What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

Western Bulldogs v North Melbourne: Scores, stats and news from AFL pre-season​

The Bulldogs kicked a massive score on their way to a 58-point win over the Roos, but it was in their back half that a new addition stood out. See the match notes, news and updates here.

Sam Landsberger

March 4, 2023 - 11:42PM

Dashing defender Rohan Smith spent plenty of his 300-game career pumping the ball into the AFL’s smallest forward line led by his 182cm best mate Brad Johnson.

On Saturday Smith watched in awe as perhaps the tallest forward line ever assembled struck 22 goals in a demolition of North Melbourne.

The Dogs showed their hand at Ikon Park – surrounding 196cm spearhead Aaron Naughton with Rory Lobb (207cm), Sam Darcy (208cm) and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (197cm) … with 208cm ruckman Tim English rotating with Lobb.

The wash-up was four goals for Naughton, three for Jamarra, two for Darcy, one for Lobb and migraines for undersized defenders watching on TV from home.

The Dogs tall forward line fired. Picture: Getty Images

At one stage Roos co-captain Luke McDonald was left to man Darcy (three contested marks), giving away about 20cm.

“We wanted to have a look at it today, and the four talls really played well,” Smith, the Dogs’ backline coach, said.

“You kick 22 goals in a game and at times we looked really dominant in the air, which is a great sign for us.

“They worked really well together as well. There was a couple of times where they flew against each other – but that’s terrific.

“It shows their competitiveness and their willingness to fly in the air. But the synergy and the cohesiveness that they had in our forward line was outstanding.

“It was a pretty positive sign.”

The Dogs are told to play on instinct. But Smith said that with so much size there was a get-out option.

Rory Lobb in his new colours.

“We’ve always got to know that there’s three talls down there, and don’t be afraid to kick it to a 1v1 or 2v2 contest.”

Roos assistant Leigh Adams warned the land of the giants attack wasn’t the lanky giants.

“It’s a really unique forward line because they can all move as well,” Adams said.

“They’re all pretty good ground-level players, particularly Naughton obviously who can do it all.”

The Dogs play 12 games under their Marvel Stadium roof, where conditions will suit the stand-and-deliver targets.

STOPPAGE SCARS

ONE positive for North Melbourne was 2020 first-round picks Will Phillips and Tom Powell (both 17 disposals) are fit and firing on the verge of round 1.

The bad news was they were given a lesson around the footy from the likes of Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore and Jack Macrae.

“I don’t think we’re going to be the last team who gets a good lesson from them,” Adams said.

“They’re the benchmark when it comes to reactions to get out of the contest. When they’ve got the ball in their hands and they can flick it around they can cause a real bit of damage.”

It’s going to take a lot more than one summer of Alastair Clarkson to make North Melbourne competitive against top-eight teams.

Will Phillips wasn’t prolific but looks fit for round 1.

Bontempelli – who has looked banged-up in recent seasons – looked as fresh as ever, and with Charles Sutton Medal votes awarded after the Dogs’ 58-point thrashing at Ikon Park it is not a stretch to say he is leading the best-and-fairest he has already won four times.

Fox Footy’s Jonathan Brown screamed: “Bont for Brownlow!” seconds before the captain slotted the first goal of the second half.

By full-time he had 27 disposals, 10 clearances (five centre) and two goals.

IMPASSABLE JONES

LIAM Jones started on Nick Larkey and started with nine disposals, five marks (one contested) and five rebounds in the first quarter.

The 32-year-old recruited for nothing from Palm Beach Currumbin finished with nine intercept marks as an impassable object at full-back.

Liam Jones marks ahead of Ben Cunnington.

With Ryan Gardner injured, Zaine Cordy at St Kilda and Alex Keath briefly sidelined for a concussion test (which he passed) it was left to Jones to stand up on Saturday.

And he did. The Tasmanian recruited to play full-forward for the Dogs 15 years ago might just be the missing link in their backline.

The positives flowed for the Bulldogs all over the ground.

Endurance machine Anthony Scott, restationed on a wing, booted three first-half goals while Oskar Baker showed outsiders why insiders have rated him as a pre-season standout.

The Melbourne recruit is a lock in coach Luke Beveridge’s best 22.

DOGS AND ROOS SCOUTING NOTES​

WESTERN BULLDOGS

1. ADAM TRELOAR.
Left-foot snap goal from boundary early in the first quarter was beautiful. Unselfishly gave his captain a goal in the third quarter. Looked sharp and will increase midfield minutes this year with best mate Josh Dunkley up north.

2. JAMARRA UGLE-HAGAN. Grew up idolising Buddy Franklin, but fell in love with the way Jeremy Cameron played in 2022. Mercurial talent who looks primed to breakout … and leave egg on the faces of those who questioned his development in 2021-222.

3. CODY WEIGHTMAN. Late withdrawal with a sore adductor. Still appears likely to play in round 1, where his tackling and pressure will be a huge asset at the feet of the league’s longest forward line.

4. MARCUS BONTEMPELLI. Jonathan Brown called: “Bont for Brownlow! He’s looked sensational today” seconds before Bontempelli slotted the first goal of the second half. Dogs outscored North by 50 points from stoppages and Bont had 10 clearances. You could sense footy was back when a bunch of Roos supporters heckled ‘Bont’ relentlessly over the boundary line for being ‘smug’ in the first few minutes. Started pre-season early with the club’s youngsters and has not missed a single training session. Watchout.

6. BAILEY SMITH. Started the second centre bounce out of the goalsquare, but that was a rarity as Instagram’s most-liked footballer chalked up 30 disposals and five clearances. Won a game-high 18 contested possessions playing inside.

7. RORY LOBB. Only the one mark and one goal as he searches for synergy in his third AFL forward line. Unmissable wherever he runs.

9. HAYDEN CROZIER. Dislocated finger, which popped through the skin, ended his afternoon after 13 disposals dashing out of defence. Wonder whether it will be Crozier or Vandermeer for a place in the backline when the latter returns from a broken leg.

10. SAM DARCY. Towering mark in the third quarter was a scary glimpse at what this kid will become. Played forward (although that didn’t stop him tackling Cunnington in the centre square) but is the one tall target – ahead of Naughton, Ugle-Hagan and Lobb – who is likely to be swung behind the ball when match-ups require.

11. JACK MACRAE. Played as an outside midfielder and pumped the ball inside 50m nine times. Luke Beveridge once noted that Macrae often starts AFL seasons slowly however he still had 32 in the warm-up game.

13. OSKAR BAKER. Plan was to stay on the bench, but with injuries the Dogs were forced to bring him on as a forward … and he kicked the first goal of the game. Former Demon has nice wheels.

14. RHYLEE WEST. The son of a gun was surprisingly dropped for last year’s elimination final and only came into the extended team when Weightman withdrew, and on to the field in the second quarter. Booted a last-quarter goal but on pre-season selection appears to be behind Arthur Jones. Hopefully West gets a good crack at it this season after a trio of father-sons (Cordy, Hunter, Wallis) all left the club.

15. TAYLOR DURYEA. Walked out of Ikon Park with the doctor in the first quarter wearing a neck brace. Taken to hospital for precautionary neck scans, but they came back all-clear. Big relief because the on-field leader and shutdown defender might be the man to play on Kozzie Pickett in the season-opener.

16. TOBY McLEAN. After playing just four games since suffering his first ACL in 2020 it was simply heart-warming to see McLean fit in March. Played on the wing at times and won 16 disposals. Only one tackle on Saturday but when the real stuff starts expect his animal-like attack to fire up once again.

17. JOSH BRUCE. Back to where it all began at AFL level for Bruce, playing as a key defender. He came on earlier than anticipated and took an intercept mark in the first term. Promising signs, particularly with Zaine Cordy gone and Ryan Gardner injured.

