Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Collingwood

Votes: 119 51.3%
  • Carlton

Votes: 113 48.7%

My dear Grandmother who passed away shortly after 2023 at 94 was alive for 9 premierships. Of course she only witnessed 36, 53 and 58 in person and 1990, 2010 and 2023 live on TV.
Condolences, that's a great innings though

So basically all you’ve got is that you’re ancient enough to remember the old days 3 plus decades ago when Carlton weren’t a joke (even though those “halcyon” years were by and large the result of the hopelessly compromised VFL zoning system). Even then my Granny still beat you.
Ancient, but vivid, healthy and happy

And out trotts the excuses

Kudos to you for recognising Fadge's excellence in rating players and coming up with the name for footballs most prestigious award. 👍

Legally it's too late to trademark now sorry. It's in common use in the public domain.
You have to be a Fadge alt.

I'm not sure how much footy you've played, but when you're moving around the field, it's not always easy to get a feel for who is around you, and where they are.

In that instance, the burden was more on his teammates to weigh up the situation better and make a better decision.

As much as you want it to be, every mistake made on the field by Collingwood, and every game they lose, is not always completely Daicos' fault...
This is where system comes into it, you and your Geelong mate going on about injuries proves you both have no idea. Just one player out of a system and it's hard, 3 or 4 players out and no matter who they are the system breaks down, 22 players are in the system not just your top 6 players.

What does that have to do with the post you quoted?

But nonetheless....

If your system breaks down every time 3 or 4 of your best 22 are missing, I guess that explains why Carlton haven't contended for a flag in over two decades.

Because Carlton aren't the only team who regularly have 3 or 4 of their best 22 missing... it happens regularly to most teams in the competition...

I'm not sure how much footy you've played, but when you're moving around the field, it's not always easy to get a feel for who is around you, and where they are.

You should know who is around, that's the system.

3 or 4 players out... you mean like K Coleman, McInerney, Doedee, Gardiner, McCarthy...

That's why Carlton will always be shite, that attitude

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app

3 or 4 players out... you mean like K Coleman, McInerney, Doedee, Gardiner, McCarthy...

That's why Carlton will always be shite, that attitude

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Way over a few heads in here, depth opens another can of worms so back to what you were doing old mate.

So Derek Hine - what's the go , has collingwoods draft strategy made his position defunct?
Wouldn't it be nice if a recruiting team could look at a player they're planning to get into their club and know for certain what they can and can't offer at AFL level?

Oh wait, they can.

It's called 'trading and free agency'.

Not a bad strategy that's worked for Collingwood over the years.

Meanwhile, how many number 1, 2, and 3 draft picks have Carlton had in the past two decades, and we're still waiting to see whether they have a list than can contend for a premiership, let alone win one...

Imagine asking a serious question and getting returned served a piece of waffle. How insecure can one get ?

You can't have a serious footy discussion with fadge or that other poster that misspelt his username

Always some pathetic attempt to chest puff

Wouldn't it be nice if a recruiting team could look at a player they're planning to get into their club and know for certain what they can and can't offer at AFL level?

Oh wait, they can.

Meanwhile, how many number 1, 2, and 3 draft picks have Carlton had in the past two decades, and we're still waiting to see whether they have a list than can contend for a premiership, let alone win one...
You only started copying Geelong recently, Geelong got away with it because they kept drafting a few high draft picks, Pies will have to replace nearly half it's best 20 over the next few years and won't have the capital to do it. Everyone can see it bar the Pie supporters.

Oh wait, they can.

Carlton just took only their second top-25 pick to the draft in five years. Going all in on draft or trade/free agency is not sustainable - a mix of both is required for any list build.

But nonetheless....

If your system breaks down every time 3 or 4 of your best 22 are missing, I guess that explains why Carlton haven't contended for a flag in over two decades.

Because Carlton aren't the only team who regularly have 3 or 4 of their best 22 missing... it happens regularly to most teams in the competition...
And you wouldn't think Carlton's "system" of bomb it long to Curnow would be that hard to pick up.

Carlton just took only their second top-25 pick to the draft in five years. Going all in on draft or trade/free agency is not sustainable - a mix of both is required for any list build.
Collingwood have taken at least 3 top 25 picks in the last 5 years.... Soo we are doing better than the Blues on that front.

So Derek Hine - what's the go , has collingwoods draft strategy made his position defunct?
Solid innings from Hine, 20+ years as part of Pies recruiting / list management team. But after more than two decades time for a change.

Most clubs would be happy with the return — winning two premierships in 2010 and 2023 among 13 finals series including nine preliminary finals.

Solid innings from Hine, 20+ years as part of Pies recruiting / list management team. But after more than two decades time for a change.

Most clubs would be happy with the return — winning two premierships in 2010 and 2023 among 13 finals series including nine preliminary finals.
Was it a job spill with Leppitsch to take on the added responsibility or is the position being advertised ?

Collingwood have taken at least 3 top 25 picks in the last 5 years.... Soo we are doing better than the Blues on that front.
I'm not comparing the teams - I'm responding to a post that was implying Carlton have been heavily hitting the draft which is simply not the case.

If you want to compare top-25 picks you will have to wait and see what impact they have. Pies top-25 picks in recent years have been Demattia (25), Allan (19), Daicos (4 - FS), Henry (17 - traded), Macrae (19) and McInnes (23) so will need to track how the ones that are still at Collingwood go.

I'm not comparing the teams - I'm responding to a post that was implying Carlton have been heavily hitting the draft which is simply not the case.
Carlton have used heaps of high draft picks over the past two plus decades, and it has gotten them nowhere.

That was the point of the post you were responding to.

List builds are borne from the draft, trades and free agency, and there are a multitude of combinations that have been used to build a premiership list.

Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4