Autopsy We are Jacks complete lack of surprise - demolished after quarter time by Melbourne - the end draws ever closer

Animated GIF

My favourite call of the day, it’s been a low free kick game today with 22. Melbourne 15-7.

The hypocrisy of May bear hugging Larkey being allowed but the calls they made against McKay and Corr as holds shows it’s not them being poor, but choosing to penalise the s**t side because they can’t accept the good side made the mistake.
In some ways, this is representative of the core problem our squad needs to overcome. When you've been as poor as we have, everything is configured for us to lose - as you say, umpires implicitly assume that weaker sides need to infringe more to compete, whilst commentators always assume our leads are precarious but our opponents are insurmountable (they barely raised an eyebrow at Melbourne pegging our lead back so quickly in the second, but when the Demons led by a similar amount at 3QT, they were already talking about who Melbourne would rest up for the final quarter)... and I suspect players from both sides know and feel the same way too.

Obviously fitness was a factor against us today, as we clearly struggled to really stay with them in the second half. Poor turnovers cost us as usual, as did our unceasing inability to clamp down on an opposition spread - so even with our vastly improved effort and some early dominance, it's not too surprising we struggled from then on. But the most crucial thing for us to get right might be this psychological aspect - to expect to be able to control a lead like what we had, and if we're down then to expect that we can come back and regain the lead. Seemed to me today that we did a little better than usual with that today, in that we mostly kept our composure and resilience intact throughout the second quarter (a few glaring mistakes aside), and as much as anything else, that was the encouraging part - but we looked pretty flat going into the last. We get that part right and, eventually, external expectations - other supporters, footy media, umpires - shift as well.

That was a good effort you miserable campaigners. * me Ford plays the best game of his career and people be like Ford invisible after quarter time.

We were outplayed by one of the best teams in the competition but we weren't blown away. Considering where we're at that's a big improvement. Lighten up flogs
I'm a little over the moral victories and "we tried our bestest".

I feel ya mate but we’ve lost 18 in a row and had a red hot crack with several spuds playing against a premiership threat. I’m frustrated but I’m also happy that blokes like Ford, Scott and Archer keep etching their names onto the team sheet as well as Jy and LMac back in form. If we can take some momentum into next week we might just jag a win. Let us pray.

That was a good effort you miserable campaigners. * me Ford plays the best game of his career and people be like Ford invisible after quarter time.

We were outplayed by one of the best teams in the competition but we weren't blown away. Considering where we're at that's a big improvement. Lighten up flogs
Sunday school didn’t lie
I have a friend in The Jesus

I feel ya mate but we’ve lost 18 in a row and had a red hot crack with several spuds playing against a premiership threat. I’m frustrated but I’m also happy that blokes like Ford, Scott and Archer keep etching their names onto the team sheet as well as Jy and LMac back in form. If we can take some momentum into next week we might just jag a win. Let us pray.
Last time there was pats on the back all around against the Saints and then we came out and laid an egg the next week.

Some players can hold their head high. But, as a team, the last 3 quarters were not executed to the expected standard.

That's what swung the momentum in the second. Kicking out of D50 directly to melb players, over and over. Kicking let us down.
Always boggles my mind when teams have obviously outstanding intercept players and then our lot kick it to them every single time. ****en go down the middle to a 1v1 or something instead of kicking to May, Lever and Gawn ffs. Our spacing and workrate is poor which limits the options as well.

Lol lmac back in form? We thinking about the same lmac? How many lmacs we got?

I love how we ignore the receiver then proceed to kick long to a outnumber.

Do our players understand that if we have an extra running with the ball, it means we can overlap and suck in the opposition? Bombing it long to the best intercepting team is so dumb.

It's so basic but we constantly do it to ourselves.

I reckon some list changes will look like this:

Ziebs - retire
Cunners - retire
Hall - retire
Turner - delist
Edwards - delist
Mahoney - delist
Dawson - delist
Bonar - delist
Free - never heard of until checked our list - unsure
Spicer - unsure
What about Lazaro Howe Tucker Corr Young Stephenson Mackay..

If you sit on the dunny to have a crap at 11:58pm and you are still there at 12:02am, its same 5hit different day.
That is a highly entertaining new spin on another Sunday arvo of never ending mind numbing ah wells….thanks for the laugh 👍

Comparing the forward line to the backline, you might expect the focus at the draft to be on bringing good backs in.

While our backs need to be addressed, we will be going nowhere unless we address the pressure in the front half.

Curtis just needs to never see seniors action until he proves he is both fit and interested enough to have any defensive side to his game.

We just cannot afford to carry Stephenson if we are serious going forward. While his goal kicking has been a positive this year and -for his size- he has good tackling technique, we simply need yo make a decision with him. I would almost prefer to see his vision and offensive smarts as a playmaker out of the back half if we are determined to play him going forward.

Hansen Jnr may have it but he is nowhere near it yet.

TT is a completely frustrating player. While the stars say he had 8 tackles, the eye test showed up a guy who was really only interested in breaking away when he had the ball.

Sheezel was kind of unsighted today. Please can we just play him the front half for the rest of the year. It may seem like an impossibility considering his incredible talent and smarts, but I wouldn’t put it past North to develop him into a complete plodder.

Phillips had moments where he was good but mostly didn’t do enough.

Depressingly, we would have been completely flogged if it wasn’t for the work of our soon to be retired Ziebell, our co-captain McDonald (turned the clock back to 2020-well done) and Turner.

Arch cracked in and provided a bit of entertainment.

Ford had a brilliant first quarter and then went home.

It was good to see Larkey take a couple of timely marks but when you get so few genuine chances, he really needs to nail 80%+ kicks on goal. I know he is at 73% and leading the league.

Tucker did some good things and quite a few very frustrating things that completely effed up our momentum at times.

Goater, Corr and Taylor were ok.

Bailey needs to be a vice-captain. He will probably win our B+F this year.

Simpkin fought his way back into the game.

LDU had an almost game despite still getting 27 possies.

Autopsy We are Jacks complete lack of surprise - demolished after quarter time by Melbourne - the end draws ever closer