• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Just wondering what people thoughts are now about the Bendigo Bombers now they are a few years in? Ive noticed that a few players are starting to come back into the BFL system which can only be good for the standard and the BFL interleague chances.
Players like, RObins, Frew, Childs, Gilliland, Vigus, Fitzgerald, and others have spent time in the program which was bagged pretty heavily when it came in due to people thinking it would take all the better players out of the league. Seems to me like younger players are going into the program and coming back bigger and better players. Any thoughts

Just wondering what people thoughts are now about the Bendigo Bombers now they are a few years in? Ive noticed that a few players are starting to come back into the BFL system which can only be good for the standard and the BFL interleague chances.
Players like, RObins, Frew, Childs, Gilliland, Vigus, Fitzgerald, and others have spent time in the program which was bagged pretty heavily when it came in due to people thinking it would take all the better players out of the league. Seems to me like younger players are going into the program and coming back bigger and better players. Any thoughts

Whilst the better players have been playing Bombers, the dollars for average footballers have risen. I still dont think Bendigo needs to have a bombers outfit as it removes more than it adds. You mention you get players back but I bet they went there cheaply and now you have to pay them well to get them.......

Hamish and Jake Dahl may well end up at Golden Square, but it won't be because they are not wanted by Kangaroo Flat. Now would also be a great time for Kangaroo Flat players to stick with the club, rather than going bush to the Loddon Valley or elsewhere. Loyalty is a great quality, and the mark of a person. Also, with the club in a re-building phase, now is the time to get some senior games under the belt if you are not getting a chance at another club.

You can only throw the "loyalty" guilt trip at people for so long this is the year that the flat committee need to pay back the "loyalty" of those players. "loyalty" is a 2 way street in my book. The signs are good so far so lets hope it works out.

I agree totally bloodhound.....if the reason why players were leaving was the lack of opportunity sitting on the bench, or lack of communication, then that will be remedied as I believe that no-one who was running the bench/selection committee over the past 2 years will be involved this year.

I see Kyneton have signed up Brant Dunshea, made the Essendon FC list in the early ninetys and played some good footy in the Essendon District Footy league. Now 33 it will be interesting to see how he goes also considering he is the Director of Umpiring for the VCFL. Could there be a conflict of interest here?

Steven Reapers mate at the VCFL!:D

South seem to be recruiting very well judging by a couple of articles in the paper over the last couple of weeks. I will also be interested to see how Rick Coburn goes as coach. I reckon it was a good appointment and he will surprise a few people.
My tip this year is for an all Bendigo Grand Final - South v Sandhurst, Co-tennants of the QEO to battle it out on the last Sunday in September. Bad luck boys - no drinking p i s s the day before watching the AFL GF!
Kings Army, I think your time in the throne is over:thumbsu:

anyone have any info on a guy that plays for south bendigo, goes by the name of snout, or keels?

The "snout" impressed with a second behind Josh "Havoc" Dawson in the beep test ..high 13's....

Coach Ricky C pissed in the 1.5k time trial ahead of Burke...

Special metions to T Forbes (2.1 in the beepa) and Barny B 11 mins 48 secs in the 1.5k.

Keep truckin boys!

The "snout" impressed with a second behind Josh "Havoc" Dawson in the beep test ..high 13's....

Coach Ricky C pissed in the 1.5k time trial ahead of Burke...

Special metions to T Forbes (2.1 in the beepa) and Barny B 11 mins 48 secs in the 1.5k.

Keep truckin boys!
clearances open tomorrow boys, then we will start to get an idea what is really happening around the place

hey big footy fans,

i still havent got over the fact that i was overlooked for either of the coaching positions at the flat and i discussed with the new coach about a chance a captain but he indicated that it was...well to use his word..."ludicrous". I'VE HAD ENOUGH!!!

would any other club be interested in a 4 game, 5'10" running forward pocket player? i reckon i would be in the starting 18 of most if not all BFL clubs.

please let me know when training times are on, i would be happy to train at all clubs as decide a home from there.

cheers, don

South seem to be recruiting very well judging by a couple of articles in the paper over the last couple of weeks. I will also be interested to see how Rick Coburn goes as coach. I reckon it was a good appointment and he will surprise a few people.
My tip this year is for an all Bendigo Grand Final - South v Sandhurst, Co-tennants of the QEO to battle it out on the last Sunday in September. Bad luck boys - no drinking p i s s the day before watching the AFL GF!
Kings Army, I think your time in the throne :thumbsu:is over
Gisborne are only missing M.Dillon from the premiership side and have a couple of handy players returning . S.Hamilton , Ty Elliot and Levi Moss.Obviously the Bendigo sides have recruited well for you 2 make this call.

Kings Army, I think your time in the throne is over:thumbsu:

So the BFL and GVFL grannies are on the same day this year . . . . . bugger