Who here's seen the Dogs play at the most grounds?

* Gabba
* Etihad
* Waverley
* Whitten Oval
* Moorabbin
* Princes Park
* Football Park
* Windy Hill
* Geelong
* Manuka
* MCG
* SCG
* Subiaco

Reserve games/Practice Matches
* Junction Oval
* Punt Road, Richmond
* Victoria Park
* Arden Street
* Brunswick Street
* Skinner Reserve

As well as those venues I have previously listed I have seen practice matches at:

- Colac v Fitzroy, can still remember Fruity Ford giving it to Doug Barwick about steroids.

- Moe v Hawthorn, about 1981.

- Bendigo v Carlton, can vividly recall Mil Hanna playing in a bandanna.

- Skinners Reserve, growing up in Braybrook I saw heaps of practice games there.

- Sandgate QLD, funny one that. End of season trip in 1974. My family just happened to be holidaying on the Gold Coast at the same time. It rained all day the day before & most of the night. Not just rain, but torrential storms. The game was going to be called off, so all the players got on the turps. Surprisingly the match went ahead with not a sober Bulldog. Dead set, there were cain toads on the oval!!

- Boronia, would have been in about 1990. I think we beat Collingwood by a few points.

- Ballarat v Sydney. 2 local boys in Chris Grant & Dale Lewis were the respective captains that day.

A few random thoughts on some of the venues I listed:

I was at Carrara in 1992 for what was, IIRC, the lowest drawing crowd in the history of AFL. I think it was 3500 or thereabouts. It was a shocking day - raining, wind etc - we won by about 7 goals. I recall my old man chatting to Libba after the airport after the game and Libba said that he'd come up on match day as his kid had been born the day before.

Kardinia Park is a very nice modern-ish suburban ground - its impressive what they've done to the place over the years. In 2008 I went there for the first time in a while, I always seem to be in the non Hickey Stand end there, and I remember when it was only standing room back in the early 90's - it was feral.

Moorabbin was my favourite suburban ground aside from WO back in the day. Had a cracking atmosphere. My favourite memory of going there was a game in 1992. We were a great side in 92, but when we went to Moorabbin that year we had half the side out through injury, the Saints were also a top side that year and had Plugger in top form. We went there, god awful day, standing in amongst the Saints fans, and we produced one of the gutsiest victories I've ever seen from us. It's on that video 'Diamond Dogs' which, sadly, I seem to have lost.

Vic Park and Windy Hill had top atmospheres, but were very intimidating for opposition supporters. I only ever saw us win one game at each place though, and plenty of thumpings. Not many people would say so but I miss these grounds as a reminder of an era when atmosphere at football was completely different, and you genuinely feared an away game against Essendon and Collingwood.

The interstate games I've been to are as follows:

GABBA - 2000 elimination final where they beat us.
SCG - Round 10, 2004.
Subiaco - Round 20, 1995 - game after Teddy Whitten died.
TIO - a few weeks ago.
Launcestion - Round 21, 2003 (awful cold, raining day where we kicked 3 goals and got spanked), and Round 10, 2008 vs Hawthorn.
Manuka - 2009 and 2010 games vs Sydney.

MCG
Ethiad
Western Oval
Windy Hill
Princess Park
Junction Oval
Victoria Park
Kardinia Park
Moorabbin
Manuka
Gabba
Waverley

Here goes :

Whitten (Western) Oval
MCG
Optus Oval (Princes Park)
Etihad
Waverley Park
Arden Street
Windy Hill
Skilled Stadium (Geelong)
Victoria Park (Collingwood)
Moorabbin
Junction Oval (Fitzroy)

Gabba
SCG
Football Park (AAMI) Adelaide
Manuka (Canberra)
WACA (Perth)
Mararra (Darwin)

.. returning to the SCG in 2 weeks:)... I think that is the list complete - 17 in total

This brings back some fond memories. 15 for me.

• MCG
  • Etihad
  • Waverley
  • Whitten Oval
  • Junction Oval
  • Moorabbin
  • Princes Park
  • Victoria Park
  • Windy Hill
  • Arden Street
  • Lake Oval
  • Kardinia Park
  • SCG
  • Aurora
  • AAMI
I don't think I ever went to Glenferrie or Brunswick St. Does anyone know when we last played their.

How about ranking the grounds in terms of Doggie experiences? For me it'd be:

* Whitten Oval (can we move back there please!?)
* Optus Oval (we were virtually unbeatable there when we lived there in the late 90s)
* Etihad (love the view and the atmosphere when it's packed and Dogs are winning)
* MCG (no need to explain)
* Kardinia Park (especially the standing room terraces)
* Waverley (remember the days when they rotated the home side amongst the Vic clubs)

I've been to those grounds once, so I cannot properly rate them:

* AAMI
* SCG
* Vic Park (shudder! - that was the game the Pies kicked the first 7 goals and then we kicked the next 7 - only to lose. Also remember Paul Keating was there at the game!)
* Moorabbin (Plugger kicked his 100th against us in the late 80s IIRC?)
* Aurora (awesome boys weekend to watch us give the Hawks their first loss in 08 - how good was Tommy!)

