What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread

I would rather Stringer in a forward pocket position than Dahlhaus. He hasn't been played as a forward all year, pretty silly really. If you want a crumber who can kick goals, Stringer is probably just behind Betts, plus the fact he's 192cm, and can play tall.

I'd have both Wood and Moyd over Bob in that team. But he's Robbo's favourite player, no way was he leaving him out.

So the age has left Jake Stringer off the coleman medal list in today's paper. Nice one....:confused:

So did the Sunday Herald Sun and today's paper. Surely it's not that hard with all the stats gathering resources these days.

I'd have both Wood and Moyd over Bob in that team. But he's Robbo's favourite player, no way was he leaving him out.

Dont underestimate Murph's importance to the team. I reckon there is a pretty high correlation to how well Murph is being tagged to us winning - dangerously high, I think.

In terms of AA selection, there are more players out there who can do what Wood and Boyd have been doing than can do what Murph does.

Fair call.

I don't hold it against them for dropping the St Kilda game - it was a week after a slog in the wet and Clay went down (and was subsequently sledged by that bellend Riewoldt), the Melbourne game was total shit though.

Outside of the context of this season, we drop games against sides we should beat. We're never down for long, we're never so pathetic that we're on our knees begging for priority picks, and I'm proud of the club, but that's one aspect of our history that really shits me. I'm fed up with clubs knocking us over in milestone games, or 'must-win' games to keep them in touch with the eight, or just because we're the Bulldogs and they sense we're susceptible to it.

But you're absolutely right, we're a young side and inconsistency is to be expected.

We owe it to ourselves to belt Carlton and St Kilda, though.
Melbourne might well be a lot better than we give them credit for.. Knocking over cats convincingly at catland in imptnt game for teammate enright
And then blues knocking off port... We couldnt.
I thought Geelong being playing very good footy recently too like the dismantling of bombers

Garry Lyon has us and Norf making finals from here on in.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...bulldogs-to-make-a-noise-20150619-ghs7k8.html

Important Health Warning: Garry '*******' Lyon article approaching...

He still takes the obligatory cheap shots and brings up the losses to Melbourne and the Saints. Ignores the relative youth of the squad and indicates it's important, nay imperitive for us to play finals this year...

Read it at your peril.....
Fair call with the warning
If that guy couldnt play footy he'd be a pretty average bogan

Why is it an imperative for us to play finals, Gary Lyon? I would love finals as much as the next Doggies supporter but it's not an imperative when you consider
  • The fact that we were only expected to win 7 games for the year
  • The fact that we have a new coach
  • The fact that our players etc. are all different and people expected us to be 15th or 16th after the last off-season
  • The fact that clearly for the first part of the year that our coach saw it as a "experimental" year with unusual team selection etc. playing Cordy as first ruck for six weeks
  • The fact is that even if we win just two more games for the we've exceeded bookies' expectation
  • The fact that if we win three or four more games we've exceeded our supporter's expectations
  • The fact is in spite of an easy draw there's a fair chance we'll drop away due to our young team and our high-intensity game style.
But don't take all that into account should we fail (which is still more likely not to happen than it is to happen according to the Bookies) to make finals. We have to, don't we Garry?

View attachment 145694

He also says Moyd is the unluckiest to not make it. Was out of Moyd/Murph for the halfback spot.

Strange, but in print Hurley is replaced by McGovern and Dahl is replaced by Jamie Elliot. I know Robbo changes like the wind, but ...

Sorry, it was the HS. Problem with trying to read two papers at once before my morning coffee...

Try retiring, so much more relaxing ;)

Strange, but in print Hurley is replaced by McGovern and Dahl is replaced by Jamie Elliot. I know Robbo changes like the wind, but ...
Yeah he probably changed his mind, asked on Twitter thoughts on his team so probably listened to the majority to try and get some popularity :p

Thanks. Elliot makes sense anyhoo.

Melbourne might well be a lot better than we give them credit for.. Knocking over cats convincingly at catland in imptnt game for teammate enright
And then blues knocking off port... We couldnt.
I thought Geelong being playing very good footy recently too like the dismantling of bombers

I agree - when we were 5-5 looking at the next four games I would've taken 8-6 in a heartbeat. Comp is more even than it's been for a while. No disaster if we lose one of the next few. I think we'll match up well against Collingwood and Essendon, and atm would back us against Port - possibly a win or two out of those three.

I expect us to finish 12-10, maybe 11-11 if the kids falter at the end of the year. Good building block for next year. If we happen to go 9-5, then yes let's use the f word because 4 wins out of the last 8 would be achievable with the only probable loss at WC and maybe against North.

Dont underestimate Murph's importance to the team. I reckon there is a pretty high correlation to how well Murph is being tagged to us winning - dangerously high, I think.

In terms of AA selection, there are more players out there who can do what Wood and Boyd have been doing than can do what Murph does.
There are very few who can do what Wood has been doing. Fyfe is the only one I can think of who has been a better mark of the footy this year.
Although I agree on Bob vs Boyd, there are some interesting facts out there. Boyd rated as a better kick than Bob this year by the AFL for example.