their outstanding crop of below agers plus some seasoned ball magnets like Jayden Rigoll, the prolific Jack Wooden and the diminutive Austin Chapman.

These are the wildcards I think/hope/speculate may catch the eye in the second part of the season in no particular order.

Jack Wooden (WP) 179cm (midfielder) Son of former WCE Josh. May not have obvious AFL athletic capacity but he finds the ball at will around stoppages and averages 22.7 disposals at colts level this season. At the very least he will be a WAFL star in the Hamish Brayshaw (EP) style.

Ryan Bizzell (PT) 191cm (forward) Has missed a lot of football due to injury but is now finally stringing some games together. Talented, mercurial Indigenous tall who reminds me of fellow Peel player Josh Draper back in 2022 when Fremantle took a chance. Draper is doing ok - Bizzell has similar qualities.

Orlando Keleman (SF) 188cm+ (utility) Started the season as a forward. He was part of the WA state 18's summer squad but didn't quite make the final list. Now playing a variety of roles. Very fine athlete - has good foot skills and is impacting matches. It's difficult to ignore players with that athletic upside.

Luke Cotellessa (SD/PSA) 183cm (midfield) I think he is a genuinely exciting mid whether that be for Trinity College or Swan Districts. Not vanilla in any way. Has flair and a hunger for the ball in the centre square. He'll be back for the Black Ducks later in the season from PSA and then the finals beckon as Swans are making a charge.

Jake Soutar (EP) 190cm+ (utility) At first I thought this guy would be a dour defender but he has become much more than that. Moved to a wing. Used his height and running ability to impact and now he is right in the guts and showing he can find the ball, run and break tackles. He will get noticed.

Toby Jones (S/PSA) 186cm (utility) Has come out of nowhere really or should I say he comes from Gibson, a small "village" North of Esperance about 12 hours drive from Perth. Electrifying in bursts either as a marking forward or hard at it mid. I don't recall him ever being in Subiaco futures squads let alone state teams. Has impressed for Scotch Collge also and will be back later in the season in the colts.

Chayse Martinson (SD) 182cm (midfielder) I've been waiting for this ball magnet to show that he has the smarts with ball in hand and also when he doesn't have ball in hand. He has clearly worked on his kicking and I must say I'm impressed. He was always the most determined mid in the comp but now he combines that with a clear mind and a much surer boot.

Lucas Ravenhill (CL) 199cm (forward) Another "at last he gets it" player. I've been waiting for him to impose himself on games and now he does and at 199cm there was never ever reason why he shouldn't. Has the size to clunk most marks when in front and is excellent at ground level for his size. To be honest (prefaced) if he maintains this form I'd say he will get drafted. Shame he left his run late.

William Akec (EP/PSA) 190cm (defender) Was a highly regarded WA state 16's player but a broken foot put paid to the last 14 or so months but is playing again. Perhaps of Ugandan heritage, he runs straight at the ball and nobody is particularly willing to get in his way when he storms out of the backline or stands under a high ball to mark. Played last week and spent most of the match in a forward pocket and chose not to go near the ball. Expecting better in the remainder of the season.

Lukas Jakovich (PT) 180cm (forward) Reminds me more of Allen than Glenn. A true showman, has flair and a knack for kicking goals out of nowhere. Every defence in the colts is wary of him. What can he do in the second part of the season. Has the pedigree of course.

Jezurahn Balacky (CL) 176cm (forward) Indigenous left footer with tremendous evasive skills, a nice boot and a willingness to compete and not do the flashy things although he can and often does. I wonder if the scouts have noticed him yet. I reckon they have.

Ryan Bizzell (PT) 191cm (forward) Has missed a lot of football due to injury but is now finally stringing some games together. Talented, mercurial Indigenous tall who reminds me of fellow Peel player Josh Draper back in 2022 when Fremantle took a chance. Draper is doing ok - Bizzell has similar qualities.
Was hoping the hype on him would stay quiet for a while... been quietly watching him as a potential Cat-B option as a Freo NGA, think he's a smokey

Think he's a decent shout to be WA's second picked

Was hoping the hype on him would stay quiet for a while... been quietly watching him as a potential Cat-B option as a Freo NGA, think he's a smokey
Oops sorry mate. I don't think many have spotted him. He's Fremantle's if they want to rookie him I reckon. What a bargain.

Ripper!

It's another general PSA bye. Many PSA players listed in the budget.

All the state 18's players are named also.

Plus of course the outstanding 2025 players.

This is a round where people should select a match on streamer and give it a go and fingers crossed the quality is decent.

From a WA POV, with the 2025 names' praises being sung, and the 2026 names (plus 2 for 2027 in Abbonizio and Walsh) getting to strut their stuff, it's pretty exciting for you Sandgropers.

Also, as I have relo's in Craigie, I'm keeping a close eye on Subi the most. (Simmons and Abbonizio happen to fall into the Lions' metro zone and I'm interested in following both's paths playing for or away from the Subiaco Lions so that's worth noting.)

From a WA POV, with the 2025 names' praises being sung, and the 2026 names (plus 2 for 2027 in Abbonizio and Walsh) getting to strut their stuff, it's pretty exciting for you Sandgropers.

Also, as I have relo's in Craigie, I'm keeping a close eye on Subi the most. (Simmons and Abbonizio happen to fall into the Lions' metro zone and I'm interested in following both's paths playing for or away from the Subiaco Lions so that's worth noting.)
I've seen Abbonizio play for Hale in PSA as a 15 year old. He is a genuine gun.

Let’s not forget about Regan Mott. Can’t tell if he’s a right footer or a left footer. Elite speed and endurance. Ticks all of the boxes of an elite player. Excited to see how he ends his season. Easily has the most aura in the wafl colts this year, closely followed by Sam Phillips, a genuine gun from East Perth who can play many roles including a lockdown defender or an attacking half back. Can also go inside and impact the contest.

I thought I would feature a couple of colts matches this weekend as itlooks like a really good round with teams nearing full strength. Fingers crossed that streamer provide a high res live stream. It can be hit and miss. I don't think they understand how many more viewers they would get from around Australia if they just made sure they used decent cameras, provided 1080 quality res and at least matched cricket streams from third world countries - which are miles clearer - I guess because they have pride in their product. And yes that's free also. Having said that, I will continue to promote streamer.

West Perth v Swan Districts at Pentanet, Joondalup, Saturday 9.15am WA/ 11.15am Vic https://streamer.com.au/match/3666

Plenty of players of interest here. Look at the Black Ducks' mids - Blake Kelly, Luke Cotellessa, Chayse Martinson, Max York, Otis Harvey and Lucas Andrews. A good enough core of players to challenge any side. West Perth have the best below age players in the competition - so good in fact that these guys have driven them to second spot on the ladder.

** = below ager
+ = over ager

West Perth M V Ave G
2-Cooper Bewick** (WP) 10 13 1.30 3
3-Kayle Gerreyn (WP) 5 33 6.60 5
4-Patrick Atkins (WP) 8 12 1.50 -
7-Austin Chapman (WP) 8 34 4.25 5
8-Darcy Keenan (WP) 9 2 0.22 -
9-Thomas Rooke (WP) 10 1 0.10 4
12-Marcus Burns (WP) 9 5 0.55 -
13-Jack Wooden (WP) 10 64 6.40 5
15-Sebastian Hewitt** (WP) 8 - ---- 4