West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)

Well yeah, Jeff White pick 1 in 1994 and Clive Waterhouse pick 1 in 1995 amongst your draft hauls for those years
Swapping pick 4 to Essendon (Scott Lucas) for Tony Delaney
Swapping Jeff Farmer for Phil Gilbert
Taking Chris Groom over Andrew McLeod
Delisting Peter Bell after 1 season
Giving us pick 3 (Phil Matera) for David Hynes

Freo definitely had their chances for a good start but chose to **** it up instead and haven’t recovered

I'm fine with not getting a PP however the inequality created by certain clubs having access to Academy picks, no matter where they fall, needs to be addressed.

At the moment, the 2 WA clubs are the most impacted by location/draft concessions/access to academy picks and it's only ever going to get even more increasingly difficult to remain competitive in the future.

The fact that the Vic media, and now Kane Cornes, are actively promoting draft tampering to discourage Vic kids from moving west is disgusting and the draft should just be scrapped completely in that case, with no soft cap restrictions in place.

You have the money? You should be allowed to spend it with no penalty on off-field expenditure. I'm not advocating for the player's salary cap to be abolished.

You don't? Stop being a basket case begging for AFL handouts.

Swapping pick 4 to Essendon (Scott Lucas) for Tony Delaney
Swapping Jeff Farmer for Phil Gilbert
Taking Chris Groom over Andrew McLeod
Delisting Peter Bell after 1 season
Giving us pick 3 (Phil Matera) for David Hynes

Freo definitely had their chances for a good start but chose to * it up instead and haven’t recovered

The taking Chris Groom over Andrew McLeod has been well explained by Neesham but people like to be ignorant of that. He didnt want to head west and clearly acted that way as well in his meeting with the club.

As for the swapping of picks - hindsight is great, but every club could rattle off dozens of picks that haven't worked out. Richmond taking Tambling instead of Pavlich is a great one.

People also forget the club was basically financially dead in the early years - the AFL gave us no help as they new we'd survive on our own 2 feet being from a football rich state and suburb. Many trades in the early years were simply to sell hope and create memberships, with no long-term view.

get absolutely ****ed west coast deserve a priority pick.

They won a flag 5 years ago and they chose not to rebuild, but instead piss away draft picks for Tim Kelly who has been a bust. They got greedy and are paying the price for it.

I have full sympathy on how they had to deal with Covid and current injuries issues but their list errors are their own fault.

How did they have to deal with COVID that was different to any other club? Everyone was in the same boat - the eagles just sooked more.

The whole whingers tag got labelled on us for the first hub when we got sent there, and weren't given an end date on when we were leaving. We had a lot of players with young families who just wanted clarity when they could go home.

It got beaten up into West Coast was just complaining constantly and the media ran with it.

The whole whingers tag got labelled on us for the first hub when we got sent there, and weren't given an end date on when we were leaving. We had a lot of players with young families who just wanted clarity when they could go home.

It got beaten up into West Coast was just complaining constantly and the media ran with it.
That's understandable. Would've been tough no doubt. I guess the interesting part was just how performance tailed off during that time when you'd hope to be competing hard come September.

This is more so a discussion for 2024 i think.

Even at the start of this year - with a fit and healthy list I had the eagles challenging for spots between 8-10. My prediction was that they will then fall off a cliff in 2024 when old timers retire. I think there's more pain ahead.

This year there's the excuse of injuries for supporters to cling on to (which is completely valid), but injuries this season is hiding poor list management. There's no way that the likes of Schuey, Hurn, Nic Nat should have been signed for this year. Signing NN for 2 years is a ludicrous decision. Signing old blokes has it's place when you're challenging for the premiership, but keeping them on when they wont be around for the next tilt is poor management.

I would think a priority pick in 2025 could be a maybe if they dont turn things around by then. If they allow NN to see out his contract in 2024, and allow Schuey to go around again then they definitely dont deserve any compensation.

