Coach Who should be our next coach?

15/8 Board toppled (reportedly will pursue Clarkson)
19/8 Alastair Clarkson to join North
21/8 Ben Rutten sacked
22/8 Coach selection sub-committee to be established to find a replacement
26/8 Committee members announced: Josh Mahoney (GM-Footy, chair), Dorothy Hisgrove (Board member), Andrew Thorburn, Simone McKinnis, Robert Walls, Jordan Lewis
7/9 James Hird, Dean Solomon, Brendon Lade, Adem Yze interviewed at EY
13/9 Daniel Giansiracusa reportedly interviewed
17/9 Don Pyke “not pursuing that at this stage”
21/9 Brad Scott contacted by the club but won’t make a decision on whether to pursue the role until after the Grand Final
21/9 Adem Yze has second interview and tours the training facilities at Tullamarine
22/9 Blake Caracella will put his hat in the ring
27/9 Brendon Lade appointed as assistant coach at the Western Bulldogs, out of the running for Essendon job
28/9 Brad Scott to be interviewed on Thursday
29/9

i don’t like Brad Scott because he carried on like a peanut in the coaches box constantly.

if that is not a good enough reason to not want him as coach, he also introduced both the stand rule & the umpire dissent rule which are both dumb.
i don’t like Brad Scott because he carried on like a peanut in the coaches box constantly.

if that is not a good enough reason to not want him as coach, he also introduced both the stand rule & the umpire dissent rule which are both dumb.

In a strange way it’s the type of character we need after so many coaches who played a straight bat no matter how bad things are going. I would like to see out next coach lose his mind in the coaches box. It’s an action that of course achieves nothing, but it’s not more ‘words’.

Ask the North supporters or some that where at North during his time.
Reports I have heard is it was not great and an absolute train wreck at the end when a rebuild was needed.
They made one more preliminary final under Scott than they did with Laidley and the never did a rebuild.
Personally I have zero confidence in his ability to do a rebuild given how North ended up.
Well, from what I've heard from people who worked there is that the was what the club wanted it's supporters to think. Not to mention what actually happened was reported at the time (see above). The club wanted to grab some big fish with it's cap space and ended up with Jared Polec. Then Shaw came in with zero game plan, except the one the players could remember from when Scott was coach.

Ask the North supporters or some that where at North during his time.
Reports I have heard is it was not great and an absolute train wreck at the end when a rebuild was needed.
They made one more preliminary final under Scott than they did with Laidley and the never did a rebuild.
Personally I have zero confidence in his ability to do a rebuild given how North ended up.

I'm not against Scott. But I also feel that he has become an acceptable alternative here out of fear re Hird.

Why are we still essentially trying to talk the man into coaching? This is still being reported today. You can say no one knows but there is no good reason for that not once this speculation becomes public. We should know by now. It indicates uncertainty.

Seeing his brother win a flag as a reason to get back into it would be tantamount to him not being serious.

Hovever, I also assume he would learn from his mistakes.

He surely couldn't burn the likes of Durdin, McKay, Wood and McKenzie again. As I recall he tried to sell a rebuild to the board when got his marching orders - and that was not so North could rebuild under Shaw.

Some weird memories in this place.
I thought it was common knowledge Scott was North's version of Hardwick. Told the board the list needed a massive overhaul, they didn't agree so went with a coach who was going to "deliver" instead.

Which is exactly what his brother did not long ago.

I can understand why North didn't want it. We have been in the exact same place. They wanted their success curve to keep going up, unimpeded. And the worst bunch to ask about all of this is North fans.

Well, from what I've heard from people who worked there is that the was what the club wanted it's supporters to think. Not to mention what actually happened was reported at the time (see above). The club wanted to grab some big fish with it's cap space and ended up with Jared Polec. Then Shaw came in with zero game plan, except the one the players could remember from when Scott was coach.

