10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
Had nothing to do today so went to the Perth v East Perth match. The decision purely based on Perth having the Gymbus. The crowd was fantastic but then I learned it was the Junior Parade day, queues to everything were a mile long. But on to the footy. Overall it was a fairly high pressure game of football with players being given little time to dispose of it, in the main.

Scott Selwood - As Trump mentioned in another thread Scott Selwood was everywhere until being KO'd. He got off the stretcher and was sitting in the dugout just before 3/4 time so let's hope he's OK. was playing more of a midfield role and his disposal, when he had time and space was first rate. Continually attacks the ball hard. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Will Sullivan - seems to turn it on whenever I go and watch Perth. Has a decent leap, as showed in the first ruck contest, and worked hard around the ground in patches. I say in patches because he tends to fade out of games due to his age and not having the fitness base required to run out a game as the main ruckman. Very promising signs from him though, especially the run forward to get the Demons to within 2 points at 3/4 time. Some of his field kicking was fantastic for a 202 cm player. :thumbsu:

Steven Arsmstrong - pressure on the ball in the midfield and forward was fantastic. Created quite a few goals with his pressure around the ball when it was inside 50. Always gives 100% for Perth but doesn't seem to be able to translate this to the AFL level, of late anyway. :thumbsu:

Ben McKinley - was probably the catalyst for East Perth getting off to a good start. That first mark in the first minute of play looked like it was going way over his head but he plucked it somehow. Obviously faded as the game went on but also seemed to spend some time on half forward or in the middle? around 2nd or 3rd quarter. Early in the game his pressure on the ball at ground level was fantastic, but that dropped off a little as the game went on. He looked good though and I was thinking, why wasn't he playing last night? :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Forgot to add that McKinley's field kicking in the first half, particularly first quarter, was superb. Kicking to space for forwards to lead in to, just the way it ought to be done.

:thumbsu: Cheers Chrsco. Great writeup.

I wonder if Steven Armstrong might be the new Mr. Wafl, absolutely towels up but can't translate it to afl level.

Will Sullivan - seems to turn it on whenever I go and watch Perth. Has a decent leap, as showed in the first ruck contest, and worked hard around the ground in patches. I say in patches because he tends to fade out of games due to his age and not having the fitness base required to run out a game as the main ruckman. Very promising signs from him though, especially the run forward to get the Demons to within 2 points at 3/4 time. Some of his field kicking was fantastic for a 202 cm player. :thumbsu:
Is this kid the real deal or not?

All the reviews I read make him sound like a very promising player.

Is he worth promoting at the end of the year?

Yes, tho I have only seen him live once.

The coaching staff hold massive hopes for him, apparently his improvement curve since he came to the club has been very steep.

Not getting promoted this year. One more year on the rookie list.

I ended up at the Freo game yesterday so didnt see any WAFL action

Mate went to Peel game and he says

Ashley Arrowsmith - Played up forward on Head and ran into the midfield. Had a great game. Kicked 2 goals, made a good defensive effort and got some ball himself

Callum Wilson - Was Souths best. They needed him up forward and he delivered 4 important goals

Jaymie Graham - Was one of Souths bests. Played all around the ground. Got 1 goal 2 but was most impressive on a half forward flank.

Was in the crowd on friday night...

Then he jumped on one of those brand new aeronautic devices that actually allows you to travel through the clouds rather then on the ground and got back in time to suit up for Souths.

Actually kicked 2 goals btw :thumbsu. Good effort but i expect no less from JayGra in the WAFL

He moves very well, much more mobile than a Seaby (note - I am not knocking Seaby, just using as a comparison), runs forward to hurt the opposition but I have also seen him work defensively quite well. Chops says that Perth are not that rapt with him, that he can sometimes not work hard enough. I've seen him 3-4 times this year and he works hard enough for mine. His skills are pretty good though.

Sorry for the ramble GL but the short answer is he looks the goods, but I agree with Embers that they'll keep him on the list one more year.