The taking Chris Groom over Andrew McLeod has been well explained by Neesham but people like to be ignorant of that. He didnt want to head west and clearly acted that way as well in his meeting with the club.
Here’s another take on the McLeod meeting;

Fremantle had flown the 18-year-old McLeod and his father to Perth for an interview, but none of the coaching or recruiting staff had actually seen him play, despite McLeod having played in a premiership for Port Adelaide Football Club in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL) a few weeks earlier.

McLeod was puzzled and insulted when Fremantle coach Gerard Neesham asked him to stand up to see how tall he was. The result of this short meeting was that he was traded to Adelaide in return for promising centre half-forward Chris Groom, who they also hadn't see play. McLeod went on to play over 300 games, whilst Groom played only seven for Fremantle before being delisted at the end of the 1995 season.[8]

As for the swapping of picks - hindsight is great, but every club could rattle off dozens of picks that haven't worked out. Richmond taking Tambling instead of Pavlich is a great one.
We’re not talking about dozens of picks over the course of history, these were the first 2 seasons of you entering the comp.

Ballsing it up so badly at the trade table and through the draft initially was more to blame for your poor history than a lack of start up concessions. Anyone throwing away the amount of opportunity you guys had in your hands would’ve suffered similarly.

Delisting Peter Bell after 1 year only to fork out picks 6, 8, 37 and Jess Sinclair to get him back a few years later is just 1 classic example. McLeod another. Scott Lucas, Phil Matera, Jeff Farmer - the list goes on. This is all happening before you get to throwing away pick 1 for a couple of seasons worth of Trent Croad.

The people running your club were a bunch of clowns.

People also forget the club was basically financially dead in the early years - the AFL gave us no help as they new we'd survive on our own 2 feet being from a football rich state and suburb. Many trades in the early years were simply to sell hope and create memberships, with no long-term view.
Join the club. West Coast were on the bones of their ass for years when they came along. They didn’t even have their own training oval and were doing sessions at suburban grounds all over Perth in the initial years. The players were doing fundraisers on weekends just to stay afloat.

Here’s another take on the McLeod meeting;

Fremantle had flown the 18-year-old McLeod and his father to Perth for an interview, but none of the coaching or recruiting staff had actually seen him play, despite McLeod having played in a premiership for Port Adelaide Football Club in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL) a few weeks earlier.

McLeod was puzzled and insulted when Fremantle coach Gerard Neesham asked him to stand up to see how tall he was. The result of this short meeting was that he was traded to Adelaide in return for promising centre half-forward Chris Groom, who they also hadn't see play. McLeod went on to play over 300 games, whilst Groom played only seven for Fremantle before being delisted at the end of the 1995 season.[8]

We’re not talking about dozens of picks over the course of history, these were the first 2 seasons of you entering the comp.

Ballsing it up so badly at the trade table and through the draft initially was more to blame for your poor history than a lack of start up concessions. Anyone throwing away the amount of opportunity you guys had in your hands would’ve suffered similarly.

Delisting Peter Bell after 1 year only to fork out picks 6, 8, 37 and Jess Sinclair to get him back a few years later is just 1 classic example. McLeod another. Scott Lucas, Phil Matera, Jeff Farmer - the list goes on. This is all happening before you get to throwing away pick 1 for a couple of seasons worth of Trent Croad.

The people running your club were a bunch of clowns.

Join the club. West Coast were on the bones of their ass for years when they came along. They didn’t even have their own training oval and were doing sessions at suburban grounds all over Perth in the initial years. The players were doing fundraisers on weekends just to stay afloat.

Nice copy and pasting from Wiki :)

I think you're comparing apples with oranges a bit here and also forgetting in 1994/95 watching blokes play wasn't as easy as looking on your phone, and when you have no money, flying interstate to watch a 17 yr old play wasnt high on the budget agenda. Also, if someone is insulted because you want to look at their physical appearance.... well i think that says a bit more about Mcleods attitude of not wanting to head west.

And yes - this is the first 2 seasons of us entering a comp in 1994 - where you didnt have recruitment teams, numerous coaches etc etc. you're failing to see the relevance that this was a different era, though you mention how WCE's had in tough in your early years? Footy wasnt even a professional sport then. Your captain was still working as a pharmacist.

