Which club with a long premierhip drought be next to win a flag ?

I agree with some of your comments, but Richmond did not start a rebuild in 2005 if this was true then you could claim that every team is rebuilding at the start of every draft, our rebuild started with the clean out instigated by DH at the end of 09, this was an almost total rebuild.

Hard to judge Richmond's rebuilds with the Wallace fail to be honest

This should clear things up. The 2005 increment dispels the myth of Wallace commencing a rebuild. He was after wins (which he initially got) - recruited 32yo Mark Graham and tried to convince Wayne Campbell to play on in 2006. Reckon Plough just liked match days...his idea of rebuilding was parading our high picks in front of the media on draft day.

Code:
Year AvAge Coach
-------------------
2000 24.28 Frawley
2001 25.27 Frawley
2002 24.52 Frawley
2003 24.64 Frawley
2004 24.47 Frawley
2005 25.28 Wallace
2006 24.25 Wallace
2007 23.94 Wallace
2008 24.31 Wallace
[B]2009 24.38 Wallace
     23.40 Rawlings
2010 23.15 Hardwick[/B]
2011 23.19 Hardwick

Now this is a rebuild...

Code:
Year AvAge Coach
--------------------
1998 24.63 Shaw
[B]1999 23.70 Shaw
2000 23.04 Malthouse[/B]
2001 23.39 Malthouse
2002 23.73 Malthouse
2003 24.09 Malthouse
2004 23.96 Malthouse
2005 24.82 Malthouse
2006 25.35 Malthouse
2007 24.77 Malthouse
2008 24.51 Malthouse
2009 24.46 Malthouse
2010 24.78 Malthouse
2011 25.06 Malthouse

This should clear things up. The 2005 increment dispels the myth of Wallace commencing a rebuild. He was after wins - recruited 32yo Mark Graham and tried to convince Wayne Campbell to play on in 2006. Reckon Plough just liked match days...his idea of rebuilding was parading our high picks in front of the media on draft day.

Code:
Year AvAge Coach
-------------------
2000 24.28 Frawley
2001 25.27 Frawley
2002 24.52 Frawley
2003 24.64 Frawley
2004 24.47 Frawley
2005 25.28 Wallace
2006 24.25 Wallace
2007 23.94 Wallace
2008 24.31 Wallace
2009 24.38 Wallace
     23.40 Rawlings
2010 23.15 Hardwick
2011 23.19 Hardwick
Now this is a rebuild...

Code:
Year AvAge Coach
--------------------
1998 24.63 Shaw
[B]1999 23.70 Shaw
2000 23.04 Malthouse[/B]
2001 23.39 Malthouse
2002 23.73 Malthouse
2003 24.09 Malthouse
2004 23.96 Malthouse
2005 24.82 Malthouse
2006 25.35 Malthouse
2007 24.77 Malthouse
2008 24.51 Malthouse
2009 24.46 Malthouse
2010 24.78 Malthouse
2011 25.06 Malthouse

Fair call. Cheers.

Vickery Riewoldt

Cotchin, Martin, Deledio, Foley, Tuck.

Maybe a bit iffy on the last one though. He would still walk into your team though.

Vickery is the potential star KPF.

Deledio almost never starts in the midfield...

And Foley and Tuck as 'amazing'?

You're overrating your group a little here.

Vickery is the potential star KPF.

Deledio almost never starts in the midfield...

And Foley and Tuck as 'amazing'?

You're overrating your group a little here.

Don't try undersell Vickery by putting the word potential, he has dominated this year. He will improve and soon be in the elite category.

In regards to Deledio, you'd be surprised how much he was played on the wings this year. Since we have Batchelor, Houli and Newman coming on next year, he should find a cemented spot in the midfield.

Foley in 2008 was amazing, but had two injury riddled seasons and is slowly improving to his best form. He has shown glimpses of his past form throughout the year, including a 40-possession game against Brisbane + a 34-possession game against Port.

As I said before, Tuck is perhaps a bit iffy. But hey, somebody needs to be at the bottom of the pack doing the dirty work.

I see the annual North vs. Richmond vs. Melbourne "who has the best list" argument started early this year. Normally wait until after trade week and the tedium of the off-season has really set in before starting it up.

May as well toss my cap in. FWIW, I think North are ahead of the other two. Have a better spread of players both in quality and in age. Richmond's list falls off a cliff after about player 12 and Melbourne don't have the big, experienced bodies (apart from Sylvia and Jamar). A new coach also takes time to adapt (don't point to C. Scott as proof it doesn't. He had a team in peak that knew what they were doing and only needed tweaking and finetuning).

Having said all that all three teams are still well behind Collingwood and Geelong. Will probably never forget the bath Collingwood gave us at the MCG. It was akin to Melbourne's 186. It was like it was dry for Collingwood and for us the footy was a piece of soap. Firrito fumbling, then falling over with no pressure, summed up the gap.

Don't try undersell Vickery by putting the word potential, he has dominated this year. He will improve and soon be in the elite category.