I get the feeling that at the time North supporters were fed up with Scott, but in hindsight have realised that he did a very good job with a limited list and that not playing the kids in the last few years was a lot about having a horrible list of kids to choose from.

As far as I'm aware he's had two adminstrative posts since being sacked from North, he was head of AFL Victoria for less than 2 years and put into a newly created role at AFL House overseeing umpiring and the MRO (amongst other things)

I wouldn't call this "working his way to the top" in fact from an outside perspective this looks like he was given two "jobs for mates" and I'm yet to see anything close to an achievement that can be attributed to his work in either of these roles.

Or maybe he’s just really good at what he does…

I get the feeling that at the time North supporters were fed up with Scott, but in hindsight have realised that he did a very good job with a limited list and that not playing the kids in the last few years was a lot about having a horrible list of kids to choose from

I think you are right, because Shaw was chosen because of his outstanding reputation to do with player relationships.

And in defense of Shaw/North, if they knew the covid hub was coming, they both would have agreed to not go near each other. Hub life + Shaw = big nope.

I think you are right, because Shaw was chosen because of his outstanding reputation to do with player relationships.

And in defense of Shaw/North, if they knew the covid hub was coming, they both would have agreed to not go near each other. Hub life + Shaw = big nope.

Didn't Shaw win some games as caretaker to end the year and kind of accidentally be the popular replacement? Similar to Teague?

In a strange way it’s the type of character we need after so many coaches who played a straight bat no matter how bad things are going. I would like to see out next coach lose his mind in the coaches box. It’s an action that of course achieves nothing, but it’s not more ‘words’.
i want someone who is willing to punch holes in walls.

not sure if common knowledge or perhaps inside knowledge tbh - dont think the greater community had that viewpoint
Fair enough. It was reported in the media at the time though so it's not exactly a state secret.

i know its a joke but they do seem pretty unlikeable to me, just something intangible - even the aggressive post game speech scott made with arms folded.. carn mang, you've just won a flag, fells like were all being chastised here

Didn't Shaw win some games as caretaker to end the year and kind of accidentally be the popular replacement? Similar to Teague?
Yeah, everyone really liked the guy. I posted about this around the time he got sacked, he was riding on Scott’s game plan coattails at that time. His lack of game plan plus horrid choices of assistants undid that very quickly in the next season.

Whoever goes through the full process and is recommended to the board.

I know that's a lame answer, but the truth is as an outsider all we can really judge an assistant coach on is their CV at their previous clubs ... Their previous clubs have success? Oh well that must translate to us then ...

We got Rutten, Cara and other people from Richmond and people believed that because Richmond was successful and these guys were there when that happened that this success would transfer to us ... If we are honest it never even looked like it was going to happen did it?

We got Woosha and he was successful at WCE .. but then ...

Bomber was successful at Geelong but then ...

We need a coach who is going to develop leaders. Our list is so young and so bereft of anything resembling onfield leadership it's painful to watch them out there. Now, I don't know who that coach is, but I don't think it's Brad Scott.
I share the scepticism around “experienced” senior coaches and the transference of success from other systems.

I think there’s something to be said for observing successful systems up close and being able to articulate why it works and how they themselves coach in light of that, but that’s about their thinking and how it translates into their own practice, not just a rubber stamp for being there.

I don’t think Scott is a terrible choice, but I also don’t think we have any stand-out options: the timing of our search, and the manner in which it was sprung on the industry, the supporters and Truck himself, at the last minute and with half of the hierarchy above the senior coach vacated as well, has made it really difficult for ourselves.

I think our on-field leadership has been bereft for years. The decision to restrict runners passing the coaches message to players during the game has made having experienced players more valuable (not necessarily as many Geelong have), and it’s been right in the period of time where a bunch of our senior players were effectively chased out of the industry… and the next layer under that is the draft gap of 2010-2012 when the new clubs came in and we got SFA in terms of leadership ability with the picks we had.

We actually need to rebuild the entire club, top to bottom. I reckon 2023 is in the bin already as the dust settles and personalities start to come out.

