Western Bulldogs and their partnership with Ballarat a success

I'm in same boat as you (2x premiership gold memberships), and if it happens, I would hope reserve seat members are taken care of in some way.

But, the cost of reserved seat memberships is largely arbitrary. The club can charge what people will pay. If people drop off they'll reduce the price.

The likely reality that the club would know is that I (and you, and most others) will keep those reserved seats even if there isn't a commensurate benefit conveyed at replacement games.
If we weren't getting the money from the Ballarat strategic investment we'd be jacking up those prices anyway to try and increase our revenue as a whole.

I'm in same boat as you (2x premiership gold memberships), and if it happens, I would hope reserve seat members are taken care of in some way.

But, the cost of reserved seat memberships is largely arbitrary. The club can charge what people will pay. If people drop off they'll reduce the price.

The likely reality that the club would know is that I (and you, and most others) will keep those reserved seats even if there isn't a commensurate benefit conveyed at replacement games.

The price has been going up yearly which isn't a problem. The problem is continuing to pay for 11 home games and only being given the value of 9.

And pretty sure those numbers are inflated and of they stopped playing there they would drop off immediately leaving a hole to fill.

I get many people think it's good and that's fine I just don't see it working long term and also don't want my club selling home games anywhere.

Sorry if you are all happy to sell games all over the joint I'd rather the dogs stay in Melbourne

More broad statements with zero insight and vague insults directed at everyone else. Everyone in Melbourne (including me) would love to see every home game played here but its not financially viable at this time. It's a simple economic issue that you're obviously not comprehending at all. Even Hawthorn have to sell home games to remain profitable.

Why don't you explain your WO redevelopment and funding plan that will allow us to play every home game in Melbourne and reap the same revenue? Since that's what you came in here proposing and insulting other posters about.

If we weren't getting the money from the Ballarat strategic investment we'd be jacking up those prices anyway to try and increase our revenue as a whole.

Or just not turning a profit... The revenue has to come from somewhere. And that somewhere will usually be the supporters, in one way or another.

The price has been going up yearly which isn't a problem. The problem is continuing to pay for 11 home games and only being given the value of 9.

I get what you're saying. My point is that the price or value of 11 home games is entirely arbitrary, save that the club will always try to make it the highest $ value that won't cause people to back off. The club could theoretically make premiership gold memberships $1k each next year, if enough people will pay that, or reduce it to $200, if it isn't selling well. It's up to us to decide whether we think whatever they're offering each year represents value.

Please tell me how the good people of Warrnambool, Hamilton, Horsham etc. can get to an AFL game in Melbourne in 90 minutes. Please do.
If he tells you can you tell me? I'm jack of my 9 hour round trip 10 times a year.

Teleportation has been invented without my knowledge, hasn't it!? God damn it!!!! I'm always the last to know!!!

If he tells you can you tell me? I'm jack of my 9 hour round trip 10 times a year.

Teleportation has been invented without my knowledge, hasn't it!? God damn it!!!! I'm always the last to know!!!

Where do u live?

You already are a member correct?

Honestly how many more members from your part of the world will buy memberships to go to one game a year in Ballarat? That they will probably not even get into ?

And why the hell should we play more than one game out of Melbourne. WE ARE A MELBOURNE CLUB.

Why is everyone else happy to give game away when we don't need to? And please don't tell me we need to the Giants get 14 people to a game and have plenty of cash due to the AFL

StKilda Melbourne Carlton all have money issues and all choose to stay in Melbourne for home games so WRONG AGAIN.

Alternative Facts?? Melbourne sell games to both Alice Springs and Darwin, St Kilda lost there Tassie deal and are trying to get back to NZ again

Yeah I forgot Melbourne to be honest and StKilda won't be playing in NZ For at least two more years. My mistake on the demons

Still doesn't change my opinion I want us to stay on Melbourne or at most sell ONE game not 3 or 4

Where do u live?

You already are a member correct?

Honestly how many more members from your part of the world will buy memberships to go to one game a year in Ballarat? That they will probably not even get into ?

And why the hell should we play more than one game out of Melbourne. WE ARE A MELBOURNE CLUB.