Hated Optus Oval, legends stands gradient is all wrong you stare down at the grass. That and having to pay extra on top of your membership to sit in that shit stand.

How about ranking the grounds in terms of Doggie experiences? For me it'd be:

* Whitten Oval (can we move back there please!?)
* Optus Oval (we were virtually unbeatable there when we lived there in the late 90s)
* Etihad (love the view and the atmosphere when it's packed and Dogs are winning)
* MCG (no need to explain)
* Kardinia Park (especially the standing room terraces)
* Waverley (remember the days when they rotated the home side amongst the Vic clubs)

Can't stand Etihad for atmosphere. I reckon i could almost talk to people in the opposite pocket it's that quiet. We barely fill the ground and i think it hurts the atmosphere.

MCG is a bit the same. I don't think the 'G feels anywhere near what it used to in terms of atmosphere. I thought when they joined the stands it would incredible, but i think it killed part of what it was.

Just Etihad, MCG, Skilled and Whitten Oval for me.

Also a Nab Challenge game V Melbourne at Casey fields a couple of years ago. It was F'n cold and pouring down!

I'm impressed by some of these lists!

When I start this thread in 2020 with more money (and perhaps some interstate finals) under my belt, I hope to have added:

- Darwin
- Footy Park
- Subiaco

And to a lesser extent..........

- SCG
- Gabba
- Carrara
- York Park
- Western Sydney

Moorabbin was my favourite suburban ground aside from WO back in the day. Had a cracking atmosphere. My favourite memory of going there was a game in 1992. We were a great side in 92, but when we went to Moorabbin that year we had half the side out through injury, the Saints were also a top side that year and had Plugger in top form. We went there, god awful day, standing in amongst the Saints fans, and we produced one of the gutsiest victories I've ever seen from us. It's on that video 'Diamond Dogs' which, sadly, I seem to have lost.

I was there that day too. We were so low on numbers that Terry Wallace the reserves coach played in the twos.
Danny Delre starred.

I was there that day too. We were so low on numbers that Terry Wallace the reserves coach played in the twos.
Danny Delre starred.

Pretty sure that was my first game out there, but have little recollection of it other than us winning.

I do recall however at one stage having a stack of Choco's mates playing in the reserves as Sup players. Was that the same time frame?

:)I might have you all covered

I have been to every ground in Melbourne VFL AND VFA Except the clubs added in 1980s Berwick and others.
we followed Yarraville in the Vfa most Bulldog supporters did!.

I remember going to PUNT ROAD with the old man and seeing a tree growing in the outer i reakon it was early 1960's .

Cheers Algy.

Whitten Oval
MCG
Princes Park
Kardinia Park
Etihad
Carrara
Gabba
Subiaco
Manuka

I was at the last game at Whitten Oval. Poured down, dragged all three kids there. They've never wanted to see another game of footy again!

I've been to the old Wembley about 7 times. Best atmosphere of any ground I've ever been to at finals time.

Whitten/Western Oval. (Well over 100 games there.)
Optus Oval. (Us and Carlton.)
Victoria Park. (Collingwood.)
Windy Hill. (Essendon.)
Kardinia Park. (Geelong.)
Arden Street. (North Melbourne.)
Moorabbin. (St.Kilda.)
Lakeside Oval. (South Melbourne.)
Junction Oval. (Fitzroy.)
Harry Trott Oval. (University.) Nah, just kidding on that one! I'm not that old! :D

Also tons of games at Etihad, the magnificent MCG and the deceased VFL Park, Waverly.

Interstate.... I've seen us play the Eagles at Subiaco and Port up in Darwin. Have been to Football Park in Adelaide, but that was for the Freo/Crows Qualifying Final in 2006.

Hope to see us play at the Gabba next year. I've heard it's a great place to watch footy.

:)I might have you all covered

I have been to every ground in Melbourne VFL AND VFA Except the clubs added in 1980s Berwick and others.
we followed Yarraville in the Vfa most Bulldog supporters did!.

I remember going to PUNT ROAD with the old man and seeing a tree growing in the outer i reakon it was early 1960's .

Cheers Algy.

I think the question is which game have you seen the bulldogs play AFL/VFL games at?

Unless you have travelled interstate the last 10/20 years I'd say you haven't covered as many as some others.

Who here's seen the Dogs play at the most grounds?