What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 2

http://www.theage.com.au/comment/greater-love-hath-no-doggie-20160921-grlckx.html

Great comment piece in the age. Pretty much sums up how i have been feeling during these finals
"Straight from the horse's mouth," confided Mr Bontempelli (Marcus's dad) to Simon when they both ducked into the men's. "I know I should be toey, but I'm not," he said. "Marcus says he knows he should be worried, but he's not. We've got this!"

Combined with Danny telling a mate that Bevo was so confident Libba would start that he told Danny to make sure its a good banner..

The belief in this group is off the charts. Just reading that this morning has made me more confident about tomorrow. You can't manufacture that sort of thing, and we have it in spades. Do us proud lads, UP THE DOGS!

I have been to all 7 of those Prelims and I am going on Saturday but this time its different. In light of Nathan Burkes idiotic comments yesterday lets reflect on some of the medias stupid statements this year. In no particular order:-
- Libbas return will unbalance our midfield
- Adelaide worked out our game style in last years finals and so Bulldogs will drop back this year (David Shwarze)
- bulldogs can only play at Etihad
- Bulldogs will be like Port Adelaide (why anyone thought we would be like them and not Hawthorn is beyond me)
- bulldogs will be no good as they relied on old back line players last year like Murphy & Boyd
- Toyd will upset team because he is paid too much
- Bulldogs cant score enough and dont fit into David kings whizz bang graphics
- Peter Gordon is so divisive everyone from the Cafe attendant upwards wants to leave
- Dogs cant win in Perth
- Dogs are just crap (Matthew LLoyd)

The above just proves that most media dont know sh.. from clay and are only comfortable giving cliched predictions. Have a listen to LLoyd now trying to defend his comments of a couple of weeks back by saying "no one saw this coming". Isn't that the job of a so called expert to see it coming? If I want cliches I can go down to the nearest pub to hear those (or read the Big Footy Norf board)!
Great post. You're a legend!

Unsure if this has been posted in the thread already:

Pagan lauds irresistible Bulldogs
BY JOHN TAKEMURA 3 DAYS AGO
Bulldogs_Celebration.jpg

Denis Pagan says you can’t help but feel excited for the Western Bulldogs ahead of their Preliminary Final against Greater Western Sydney.

The former two-time Premiership winning coach with North Melbourne says their football is irresistible to watch and the way they have overcome injuries illustrates how good their depth is.

“I’ve been captivated by the irresistible style of play by the Bulldogs, the way they draw their opponents to the contest with their quick hands, and flick it around until they get someone free and then they go forward,” Pagan told KB on Hungry for Sport.

“It’s virtually an organised chaos style of play and people just come in and you don’t know much about them, the next minute they’ve had 25 possessions and you think to yourself how can you underestimate a player like that?

“That young kid (Toby) McLean came in last week and he was terrific.”

Pagan believes the Bulldogs play with amazing spirit and is full of praise for Coach Luke Beveridge and how he has been able to mould his team together.

“I just feel the Bulldogs, the way they’ve gone about it with all the disappointments and all the tough times and all the struggle I just reckon their club’s right,” he said.

“They’ve got great leadership on and off the ground. They’ve got a great unity.

“I think Luke Beveridge has developed into an elite coach, he really understands people and what makes them tick.

“It just shows if you do your apprenticeship at junior clubs and you wait a long while for your chance it’s amazing how you can be successful.”

GWS will start a solid favourite for the clash at Spotless Stadium, but Pagan who admits never being a fan of a week off during his time coaching says the Giants face a unique challenge.

“The Giants have been terrific and I think they’ve had a wonderful year and to finish where they have, but they’re facing a challenge that not many have faced before in AFL Football,” he said.

“They’re going to play one game in 28 days, a lot of their players are they thinking about preliminary finals or a step ahead at the MCG?

“One of the reasons why I think the Bulldogs can win is they’re playing in the moment, minute by minute, contest by contest where GWS aren’t.”

"Straight from the horse's mouth," confided Mr Bontempelli (Marcus's dad) to Simon when they both ducked into the men's. "I know I should be toey, but I'm not," he said. "Marcus says he knows he should be worried, but he's not. We've got this!"

Combined with Danny telling a mate that Bevo was so confident Libba would start that he told Danny to make sure its a good banner..

The belief in this group is off the charts. Just reading that this morning has made me more confident about tomorrow. You can't manufacture that sort of thing, and we have it in spades. Do us proud lads, UP THE DOGS!
What Bevo did at St Bedes has been a bit forgotten of late...if he pulls off something similar for us too he'd be immortalised

Did any social club member get an email today about social club membership which no longer seems to guarantee you a ticket for the gf?