What's a gymbus?? :confused::confused:

Cuzz, it's a double decker bus that has all the seats removed and monkey bars and other gym equipment put into the bus. Kids swings around, slide down poles, climb up ropes etc. My youngest son does gymnastics, so that's where the love of the Gymbus comes from.

He moves very well, much more mobile than a Seaby (note - I am not knocking Seaby, just using as a comparison), runs forward to hurt the opposition but I have also seen him work defensively quite well. Chops says that Perth are not that rapt with him, that he can sometimes not work hard enough. I've seen him 3-4 times this year and he works hard enough for mine. His skills are pretty good though.

Sorry for the ramble GL but the short answer is he looks the goods, but I agree with Embers that they'll keep him on the list one more year.

Cuzz, it's a double decker bus that has all the seats removed and monkey bars and other gym equipment put into the bus. Kids swings around, slide down poles, climb up ropes etc. My youngest son does gymnastics, so that's where the love of the Gymbus comes from.

Serious?

Thats cool :p

Just got back from the Swans v Claremont match, where it was more suited to waterfowl than football. This is my take on the Eagles players, plus I had the fortunate pleasure of seeing Naitanui and Yarran back in action, along with de Boer.

Ashley Hansen - I thought after taking the first quarter (when Swans were kicking into a 20 knot zephyr) to adapt to the wet and slippery conditions he was a very good contributor. Started attacking the ball and pack hard, I know it'll be hard for some to fathom but he took at least 2 packs apart. Kicked 2 or so goals and his work rate just increased as he warmed to the task. :thumbsu:

Tony Notte - played as a 6"5' midfielder for a fair part. I think he must have been HFF but started the bounces on the wing a number of times. When many were having trouble marking his fingers were oh so sticky. Did some very clever things in the packs and managed to keep his feet in the wet when others were skittling about. He also looks to have added a little more beef. One of his better games for the past month, most definitely an exciting talent. :thumbsu:

Eric Mackenzie - couldn't play his normal style of run and deliver rebound footy because of the condition of the ground. I think he played on Hansen parts of the game and was handy in the first 3 quarters until Swans started running over them. Also took a couple of good marks when most others couldn't mark on the chest. Still plays a little loose as a defender, especially when on one of the key forwards.

Lewis Stevenson - started off brightly, did some very nice things, particularly in packs, in the first quarter when the Tiges were up and about. Went quiet in the last half, although he was continually running, just wasn't used or in position. When it was a little drier you could see his pace on display and there was enough glimpses of the talent to see why he was taken.

McGinnity certainly didn't play, he was sitting near me, but I don't think Thomson played either. I certainly didn't notice the 31 and I was looking for it here and there, but maybe someone else can help me with that.

OK, on to the information I know you all want. Naita, Yarran and I'll throw in deBoer.

Naita - wasn't outstanding in the ruck but boy was he good in the packs and at ground level for a 196+cm player. Looked a lot more disciplined, ie not going for the speccy mark, than I have seen in the past. Smothers, chases and tackles when his mids won't/can't.

Chris Yarran - boy is this kid a talent. I hope by some miracle he ends up at the Eagles. Always looks like he has purpose with the ball and tracks the ball with intent. Don't know if anyone else was at the game but the goal in the second quarter, about 35-40m out on the right forward pocket boundary was sheer genius! It was like Dale Thomas' one against the Eagles except he was in the middle of a mudheap and just drilled it with the outside of his right boot! When he has the ball you are just mesemerised waiting for something to happen.

deBoer - started off really well and played a lot better than the U18's game I saw him in. By this I mean his kicks were generally useful and with purpose, not just racked up possessions. Pretty solid effort.

Wolfenden - this sort of game suited him when the ball was on the ground most of the day but he provided a lot of spark when he came on and had very clean hands in the conditions. One of the catalysts for swans getting back in the game IMO.

Jeff Garlett - again, great skill on display in the wet. Even tried to take spectacular overhead marks in the conditions and 1 came off. Kept working all day long so was a pretty good effort from him as well.