Why is everyone else happy to give game away when we don't need to? And please don't tell me we need to the Giants get 14 people to a game and have plenty of cash due to the AFL

So your solution is to model our economic and growth strategy on a start-up franchise that is struggling to draw a crowd and will be subsidized by the AFL for the foreseeable future? Rather than, say, Hawthorn??

I'm no economist, but that sounds pretty poorly thought out.

The Dogs have to sell home games currently to turn a profit, just like Hawthorn, North, Melbourne, St. Kilda... I'd much prefer to be literally the only club that does it within the same state in which they're located.

Do North's members get compensated in any way for losing those home game? Cheaper memberships, replacement games etc...?
The members don't directly, because they buy their memberships in various packages which obviously get cheaper the more games that one signs up for. They do specify as part of their packages that you are signing up (paying for) XX No of home games at Etihad, XX No of Away Games, XX No of Tassie games etc. So they are in fact quite up front about it.

Perhaps they are good at their packaging because they've been playing a H&A Games away from Melbourne for decades now that I don't think that anybody really notices anymore. They started the whole playing away from Melbourne thing back in the early 80s when they played at the SCG against Richmond, and they took their team on the road since 1980 to Sydney, the Gold Coast, Canberra, and now Tassie.

I think that the Bulldogs with Ballarat thing was sort of left a bit late this year. They are only putting tickets on sale now and announced very late this year what a Ballarat membership was going to cost IMO. I suspect though, that Bulldogs members will get better bang for their buck in Ballarat in 2018 with Ballarat hosting one JLT game and two H&A seasonal games. We will just hope that they are well on the way to expanding the grounds capacity further by this time next year.

And pretty sure those numbers are inflated and of they stopped playing there they would drop off immediately leaving a hole to fill.

I get many people think it's good and that's fine I just don't see it working long term and also don't want my club selling home games anywhere.

Sorry if you are all happy to sell games all over the joint I'd rather the dogs stay in Melbourne
No the numbers were published and quite official. Although their membership has dropped considerably this year by about 5,500 compared to where they were this time last year. One has to assume that a percentage of that is Tasmanian memberships as well. Their two games in Hobart so far this year have only averaged 9,500 over the two games, well down on last year.

Yeah I forgot Melbourne to be honest and StKilda won't be playing in NZ For at least two more years. My mistake on the demons

Still doesn't change my opinion I want us to stay on Melbourne or at most sell ONE game not 3 or 4

You forgot about Melbourne. The are playing in Alice Springs THIS week.

They are also playing in Darwin in July.

Whether St Kilda are playing in NZ in 1 or 2 years is irrelevant, the fact is they are looking to sell games.

You forgot about Melbourne. The are playing in Alice Springs THIS week.

They are also playing in Darwin in July.

Whether St Kilda are playing in NZ in 1 or 2 years is irrelevant, the fact is they are looking to sell games.

I don't look at where other teams play mate I couldn't care and I admitted my error

Can't speak on behalf of any statistics, but I see more kids wearing Bulldogs tops then just about any other team now. Essendon, Collingwood, hawks and Geelong have always seemed to be the dominant team (for at least the last 15 years). But now I see entire family's of kids sporting the dogs kit in Ballarat.

Could be linked to winning the flag but I genuinely feel like Ballarat will be a Bulldogs town in the next 2-3 years. I base this purely off my own subjective views.

One thing though I can't for the life of me understand why some here so feverishly attack it, I understand certain comments in relation to membership prices etc. but some on here seem like real downers.

I get what you're saying. My point is that the price or value of 11 home games is entirely arbitrary, save that the club will always try to make it the highest $ value that won't cause people to back off. The club could theoretically make premiership gold memberships $1k each next year, if enough people will pay that, or reduce it to $200, if it isn't selling well. It's up to us to decide whether we think whatever they're offering each year represents value.
Conflating the value issue is the fact we get replacement games for the sold home games, although seat holders like myself only get GA seats for those

You probably should care if you're trying to build an argument from it.

Considering I wasn't trying to base my argument on this it was purely an addition to the discussion and I admitted I was wrong maybe you should get off your high horse and answer the fair questions I asked you as I think many would be interested to know the answers.

But I assume you didn't because you know the answers don't suit the others argument.

You still pretending to be a norf fan ?

Much like wampeter no basis to even speak
Boris has a connection to the Footscray VFL team so he's clearly a stakeholder who understands the club well, even if it's not the team he supports. If a family member or friend of mine or whatever was drafted to a different club, I'd clearly take a greater interest in that club as well whilst still being a Dogs supporter.