19. LIAM JONES. Eyebrows were raised when Jones, 32, was handed a three-year contract. Admittedly, it is still zero games into that contract – but after one scratch match it looks a shrewd decision. Might be the missing piece for a backline that was scored against too easily last year. Closing speed and competitiveness are elite and nine intercept marks showed he was often impassable.

20. ED RICHARDS. Suffered a bad corkie to his left leg in the second quarter. That won’t hamper his round 1 chances.

21. TOM LIBERATORE. Kicked two goals – one from about 50m – to go with eight clearances, 33 disposals and seven tackles. This was vintage Libba in the summertime as he caught the Kangas kids an onball lesson. Started last season at half-forward but lock and load him in the centre square this year.

28. ANTHONY SCOTT. One of the summer success stories after sealing a spot on the wing. As Rohan Smith said, Scott has a super tank so he can get up and down the ground, he’s got speed and, as three first-half goals showed, he hits the scoreboard. Set to play round 1.

31. BAILEY DALE. Nobody on the field kicked it more than Dale (22) and we’ve seen the past two years what a weapon that is.

32. ARTHUR JONES. The kid with ties to football greats Jim and Phil Krakouer is a bolter, although it would be a surprise if he played round 1. The Dogs need speed, pressure and competitiveness at the feet of their talls and this kid brings that. Booted two goals.

33. AARON NAUGHTON. Hard to know what was more impressive – six tackles or 4.0? Naughton’s first combined both, coming after winning a holding the ball free kick. That would’ve pleased the coaches immensely. The sometimes-wonky spearhead didn’t miss on Saturday after slotting 51.34 last year. Can Naughton convert 70 from, say, 100 shots this year? That would put him in Coleman Medal territory.

34. BAILEY WILLIAMS. Utility who often lined up on the wing last year played a mostly outside game with 12 disposals. Not one for SuperCoach.

35. CALEB DANIEL. The helmet was back – Daniel didn’t don it in the intra-club – and he was mainly deployed on a halfback flank.

39. JASON JOHANNISEN. Pleasing to see him run out for Footscray after the AFL game as the Norm Smith winner builds fitness.

42. ALEX KEATH. Passed a concussion test and returned to the field in the third quarter. With Ryan Gardner injured and Zaine Cordy at St Kilda … phew.

44. TIM ENGLISH. Is this the 2023 All-Australian ruckman? Gave away a few free kicks but his tap work has improved out of sight and is effectively an extra midfielder.

NORTH MELBOURNE

2. JAIDYN STEPHENSON.
Sat out the first half. Started the second with a shot on goal and finished with 1.1 from 10 touches. Alastair Clarkson will be the 2018 Rising Star winner’s fourth coach in as many years … will the penny drop?

3. HARRY SHEEZEL. The one-step snap after two teammates collided in the first quarter was very Luke Breust. But 10 disposals playing behind the ball in the fourth quarter has Roos thinking about reprogramming their teenage jet into a halfback, Nick Daicos-style.

7. JACK ZIEBELL. Started at halfback and mainly used the ball by foot. Important leadership alongside Luke McDonald in the back half.

8. BAILEY SCOTT. Played on the wing and had 10 disposals.

9. LUKE DAVIES-UNIACKE. Six clearances, three inside 50s and a goal for the kid who stormed to the finish line last season. Needs to roll that form into 2023.

10. BEN CUNNINGTON. Pleasure to watch the old warrior play. At 31 he had another nine clearances to show he will help lead the way for the glut of baby onballers.

11. LUKE McDONALD. Spent plenty of time on Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and the captaincy appears to be a snug fit for the fearless defender who racks up plenty of the ball. Reckon ‘Clarko’ would love this kid.

12. JY SIMPKIN. The other co-captain was North’s best player, leading the way with 31 disposals and four tackles. His handballs always seem to find a teammate and there’s a nice split between inside and outside possessions.

14. LIAM SHIELS. Premiership teammate Jordan Lewis said he was surprised the Hawks let Shiels go, and the Roos have loved the standards he has helped set. Spent some time on the wing and on McLean, and finished with 11 touches. Mids and wings are learning so much from Shiels.

16. AIDAN BONAR. Undersized defender who is on the fringe of selection.

19. GRIFFIN LOGUE. Former Fremantle swingman started on Aaron Naughton at full-back on what was an all-too-familiar difficult day for North’s defenders. But Logue put himself in good positions to mark the ball and will form a strong partnership with full-back Ben McKay.

20. NICK LARKEY. Snagged three goals from six kicks however so many of North’s straight entries were gobbled up by Bulldog backmen.

22. TODD GOLDSTEIN. The veteran had 19 hit-outs as the Roos played two genuine rucks alongside Xerri.

23. BEN McKAY. Difficult day playing against the land of the giants attack but McKay took an important step developing his one-two defensive combination with recruit Griffin Logue.

24. TOM POWELL. Never kicked two goals in an AFL match but slotted a pair in the last quarter. Got better as the game wore on and the Roos love the ball in Powell’s hands because he uses it so well, particularly forward of centre. Looked to have bulked up and is one Roo with a bright future.

25. PAUL CURTIS. Played as a pressure forward and finished with 1.2 with three score assists. Zero tackles on Saturday.

27. MILLER BERGMAN. Only came on in the final quarter, when he laid a couple of tackles and had five touches.

28. KAYNE TURNER. Small forward who spent some time on Bailey Dale and attended a few centre bounces, winning one takeaway.

29. WILL PHILLIPS. Won a nice centre clearance late in the last quarter to finish with four clearances for the match. Phillips, who missed all of 2022 with glandular fever, was still on a modified training program in November, so it’s a fair effort to put himself in contention for round 1. As Leigh Adams said: “We just can’t wait to get games into him and let the outside world see how good of a player we think he can be”.

30. CHARLIE COMBEN. The kid was badly beaten against an experienced defence and gave away five free kicks. Still, lots to like about the 199cm key forward.

31. JOSH GOATER. Rotated through the backline but turned the ball over a few times by foot. Another Roo who has talent but needs time.

38. TRISTAN XERRI. Won plenty of hit-outs but the Dogs’ onball brigade were dominant at stoppages. Looks like the Roos will back in the Xerri-Goldstein partnership.

39. FLYNN PEREZ. Nice tackle to bring down Adam Treloar was a nice moment for the young halfback who had 13 disposals and four rebound 50s.

44. CAMERON ZURHAAR. Sat out the second half with a tight calf after being held scoreless from eight disposals and no marks. Didn’t play as much centre bounce as last week, although that was due to Ben Cunnington and Jy Simpkin sitting out. Certain to be fit for round 1 and likely to play about a 70-30 split between forward-midfield.

SHEEZEL MOVED BACK BY CLARKO

Alastair Clarkson is considering reprogramming natural goalkicker Harry Sheezel into a halfback in a move that would see the No. 3 draft pick follow in the footsteps of reigning Rising Star winner Nick Daicos.

Sheezel, who was lauded as a fast learner after Saturday’s practice match loss to Western Bulldogs, showed shades of Hawthorn champion Luke Breust when he snapped a beautiful goal off one step in the first quarter at Ikon Park.

But the kid with enormous footy IQ and creativity was sent behind the ball in the final quarter – and won 10 disposals, four handball receives, two rebounds and one inside 50 to cause a round 1 rethink in Clarkson’s box.

“It’s a tough one. Early days I was really keen that he should play as a forward,” forwards coach Leigh Adams said.

“But seeing him in that last quarter today he gave us something probably a little bit different that we didn’t have in our back six for the first three quarters.

“His ability to get in the right position for handball receives and then link up and get multiple possessions and put the ball inside 50m for us.

Harry Sheezel was experimented in the back line for the final term. Picture: Getty Images

“It’s going to be an interesting one. I liken it a little bit to Nick Daicos last year, where he came in as a midfielder and they decided to sit him behind the ball to start with and ease him into the game a little bit more.

