HB: Luke Power - Chris Barlow - Darren Farrugia

C: Dean Helmers - James Kelly - Chris Curcio

HF: Mark O'Sullivan - Luke Saunders(C) - Jarrad Vernon

F: Damien Chote - Michael Dillon - Simon Chote

Rucks Jermone Percy - Ryan Crowley - Matty Fitzgerald

Inter: Jason Brown, Jamie Stumpo, John Paptas, Justin Burt

Coach: Kings Army

Boundary Ump: Belinda Chote

Bring on Gisborne Primary!! How good are the onballers!!

Kelly, Crowley, O'Sullivan, Curcio, Helmers and Fitzgerald - very imposing!!
Very handy unit KA quite a few names there that went on and played league footy or VFL. Also a few names that would be recognised by BFL followers . I think you might have my old school [Gissy primary] covered , Gareth John and Stewart Dew the only 2 that come to mind that played AFL from there . Can any other big footy followers throw up some names they went to school with , i know Golden Square had some handy players come out of there , did they go to school in Bendigo ?

Gareth Keenan said:
Hello gents and the Goat
Big game for my boys the Square this week.
I reckon this will help show us if they are the real deal or not.
My mail from the sacred turf at Wade Street is that coach Woosha is not going to be 100 per cent fit for the rest of the year but he's going to battle on and play anyway. O'Toole is struggling as well with injury, but he'll play on through it.
Bad luck with injuries could be very telling for the Doggies.
My mate who follows the Square very closely reckons the club is not too happy with Pye the ruckman (always something wrong with him). Big money spent for no return.
My mate reckons there's another ruckman at the club - Jess someone - who would be better value than Pye. Why don't they give this other ruckman a go????

Real intelligent call Gareth on Wes Pye!

Big money spent for no return

He hasn't played for 10 weeks, therefore I agree he hasn't provide a return but he hasn't cost the club a cent either!

Don't get too ahead of yourself, I don't think there are too many players in the BFL that are paid regardless of whether they play or not.

He'll be up and firing for the business end of they year, that's when you want your guns delivering!

BB .... back in the 50s Norm McDonald went from the Square to Essendon.
Of course the Square's most recognised face would be twice Brownlow Medallist Greg "Diesel" Williams He came from Melb. with his family as a primary schoolboy so would have gone to school in Bendigo
Others from the Square include Peter McConville (Carlton and the Sainters), Tony Southcombe (now coaching unbeaten Elmore), Ricky Nixon (Hawthorn, Sainters, now gun player manager).

Jock Clark 2 said:
Of course the Square's most recognised face would be twice Brownlow Medallist Greg "Diesel" Williams He came from Melb. with his family as a primary schoolboy so would have gone to school in Bendigo
Others from the Square include Peter McConville (Carlton and the Sainters), Tony Southcombe (now coaching unbeaten Elmore), Ricky Nixon (Hawthorn, Sainters, now gun player manager).
where you been jock strap, its been a while. i caught a bit of that one week at a time show the other night on the radio, i must say, i got sick of continaully hearing those names of blokes who had played 200 games or whatever. about 10 times it was referred to, just got sick of it. and that was the first time i had listened to it. don't know if i will worry again, just keep the dial tuned to KLFM

Jock Clark 2 said:

Nathan Brown (Bulldogs, Richmond), Nick Carter (Fitzroy), Wayne Campbell (Richmond)

hank1 said:
Nathan Brown (Bulldogs, Richmond), Nick Carter (Fitzroy), Wayne Campbell (Richmond)
i heard on the radio this morning terry wallace reckons cambo would make a good coach when he comes back from overseas, where i'm told he is walking dogs for crust. fair change in lifestyle. afl captain one day, dog walker in the US the next. i wonder if he is interested in walking goats for a living.

I read on this thread a couple of pages back that seamus young from sandhurst is the front runner to take the rookie of the year award this year ?? Considering he is 20 and has played close to 50 senior games as well as winning the rookie of the year award in another league a few years ago, is he eligible?? what are the criteria for this award ??

royal dougy said:
I read on this thread a couple of pages back that seamus young from sandhurst is the front runner to take the rookie of the year award this year ?? Considering he is 20 and has played close to 50 senior games as well as winning the rookie of the year award in another league a few years ago, is he eligible?? what are the criteria for this award ??
fair point you raise dougy my friend. i wouldn't have thought anyway he would be over the line, so it may not be a concern. goat out

Its an interesting one goat, would be good to see him win it if he could pull it off, that would be a fair effort to win two rookie awards, to go along with a swag of other awards he has one!

royal dougy said:
Its an interesting one goat, would be good to see him win it if he could pull it off, that would be a fair effort to win two rookie awards, to go along with a swag of other awards he has one!
i'm hearing you on that one doug, but there's a lot of good young players in the comp who could be just as worthy. maybe at the end of the season everyone on big footy can cast their votes on who should win it. goat out

The Talking Goat said:
i'm hearing you on that one doug, but there's a lot of good young players in the comp who could be just as worthy. maybe at the end of the season everyone on big footy can cast their votes on who should win it. goat out

I too am unsure of his eligibility, but if he was eligible, i would say he would be the front-runner at this stage. Who would some of the other major contenders be?

Other news from the dragons is that Mark Fitzgerald will miss the next few weeks because of a back injury. Another set back for fitzy after struggling for a while with his knee. A big blow for the dragons to lose him now they've finally got "Metro" back.