Do u add anything to this forum other than brain dead comments like this?

No
You do realise that was a parody of you so by saying that that post makes no addition to the forum is pretty much saying that you yourself make no addition to this forum.

Conflating the value issue is the fact we get replacement games for the sold home games, although seat holders like myself only get GA seats for those

Yeah, that's right. People like you, boydsno1 and I are the ones most affected, as we're essentially downgraded from our reserved seats to GA for three games, unless the club does something unique.

It's up to us to decide if we still think our reserved seats with replacement games are worth whatever the club charges. I'll definitely keep it because I would probably pay double to be still be able to turn up right before the bounce and have great seats with only Dogs supporters around me.

Considering I wasn't trying to base my argument on this it was purely an addition to the discussion and I admitted I was wrong maybe you should get off your high horse and answer the fair questions I asked you as I think many would be interested to know the answers.

But I assume you didn't because you know the answers don't suit the others argument.

You asked Hoges:

"Honestly how many more members from your part of the world will buy memberships to go to one game a year in Ballarat? That they will probably not even get into ?"

Notwithstanding that you clearly intended it to be rhetorical, how is he supposed to respond to you with the number of people in his area that will buy Bulldogs memberships? I doubt he's been conducting a secret Bulldogs census. The Roos poster who's quite knowledgeable about this issue said above that they and the Hawks have generated around 5,000 to 7,000 members EACH through Tasmania. Use that figure as a guide.

Also, you keep criticising the strategy by saying that Ballarat members won't get into the game, when Ballarat memberships come with a reserved seat at the Ballarat game.

You've done nothing but get all the facts wrong and lay into everyone else.

To all, please take my comments for what they are. I do my best to do my research and present only factual information. I understand that this forum is about football and it goes without saying that it is near and dear to people's hearts, hence the passions and broad scope of opinions. :hearteyes::rage::tearsofjoy::cry:

It's good that members who share their views on this forum are passionate and interested, that's a healthy sign that support for your clubs is strong. :thumbsu:

17458093_1326566614095754_808616102176941966_n.jpg

Sorry, genuinely didn't see the other questions.

Yes, I am a member.

I live in Portland, middle of bumfeck nowhere, Ice capital of Victoria.

I have no fecking idea how many people will go to Ballarat, join as a Ballarat member, join as Dogs members, etc. Could be 2, could be 20, could be 200. I don't have time to survey the 10k people in my town, nor the 20k people in my council district. I'd suspect the majority of them will tell me to feck off though, you know, cos of the Ice habit I mentioned earlier. It's a real bitch when you're trying to conduct surveys.

The reason I believe we have to sell / move games to Cairns and Ballarat is to grow our brand, promote ourselves to new and exciting markets and it's a little unfortunate that this is the main reason, but TO MAKE MONEY. Yes, we are a Melbourne club, absolutely right. But wouldn't you RATHER be known as a Melbourne AND Western Victoria club? One that has enough members to pay its own way, win things under their own steam, instead of relying on handouts and equalisation from the AFL and other clubs? To say or think we don't need this cash short term AND long-term is naive and dangerous.

In the end, I guess it comes down to one question for me; What can I do for the BULLDOGS, not the other way around. I'm no-one to them (except Bevo, who gave me a wink at the GF parade. What a guy!), but they are a lot to me. I'll happily pay my $600+ membership a year (x2 with the Mrs), plus fuel and accommodation costs to get down to whatever games we can, be it 1 or 5 or 9 or 11. The number of games we get to see doesn't even factor into it, because they're my club, and our club, and your club, and every other Bulldogs tragics club, and they NEED my / our support in every way they can get it. Hell, in the past 3 years I've bought 4 additional memberships, 3 of them for absolute strangers. Never met them before in my life. Never will. The other is for a good mate in Cairns. He now goes to every game up there (and drags along some League supporting bogans!), he watches on TV when he can, he's bought well over $500 of merchandise. Feck knows why! He now buys his membership every year. I hope the other 3 do too. If not, oh well, was worth a shot and I'll keep trying with others. None of this is to toot my own horn, it's just I understand what is needed for this club to succeed and survive. The Dogs get there money's worth out of me, and I'm eternally grateful to do so. Ballarat is another venture I'm bloody happy to put my full support behind.