“He looked pretty good there. It’ll be a call for ‘Clarko’ to make, but probably after that last quarter it’s put a little bit more pressure on him to go back.”
Adams said he loved how Sheezel, 18, absorbed information.

“If there’s an area of his game he needs to work on then you have the conversation with him and within the next week it’s fixed,” he said.

“He just wants to get better, he wants to be a really good player and what he’s got is some real X-Factor.”

Adams conceded recruit Darcy Tucker (knee) was unlikely to be fit for the round 1 clash against West Coast at Marvel Stadium.

But Aidan Corr and Aaron Hall played in Saturday evening’s VFL match against Footscray and are on track while Cameron Zurhaar (calf tightness) is certain to line-up despite being substituted out at halftime on Saturday.

“We think we’re going to have 40 guys available for round 1, which is a real positive considering we’ve been short on numbers (at this time of year),” Adams said.
Bont smug?! 😄

How many clubs give BnF votes in preseason games?

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan opens up on early career frustration, hopes for the future at the Bulldogs​

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan has credited three special relationships — and a fishing trip — with helping him rediscover his love for football after a tumultuous start as a Western Bulldog.

Lauren Wood

March 5, 2023 - 6:20AM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/.../770445cf1f9b4f1e544760b7d2d706a8#share-tools

It was the line in the water that did it for “Marra”.

Whether the fish were biting didn’t really seem to matter.

Far from Marvel Stadium, on fishing trips in Exmouth, on the tip of the North West Cape in Western Australia, and in the Top End, the flying Western Bulldog had grappled with how to make his way at football’s top level.

It hadn’t been easy.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, taken with the No. 1 pick in the 2020 national draft — as Victoria was wrenched in and out of Covid lockdowns — came with big raps from Framlingham, a historic indigenous community just outside of Warrnambool.

Jamarra Ugle Hagan came into the AFL with big raps on him as No.1 draft pick. Picture: Michael Klein

Comparisons to Lance Franklin marked his entry to the competition, and expectation reigned.

He struggled to adjust. More on that later.

But it was in the rocking of a fishing boat just over 12 months ago, flanked by teammates Aaron Naughton and Dogs skipper Marcus Bontempelli, that ‘Marra felt a love for the game slowly come seeping back with a brotherhood to match.

“We got a lot more connected,” Ugle-Hagan said.

“I had really struggled with the football side of things in that first year.

“It was probably those chats that really brought it back, being away from the club … we got to Exmouth for a week — me, (Naughton) and ‘Bonti’.
“There’s been a lot of fishing trips with Naughty.

“It’s the best thing ever. We’ve gotten a lot closer – he is like my older brother. He’ll always do what’s best for me and he’ll pull me aside if I’m not going how I should be or I need to lift. He’ll always be on my back, and the same with Bonti.

“You feel more protected. They’re both chasing the same goal which is to win a flag, but to have him as an older brother…I think he knows that I see him as that.

Western Bulldogs players [PLAYERCARD]Aaron Naughton[/PLAYERCARD] and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan have developed an unbreakable bond. Picture: Supplied

Western Bulldogs players Aaron Naughton and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan have developed an unbreakable bond. Picture: Supplied

Western Bulldogs players Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and skipper [PLAYERCARD]Marcus Bontempelli[/PLAYERCARD] pictured on a treasured fishing trip.

Western Bulldogs players Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and skipper Marcus Bontempelli pictured on a treasured fishing trip.

Western Bulldogs player Jamarra Ugle-Hagan pictured with a prized catch.

“He’ll always look after me and I’ll look after him. We’re pretty close this year and we’ve just got to keep building that connection.”

Family is everything to Ugle-Hagan, one of six kids who embraces his culture and has inked his journey firmly on his forearm, and Naughton has become another figure to cherish.
He helped his fellow forward find the enjoyment in the little things.

“Even just training, I just tried to have fun and not take it for granted,” the 20-year-old said.

“I had a moment where I was like, not many people get to do what we do. I’m in my third year now. It does go quick and it’s going to fly before you know it.”

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan’s first game in round 17, 2021. Picture: Michael Klein

THE FRUSTRATION

The hype had been one thing, but Ugle-Hagan was in a hurry.

The top draft pick wanted to be right in the thick of the action in his first season in 2021, and couldn’t understand why he wasn’t.

Coach Luke Beveridge had a plan – but the young gun couldn’t see it just yet.

Being asked about Ugle-Hagan became a weekly occurrence for Beveridge — let alone probably more often when the cameras were off, and the then-teenager had a few questions of his own.

“He looked after me (publicly and privately) … he knew I wasn’t ready,” Ugle-Hagan said at Fox Footy’s season launch this week.

“I didn’t like it at the time. I got impatient. I disliked it that he wasn’t playing me.”

He told Beveridge that, now cognisant of the bigger picture.

“We’ve had conversations where I thought I was ready,” he said.

“But me now looking back on that, I’m happy that he actually kept me away from playing. “Not that I’m saying that I deserved to play, but he looked after me.

“It’s a long career. He said to me – ‘it’s a marathon, not a sprint’. He wants me to have a good career. It took me a while to see where he was coming from, because I was such an impatient 18-year-old, no 1 draft pick, I was like ‘I should be playing around 1’.

“I’m happy that he did it but at the time I was a bit frustrated but looking back on it it’s so much better for my career.”

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan was supposed to be the next Lance Franklin from his very first game. Picture: Michael Klein

THE FEEDBACK

Ugle-Hagan struggled to find the balance.

There was training, desperation to break into AFL level.

But then there was his mates, both in the city and back home, who were out and about living life like late-teens do. Parties, fun, post-school silliness. You know the drill.

“Everyone wanted the same thing I want to play AFL,” Ugle-Hagan said.

“Which is what I had been working towards.

“But I just started losing a bit of interest in the game, a bit. It affected my training, my relationships off field with my friends.

“It was so hard to find a balance between going out with your friends from school or friends from home to being a full-time professional at 18 or 17, balance your family too.

“But at the end of the day, I realised that football doesn’t last forever.

“My friends, if they’re my real friends, they’ll stay with me until (footy) is over. They would understand.”

Some did. Some didn’t. That’s life.

“I’ve gotten a lot better off-field,” he said.

“But I’m happy where I am now because I’ve figured out how to balance it a lot better.

“I’ve done the work so now I can actually go out and enjoy and catch up with my mates.

“In my first year, I was too far behind to go and do that stuff but I didn’t understand what that was.”

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and Olivia Kelly. Picture: Lucas Dawson

THE FUN

The reinvigoration – in footy and in life, with Ugle-Hagan crediting new girlfriend Olivia Kelly, who works as a fitness trainer, for her role in him furthering his game – brings plenty back for the kid who his mum Alice once said had a footy in his hand as soon as he could walk.

There’s a strong family connection to the game, with his mum related to the Kicketts.

It’s in his blood, and the passion has been sparked again.

“I reckon I’ve enjoyed football a lot more. I’ve kind of gone back to the kid that chose football in the first place, which was because it was fun. I’ve obviously put in a lot more work into my training and into myself off-field,” Ugle-Hagan said.

“When I was in my first year, I wanted to play around 1 and do all of that. But I kind of used my first year as a development year - it was just a year to learn.

“I look at a couple of players from that team and boys didn’t get to play in their first year, so I was lucky to even get a game. But it was tough at the start. But I ended up getting used to it and am enjoying it a lot more. Not many people get to play an AFL game or even show up to a club, so I can’t take that for granted.”

Ugle-Hagan is being tipped to have a big year. Picture: Michael Klein

THE FUTURE

Key position players take time, triple-premiership spearhead at Brisbane and fellow Warrnambool product Jonathan Brown says.