Some good games this weekend, looking forward to seeing some odds, maybe even some odds on margins:thumbsu:

Sorry BFL fans but HH's tip at Ballarat today - Vanity Quay - went terrible.
I will never post a tip again.
Even worse luck the rent moneys gone and HH is homeless after the missus kicked me out.
Anyone got a spare room.
And before you South blokes try and suggest it IM NOT MOVING IN WITH DARTS

Rumour has it Eaglehawk gun Kain Robins could be returning to his home club in the mallee league next year. Or is he pretty comfortable at Eaglehawk?

North City is very confident of a win before the seasons end. Just a reminder for those who are unaware of the situation North City are faced with. 24 out of 47 senior listed players were unavailable on the weekend due to injury.. one of those a suspension, yet they still took it right up to a competitive Maryborough side.

Hardluck Harry said:
Sorry BFL fans but HH's tip at Ballarat today - Vanity Quay - went terrible.
I will never post a tip again.
Even worse luck the rent moneys gone and HH is homeless after the missus kicked me out.
Anyone got a spare room.
And before you South blokes try and suggest it IM NOT MOVING IN WITH DARTS

Ordinary mail HH looks like we are both out on the streets tonight. That was a discgraceful run, is the bloke that rides trackwork actually sober when he rides in the morning.

:thumbsu:weeds back after a long and eventful holiday to iraq. and just quietly glad i am cause there are some cracker games this weekend. so without further a do - my tips:

gisborne to bounce back VS eaglehawk in a belter of a game. good inclusions for both sides but the ins for gissy will get them over the line by 4 goals.

south to beat square by 6 goals in a game that also has quality written all over it. pye, o'toole and Lloyd are massive ins for square as are hardiege, beattie and sullivan for south. 6 goals is a bit overboard, i'll change that to just 1 goal, yes 1 goal. either way this shapes up to be a cracker.

i must say i am rather toey to get this weeknd's footy under way cause it is going to be fantastic, and remember to have a hot dog with sauce for the weed. if the kiosk's only sell dogs in bread rather than the mandatory hot dog roll, be sure to change it to pie and sauce:thumbsu:

WEIDEMAN OUT!!!

P.S- let's stay off the second page from now on:rolleyes:

FencePainter said:
Real intelligent call Gareth on Wes Pye!

Big money spent for no return

He hasn't played for 10 weeks, therefore I agree he hasn't provide a return but he hasn't cost the club a cent either!

Don't get too ahead of yourself, I don't think there are too many players in the BFL that are paid regardless of whether they play or not.

He'll be up and firing for the business end of they year, that's when you want your guns delivering!

Pye would S H I T in your Eye, better than you will ever be you tosser:D

south to beat square by 6 goals in a game that also has quality written all over it. pye, o'toole and Lloyd are massive ins for square as are hardiege, beattie and sullivan for south. 6 goals is a bit overboard, i'll change that to just 1 goal, yes 1 goal. either way this shapes up to be a cracker.

WW, was thinking of heading down to Wade st. tomorrow for a look at square and south ?? Would it be a game worth watching ?? You've mentioned a couple of ins for south, was wondering if Burke and O'bree are playing yet as well and what's going on with mark lloyd, how long has he been out for, and is he fit to play ??

i woud like to congratulate all in the bendigo football league big footy family for reaching 2000 posts. great work fellas, let's keep it up and here's hoping for another 1000 posts. fellas, what a s h i t day for footy it was, with two such big games, pity it was spoiled by the weather. golden square are back

GOAT, your odds on Saturday's footy would have been turned upside down because of the appalling ground conditions. Not your fault .... no one could have known back on Wed/Thursday it would have rained all night Friday/Saturday, and then all day Saturday.
Can't remember the Square oval looking as bad as it did yesterday, but do remember the Q was a quagmire at the end of August 2003 and the elim. and qualifying finals were transferred to Eaglehawk that year. So we obviously had decent rain in August, 2003.
Maryboro beat Eaglehawk (at Canterbury Park, so a bit ironic) in the qualifying final 3 years back and then on the Sunday Hurst beat Kyneton, also at Canterbury Park, in the elimination final.
That Wed. night show was not your 1st night as a listener, Goat. The old man whose paddock you live in had the radio on one Wednesday night -- you wrote about this some pages back here -- and you bobbed up to the window and had a listen. Your own words !!

Jock Clark 2 said:
GOAT, your odds on Saturday's footy would have been turned upside down because of the appalling ground conditions. Not your fault .... no one could have known back on Wed/Thursday it would have rained all night Friday/Saturday, and then all day Saturday.
Can't remember the Square oval looking as bad as it did yesterday, but do remember the Q was a quagmire at the end of August 2003 and the elim. and qualifying finals were transferred to Eaglehawk that year. So we obviously had decent rain in August, 2003.
Maryboro beat Eaglehawk (at Canterbury Park, so a bit ironic) in the qualifying final 3 years back and then on the Sunday Hurst beat Kyneton, also at Canterbury Park, in the elimination final.
That Wed. night show was not your 1st night as a listener, Goat. The old man whose paddock you live in had the radio on one Wednesday night -- you wrote about this some pages back here -- and you bobbed up to the window and had a listen. Your own words !!
the old man's radio station is normally tuned to klfm, but for some reason before he passed out drunk wanted to listen to the sounds of 895. i think he likes the sounds of richard jones voice