What's happening in the Bendigo Football League #2

You must have been drinking alot of cans if you believe that the standard has risen since the mid to early 90's. Back in those days Bendigo was in Divion 1 and beating the GV. Playes like Oliver, Muir, Bond,Nolte, Ben Sexton all in their prime. Gisborne deserves every compliment they get, great effort and i have nothing but respect for them. But yor lack of knowledge about Bendigo football has been exposed

Hi KA, it's been a while since i've felt the need to reply to anything you've said - you have actually made for some good reading of late. However, i feel the need to rain on your parade a little.
I can remember as late as last year, when Mr Filo last retired (has he announced anything this year?) which was the best team he had been a part of in his 4 million game career. He stated that it was hard for him to go past the Kyneton premiership side of 95. Now i would think that there is no better man to speak of the standard over the years of the BFL than MR BFL himself..... unless you think your better qualified??
And the great number 7 above also names 5 players who sit well above the quality of players running around now in the Division 3 standard BFL.

Eat my shorts......

You must have been drinking alot of cans if you believe that the standard has risen since the mid to early 90's. Back in those days Bendigo was in Divion 1 and beating the GV. Playes like Oliver, Muir, Bond,Nolte, Ben Sexton all in their prime. Gisborne deserves every compliment they get, great effort and i have nothing but respect for them. But yor lack of knowledge about Bendigo football has been exposed

Yeah and if you listen to Lou Richards AFL/VFL football was better in the 1950's. Divey 1,2 or 3 means little as most players don't have a lot of interest in interleague and do what they can to get out of it.

Its good to see this Bendigo thread alive again. Was dead for months!

I didnt see any BFL footy prior to 2000 but i would have thought that blokes like Matty Fitzgerald, Saunders, Reaper, Robbins and Milward would have stacked up pretty well against the guys you have mentioned

Well Mr Filo - Would Eaglehawk of the last 2 years beat Kyneton in 1995?

Honest opinion -

Gisborne - Sensational, record speaks for itself
Eaglehawk 2007-2008 - Very good

Kyneton 1995 has any of these teams covered

And to show i am not biased, the great Northern United teams would have Kyneton covered by about 8-10 goals

Honest opinion -

Gisborne - Sensational, record speaks for itself
Eaglehawk 2007-2008 - Very good

Kyneton 1995 has any of these teams covered

And to show i am not biased, the great Northern United teams would have Kyneton covered by about 8-10 goals

Well there would be no better to comment.

Can you remember the Kyneton starting line up in the 95 Grand Final?

Well there would be no better to comment.

Can you remember the Kyneton starting line up in the 95 Grand Final?
One way to look at it might be that in '95 Kyneton had Filo in his prime, Elsum in his prime, Heath over 10 years younger than when he played in E'hawks '07 win Muir and Kelly wreaking havoc, Nolte in his prime and youngsters like Simons playing inspired footy. Another thing to note about this (1995) team is that it was virtually made up of locals bar Heath and Filo.

With all the talk at the moment about Kyneton, teams, coaches etc. Whats happened with the big hype talk on N.Thompson coachin the tigers?
Looks like it lasted 1 day!? Can anyone confirm, truth or crap?

D23 you got any news?

With all the talk at the moment about Kyneton, teams, coaches etc. Whats happened with the big hype talk on N.Thompson coachin the tigers?
Looks like it lasted 1 day!? Can anyone confirm, truth or crap?

D23 you got any news?

There was an article in the bendigo addy with Thompson saying he can't see it happening

I posted this on the Ballarat thread.

The push for a "Goldfields League" is gaining momentum. Ballarat and Bendigo to merge to create a super league. Top 5 from each comp in 2009 to be in Div 1 in 2010.

Ballarat
Eaglehawk
Darley
Golden Sqaure
Sunbury
Gisborne
East Point
South Bendigo
Maryborough
Redan

Div 2

Marsh
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Lake Wendouree
Melton
Kyneton
Nth Ballarat
Melton South
Sebastopool
Strathfieldsaye
Sandhurst

Relegation System - 2 up and 2 down.

Home Finals system

Not as many floggings. The divide between the good and bad is now massive

Who wants to watch these games:

Gisborne - 27.28 - 190
Kyneton - 4.6 - 30

Golden Square - 25.20 - 170
Sandhurst - 2.7 - 19

or

Ballarat - 26.19 - 175
Sebas - 3.3 - 21

East Point - 31.15 - 201
Melton - 7.6 - 48

Supporters and club officials could now see their club be competitive in most matches. Most teams above would like their chances of winning a flag in either Division. Run a book on those 2 Divisions - Good luck!Struggling clubs can be in Div 2 and not get flogged week in and week out. Not need to look to "lesser" leagues to be competitive. Daylesford etc

Gisborne, Darley, Melton South, Melton and Sunbury all ex RDFL. Less travel for these teams. Bendigo V Ballarat teams could build rivilarlies over time due to the level of contests.