But Ugle-Hagan’s foundation is undeniable, and he’ll only benefit from strong forward figures like Naughton and Dogs recruit Rory Lobb alongside him.

Two-time premiership Kangaroo David King reckons this could be the year that Jamarra could flight the light switch for supporters of the game.

“I think the fans will laud his field kicking,” the Fox Footy analyst said.

“They’ll finally see, ah, that’s why he was the No. 1 pick. Not just his marking and his kicking at goal – the field kicking, the class, the angles.”

His confidence – once dampened – is back, Ugle-Hagan says, and he’s “comfortable” after finding heart from the hard times.

“I hope it is (a big year),” he said.

“It was daunting at the start, but I got through it.

“I feel like I liked my first year, because if I didn’t let that happen, I wouldn’t have learned from anything and I wouldn’t have improved to where I am now. I like to look at it as a big learning year, and now that I know what to do and what not to do, it’s just so much easier.”

I’m pretty happy and have got my dream job so I’m pretty lucky.

I reckon I’ve enjoyed football a lot more. I’ve kind of gone back to the kid that chose football in the first place, which was because it was fun. I’ve obviously put in a lot more work into my training and into myself off-field.

Then I’ve just been working and I’ve got great people around me to support me, which is incredible.

THE GREATS RATE JAMARRA​

JONATHAN BROWN

“We’re very quick to judge young key position players, especially key forwards, if they’re a high draft pick. It takes years to develop – they take longer to develop than any other position, probably along with ruckmen, because they need to physically develop. But we’re starting to see now – he’s getting confidence in his body, he’s strengthening up, and then he can go out there and play good footy. It’s just a gradual process.”

BRAD JOHNSON
“You’ve got to learn to work, and work hard. And you can see that in him. You saw the growth in him last year, with the way that he played. He’s starting to have a bit more maturity about his body and his confidence – you can see that. He progressed last year, I think we’ll see another step this year and the years to come, you’ll see him turn into a really consistent, top performer in the competition. So it’s really exciting.”

CAMERON MOONEY
“You’ve just got no idea what’s around you when you’re young. Then it’s 20 games, 30 games on, 40, 50, 60 – it starts to open up and you start to see the game. I think that’s where he is now. He’s starting to see the game a bit better. He should be a lead-up forward, try to get the ball outside 50 and turn and just … bang - hit blokes inside because his kicking is elite. If he can do that, look out. He doesn’t need to kick 50 (goals), but he could generate 50 or 60.”

DAVID KING
“He’s playing higher up the field and is playing a Jeremy Cameron-type role. He can kick the lights out of the footy, so I think it’s exciting. In behind him, they’re going to be able to go taller in that forwardline. But Jamarra is the hybrid and it’s really exciting.”

‘I played my role’: Jamarra hits back at ex-teammate’s criticism​

Emerging Dogs star Jamarra Ugle-Hagan says his former teammate Josh Schache could be forgiven for being “frustrated” amid their selection battle last season.

The forward set up was at the centre of a documentary that was released last week where former Dog Schache bemoaned Ugle-Hagan’s selection ahead of his own, declaring he didn’t believe he had been given “a proper chance” at the Kennel.

Schache, who was traded to the Demons at the end of last season, said his then-coach Luke Beveridge had felt compelled to “justify” why he had selected Ugle-Hagan ahead of him.

But Ugle-Hagan – speaking at Fox Footy’s season launch on Thursday – said his former teammate could have been forgiven for feeling “a bit frustrated”.

The former first pick in the draft says [PLAYERCARD]Josh Schache[/PLAYERCARD] could be forgiven after his selection comments. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

The former first pick in the draft says Josh Schache could be forgiven after his selection comments. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

“Yes, we were fighting for the same spot and there were times where he’d had a really good game in the VFL, and I had done my side of things,” he said.

“My dad sent me that (story last week).

“Josh is a good player – I would never talk down on him, at all. I could tell he was a bit frustrated obviously … because he probably did deserve a couple more games. But at the end of the day, I did work pretty hard and I played my role when I had to. I worked on what they wanted me to, and I went back in.

“At the end of the day, I would have been in the same situation if some teammates got put in before me, but it’s just for him now it’s out there.”

Ugle-Hagan, 20, also backed the “unreal” Western Bulldogs to rattle the best in the competition, and feels he is well-armed to be one of the Dogs’ prime forward targets this season.

Schache moved to the Demons after what he described as a lack of opportunities at the Dogs. Pic: Michael Klein

The young gun said confidence has been key to unlocking his best game alongside close mate Aaron Naughton in a forward line that will now also include key recruit Rory Lobb.

And the former No. 1 pick said after taking time to find his stride at the top level, having a significant impact in his third season was not beyond him.

“I hope it is (going to happen). Our team is unreal, so we should be able to finish top four,” Ugle-Hagan said.

“I think it’s just a confidence thing. Once you feel like you’re confident and comfortable, you just build from there.

“Obviously I think it’s respect from your teammates as well. When you feel comfortable with them and you build your connections, it makes you feel a little bit more at home and you don’t get in your own head.”

Bont smug?! 😄

How many clubs give BnF votes in preseason games?
LOL, I was coming on to say the same thing. Bont, smug...:rolleyes: I've gotta say, over my football watching journey, Norf supporters and Fitzroy supporters have been the whiniest supporters ever, (special mention to St. Kilda as well). Brisbane supporters, seem to have taken the torch and run with whining now.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan opens up on early career frustration, hopes for the future at the Bulldogs​

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan has credited three special relationships — and a fishing trip — with helping him rediscover his love for football after a tumultuous start as a Western Bulldog.

Lauren Wood

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/.../770445cf1f9b4f1e544760b7d2d706a8#share-tools

Far from Marvel Stadium, on fishing trips in Exmouth, on the tip of the North West Cape in Western Australia, and in the Top End, the flying Western Bulldog had grappled with how to make his way at football’s top level.

It hadn’t been easy.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, taken with the No. 1 pick in the 2020 national draft — as Victoria was wrenched in and out of Covid lockdowns — came with big raps from Framlingham, a historic indigenous community just outside of Warrnambool.

Comparisons to Lance Franklin marked his entry to the competition, and expectation reigned.

But it was in the rocking of a fishing boat just over 12 months ago, flanked by teammates Aaron Naughton and Dogs skipper Marcus Bontempelli, that ‘Marra felt a love for the game slowly come seeping back with a brotherhood to match.

“It was probably those chats that really brought it back, being away from the club … we got to Exmouth for a week — me, (Naughton) and ‘Bonti’.

“It’s the best thing ever. We’ve gotten a lot closer – he is like my older brother. He’ll always do what’s best for me and he’ll pull me aside if I’m not going how I should be or I need to lift. He’ll always be on my back, and the same with Bonti.

“You feel more protected. They’re both chasing the same goal which is to win a flag, but to have him as an older brother…I think he knows that I see him as that.

Western Bulldogs players Aaron Naughton and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan have developed an unbreakable bond. Picture: Supplied

Western Bulldogs players Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and skipper Marcus Bontempelli pictured on a treasured fishing trip.

“He’ll always look after me and I’ll look after him. We’re pretty close this year and we’ve just got to keep building that connection.”

Family is everything to Ugle-Hagan, one of six kids who embraces his culture and has inked his journey firmly on his forearm, and Naughton has become another figure to cherish.

“Even just training, I just tried to have fun and not take it for granted,” the 20-year-old said.

“I had a moment where I was like, not many people get to do what we do. I’m in my third year now. It does go quick and it’s going to fly before you know it.”

THE FRUSTRATION

The top draft pick wanted to be right in the thick of the action in his first season in 2021, and couldn’t understand why he wasn’t.

Being asked about Ugle-Hagan became a weekly occurrence for Beveridge — let alone probably more often when the cameras were off, and the then-teenager had a few questions of his own.