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

I received one asking me to renew my membership, but it didn't mention anything about that. The membership site still lists it as including "Guaranteed access to purchase a Grand Final ticket* should the Bulldogs participate", and the asterisk notes that it's only a guaranteed ticket, and not a seat, which was the case anyway).

Very odd if only some of us have received it

I received one asking me to renew my membership, but it didn't mention anything about that. The membership site still lists it as including "Guaranteed access to purchase a Grand Final ticket* should the Bulldogs participate", and the asterisk notes that it's only a guaranteed ticket, and not a seat, which was the case anyway).

Very odd if only some of us have received it
Worried they may drop the guaranteed ticket for 2017

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Bulldogs got it right with
with Jack Macrae

Ryan Davidson
September 24, 2016 10:21 AM

471379-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

Jack Macrae is proving a great player for the Bulldogs

MUCH has been made of the Western Bulldogs inability to keep Callan Ward from the clutches of Greater Western Sydney back in 2011.

Stories of administration bungles and insufficient contract offers have been bandied around as reasons why the then 21-year-old walked out on the Bulldogs, after four seasons and 60 games, to take up a lucrative long-term deal to join the Giants under their foundation concessions.

For whatever reason Ward was left out of contract with the clear and present threat of the Giants entering the AFL, the Bulldogs as a club have come out of the situation possibly embarrassed, but arguably better off.

As compensation for losing the rugged midfielder, the Dogs were awarded a first round draft pick under the AFL's expansion rules due to Ward's contract size and age.

Instead of using the pick in the 2011 NAB AFL Draft that was about to be plundered by the Giants with 11 first round selections received as further concessions, the Dogs list manager Jason McCartney wisely keep that pick up his sleeve for the following year's draft as the rules permitted.

Conveniently for the Bulldogs, they were commencing a rebuild after a relatively successful period that saw them contest three straight preliminary finals between 2008 and 2010, and an even poorer season in 2012 saw them tumble even further down the ladder.

With pick five at its disposal in that year's draft, McCartney knew activating the compensation pick would also give them pick six and a very strong hand.

Ironically, the Dogs dabbled with trading both picks to GWS for the rights to young gun Jack Martin, but they eventually baulked at the high price and the West Australian ended up at Gold Coast.

Draft night came and the Dogs astutely selected Jake Stringer at pick five and Jack Macrae with the compensation pick.

While he hasn't been the raging bull around the footy the Giant's co-captain is, Macrae, who is four years younger than Ward, possesses what the Dogs don't have an over abundance of – smart ball use.

No slouch around the coalface, the Oakleigh Chargers product runs all day and complements contested-ball specialists Tom Liberatore, Marcus Bontempelli, Mitch Wallis, Liam Picken and Josh Dunkley with his creativity on the outside.

Jack Macrae is as hard as he is polished. Picture: AFL Photos
macrae620111.jpg

Macrae sits 17th across the AFL for effective possessions with an average of 21.75 per game (415 total) from 20 appearances in 2016.

His ability to spread from the contest also sees him ranked 10th for uncontested possessions and 15th for handballs from his average of 27 disposals per game this season.

A snapshot of Macrae's growing importance to the Dogs came in last weekend's semi-final win over Hawthorn, where he collected a game-high 39 possessions (13 contested) at an extremely effective 82 per cent.

His season’s disposal efficiency of 75.4 per cent is marginally better than Ward's 74.4, but the Giants skipper has him covered in goal assists (10th), clearances (10th) and contested possessions (15th) while averaging 24 disposals a game in 2016.

As GWS and the Bulldogs prepare to square off in Saturday’s preliminary final for a spot in the Grand Final, Collingwood midfielder Adam Treloar says both clubs have done extremely well out of the situation.

Treloar has played with Ward and against Macrae, and while he declares the Giant's co-captain as the total package of skill, courage and leadership, he raves about the Dog's evolution as a player.

"I love 'Wardy' more than anyone, but Macrae is a great get because he has versatility, can go inside and outside and he is a good decision-maker," Treloar told AFL.com.au.

"He adds inside and outside grunt, (but) they prefer him on the outside because he is a very good up and down runner on the field, so he can get back and help the defenders out but he can also win the ball and go forward with it.

"It's not to be underestimated in how good he is in winning contested footy. He is a very good one-on-one player, he halves the contest or wins it the majority of the time, and rarely gets beaten in the one-on-one situation and he's a good decision maker."