NickNat - He rucks, he roves, he kicks goals!!
yes, but how good is he at them? Is he actually like a tall mid ala goodes and kouta? or is he just a ruckman who is athletic? Midfield is the key at the moment so if Naitanui can prove to be a good inside mid, then we should be looking at him.

A Goodes.

Remember that purple patch where Goodes was on fire everywhere? Playing in the ruck, midfield and all over the park and he won the brownlow..that is Naita at his best. He has the potential to break the lines like Judd used too and just generally dominate. It is just a sad task separating him from Rich.:(

it is a big risk though. Could be goodes but then again, could turn out as j.brennan or staker (in the sense that they are athletically very gifted, but are inconsistent and don't have great footy brains). Rich appears to be a bonafied midfield star and is a far smaller risk. But we will end up with pick 2 anyway, so talk of naitanui is unneccessary

Eric Mackenzie - couldn't play his normal style of run and deliver rebound footy because of the condition of the ground. I think he played on Hansen parts of the game and was handy in the first 3 quarters until Swans started running over them. Also took a couple of good marks when most others couldn't mark on the chest. Still plays a little loose as a defender, especially when on one of the key forwards.

for those who watch mackenzie play, what is he lacking/his deficits that is holding him back from getting a call up playing for the eagles.
its just i remember there was a lot of hype about him entering the draft back then, but he hasn't been able to crack a starting spot yet. cheers.

for those who watch mackenzie play, what is he lacking/his deficits that is holding him back from getting a call up playing for the eagles.
its just i remember there was a lot of hype about him entering the draft back then, but he hasn't been able to crack a starting spot yet. cheers.

Had injury troubles this year but he has most boxes ticked bar a strong defensive mindset. He tries to be too attacking, probably needs to spend more time looking after his opponent than winning the ball himself. Always up around 20 touches playing at CHB so he can find it.

it is a big risk though. Could be goodes but then again, could turn out as j.brennan or staker (in the sense that they are athletically very gifted, but are inconsistent and don't have great footy brains). Rich appears to be a bonafied midfield star and is a far smaller risk. But we will end up with pick 2 anyway, so talk of naitanui is unneccessary

Not a chance there because he works hard defensively and will always get involved in getting the ball (which is what he's criticised for as far as I can tell). Doesn't try any of the one handed pickup or baulk garbage. Focuses on the ball is what I am trying to say.

Was at the game today.
Cant say i am totally sold on Naitanui. I havent seen alot of him but noticed he has bulked up alot since last year. He is one hell of an athlete, has heaps of power,has a huge leap and his desperation and defensive aspects to his game is fantastic.
I think he will be a good ruck and win a lot hit outs, and he will lay a heap of tackles, but just didnt see him as natural footballer and able to play as a ruck/onballer type that most clubs are after these days in a ruckman.
I know he is still developing and has potiencial but I think he is a risk for a number 1 pick and anyone who has a number 1 pick these days would want to use it for a so called sure thing.
My opinion (and this is only my opinion) is that i dont think he will go number 1 in this years draft.

Chrsco, Embers and whoever else attends lots of WAFL games...Who in your opinion is the next rookie listed player to get promoted.

By my reckoning i would say Callum Wilson hes been eye catching both in defense and when he goes forward.

Chops says that Perth are not that rapt with him, that he can sometimes not work hard enough. I've seen him 3-4 times this year and he works hard enough for mine. His skills are pretty good though.

Should probably qualify this. That was up until the Subi game, and from what I saw before then, he was very "in and out" of games. Haven't seen them since then, but assume he must have got a bit of a rocket and responded, because he seems to have been pretty good since, when I haven't seen much of them.

He looks to have it all there. Like I said previously, when he wants to play, he is very good. It seems more of a matter of mental application, because he has the potential there to be a good player. And if they get that sorted, he will be listed. And if he can get that sorted, all he needs then is the strength and size. :thumbsu:

WAFL Round Up - Round 12