“He looked after me (publicly and privately) … he knew I wasn’t ready,” Ugle-Hagan said at Fox Footy’s season launch this week.

“I didn’t like it at the time. I got impatient. I disliked it that he wasn’t playing me.”

“But me now looking back on that, I’m happy that he actually kept me away from playing. “Not that I’m saying that I deserved to play, but he looked after me.

“It’s a long career. He said to me – ‘it’s a marathon, not a sprint’. He wants me to have a good career. It took me a while to see where he was coming from, because I was such an impatient 18-year-old, no 1 draft pick, I was like ‘I should be playing around 1’.

“I’m happy that he did it but at the time I was a bit frustrated but looking back on it it’s so much better for my career.”

THE FEEDBACK

But then there was his mates, both in the city and back home, who were out and about living life like late-teens do. Parties, fun, post-school silliness. You know the drill.

“But I just started losing a bit of interest in the game, a bit. It affected my training, my relationships off field with my friends.

“It was so hard to find a balance between going out with your friends from school or friends from home to being a full-time professional at 18 or 17, balance your family too.

“My friends, if they’re my real friends, they’ll stay with me until (footy) is over. They would understand.”

“But I’m happy where I am now because I’ve figured out how to balance it a lot better.

“I’ve done the work so now I can actually go out and enjoy and catch up with my mates.

“In my first year, I was too far behind to go and do that stuff but I didn’t understand what that was.”

THE FUN

The reinvigoration – in footy and in life, with Ugle-Hagan crediting new girlfriend Olivia Kelly, who works as a fitness trainer, for her role in him furthering his game – brings plenty back for the kid who his mum Alice once said had a footy in his hand as soon as he could walk.

There’s a strong family connection to the game, with his mum related to the Kicketts.

“I reckon I’ve enjoyed football a lot more. I’ve kind of gone back to the kid that chose football in the first place, which was because it was fun. I’ve obviously put in a lot more work into my training and into myself off-field,” Ugle-Hagan said.

“When I was in my first year, I wanted to play around 1 and do all of that. But I kind of used my first year as a development year - it was just a year to learn.

“I look at a couple of players from that team and boys didn’t get to play in their first year, so I was lucky to even get a game. But it was tough at the start. But I ended up getting used to it and am enjoying it a lot more. Not many people get to play an AFL game or even show up to a club, so I can’t take that for granted.”

THE FUTURE

Key position players take time, triple-premiership spearhead at Brisbane and fellow Warrnambool product Jonathan Brown says.

But Ugle-Hagan’s foundation is undeniable, and he’ll only benefit from strong forward figures like Naughton and Dogs recruit Rory Lobb alongside him.

Two-time premiership Kangaroo David King reckons this could be the year that Jamarra could flight the light switch for supporters of the game.

“They’ll finally see, ah, that’s why he was the No. 1 pick. Not just his marking and his kicking at goal – the field kicking, the class, the angles.”

His confidence – once dampened – is back, Ugle-Hagan says, and he’s “comfortable” after finding heart from the hard times.

“I feel like I liked my first year, because if I didn’t let that happen, I wouldn’t have learned from anything and I wouldn’t have improved to where I am now. I like to look at it as a big learning year, and now that I know what to do and what not to do, it’s just so much easier.”

I reckon I’ve enjoyed football a lot more. I’ve kind of gone back to the kid that chose football in the first place, which was because it was fun. I’ve obviously put in a lot more work into my training and into myself off-field.

Then I’ve just been working and I’ve got great people around me to support me, which is incredible.

THE GREATS RATE JAMARRA​

JONATHAN BROWN

“We’re very quick to judge young key position players, especially key forwards, if they’re a high draft pick. It takes years to develop – they take longer to develop than any other position, probably along with ruckmen, because they need to physically develop. But we’re starting to see now – he’s getting confidence in his body, he’s strengthening up, and then he can go out there and play good footy. It’s just a gradual process.”

BRAD JOHNSON
“You’ve got to learn to work, and work hard. And you can see that in him. You saw the growth in him last year, with the way that he played. He’s starting to have a bit more maturity about his body and his confidence – you can see that. He progressed last year, I think we’ll see another step this year and the years to come, you’ll see him turn into a really consistent, top performer in the competition. So it’s really exciting.”

CAMERON MOONEY
“You’ve just got no idea what’s around you when you’re young. Then it’s 20 games, 30 games on, 40, 50, 60 – it starts to open up and you start to see the game. I think that’s where he is now. He’s starting to see the game a bit better. He should be a lead-up forward, try to get the ball outside 50 and turn and just … bang - hit blokes inside because his kicking is elite. If he can do that, look out. He doesn’t need to kick 50 (goals), but he could generate 50 or 60.”

DAVID KING
“He’s playing higher up the field and is playing a Jeremy Cameron-type role. He can kick the lights out of the footy, so I think it’s exciting. In behind him, they’re going to be able to go taller in that forwardline. But Jamarra is the hybrid and it’s really exciting.”

Emerging Dogs star Jamarra Ugle-Hagan says his former teammate Josh Schache could be forgiven for being “frustrated” amid their selection battle last season.

The forward set up was at the centre of a documentary that was released last week where former Dog Schache bemoaned Ugle-Hagan’s selection ahead of his own, declaring he didn’t believe he had been given “a proper chance” at the Kennel.

Schache, who was traded to the Demons at the end of last season, said his then-coach Luke Beveridge had felt compelled to “justify” why he had selected Ugle-Hagan ahead of him.

But Ugle-Hagan – speaking at Fox Footy’s season launch on Thursday – said his former teammate could have been forgiven for feeling “a bit frustrated”.

The former first pick in the draft says Josh Schache could be forgiven after his selection comments. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

“Yes, we were fighting for the same spot and there were times where he’d had a really good game in the VFL, and I had done my side of things,” he said.

“Josh is a good player – I would never talk down on him, at all. I could tell he was a bit frustrated obviously … because he probably did deserve a couple more games. But at the end of the day, I did work pretty hard and I played my role when I had to. I worked on what they wanted me to, and I went back in.

“At the end of the day, I would have been in the same situation if some teammates got put in before me, but it’s just for him now it’s out there.”

Ugle-Hagan, 20, also backed the “unreal” Western Bulldogs to rattle the best in the competition, and feels he is well-armed to be one of the Dogs’ prime forward targets this season.

The young gun said confidence has been key to unlocking his best game alongside close mate Aaron Naughton in a forward line that will now also include key recruit Rory Lobb.

And the former No. 1 pick said after taking time to find his stride at the top level, having a significant impact in his third season was not beyond him.

“I hope it is (going to happen). Our team is unreal, so we should be able to finish top four,” Ugle-Hagan said.

“I think it’s just a confidence thing. Once you feel like you’re confident and comfortable, you just build from there.

“Obviously I think it’s respect from your teammates as well. When you feel comfortable with them and you build your connections, it makes you feel a little bit more at home and you don’t get in your own head.”

I don't think Schache's frustrations are going to be relieved too much playing for Casey in the VFL, as he did yesterday.

Sorry fellas, the seasons done: Fox Footy expert Jordan Lewis has us missing out on the 8 in favour of Essendon.

There's always next year.
Having now watched the Dogs take on the lowly Norf and Essendon take on the middling saints.

Im beginning to suspect that with or without his glasses Jordan may not be an actual expert.

Just wanted to gauge other’s thoughts on the Landsberger article where he said Charles Sutton Medal votes were given for the practice match. I get the players are representing the club but not sure I agree CSM votes should be given. It’s not the real thing, players can be trialled in different positions, given different time on ground and working on aspects of their game. Not a “fight to the death” issue by any means but I am not a fan.