In regards to Deledio, you'd be surprised how much he was played on the wings this year. Since we have Batchelor, Houli and Newman coming on next year, he should find a cemented spot in the midfield.

Foley in 2008 was amazing, but had two injury riddled seasons and is slowly improving to his best form. He has shown glimpses of his past form throughout the year, including a 40-possession game against Brisbane + a 34-possession game against Port.

As I said before, Tuck is perhaps a bit iffy. But hey, somebody needs to be at the bottom of the pack doing the dirty work.

Mate I've been a vocal supporter of Vickery from the start of his career, even when Tiger fans have been ripping into him!!

He's a potential star, I stand by that firmly.

That isn't underselling him by any stretch of the imagination.

Deledio spends most of his time behind the footy, don't ask me why... because I think he's a much better midfielder, but you can't count him as part of your starting midfield.

Foley was amazing three years ago, good on him. I appreciate he's had some troubles, that doesn't make him a better player.

Tuck was close to being delisted before the last month and a half of season 2011.

Bulldogs will need to rebuild. The saints need everything to go right for them to have another crack, not sure if they are up to it.

Richmond probably should win one first. Saying that their record isn't great.

Heh, he has to go to our only main deficiency in our list in defense of Melbourne's list.

Where are your star KPFs and your 5 amazing starting midfielders?

Trengove, Gysberts, McKenzie, Grimes, Moloney.

All potential/star quality midfielders. Jack Viney oming as well as two more youngsters in the 2012 draft.

Where are Richmond's AA quality FB and possible AA quality CHB?

I'm a big fan of Vick, but soon to be elite? I wouldn't say he's yet at anywhere near the quality of your own Full Forward!

Where are Richmond's AA quality FB and possible AA quality CHB?

Rance came on in leaps and bounds this year without a lot of fanfare from outside the club - not yet at 50 games and finished a whisker behind Vickery in the b&f. I was a knocker, but no more. Still, reckon he's a #2 defender rather than the anchor we need. Would've liked us to make a big play for Carlile to be the gorilla killer.

This year Vickery progressed from brief glimpses to having a decisive impact on some games. If he can improve his consistency within games as well as between them, he'll be a serious player before long.

It's like everyone thinks there list WILL win a flag, and it's just a matter of when! You can't just think the list you got will eventually grab you a flag, that ridiculous. It's like you guys actually think your certainties to win it with your lists. You might end up like the saints, so close yet so far, back to the rebuilding stage. Not saying you won't just saying don't be disappointed if it's not this list that wins your next flag.

And before you ask, I do feel the same about my team, We may or may not win one, but like each club will come close. You can't just we will win one with our list.

Youngest teams in each round, in ascending order:

Code:
 1 Ri,Me,NM
 2 GC,Ri,Me
 3 GC,Ri,Br
 4 GC,Ri,Me
 5 GC,Ri,Br
 6 GC,Ri,Me
 7 GC,Ri,Me
 8 GC,Ri,Me
 9 Ri,Me,Ad
10 GC,Me,Ri
11 Me,GC,NM
12 Me,GC,Ri
13 GC,Me,Ri
14 GC,Ri,Me
15 GC,Ri,Me
16 GC,Ri,Es
17 GC,Ri,Me
18 GC,Me,Es
19 GC,Me,Es
20 GC,Me,Ri
21 GC,Me,Ad
22 GC,Ri,Ad
23 GC,Me,Ad
24 GC,Me,Ri

H&A averages:

Code:
26.68 Ge
26.08 St
25.28 Sy
25.06 Co
24.98 Ha
24.96 WB
24.41 Ca
24.40 Fr
24.31 WC
24.27 NM
24.22 PA
24.09 Es
23.99 Br
23.98 Ad
23.26 Me
23.19 Ri
22.36 GC

Dont let the facts get in the way of a good melbourne story, its the same story about their success in the last 47 years, when you actually sit down and look at the figures they are the worst performing club of the last 47, 31, 30 ,20 years.

Ans that is saying something given thatsome clubs havent won anthing since their last flag,

But hey they have the youngest list.

their list will be even younger with their two picks they got for scully

In all fairness those stats are skewed towards the 22 lining up each week rather than overall age of the list. Doesnt mean it really means anything but just sayin'.

Also I would have thought our performance over the last 30 years just shades the Tigers considering they have only made finals twice in that time. Hell even Fitzroy is more successful than Richmond over the last 30 years :D.

Dont let the facts get in the way of a good melbourne story, its the same story about their success in the last 47 years, when you actually sit down and look at the figures they are the worst performing club of the last 47, 31, 30 ,20 years.

Ans that is saying something given thatsome clubs havent won anthing since their last flag,

But hey they have the youngest list.

their list will be even younger with their two picks they got for scully

Trust a Tigers supporter to misrepresent the facts!

That's a best 22 average age and, as I showed in that Craig thread, Melbourne do have a younger overall list than Richmond.

Which club with a long premierhip drought be next to win a flag ?