Who should we select with our first draft pick?

Yeah... whilst I agree that the tests themselves aernt a true indication of the kids physical abilities compared to his peers they do serve to give the club an indication of the kids athletesism. IMO you have more to work with if you have a kid that is an athletic talent as well as a decent footballer, theres more scope for improvement.

If he is a decent footballer but lacks the physical tools (height, reach, leap, speed etc...) he will generally struggle to improve at afl level.

I agree with that but I dont think that these sorta tests really translate to being an athlete of the footy field. Jack Watts last year was the second fastest over 20m in a time that would have had him as the fastest of this years bunch, yet in the few games he's played he's looked as athletic as a crab. Lucas may be able to run around stationary poles faster than someone like Jetta, but on the footy field Jetta is far more evasive and agile.

Jetta played in the country last year and has made huge progress this year at Swans, he played in the state team in his first year of league footy.

Imagine a full AFL pre-season with some work in the gym.

I shit you not, Lewis Jetta will be as good as Rioli and I think a brownlow medal is possible if his head stays right.

Massive call I know, but rarely do you see a talent about to explode like Lewis Jetta.

**** this draft and it's sizable question marks over everyone who'll be available at 7.

I read in some article that had Rohan in the top 5, and while this has been pointed out a thousand times, Abblett didn't get many touches as a junior but he damaged heaps with what he did get.

Now he's developed into a 30 touch player and he won some award recently.

The point is, can Rohan learn to find the pill?

Re: Jetta, for mine, he will always be too slight to become out and out awesome.

I'm leaning towards Lucas ATM but I'll chance my mind 30 times before the draft and be happy with whatever the Eagles decide.

**** this draft and it's sizable question marks over everyone who'll available at 7.
There are question marks over any kid outside the top 2-3 in any draft.

Who was the last player we drafted who had no question marks about them?

There were question marks about Judd and Naitanui.

There are question marks over any kid outside the top 2-3 in any draft.

Who was the last player we drafted who had no question marks about them?

There were question marks about Judd and Naitanui.

I said sizable question marks.

There are questions over every kid drafted but IMO guys like Jetta and Lucas have pretty big queries for possible #7 picks.

Jetta needs to do a lot of work on his Build. I am worried someone is going to smash him, AFL intensity is a big step up from WAFL .

Worst game I have seen him play in WAFL preliminary final against Subiaco , Draft process may have got to him :footy:

If we have 4 picks in the draft , we get Colyer / Duncan ?? are good players and dosen't matter too much if we overpay for Jetta .:thumbsu:

Guys haven't seen Allen Christensen mentioned yet. With his size I reckon there's a fair chance he'll slide to our 2nd pick. He'd slot in perfect in our forward line.

Jetta needs to do a lot of work on his Build. I am worried someone is going to smash him, AFL intensity is a big step up from WAFL .

Worst game I have seen him play in WAFL preliminary final against Subiaco , Draft process may have got to him :footy:

If we have 4 picks in the draft , we get Colyer / Duncan ?? are good players and dosen't matter too much if we overpay for Jetta .:thumbsu:

He will go at pick 7. Look at this picture. ;)
jetta.jpg

If get a 2nd second round pick i would take Duncan at 23 if available and then i would take Fyfe. If we dont get that second pick then i would take Fyfe at 23.

Neates for our fourth round pick if we miss our on one of Ah Chee or Colyer. Broome for a rookie spot?

Guys haven't seen Allen Christensen mentioned yet. With his size I reckon there's a fair chance he'll slide to our 2nd pick. He'd slot in perfect in our forward line.

Plus, he looks like Matthew Stokes.

Neates for our fourth round pick if we miss our on one of Ah Chee or Colyer. Broome for a rookie spot?

Heard alot about Neates, what's he like?

Just for comparison here are the last 2 years of draft camp top 10s combined.

You can't really compare the whole draft years with top 10 results, obviously, but it seems that this year is a good year to get a fit bastard who'll run all day, or an agile bastard, whereas last year you could've gotten a lightning bastard.