Does anyone think JUH is not going to be a very good player at minimum. We do not always get it fight but bevo, bont and astro have nurtured him well.

Glad he’s been watching Jeremy Cameron closely. Much more comparable than Buddy. I think he’s going to be a very good tall half forward, similar in output to a Gunston, although stylistically a bit different.

Western Bulldogs v North Melbourne: Scores, stats and news from AFL pre-season​

The Bulldogs kicked a massive score on their way to a 58-point win over the Roos, but it was in their back half that a new addition stood out. See the match notes, news and updates here.

Sam Landsberger

March 4, 2023 - 11:42PM

Dashing defender Rohan Smith spent plenty of his 300-game career pumping the ball into the AFL’s smallest forward line led by his 182cm best mate Brad Johnson.

On Saturday Smith watched in awe as perhaps the tallest forward line ever assembled struck 22 goals in a demolition of North Melbourne.

The Dogs showed their hand at Ikon Park – surrounding 196cm spearhead Aaron Naughton with Rory Lobb (207cm), Sam Darcy (208cm) and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (197cm) … with 208cm ruckman Tim English rotating with Lobb.

The wash-up was four goals for Naughton, three for Jamarra, two for Darcy, one for Lobb and migraines for undersized defenders watching on TV from home.

At one stage Roos co-captain Luke McDonald was left to man Darcy (three contested marks), giving away about 20cm.

“We wanted to have a look at it today, and the four talls really played well,” Smith, the Dogs’ backline coach, said.

“You kick 22 goals in a game and at times we looked really dominant in the air, which is a great sign for us.

“They worked really well together as well. There was a couple of times where they flew against each other – but that’s terrific.

“It shows their competitiveness and their willingness to fly in the air. But the synergy and the cohesiveness that they had in our forward line was outstanding.

“It was a pretty positive sign.”

The Dogs are told to play on instinct. But Smith said that with so much size there was a get-out option.

“We’ve always got to know that there’s three talls down there, and don’t be afraid to kick it to a 1v1 or 2v2 contest.”

Roos assistant Leigh Adams warned the land of the giants attack wasn’t the lanky giants.

“It’s a really unique forward line because they can all move as well,” Adams said.

“They’re all pretty good ground-level players, particularly Naughton obviously who can do it all.”

The Dogs play 12 games under their Marvel Stadium roof, where conditions will suit the stand-and-deliver targets.

STOPPAGE SCARS

ONE positive for North Melbourne was 2020 first-round picks Will Phillips and Tom Powell (both 17 disposals) are fit and firing on the verge of round 1.

The bad news was they were given a lesson around the footy from the likes of Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore and Jack Macrae.

“I don’t think we’re going to be the last team who gets a good lesson from them,” Adams said.

“They’re the benchmark when it comes to reactions to get out of the contest. When they’ve got the ball in their hands and they can flick it around they can cause a real bit of damage.”

It’s going to take a lot more than one summer of Alastair Clarkson to make North Melbourne competitive against top-eight teams.

Bontempelli – who has looked banged-up in recent seasons – looked as fresh as ever, and with Charles Sutton Medal votes awarded after the Dogs’ 58-point thrashing at Ikon Park it is not a stretch to say he is leading the best-and-fairest he has already won four times.

Fox Footy’s Jonathan Brown screamed: “Bont for Brownlow!” seconds before the captain slotted the first goal of the second half.

By full-time he had 27 disposals, 10 clearances (five centre) and two goals.

IMPASSABLE JONES

LIAM Jones started on Nick Larkey and started with nine disposals, five marks (one contested) and five rebounds in the first quarter.

The 32-year-old recruited for nothing from Palm Beach Currumbin finished with nine intercept marks as an impassable object at full-back.

With Ryan Gardner injured, Zaine Cordy at St Kilda and Alex Keath briefly sidelined for a concussion test (which he passed) it was left to Jones to stand up on Saturday.

And he did. The Tasmanian recruited to play full-forward for the Dogs 15 years ago might just be the missing link in their backline.

The positives flowed for the Bulldogs all over the ground.

Endurance machine Anthony Scott, restationed on a wing, booted three first-half goals while Oskar Baker showed outsiders why insiders have rated him as a pre-season standout.

The Melbourne recruit is a lock in coach Luke Beveridge’s best 22.

DOGS AND ROOS SCOUTING NOTES​

WESTERN BULLDOGS

1. ADAM TRELOAR.
Left-foot snap goal from boundary early in the first quarter was beautiful. Unselfishly gave his captain a goal in the third quarter. Looked sharp and will increase midfield minutes this year with best mate Josh Dunkley up north.

2. JAMARRA UGLE-HAGAN. Grew up idolising Buddy Franklin, but fell in love with the way Jeremy Cameron played in 2022. Mercurial talent who looks primed to breakout … and leave egg on the faces of those who questioned his development in 2021-222.

3. CODY WEIGHTMAN. Late withdrawal with a sore adductor. Still appears likely to play in round 1, where his tackling and pressure will be a huge asset at the feet of the league’s longest forward line.

4. MARCUS BONTEMPELLI. Jonathan Brown called: “Bont for Brownlow! He’s looked sensational today” seconds before Bontempelli slotted the first goal of the second half. Dogs outscored North by 50 points from stoppages and Bont had 10 clearances. You could sense footy was back when a bunch of Roos supporters heckled ‘Bont’ relentlessly over the boundary line for being ‘smug’ in the first few minutes. Started pre-season early with the club’s youngsters and has not missed a single training session. Watchout.

6. BAILEY SMITH. Started the second centre bounce out of the goalsquare, but that was a rarity as Instagram’s most-liked footballer chalked up 30 disposals and five clearances. Won a game-high 18 contested possessions playing inside.

7. RORY LOBB. Only the one mark and one goal as he searches for synergy in his third AFL forward line. Unmissable wherever he runs.

9. HAYDEN CROZIER. Dislocated finger, which popped through the skin, ended his afternoon after 13 disposals dashing out of defence. Wonder whether it will be Crozier or Vandermeer for a place in the backline when the latter returns from a broken leg.

10. SAM DARCY. Towering mark in the third quarter was a scary glimpse at what this kid will become. Played forward (although that didn’t stop him tackling Cunnington in the centre square) but is the one tall target – ahead of Naughton, Ugle-Hagan and Lobb – who is likely to be swung behind the ball when match-ups require.

11. JACK MACRAE. Played as an outside midfielder and pumped the ball inside 50m nine times. Luke Beveridge once noted that Macrae often starts AFL seasons slowly however he still had 32 in the warm-up game.

13. OSKAR BAKER. Plan was to stay on the bench, but with injuries the Dogs were forced to bring him on as a forward … and he kicked the first goal of the game. Former Demon has nice wheels.

14. RHYLEE WEST. The son of a gun was surprisingly dropped for last year’s elimination final and only came into the extended team when Weightman withdrew, and on to the field in the second quarter. Booted a last-quarter goal but on pre-season selection appears to be behind Arthur Jones. Hopefully West gets a good crack at it this season after a trio of father-sons (Cordy, Hunter, Wallis) all left the club.

15. TAYLOR DURYEA. Walked out of Ikon Park with the doctor in the first quarter wearing a neck brace. Taken to hospital for precautionary neck scans, but they came back all-clear. Big relief because the on-field leader and shutdown defender might be the man to play on Kozzie Pickett in the season-opener.

16. TOBY McLEAN. After playing just four games since suffering his first ACL in 2020 it was simply heart-warming to see McLean fit in March. Played on the wing at times and won 16 disposals. Only one tackle on Saturday but when the real stuff starts expect his animal-like attack to fire up once again.

17. JOSH BRUCE. Back to where it all began at AFL level for Bruce, playing as a key defender. He came on earlier than anticipated and took an intercept mark in the first term. Promising signs, particularly with Zaine Cordy gone and Ryan Gardner injured.