As for the Trent Croad trade that you've decided to throw up - it's widely agreed we won that trade. Trent Croad was the sweetner to put a few bums on seats - Luke Mcpharlin was who we were after and pick 1 for one of the best KPD of the modern era is definately worthy.

You say that people who were running our club were a bunch of clowns? they were doing the best with what they had in a different era.

I could probably say right now that the people currently running your club are equal to that description. Falling asleep at the wheel with list management. Do you honestly think your current list management isnt laughable at best?

Yeah not sure about the richest club in the comp getting this kind of charity. Why should they be rewarded for their own list management failures and drafting ineptitude? I don't think pp's should even be discussed for anything less than 10 years of awfulness - so let's re-visit this in 6-7 years.

Nice copy and pasting from Wiki :)

I think you're comparing apples with oranges a bit here and also forgetting in 1994/95 watching blokes play wasn't as easy as looking on your phone, and when you have no money, flying interstate to watch a 17 yr old play wasnt high on the budget agenda. Also, if someone is insulted because you want to look at their physical appearance.... well i think that says a bit more about Mcleods attitude of not wanting to head west.

And yes - this is the first 2 seasons of us entering a comp in 1994 - where you didnt have recruitment teams, numerous coaches etc etc. you're failing to see the relevance that this was a different era, though you mention how WCE's had in tough in your early years? Footy wasnt even a professional sport then. Your captain was still working as a pharmacist.

As for the Trent Croad trade that you've decided to throw up - it's widely agreed we won that trade. Trent Croad was the sweetner to put a few bums on seats - Luke Mcpharlin was who we were after and pick 1 for one of the best KPD of the modern era is definately worthy.

You say that people who were running our club were a bunch of clowns? they were doing the best with what they had in a different era.

I could probably say right now that the people currently running your club are equal to that description. Falling asleep at the wheel with list management. Do you honestly think your current list management isnt laughable at best?
You’d hope if you were starting up a team and had pick 1 in your pocket that you could scrounge up enough cash for a plane ticket to SA. Or get the lads to chip in for some fuel money and a couple of nights in a cheap hotel to check the kid out.

If you reckon it’s widely accepted that 38 games worth of Trent Croad plus Luke McPharlin is a win over the 4 flags each plus nearly 700 games worth of Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell in a trade - I’ve got news for you

You’d hope if you were starting up a team and had pick 1 in your pocket that you could scrounge up enough cash for a plane ticket to SA. Or get the lads to chip in for some fuel money and a couple of nights in a cheap hotel to check the kid out.

If you reckon it’s widely accepted that 38 games worth of Trent Croad plus Luke McPharlin is a win over the 4 flags each plus nearly 700 games worth of Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell in a trade - I’ve got news for you
Wow get over it mate - you're sooking over decisions our club ("bunch of clowns") made 20+ years ago.

You should be more worried about decisions at your club that are happening as we speak.

Any poor decisions Freo have made pale into insignificance compared to what you guys are letting unravel right now. For all Freo's failings, we've never been mentioned in the same sentence as Fitzroy.

Wow get over it mate - you're sooking over decisions our club ("bunch of clowns") made 20+ years ago.

You should be more worried about decisions at your club that are happening as we speak.

Any poor decisions Freo have made pale into insignificance compared to what you guys are letting unravel right now. For all Freo's failings, we've never been mentioned in the same sentence as Fitzroy.
You’ve also never won anything.

The list we’ve got currently has players who’ve won more finals in their careers than Fremantle.

If you think that’s insignificant I’ve got more news for you.

Did Freo have their eye on picking up Sam Mitchell at 36?

Easy problem to solve don’t give West Coast,North Melbourne or anyone else a priority pick in 2024,25 or any other club after that.
But we are talking the AFL and if EFL(Egotistical Footballing Terrorist) Eddie wants to be the new piece for the AFL good for him .

Freo flew over McLeod and his dad in business class. The whole discussion was over water polo tactics. Then they flew them back home in economy.

Neesham had his head stuck up his arse.

West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)