Three-kilometre time trial (min.sec)

1. Kallan Geary 9.43
2. Ryan Bastinac 10.03
3. Brayden Norris 10.05
=3. Kane Lucas 10.05
5. Dylan Roberton 10.13
6. Josh Cowan 10.14
7. Mitch Duncan 10.151 –
1. Dan Hannebery 10min 17sec
8. Jordan Williams 10.18
9. Mark Hutchings 10.19
10. Marcus Davies 10.22
2. Steele Sidebottom 10.32
3. Sam McGarry 10.41
4. Tyson Slattery 10.42
5. Chris Hall 10.42
6. Michael Gugliotta 10.43
7. Rory Sloane 10.44
8. Matthew DeBoer 10.53
9. Jarrad Blight 10.57
10. Matthew Broadbent 10.57

Agility (seconds)
1. Stephen Hill 7.77 seconds
1. Kane Lucas 7.95
2. Andrew Hooper 7.98
2. Jack Watts 8.03
3. Sam Shaw 8.08
4. Ayden Kennedy 8.12
5. Travis Colyer 8.14
6. Jessie Crichton 8.15
7. Jake Melksham 8.16
8. Andrew Moore 8.17
3. James Strauss 8.18
=9. Dylan Grimes
=9. Mitchell Duncan 8.20
4. Nick Suban 8.25
5. Ayce Cordy 8.27
6. Shaun McKernan 8.31
7. Neville Jetta 8.32
Dan Hannebery 8.32
9. Luke Shuey 8.34
10. Liam Jones 8.35

Repeat sprints (seconds)
1. Jack Fitzpatrick 23.91
2. Robbie Hicks 24.04
3. Jordan Williams 24.17
4. Travis Colyer 24.36
5. Gary Rohan 24.33
6. Jason Tutt 24.39
7. Dustin Martin 24.56
8. Lewis Jetta 24.61
9. Dylan Grimes 24.69
10. Bradley Sheppard 24.74
1. Ryan Schoenmakers 24.82 seconds
2. Sam Blease 24.97
Matthew DeBoer 24.97
4. Nick Naitanui 25.10
James Strauss 25.10
6. Ashley Smith 25.14
7. Stephen Hill 25.44
Jack Watts 25.44
9. Alistair Smith 25.48
10. Taylor Hunt 25.49
11. Rory Sloane 25.57
12. Tom Lynch 25.67
13. Chris Yarran 25.74

Standing vertical jump (cm)
1. Nick Naitanui 78cm
2. Shaun McKernan 74cm

1. James Craig 76
2. Sam Shaw 75
3.Tom Swift 72cm
Stephen Hill 72cm

=3. Tom Hill 70
=3. Aaron Black
=3. Andrew Hooper
5. Jack Watts 70cm
Sam Blease 70cm

6. Lewis Jetta 69
7. Ryan Schoenmakers 69cm
Nick Heyne 69cm
Bryce Carroll 69cm

=7. Ayden Kennedy
=7. Kane Lucas 67
10. Michael Gugliotta 67cm
Ashley Smith 67cm
Alistair Smith 67cm

=8. John Butcher 66
=8. Sam Reid

20-metre sprint (seconds)
1. Ashley Smith 2.80 seconds
2. Jack Watts 2.82
3. Stephen Hill 2.83
4. Nick Naitanui 2.86

1. Ayden Kennedy 2.88
2. Dustin Martin 2.89
5. Tom Swift 2.89
3. Andrew Hooper 2.90
6. Ryan Schoenmakers 2.90
7. Nick Heyne 2.91
Sam Blease 2.91

4. Sam Reid 2.92
9. Luke Shuey 2.92
Taylor Hunt 2.92
Matthew DeBoer 2.92

=5. Sam Shaw 2.93
=5. Kane Lucas
=5. Gary Rohan
=8. Lewis Jetta 2.95
=8. Dylan Grimes
=10. Robbie Hicks 2.96
=10. Jack Fitzpatrick
=10. Bradley Sheppard
=10. Travis Colyer

Shuttle run/Beep test (level)
1. Brayden Norris 15.6
=2. Ryan Bastinac 15.1
=2. Marcus Davies
=4. Mark Hutchings 14.12
=4. Joshua Cowan
=4. Jason Tutt
=7. Sam Reid 14.7
=7. Nat Fyfe
9. Dylan Roberton 14.6
1.Chris Hall 14.6
=10.Travis Colyer 14.5
=10. Jake Melksham
2. Rory Sloane 14.5
Steele Sidebottom 14.5
4. Luke Shuey 14.4
5. Jarrad Blight 14.3
Tyson Slattery 14.3
7. Dan Hannebery 14.2
Ian Richardson 14.2
9. Tom Lynch 14.1
Tom Swift 14.1

Do you think one indigenous player is enough?

Shouldn't we have more?

In the latesr Eagle Eye there is an article about the work Phil Narkle and the work he does for the club as the Indigenous Liason Officer.

Yes last season we only had three indigenous players on our list, Wirra, Cockie and Bedford. But the article informs us of the various indigenous football development programs run by the Eagles and shows a group of 24 young lads being put through a leadership program.

It looks like the Eagles and Narkle don't just work with players on our list but with teenagers as well as a community program and as a bit of talent scouting / development program.