19. LIAM JONES. Eyebrows were raised when Jones, 32, was handed a three-year contract. Admittedly, it is still zero games into that contract – but after one scratch match it looks a shrewd decision. Might be the missing piece for a backline that was scored against too easily last year. Closing speed and competitiveness are elite and nine intercept marks showed he was often impassable.

20. ED RICHARDS. Suffered a bad corkie to his left leg in the second quarter. That won’t hamper his round 1 chances.

21. TOM LIBERATORE. Kicked two goals – one from about 50m – to go with eight clearances, 33 disposals and seven tackles. This was vintage Libba in the summertime as he caught the Kangas kids an onball lesson. Started last season at half-forward but lock and load him in the centre square this year.

28. ANTHONY SCOTT. One of the summer success stories after sealing a spot on the wing. As Rohan Smith said, Scott has a super tank so he can get up and down the ground, he’s got speed and, as three first-half goals showed, he hits the scoreboard. Set to play round 1.

31. BAILEY DALE. Nobody on the field kicked it more than Dale (22) and we’ve seen the past two years what a weapon that is.

32. ARTHUR JONES. The kid with ties to football greats Jim and Phil Krakouer is a bolter, although it would be a surprise if he played round 1. The Dogs need speed, pressure and competitiveness at the feet of their talls and this kid brings that. Booted two goals.

33. AARON NAUGHTON. Hard to know what was more impressive – six tackles or 4.0? Naughton’s first combined both, coming after winning a holding the ball free kick. That would’ve pleased the coaches immensely. The sometimes-wonky spearhead didn’t miss on Saturday after slotting 51.34 last year. Can Naughton convert 70 from, say, 100 shots this year? That would put him in Coleman Medal territory.

34. BAILEY WILLIAMS. Utility who often lined up on the wing last year played a mostly outside game with 12 disposals. Not one for SuperCoach.

35. CALEB DANIEL. The helmet was back – Daniel didn’t don it in the intra-club – and he was mainly deployed on a halfback flank.

39. JASON JOHANNISEN. Pleasing to see him run out for Footscray after the AFL game as the Norm Smith winner builds fitness.

42. ALEX KEATH. Passed a concussion test and returned to the field in the third quarter. With Ryan Gardner injured and Zaine Cordy at St Kilda … phew.

44. TIM ENGLISH. Is this the 2023 All-Australian ruckman? Gave away a few free kicks but his tap work has improved out of sight and is effectively an extra midfielder.

NORTH MELBOURNE

2. JAIDYN STEPHENSON.
Sat out the first half. Started the second with a shot on goal and finished with 1.1 from 10 touches. Alastair Clarkson will be the 2018 Rising Star winner’s fourth coach in as many years … will the penny drop?

3. HARRY SHEEZEL. The one-step snap after two teammates collided in the first quarter was very Luke Breust. But 10 disposals playing behind the ball in the fourth quarter has Roos thinking about reprogramming their teenage jet into a halfback, Nick Daicos-style.

7. JACK ZIEBELL. Started at halfback and mainly used the ball by foot. Important leadership alongside Luke McDonald in the back half.

8. BAILEY SCOTT. Played on the wing and had 10 disposals.

9. LUKE DAVIES-UNIACKE. Six clearances, three inside 50s and a goal for the kid who stormed to the finish line last season. Needs to roll that form into 2023.

10. BEN CUNNINGTON. Pleasure to watch the old warrior play. At 31 he had another nine clearances to show he will help lead the way for the glut of baby onballers.

11. LUKE McDONALD. Spent plenty of time on Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and the captaincy appears to be a snug fit for the fearless defender who racks up plenty of the ball. Reckon ‘Clarko’ would love this kid.

12. JY SIMPKIN. The other co-captain was North’s best player, leading the way with 31 disposals and four tackles. His handballs always seem to find a teammate and there’s a nice split between inside and outside possessions.

14. LIAM SHIELS. Premiership teammate Jordan Lewis said he was surprised the Hawks let Shiels go, and the Roos have loved the standards he has helped set. Spent some time on the wing and on McLean, and finished with 11 touches. Mids and wings are learning so much from Shiels.

16. AIDAN BONAR. Undersized defender who is on the fringe of selection.

19. GRIFFIN LOGUE. Former Fremantle swingman started on Aaron Naughton at full-back on what was an all-too-familiar difficult day for North’s defenders. But Logue put himself in good positions to mark the ball and will form a strong partnership with full-back Ben McKay.

20. NICK LARKEY. Snagged three goals from six kicks however so many of North’s straight entries were gobbled up by Bulldog backmen.

22. TODD GOLDSTEIN. The veteran had 19 hit-outs as the Roos played two genuine rucks alongside Xerri.

23. BEN McKAY. Difficult day playing against the land of the giants attack but McKay took an important step developing his one-two defensive combination with recruit Griffin Logue.

24. TOM POWELL. Never kicked two goals in an AFL match but slotted a pair in the last quarter. Got better as the game wore on and the Roos love the ball in Powell’s hands because he uses it so well, particularly forward of centre. Looked to have bulked up and is one Roo with a bright future.

25. PAUL CURTIS. Played as a pressure forward and finished with 1.2 with three score assists. Zero tackles on Saturday.

27. MILLER BERGMAN. Only came on in the final quarter, when he laid a couple of tackles and had five touches.

28. KAYNE TURNER. Small forward who spent some time on Bailey Dale and attended a few centre bounces, winning one takeaway.

29. WILL PHILLIPS. Won a nice centre clearance late in the last quarter to finish with four clearances for the match. Phillips, who missed all of 2022 with glandular fever, was still on a modified training program in November, so it’s a fair effort to put himself in contention for round 1. As Leigh Adams said: “We just can’t wait to get games into him and let the outside world see how good of a player we think he can be”.

30. CHARLIE COMBEN. The kid was badly beaten against an experienced defence and gave away five free kicks. Still, lots to like about the 199cm key forward.

31. JOSH GOATER. Rotated through the backline but turned the ball over a few times by foot. Another Roo who has talent but needs time.

38. TRISTAN XERRI. Won plenty of hit-outs but the Dogs’ onball brigade were dominant at stoppages. Looks like the Roos will back in the Xerri-Goldstein partnership.

39. FLYNN PEREZ. Nice tackle to bring down Adam Treloar was a nice moment for the young halfback who had 13 disposals and four rebound 50s.

44. CAMERON ZURHAAR. Sat out the second half with a tight calf after being held scoreless from eight disposals and no marks. Didn’t play as much centre bounce as last week, although that was due to Ben Cunnington and Jy Simpkin sitting out. Certain to be fit for round 1 and likely to play about a 70-30 split between forward-midfield.

SHEEZEL MOVED BACK BY CLARKO

Alastair Clarkson is considering reprogramming natural goalkicker Harry Sheezel into a halfback in a move that would see the No. 3 draft pick follow in the footsteps of reigning Rising Star winner Nick Daicos.

Sheezel, who was lauded as a fast learner after Saturday’s practice match loss to Western Bulldogs, showed shades of Hawthorn champion Luke Breust when he snapped a beautiful goal off one step in the first quarter at Ikon Park.

But the kid with enormous footy IQ and creativity was sent behind the ball in the final quarter – and won 10 disposals, four handball receives, two rebounds and one inside 50 to cause a round 1 rethink in Clarkson’s box.

“It’s a tough one. Early days I was really keen that he should play as a forward,” forwards coach Leigh Adams said.

“But seeing him in that last quarter today he gave us something probably a little bit different that we didn’t have in our back six for the first three quarters.

“His ability to get in the right position for handball receives and then link up and get multiple possessions and put the ball inside 50m for us.

“It’s going to be an interesting one. I liken it a little bit to Nick Daicos last year, where he came in as a midfielder and they decided to sit him behind the ball to start with and ease him into the game a little bit more.