Cool. Clearly haven't articulated myself well in my previous post.

Allow me to clarify; I do not want Brad Scott as our coach.
  • I did not rate him when he was coach at North.
  • I do not believe the narrative that he over performed with North's list as it was then.
  • I do not believe he is qualified enough to bypass any part of our coaching selection process (Lyon shouldn't have been given this option either - nor was he as far as I can tell)
  • I don't think he would be a double agent or anything like that ... However I can't see why his work at the AFL would invite anything but scorn tbh, and a recommendation from AFL house to me is meaningless.
  • I think people see Scott's former antics in the box and equate that with passion and a "fire and brimstone" style coaching method that will instantly solve a lot of our problems ... I do not think this is what our players need, I think our players need a coach that's going to create a system and culture of accountability and leadership. I do not believe Brad has the ability to do this.

But hey .. what do I know! I'm just a nuffy who can't peel bananas properly and Caro's given him the thumbs up so ... Yeah .. go for it

I 100% agree he does not have the runs on the board to bypass the process but please explain how do you not rate a bloke who took Norths list to 2 prelims?

Just dont get how you dont rate him.

Like he is a bit of a knob like malthouse when he loses, but he is definitely rateable.

This is my worry.
I remember Norf fans and pundits bemoaning the fact he seemed to play favourites and never drop players except the 21st and 22nd player selected regardless of form, leaving younger players well underdeveloped.

We had that with Woosha and that didn't really work out. Our coaching staff needs to be focused on development and a group that can bring a young group through and implement elite standards.

Don't all coaches do this ? Truck kept putting games into Ham when it was obvious Ham can't transition from a relatively good VFL player to AFL standard. You could almost make the same case for Cutler.
Yeah, we had some injuries but Ham and Cutler would get games ad nauseum. One would go out, the other come in.

I think Norf also deluded themselves into thinking they could lure Dusty, Kelly and a few other names to avoid a rebuild, and got dud after dud instead- which is still pretty funny.
Not sure how much would be Scott's fault in that instance. But if your coach calls for a rebuild (seems he did) then you look into doing that.
Scott probably has a level of culpritability in Norf current standing maybe they are suffering from their own delusions of grandeur and have now ended up as one of the worse teams since fitzroy.

I'd like to think Scott is bright enough to look at our list and realize we're rebuilding and if he can't do that he will still in the ivory towers.

My main issue with Yze(or any new coach) is we're back to square 1.
What was the point of Truck ?
My hope with Scott would be he would be experienced enough to be able to pick up from what Rutten started (some what) lay his own pieces down and not set us back another 2 years.

Tangent, but I like the stand rule because it has stopped cribbing the mark. Milking frees by feigning play-on, though, has been crap and shouldn’t be a 50 against the player standing the mark. Iron that out and it’s a great rule.

Agree regarding dissent. Penalising players for putting arms out and then relaxing it during the year without admitting fault… not good.

Luke Hodge is a waste of coaching potential sitting in a comfy media chair I reckon. Should’ve done a little apprenticeship and he’d now be first on my list. Seems astute, pretty much coached on the field, had heaps of team success, and has the recent champion status that would demand respect.

This, of course, is said with very little knowledge of how his credentials would stack up if churned through the process of appointing a coach, but on the surface… wasted…
Yet First Nations players evidently didn’t feel comfortable talking to him about abhorrent allegations or they did and he did nothing. It’s one or the other.

was one of the prelims after we threw away a 7 goal lead against them in the qualifying final?

Yes. they beats us, than beat Geelong. And then got pumped by Sydney in the Prelim.

frank the tank

eeeuugghh worst.

thanks for bringing up shit memories btw mate.

I remember i was at a bucks party at the Lowenbrau in Sydney during that EF loss.

after my first 2 Steins we were 40 points up. In the Bag.

After my next 3 we were behind.

****ING campaignerS