I dont see why some people on here are so worried about losing Lucas before pick 7. The picks are most likely to go:
-Scully
-Trengrove
-Butcher/martin
-Morabito
-martin/cunnington
-Cunnington/rohan
-Lucas
Higlighted in red is the picks where he could go, but its not likely he will.

Perhaps a pros and cons list for the prospective draftees?

Kane Lucas:
Pros-
Gets alot of the ball
Makes good decisions
Great all round athlete
Good size and very good overhead
Can play forward and can kick a goal

Cons-
Inconsistent kicking
Not much inside experience or nous

Gary Rohan:
Pros-
Pace and agility in the bucketloads
Good size and very good overhead
Technically good kicking action
Fits us style wise

Cons-
Lack of poise at full speed
Little midfield experience
Doesn't win much ball, might never play as a dedicated mid

Ben Cunnington:
Pros-
Hard as nails, tackles like a madman
Wins inside ball
Good pace and endurance
Can go forward and kick goals

Cons-
Kicking is solid, without being quality
Tends to sell teammates in to trouble
Similar to Masten, Shuey
Runs like a fool?

Lewis Jetta:
Pros-
Pace, agility
Great skills and poise
Can drift forward and kick goals
Perfect fit for us style wise

Cons-
Very light, might never be able to move in to the midfield, unless he sacrifices pace for bulk
Is 20
Susceptible to tags from bigger bodies
Self confessed "lazy" (albeit a passing comment)

Brad Sheppard:
Pros-
Great skills by foot
Quick, smooth mover, great sidestep
Gets a fair share of ball

Cons-
Half back flanker; can he play as a dedicated mid?
Tackling
Wins very little contested possession

Cunnington is probably the most 'complete' of the bunch, but is similar to what we already have. Rohan and Jetta suit our needs, but have significant question marks over them. Lucas is quite a complete player, but outside players with questionable disposal is what we already have.
Honestly I don't mind who we get, they all look to be quality prospects.

Ben Cunnington:
Pros-
Hard as nails, tackles like a madman
Wins inside ball
Good pace and endurance
Can go forward and kick goals

Cons-
Kicking is solid, without being quality
Tends to sell teammates in to trouble
Similar to Masten, Shuey

Don't want him, he runs like a fool, and looks like one when he tries to break tackles.... like Tom Hislop.

I'd want either Jetta/Martin/Rohan/Lucas or Sheppard, Cunnington I dont.

Lucas will come in and be a best 22 player pretty quickly and is allot better footballer than Houlihan and Rosa, kicking is not an issue in his game not like it is for Palmer or either of those we currently have running around.

Would love Sheppard in the side, but i would not use pick 7 on him, nor do i think he will be around at pick 23.
We dont have a great need for Cunnington.

I'm going to throw up a smokey in Ryan Bastinac.

He's been spoken of as a late 1st rounder/early 2nd rounder, but on what I've seen and heard of him I have no idea why he's yet to be touted as a top-10 pick. He didn't make the AA team but I had him in mine, of which I got 18 right, so I think he would have gone mighty close.

He's one of the best kicks in the draft and is equally damaging on both feet. Had a 15.1 beep test at draft camp, gets a lot of the ball, kicks goals and can play all over the ground. Co-captains Dandenong too.

I've only seen limited footage of him, but I'm yet to hear anything about the kid that turns me off him. Anyone got some well-sourced info?

He's been spoken of as a late 1st rounder/early 2nd rounder, but on what I've seen and heard of him I have no idea why he's yet to be touted as a top-10 pick. He didn't make the AA team but I had him in mine, of which I got 18 right, so I think he would have gone mighty close.

He's one of the best kicks in the draft and is equally damaging on both feet. Had a 15.1 beep test at draft camp, gets a lot of the ball, kicks goals and can play all over the ground. Co-captains Dandenong too.

I've only seen limited footage of him, but I'm yet to hear anything about the kid that turns me off him. Anyone got some well-sourced info?

Yes same. He is a class act. Is highly regarded but has fallen off the radar.
I was wondering why he has not been touted as a top 15 pick.
Was hoping he would drop to us at 23 or 22 if we get it from the Swans.

Yes same. He is a class act. Is highly regarded but has fallen off the radar.
I was wondering why he has not been touted as a top 15 pick.
Was hoping he would drop to us at 23 or 22 if we get it from the Swans.

Lucas or Jetta?

I have commented on other posts about prefering Jetta over Lucas at pick 7. Some say Lucas is a rolls royce mid while others say Jetta an explosive lightning quick wingman. I would like to hear the views of people who followed the two closely in the wafl. What has each one shown so far? What could each one potentially be? Who is the better player now? Who will be the better player?