“He looked pretty good there. It’ll be a call for ‘Clarko’ to make, but probably after that last quarter it’s put a little bit more pressure on him to go back.”
Adams said he loved how Sheezel, 18, absorbed information.

“If there’s an area of his game he needs to work on then you have the conversation with him and within the next week it’s fixed,” he said.

“He just wants to get better, he wants to be a really good player and what he’s got is some real X-Factor.”

Adams conceded recruit Darcy Tucker (knee) was unlikely to be fit for the round 1 clash against West Coast at Marvel Stadium.

But Aidan Corr and Aaron Hall played in Saturday evening’s VFL match against Footscray and are on track while Cameron Zurhaar (calf tightness) is certain to line-up despite being substituted out at halftime on Saturday.

“We think we’re going to have 40 guys available for round 1, which is a real positive considering we’ve been short on numbers (at this time of year),” Adams said.

He's now in from 15/16s for the Brownlow to 11/1 on the TAB (12s on Sportsbet).

Dogs have come in to 15s for the flag.

I had two bets on the double of $20 and $15 and they now refuse to accept any more !!

Gamble responsibly ;)

Just wanted to gauge other’s thoughts on the Landsberger article where he said Charles Sutton Medal votes were given for the practice match. I get the players are representing the club but not sure I agree CSM votes should be given. It’s not the real thing, players can be trialled in different positions, given different time on ground and working on aspects of their game. Not a “fight to the death” issue by any means but I am not a fan.
Depends on the instruction. I’d say the team we selected and the positions they played in would be akin to that of round 1. The only differences would be the way the medical staff treated any sore players (Weightman, Richards etc.)

Perhaps the coaching staff made the decision to encourage the playing group to treat the hit out with 100% intent and purpose given it’s our only proper practice match.

I can honestly see why non-Bulldogs expect us to be s**t. We lost our BnF and our best wing without bringing in any "stars."

But I think they're underestimating how big Liam Jones will be for us. I'm honestly expecting an AA year from him.

They are also not considering how many of our players were well below themselves last year. Bont, Macrae, Bailey Smith, Keath etc will all most likely be better this year by simply regressing to the mean.

Lobb will give us heaps, too. Not just because of his own game, but what he does for Naughton Jamarra and English. Naughts kicked a few goals last year but he didn't dominate like we know he can. Jamarra showed glimpses but seems set to really impact this year.

We've also ditched the stupid tactic that ****ed us over last year. We aren't trying to revolutionise the game anymore; we are keeping it simple and following the doggies ftw gameplan of just being tall as *.

We've got the cattle. We've got a mature and settled line-up. And for the first time in our history, we've got HEIGHT.
Absolutely spot on.

He's now in from 15/16s for the Brownlow to 11/1 on the TAB (12s on Sportsbet).

Dogs have come in to 15s for the flag.

I had two bets on the double of $20 and $15 and they now refuse to accept any more !!

Gamble responsibly ;)
I tried placing a multi for Doggies flag, Bont Brownlow and Naughty Coleman medal late last year and again early this year but TAB wouldn't accept the bet. I was trying to put on a cheeky $100 on it and fair to say it would've been a nice pay day.

All are very good chance of getting up, Go Doggies!!

I tried placing a multi for Doggies flag, Bont Brownlow and Naughty Coleman medal late last year and again early this year but TAB wouldn't accept the bet. I was trying to put on a cheeky $100 on it and fair to say it would've been a nice pay day.

All are very good chance of getting up, Go Doggies!!
They really are flaccid members. ;)

Glad he’s been watching Jeremy Cameron closely. Much more comparable than Buddy. I think he’s going to be a very good tall half forward, similar in output to a Gunston, although stylistically a bit different.
Long term Marra playing a Cameron role alongside Naughton and Darcy holding down more traditional CHF/FF positions makes my pants tight.

Robbo's assessment seems about right.

But FFS let's not dwell on readers' votes. These are the mindless masses who will vote for whoever is best at their club, not who is objectively best in the comp. (Now WE would never do a thing like that would we?)

Lauren Wood

It hadn’t been easy.

THE FRUSTRATION

THE FEEDBACK

THE FUN

THE FUTURE

THE GREATS RATE JAMARRA​

JONATHAN BROWN

BRAD JOHNSON

CAMERON MOONEY

DAVID KING

Lauren Wood

It hadn’t been easy.

THE FRUSTRATION

THE FEEDBACK

THE FUN

THE FUTURE

THE GREATS RATE JAMARRA​

JONATHAN BROWN

BRAD JOHNSON

CAMERON MOONEY

DAVID KING

that's a great photo of Jamarra and Buddy with the Bont looking on in the background

Not sure about the membership day offering a free upgrade if you buy a 3 day membership to a full home member tomorrow. Personally, whatever I pay above the 3 game membership I am happy for the amount to go to the club. On one hand it is good to get more members but on the other hand I can see loyal supporters struggling in these tough economic times being a bit pissed off of supporting the club year in year old and the johnno come lately getting a better deal.

I guess it is bit like the deals you get from the energy companies and banks as new clients.

Not sure about the membership day offering a free upgrade if you buy a 3 day membership to a full home member tomorrow. Personally, whatever I pay above the 3 game membership I am happy for the amount to go to the club. On one hand it is good to get more members but on the other hand I can see loyal supporters struggling in these tough economic times being a pissed off of supporting the club year in year old and the johnno come lately getting a better deal.

I guess it is bit like the deals you get from the energy companies and banks as new clients.
Has been happening since the Dead Sea was sick...and it makes me sick.

It is a massive slap in the face to those loyal supporters who pay up in full every year, to see that the Johnny come lately's just jump on board at a huge discount and get the same access. Yes it's great to get new members, but there shouldn't be an upgrade like that, at least in the first year you take out a membership and those who get those upgraded memberships absolutely should not have any sort of priority finals access. Give them a pass to watch the games at the Whitten Oval or something instead.

I actually find it insulting.

I could do plenty with the money I give to the club each year and have done for nearly 30 years in a row, but I choose to go without something else, to be able to support the club.

Well that's my rant over

On Nokia 5.4 using BigFooty.com mobile app

It is a massive slap in the face to those loyal supporters who pay up in full every year, to see that the Johnny come lately's just jump on board at a huge discount and get the same access. Yes it's great to get new members, but there shouldn't be an upgrade like that, at least in the first year you take out a membership and those who get those upgraded memberships absolutely should not have any sort of priority finals access. Give them a pass to watch the games at the Whitten Oval or something instead.

I could do plenty with the money I give to the club each year and have done for nearly 30 years in a row, but I choose to go without something else, to be able to support the club.

Well that's my rant over

I get why people don’t like it but it’s not like you’re donating your membership money with nothing in return? Assuming you’re in VIC you’re paying for seats, ie entertainment. I could stop paying for pornhub premium and enjoy the extra money but it’s a necessity

So for their much smaller "donation" they get the same entitlements as those of us paying full tote odds (46 years in my case). Seems fair.

As I said in the membership thread, loyalty is just taken for granted. Although the post below surprised me no end. I've never heard of such a thing happening.
This week I received out of the blue my membership for 2023 paid for as a gift from the club for 30 years of continuous membership.

I was blown away by this.

Also came with a "30" pin badge, a cloth badge, and a 30-year certificate.

Really appreciated!!! Go Doggies!!!

Unlike your pornhub subscription membership of a football club is a luxury not a necessity, so don't take us for granted :p

Well that's my rant over

Yes. I can understand this it is a bit of catch 22. More members means better sponsorship deals but loyal members should be given some extra benefits. Things like giving maybe 20 long term members per home game access to the rooms . I do get free social club with guaranteed GF tickets for being 50 year plus member.

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4