Maybe a little more travel for the others - but if the comp is better who cares?

The Ballarat league will get to see Fishers tatts running around again - always good for a laugh.

Ballarat to Bendigo is less than Ballarat to Sunbury and the same as Ballarat to Melton/Melton South.

Block busters!

Eaglehawk V Darley
Gisborne V Sunbury
Golden Sqaure V Ballarat
Redan V South Bendigo

All great games but who will the umps favour now?? Bendigo, Ballarat, East, West or ex RDFL????

The only people trying to hold this up are some of the league administrators as their will not be as many jobs if the 2 leagues merge. Care heaps most of them bludge anyway.

Bring the game back to the supporters - the crowds would increase significantly as the standard of games increase.

The push for a "Goldfields League" is gaining momentum. Ballarat and Bendigo to merge to create a super league. Top 5 from each comp in 2009 to be in Div 1 in 2010.

Ballarat
Eaglehawk
Darley
Golden Sqaure
Sunbury
Gisborne
East Point
South Bendigo
Maryborough
Redan

Div 2

Marsh
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Lake Wendouree
Melton
Kyneton
Nth Ballarat
Melton South
Sebastopool
Strathfieldsaye
Sandhurst

Bring the game back to the supporters - the crowds would increase significantly as the standard of games increase.

I totally agree and I love the idea of this league but would the clubs be behind it? Can you give us some more info as who is behind the push for this new league?

Would the players care about the extra travel that would be involved?

Where would the finals be played?

Look forward to your response KA.

Personally I would love to see this happen.

Ballarat
Eaglehawk
Darley
Golden Sqaure
Sunbury
Gisborne
East Point
South Bendigo
Maryborough
Redan

Div 2

Marsh
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Lake Wendouree
Melton
Kyneton
Nth Ballarat
Melton South
Sebastopool
Strathfieldsaye
Sandhurst

Home Finals system

Gisborne - 27.28 - 190
Kyneton - 4.6 - 30

Sandhurst - 2.7 - 19

or

Ballarat - 26.19 - 175
Sebas - 3.3 - 21

East Point - 31.15 - 201
Melton - 7.6 - 48

Supporters and club officials could now see their club be competitive in most matches. Most teams above would like their chances of winning a flag in either Division. Run a book on those 2 Divisions - Good luck!Struggling clubs can be in Div 2 and not get flogged week in and week out. Not need to look to "lesser" leagues to be competitive. Daylesford etc

Gisborne, Darley, Melton South, Melton and Sunbury all ex RDFL. Less travel for these teams. Bendigo V Ballarat teams could build rivilarlies over time due to the level of contests.

Maybe a little more travel for the others - but if the comp is better who cares?

The Ballarat league will get to see Fishers tatts running around again - always good for a laugh.

Ballarat to Bendigo is less than Ballarat to Sunbury and the same as Ballarat to Melton/Melton South.

Block busters!

Eaglehawk V Darley
Gisborne V Sunbury
Golden Sqaure V Ballarat
Redan V South Bendigo

All great games but who will the umps favour now?? Bendigo, Ballarat, East, West or ex RDFL????

The only people trying to hold this up are some of the league administrators as their will not be as many jobs if the 2 leagues merge. Care heaps most of them bludge anyway.

looks like you got a copy of the same letter I got sent to me......lets hope this gets of the ground

i think anyone that attends football matches regularly would love this to happen, it creates more excitement at the prospect of being promoted to the big league and makes every game important to the bottom sides who are striving to stay in div.1...in saying that though i think you'll find something similar to this is a pipe dream in a lot of areas that share two leagues...

Ballarat
Eaglehawk
Darley
Golden Sqaure
Sunbury
Gisborne
East Point
South Bendigo
Maryborough
Redan

Div 2

Marsh
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Lake Wendouree
Melton
Kyneton
Nth Ballarat
Melton South
Sebastopool
Strathfieldsaye
Sandhurst

Home Finals system

Gisborne - 27.28 - 190
Kyneton - 4.6 - 30

Sandhurst - 2.7 - 19

or

Ballarat - 26.19 - 175
Sebas - 3.3 - 21

East Point - 31.15 - 201
Melton - 7.6 - 48

In Bendigo area I reckon the travel would be an issue as a few good players would drop off and go LVFL or Heathcote. Ballarat may lose a few too but agree with the principal and the standard would be alot better every week as you fight for finals or to stave off relegation. Works well in ammo's for the same reason. Would make the league a super league and you would be able to then discuss in the same terms as GV or OMFL.

I totally agree and I love the idea of this league but would the clubs be behind it? Can you give us some more info as who is behind the push for this new league?

Finals to be played as per the Ballarat League final system - home final for the team that finihes higher. Grand Final can altenate between the QEO in Bendigo and Eastern Ovel in Ballarat.

