• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Max P - As a Square supporter (and to anyone else who wants to comment), what's you view on your boys at the moment? I saw the last qtr on Saturday. Square boys were very quiet. I heard your assistant coaches yell from the boundary 3 or 4 times to lift their heads and get some talk going.

It was eerily quiet, small crowd and not much noise from the players. do you think the cold (or possibly the showdown at Canterbury Park) kept the crowd away?

Not too sure Doc to be honest??
Currently got alot of good players really down at the moment, but just need to string some wins together. Confidence is a big thing with this side. If they can somehow turn this around then they well be around the mark come september....still a couple to slot in aswell.

Was mentioned on the local news this evening in bendigo that he will remain on at Balranald to coach out the rest of the year.
Filo put it in to put the wind up both the president and the wood chopper to pull their heads out of their arse. He has been rumoured to have said that Balranald have 2 weeks to get things right all he will be out. His wife is crook as well apparantly.

obviously they don't respect him and the way he goes about things if he needs to put a clearance in to get them to pull their heads in. if you recruited shawn as coach wouldn't you trust his judgement as he is the on field leader not the blokes who put in the money etc

i see that the flat have picked up nick renshaw and joshua shitwal from inglewood . are they any good or just more duds for the flat ?
Josh Shatwell son of Flat Legend, is potentially a good Player. Nick Renshaw young only ever been modest bush footballer, could be Handy.

nick renshaw is good mates with jarrod lorring could the flat get lorring next year ?

If Jarrod lost the 15 kgs he has stacked on over the last 12 months, he would be a gun in the Bendigo FL... I've seen him play. Long pentrating kick, uses both sides of the body. Bit of a w*nker as a bloke, but can play footy that's for sure. :cool:

If you have to get 2 ordinary players to attract him to the club, it would be worth Flat's while.

Im a bit lost here, whats the woodchopper u refer to got to do with all this? Does the coach not have full control of things up there or have I missed something?

If Jarrod lost the 15 kgs he has stacked on over the last 12 months, he would be a gun in the Bendigo FL... I've seen him play. Long pentrating kick, uses both sides of the body. Bit of a w*nker as a bloke, but can play footy that's for sure. :cool:

If you have to get 2 ordinary players to attract him to the club, it would be worth Flat's while.
w***er factor is extremely high.

he would take a few more crap players with him . matt gunn , korn , leigh byrne , jamie olver and who ever he could get from ycw !

Speaking of South - forgive me for taking the level of dribble up a notch, but embelish me a little...
does anyone on this thread know if South are keen to move to Strathfieldsaye? Whoever goes there will succeed - $2 million development backed by local and state govt, senior oval, junior oval, 3 netball courts, talk of a swimming pool and gym being put in, 5000 residents as potential members, one of the largest junior lists going around...

Are there any South supporters out there or not? :confused:

Speaking of being incapacitated, a loss must render Gisborne supporters useless, as none of them have bothered to post anything this week :D

Norfolk - you can throw Eaglehawk supporters into the same I.T. class as the Bloods supporters...

But bloods are worse because some of them may have computers, i doubt any eaglehawk people would!

was there apparently but did not train

Sounds like massive games being played between Shawn Filo and Balranald. I wouldn't like to be at the club at the moment. A coach submitting a clearance at this stage, trying to intimidate JOCK who clearly runs the show down their throwing his money around! Filo doesn't like it and wants to put a stop to it, ultimately trying to intimidate Jock will not work, he runs the club and the club cant afford to lose him! which is bulls**t :thumbsdown:! Balranald will let filo go because Jock will never lie down, with his $$$ they will be able to attract a new coach easy..... Also with the players they have at the moment the assistant could take over and still win a flag.

Are there any South supporters out there or not? :confused:

The papers have said that Sandhurst and South are both considering the move. My mail is that working party from Strathfieldsaye's end are pretty keen to go it alone and play in the Heathcote league so thats why they have put in the strong guideline for anyone to join them. Such as Strathfieldsaye must come first in the name and all trainings and games must be played out there so that makes it an extremely tough situation for both those clubs to leave virtually all there history behind.

Just on Shaun Filo how could he come out now saying about the travel to Balranald thats pure crap he would have known the committment he was making travelling wise to take the coaching job in the first place so that is a pure excuse. If he wants to leave he should just come out and say he wants to play with brother

The papers have said that Sandhurst and South are both considering the move. My mail is that working party from Strathfieldsaye's end are pretty keen to go it alone and play in the Heathcote league so thats why they have put in the strong guideline for anyone to join them. Such as Strathfieldsaye must come first in the name and all trainings and games must be played out there so that makes it an extremely tough situation for both those clubs to leave virtually all there history behind.

Just on Shaun Filo how could he come out now saying about the travel to Balranald thats pure crap he would have known the committment he was making travelling wise to take the coaching job in the first place so that is a pure excuse. If he wants to leave he should just come out and say he wants to play with brother

Junky, i know Shawn and his family quite well and i know that travel and being away from his family was always in the back of their minds when he took the job. I believe that things have changed slightly both in a business and a footy club stance. Shawn is a great man and if he has decided to leave Balranald then thee must be a huge reason for it. We all must rememer that family and life after football are so bloody important. Goodluck to him and if he decides to play with Derek and his clearance is granted i think it would be a fantastic story for them as a family and for the BFL in general. Goodluck Shawn :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Sounds like massive games being played between Shawn Filo and Balranald. I wouldn't like to be at the club at the moment. A coach submitting a clearance at this stage, trying to intimidate JOCK who clearly runs the show down their throwing his money around! Filo doesn't like it and wants to put a stop to it, ultimately trying to intimidate Jock will not work, he runs the club and the club cant afford to lose him! which is bulls**t :thumbsdown:! Balranald will let filo go because Jock will never lie down, with his $$$ they will be able to attract a new coach easy..... Also with the players they have at the moment the assistant could take over and still win a flag.

Well they should just grant the clearance and let it go if that is the case. I know Shawn and he is not the type of bloke to be playing games. If he wants to leave because of some bloke who thinks he owns the club - well that is what I'd expect, you might buy the bloke's services, but you will never buy his soul.

That is aside from business and family issues.

Better to walk away with your dignity intact and let Shawn play out his career with his brother in a different league than face the prospect of never being able to get another decent recruit again I say.

Who ever does decide to relocate out to Strathfieldsaye will become a powerhouse of whatever league they represent. It won't happen straight away, but Strath is a sporting community and i reckon they'd really get behind the club.