What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread

Watching Footy Classified, Gary Lyons face talking about Bontempellis goal (and a few of our other kids like Stringer and Macrae) absolutely priceless!
I don't mind Melbourne, but the thunderous look on Lyon's face following a victory by a club he derides more than any other for the second time this year over his beloved Dees - just a sight to behold :p

Watching Footy Classified, Gary Lyons face talking about Bontempellis goal (and a few of our other kids like Stringer and Macrae) absolutely priceless!
Elaborate? I try not to watch FC, as I can't stand Lyon, Caro or Lloyd. It says a lot when Hutchy is the most bearable on there.

I don't mind Melbourne, but the thunderous look on Lyon's face following a victory by a club he derides more than any other for the second time this year over his beloved Dees - just a sight to behold :p
It doesn't get much better :p

On ya Hutchy, sticking up for the doggies there. Called out Lloyd for being such a critic, to which he replied "only Melbourne blah blah footyball wow fun" or some dribble along those lines :p

Elaborate? I try not to watch FC, as I can't stand Lyon, Caro or Lloyd. It says a lot when Hutchy is the most bearable on there.

Hutchy has continually stood up for us this year even when everyone was having a crack (including the other three on the panel), don't mind Hutchy at all.

He's a thousand times better than the other people on that panel, that's for sure. I can sit and listen to him without stabbing my ears.

I remember one time he said it was a good call that there was something rotten in Whitten Oval and they were in big trouble. I reckon it was a loss to the Suns in Metricon or the loss against Melbourne last year.

CARO stood up for the dogs saying something along the lines of "Oh, that's a bit harsh, they've got some young kids coming along. I like their kids".

At least Hutchy takes the piss, even if he embarrasses himself from time to time. Hutchy's one-liners have more journalistic credibility than anything that comes out of Lloyd's mouth. The guy is just a moron.

Terrific footy player to watch, but just keep him away from the microphone.

Yeah its pretty bad, no foxtel though so I have to struggle through this sort of shit for my footy fix :p

There wasn't a whole heap said. It was just hilarious watching Gary having to bring up the topic of Bontempelli and his goal, his facial expression was classic. Did go on to say some okay things though bringing up Stringers game, and said that Macrae/Bonts are the sure things. Pretty standard stuff.

Also managed to bring up as many videos as possible of Dogs players not being called holding the ball, Stringers free goal (which Hutchy stood up for again), of course none of those frees gifting Melbournes goals were shown though!

A bit of love on the FC panel for the Doggies! Don't mind it.
And as said, hutchy has been sticking up for us this year quite a bit! Good to see :)
*Long-winded statement as if opinion has any credibility* "AndtheDeesshould'vebeatentheDogs" *Taps desk with pen* "Moving on"

I must be the only one who doesn't care who likes us and doesn't like us. They're all just giving an opinion. I don't like Caro, but like the others a lot. I'm a Lyon fan, he has a strong opinion and he backs it up. Hutchy is best on the radio on Saturday morning because he doesn't mind taking the piss out of himself which I like. Cato takes herself too seriously. Not my go.

I don't care who likes and doesn't like us, but I'll appreciate media personalities that can be positive and take the piss out of others and themselves without attempting to inflate their own tyres with 'big calls' (ie. sinking the boots into struggling clubs), the classic domain of Barrett and Lloyd.

Likewise, I'll be scathing and insulting towards those that take themselves too seriously, those that make derogatory comments about clubs as a whole and the people within them, and any of the megaphone diplomats within the media - Lyon, Brayshaw, etc.

I like Hutchy, even if he says some silly stuff. I like Shane Crawford, he makes a fool of himself for entertainment's sake even if I'm not entertained, and he does some fantastic stuff for charity and awareness.

I think Lyon is a serial whinger, I think Brayshaw has an inferiority complex, and I think Lloyd's a ****ing moron. All my opinion, of course.

I don't care who likes and doesn't like us, but I'll appreciate media personalities that can be positive and take the piss out of others and themselves without attempting to inflate their own tyres with 'big calls' (ie. sinking the boots into struggling clubs), the classic domain of Barrett and Lloyd.

Likewise, I'll be scathing and insulting towards those that take themselves too seriously, those that make derogatory comments about clubs as a whole and the people within them, and any of the megaphone diplomats within the media - Lyon, Brayshaw, etc.

I like Hutchy, even if he says some silly stuff. I like Shane Crawford, he makes a fool of himself for entertainment's sake even if I'm not entertained, and he does some fantastic stuff for charity and awareness.

I think Lyon is a serial whinger, I think Brayshaw has an inferiority complex, and I think Lloyd's a ******* moron. All my opinion, of course.
That's all cool. I don't agree, but that's ok.

I was just coming to say this - who would have thought Hutchy would be our biggest champion in the media? But he hasn't wavered all year.

While we're throwing our opinions around though about Footy Classified people, I actually rate Lloyd (more for his 3AW work than Ch 9 work) even though he hates us. The thing I like about him - a trait which is unusual for footy commentators - is that he stands by his views when it's inconvenient, comes up with original opinions and admits when he's wrong. He's not such a hindsight/ conventional wisdom warrior. Yes, he makes a goose of himself a bit. But we all do. At least he owns it.

Whereas I see Garry Lyon as the direct opposite. Lyon's smarter than Lloyd, and has a good sense of humour. But he is the king of making conventional wisdom calls after everyone else has, and acting like they're profound. And every time he's wrong it slips down the memory hole. Only a month ago he was diminishing Macrae on MMM. Yet tonight he grudgingly accepted he was the goods. No acknowledgement of his error. There never is. Great memory for everyone else's errors though.

Watching Roos on AFL 360 is like nails on a chalkboard. Still complaining about the umpires, apparently Crameri's late goal was a direct result of the rushed behind decision too. Any other goals you want to take away mate? How about Bonts one at the end, surely he chopped Frawley's arms when he stripped him of the ball the second time.