Travel should be fine. Gisborne travel every 2nd week and players do not leave. Look at players that travel from Melbounre to play for Yarrawonga or Moama. Teams like Mansfield that travel to Echuca to play.

The push is coming from some clubs losing money beacuse of poor crowds and some of the lesser teams that have bene getting flogged for years now. I think now it has gone higher than the leagues bosses. VCFL are now looking into this.

Sorry in advance Goat!

Scrolling through the old Bendigo thread I came across some of Josh McLeod's posts back in 2006. Absolute gold. Is he still around?? His name is in Red so maybe he has been given the flick. But this was some of his finest work. Goat leads off with a comment in regard to the miners that had just been freed!

Goat
"Listen fellas, I would like to briefly change the topic away from football at the moment and just say how pleased I was to see the two miners freed this morning. great story. just wanted to share it."

Josh
"Very good to see them get out! I wonder what they did down there to keep themselves occupied... In all seriousness.... do you reckon they would have.... you know.... pulled each other off?"

The Goat who was the threads leader back them fired back. Now this was before red or yellow cards were brought in and you could not be suspended.

Goat
"Listen here - I'm not going to call you J... - because I know that's not your real name, I think you have posted some funny stuff on here, but I think that comment was very ordinary. very ordiniary indeed, and I believe you should be suspended from posting for three days."

Sorry Goat but you left yourself wide open here and Josh took his opportunity!

Josh
"3 days... no way. They made it dog snot! It open slather for a couple of harmless jokes. So hop down from you morel high horse and suck my ????"

If you not laughing at "dog snot" you are very hard to impress.

Lets get this thread firing K.A.
That is some very funny stuff. Good to see D. Filo (and Eaglehawk) get on the front foot and end the speculation around his coaching future. He has been linked to nearly every coaching job in central Victoria in the last few weeks.

Could not imagine an offer that would take Derek away from his chance for 3-peat. Unless Malthouse calls I would be surprised if he would even think about leaving. He was linked to Woodend for god sake!!

Who besides Gissy are coachless? You would think clubs would move fairly quickly so the attention can switch to recruiting for next year.

Could not imagine an offer that would take Derek away from his chance for 3-peat. Unless Malthouse calls I would be surprised if he would even think about leaving. He was linked to Woodend for god sake!!

Who besides Gissy are coachless? You would think clubs would move fairly quickly so the attention can switch to recruiting for next year.
No word on Strathfieldsaye as yet , you would think they'd be a little concerned , even all the rumours seem to have dried up.

interleague???

div 1 v div 2?

i doubt that maryborough will pick up enough players to play in div one for starters, and dont see them beating flat they will have more good signings to come. i think castlemaine will improve more then maryborough.
maryborough problem is that the MCDFL is getting stronger pulling them away from the team and their pulling power is not so good!

i think E/hawk will be the same but not sure how they will go w/o filo on the ground.
GS--> need to pick up a few to cover carter and walsh
SB--> need to pick up a few lack a few more Centres
GIS--> need to find something and hope they keep most of there keys
sandhurst--> will struggle due to there prev president. not many previous players will return
storm--> hard to say no signings inc a coach who knows but id say they will struggle
kyn--> i'd say will struggle have they got a coach yet? again there pulling power aint great think GIS/ sunbury take most of there region.
MB/flat/cas--> already said id say it will be
top 5 eaglehawk--1st 2-7 will be fought out with the others but storm kyn and sand will be the bottom.

who's is to say there wont be floggings in the div there always is what comp doesnt have flogggins each year?

Word from the Square camp is holdstock and lloyd will assist adamson next season and j.grithin will coach the magoo's.
The above will be anounced tonight at their presentation night.

You would think it will be hard for S/Saye to recruit players with the likes of K/Flat plus surrounding teams MT.Pleasant & heathcote all trying to recruit players aswell and the money not being an issue.

Wouldnt suprise me if Damian Drum gets landed with the job until they find someone else in the seasons ahead.

In hindsight the Bfl shouldnt have excepted them into the league with out a coach pre-appointed.

interleague???

div 1 v div 2?

who's is to say there wont be floggings in the div there always is what comp doesnt have flogggins each year?

Not the 25 goal floggings dished out now. Teams that are in Div 1 are all very strong and will try and stay that way so not to be relegated. There maybe 1 or 2 weaker sides not the 3 or 4 that we have now. And again not 150 points weaker. Teams like Kyneton in Div 2 could recruit a few good players and push to play finals instead of the 12 they need now. Also the younger players might stick around and not play else where because they are fed up with being embarrased. And the stronger teams in Div 2 are not at the level to hand them 150 point thrashings.

Just a question in regard to the current global melt down (asx down 300 bases points today) will this affect clubs gaining and maintaining sponsors.
The recession that we are heading for would have to tighten some businesses bugets and I would think local football sponsorship would be one thing looked at to cut costs. Not since 1987 have we been in this much trouble financially with billions being lost every day.