Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Collingwood

Votes: 61 59.8%
  • Carlton

Votes: 41 40.2%

You guys really do completely embarrass yourselves with you continued denigration of Lachie Schulz.

You traded out your best small forward due to the lack of pressure he applies, whilst Schultz was awarded his club's 'Best Defensive Pressure Player', as a forward no less, in his first year at a new club.

The more I read your contributions to this thread, the more I conclude that you guys have NFI want kind of players you want at Carlton, and even less idea about what it takes to build a premiership contending team in the modern era.

Read some of your own postings about Carlton players - that is the blueprint of standards in this thread - also stop being so nasty I'm a delicate flower with sensitive feelings ...eg I'm almost in tears reading your post..:cry:

Righto - frenchy thanks for sharing - but I won't be committing that piece of knowledge to memory cos prison stripes has a certain je ne sais qua that fits the dirty birds.
Frenchy? My username is Greek. Cyclops roughly means "Round Eye". It is thought to represent the boiling caldera of a volcano (of which the Kyklopes or cyclops of myth were a somewhat anthropomorphic manifestation).

You OTOH: Just (a French word meaning exactly), a (a French preposition meaning in) and Battler (from the french bataille meaning a military unit, and by extension a military action or clash).

We wear the same colours (well shades) as Frederick the Greats Totenkopf Hussars, a formidable force respected and admired around the world. You French types are used to running from the Prussians, eh what?

Same. You knew when he had the ball in his hands 40 metres out it was going through.

Passionate, durable and reliable. Players like that don't grow on trees.
You never said that about him while he was at Carlton, the crap just flows from your mouth.

Frankly you could send a rat from Collingwood to Carlton and it would raise the average IQ of both. ;)
Do Collingwood supporters generally see themselves as intelligent? That would be completely insane.

Having a Pies membership card is the opposite of having a Mensa membership card.

It's a voluntary admission of guilt in any criminal proceeding and the call sign of the witless.

Do Collingwood supporters generally see themselves as intelligent? That would be completely insane.

Having a Pies membership card is the opposite of having a Mensa membership card.

It's a voluntary admission of guilt in any criminal proceeding and the call sign of the witless.
Nah mate I'm borderline a moron. I'm just saying you make me look smart ;)

I know you did mate and i do respect your opinions.

1731992717201.png

You guys really do completely embarrass yourselves with you continued denigration of Lachie Schulz.

You traded out your best small forward due to the lack of pressure he applies, whilst Schultz was awarded his club's 'Best Defensive Pressure Player', as a forward no less, in his first year at a new club.

The more I read your contributions to this thread, the more I conclude that you guys have NFI want kind of players you want at Carlton, and even less idea about what it takes to build a premiership contending team in the modern era.
Best defensive pressure is code for " I turned over the ball by mistake, so I better go try get it back somehow"
Nothing more

Frenchy? My username is Greek. Cyclops roughly means "Round Eye". It is thought to represent the boiling caldera of a volcano (of which the Kyklopes or cyclops of myth were a somewhat anthropomorphic manifestation).

You OTOH: Just (a French word meaning exactly), a (a French preposition meaning in) and Battler (from the french bataille meaning a military unit, and by extension a military action or clash).

We wear the same colours (well shades) as Frederick the Greats Totenkopf Hussars, a formidable force respected and admired around the world. You French types are used to running from the Prussians, eh what?

The 'Kyplopes' were 'gigantes' ( I can do it in Attik Greek for you if can read that ) ...who were endowed with only one eye - the only accurate reference your name has to the Club you have decided to support is the "one eye'd" bit.

The prison bar reference to your Club's lack of colour or colour(s) is apt as is the monika - 'dirty birds'.

I like the way the Frech play rugby - flair in the backline a hefty dose of mongrel in the pigs - sadly AFL is being shoved more into the touch football era and I will hang around for Carlton to get to #17 before making an exit - but to be frank my level of interest is declining - despite Carlton being on the rise.

During the season , owies was shit. End of season , all of a sudden he was a gun. You people need to make up your mind which is it? Can't have it both ways
He'd finally come good. After being a spud for years he played his best season by miles and had very good output. Then you traded him🤣.

The 'Kyplopes' were 'gigantes' ( I can do it in Attik Greek for you if can read that ) ...who were endowed with only one eye - the only accurate reference your name has to the Club you have decided to support is the "one eye'd" bit.

The prison bar reference to your Club's lack of colour or colour(s) is apt as is the monika - 'dirty birds'.

I like the way the Frech play rugby - flair in the backline a hefty dose of mongrel in the pigs - sadly AFL is being shoved more into the touch football era and I will hang around for Carlton to get to #17 before making an exit - but to be frank my level of interest is declining - despite Carlton being on the rise.
Nah mate the Gigantes were a tribe if what we would call giants, distinct from the Cylopes, the Titans, the hecatoncheirai (spelling? Hundred handed ones) and others.

Hesiod and Homer give diverging (sometimes contradictory) accounts of their origin, and various titans and Giants are associated with volcanoes too.

The two main lots of Cyclopes are Oddyseus' foes (esp Polyphemus), and Zeus personal armourers (Steropes, Bronte and the other one) whom he freed, and who aided the Olympians vs the giants, Titans etc.

You're not alone In losing interest in footy, I feel a little that way. I have mates who chucked it (one after the 1990 flag! Too soft he said).

It's still watchable for me, but I watch less neutral games these days.

They seem to have an aversion to retaining small forwards in the prime of their careers.

Remember a player by the name of Eddie Betts?
I was reading an ancient history book and apparently a long long time ago Carlton had great small forwards. Called them the mosquito fleet. Harmes, Sheldon, Buckley, Ashman, Cattogio, Bosustow.

Nowadays though.....not so much.

I have the 1997 X-Men cartoon theme song in my head every time I see it.

He wanted 800k reportedly. Obviously got some tickets on himself asking that sort of coin.
That sort of tracks with what I've heard. Super competitive, might be he wanted a competitive pay rate.

I still see him as a team guy though, and I reckon he could be a hard nosed exemplar for the coddled Eagles kids.

Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4