But tiAn probably put it better than I can...
Yeah, that's right. People like you, boydsno1 and I are the ones most affected, as we're essentially downgraded from our reserved seats to GA for three games, unless the club does something unique.

It's up to us to decide if we still think our reserved seats with replacement games are worth whatever the club charges. I'll definitely keep it because I would probably pay double to be still be able to turn up right before the bounce and have great seats with only Dogs supporters around me.

You asked Hoges:

"Honestly how many more members from your part of the world will buy memberships to go to one game a year in Ballarat? That they will probably not even get into ?"

Notwithstanding that you clearly intended it to be rhetorical, how is he supposed to respond to you with the number of people in his area that will buy Bulldogs memberships? I doubt he's been conducting a secret Bulldogs census. The Roos poster who's quite knowledgeable about this issue said above that they and the Hawks have generated around 5,000 to 7,000 members EACH through Tasmania. Use that figure as a guide.

Also, you keep criticising the strategy by saying that Ballarat members won't get into the game, when Ballarat memberships come with a reserved seat at the Ballarat game.

You've done nothing but get all the facts wrong and lay into everyone else.

Sorry, genuinely didn't see the other questions.

Yes, I am a member.

I live in Portland, middle of bumfeck nowhere, Ice capital of Victoria.

I have no fecking idea how many people will go to Ballarat, join as a Ballarat member, join as Dogs members, etc. Could be 2, could be 20, could be 200. I don't have time to survey the 10k people in my town, nor the 20k people in my council district. I'd suspect the majority of them will tell me to feck off though, you know, cos of the Ice habit I mentioned earlier. It's a real bitch when you're trying to conduct surveys.

The reason I believe we have to sell / move games to Cairns and Ballarat is to grow our brand, promote ourselves to new and exciting markets and it's a little unfortunate that this is the main reason, but TO MAKE MONEY. Yes, we are a Melbourne club, absolutely right. But wouldn't you RATHER be known as a Melbourne AND Western Victoria club? One that has enough members to pay its own way, win things under their own steam, instead of relying on handouts and equalisation from the AFL and other clubs? To say or think we don't need this cash short term AND long-term is naive and dangerous.

In the end, I guess it comes down to one question for me; What can I do for the BULLDOGS, not the other way around. I'm no-one to them (except Bevo, who gave me a wink at the GF parade. What a guy!), but they are a lot to me. I'll happily pay my $600+ membership a year (x2 with the Mrs), plus fuel and accommodation costs to get down to whatever games I can, be it 1 or 5 or 9 or 11. The number of games I get to see doesn't even factor into it, because they're my club, and your club, and every other Bulldogs tragics club, and they NEED my support in every way they can get it. The Dogs get there money's worth out of me, and I'm eternally grateful to do so.

But tiAn probably put it better than I can...

Thank you and I appreciate the response.

I only asked your opinion on as someone from the area discusesed who I assume would have more on direct knowledge of who this will work for the dogs.

IMO it seems a lot of work for next to no return but others disagree that's fine I have no issue with that.

It isn't you or me they need to convince. I myself regardless what people think give many meat monies to the dogs year in year out. I sponsor a player and have 4 more memberships and I am involved in football at a local level so don't get to all the games. I basically donate the money to the club and am more than happy to do so. Last year was payment enough for the rest of my life.

And personally I have no interest in us being a Western Vic teams if it takes more games away from Melbourne. Again that's my opinion and others choose to make it an abusive comentnt to the club.

Latest images below provided by North Ballarat Sports Club, the view from the dining area. The three-tones of seats (light grey, medium grey and royal blue) definitely appear brighter than the two-tones of Simonds Stadium (which are essentially blue and white):

06ab76aa63df4c2a52be3f4f7465a921
Left: The Cattery

Below: The Kennel

18623330_1927726900586512_409924346701438410_o.jpg

18623420_1927726797253189_7297369745967904717_o.jpg

Personally I like the colours of the seats, they will look quite bright on sunny days, but if the ground is filled with colourful, cheering people, I suppose who really cares what colour the seats are? :):):) We won't see them, just the happy cheering people occupying them.

Western Bulldogs and their partnership with Ballarat a success