Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Collingwood

Votes: 126 52.1%
  • Carlton

Votes: 116 47.9%

Thanks Jabby, now I just need someone to decipher your post for me!
He said "oh I love the Pies I wish Carlton were more like those handsome woodsmen!💖💖💖"

Jagga - :padlock:

TDK - Risky because he's inconsistent but also has absolutely elite peaks.

Also Binns most likely good value because he looks to have a wing spot locked down in Hollands absence
TDK is such a fine player, if he plays on the ball he'll get it heaps and use it too. It's a shame but the injury risk is real.

Almost better for Carlton to use him fir bursts and play more forward: it's not completely safe but it'll save him from constant battering.

We have a bit of this issue with JDG. not likely to play 100% mid coz of his groin.

He said "oh I love the Pies I wish Carlton were more like those handsome woodsmen!💖💖💖"

TDK is such a fine player, if he plays on the ball he'll get it heaps and use it too. It's a shame but the injury risk is real.

Almost better for Carlton to use him fir bursts and play more forward: it's not completely safe but it'll save him from constant battering.

We have a bit of this issue with JDG. not likely to play 100% mid coz of his groin.
JDG as a mid sized forward is soooooooooo good though

Kicked four in a losing GF IIRC

JDG as a mid sized forward is soooooooooo good though

Kicked four in a losing GF IIRC
Losing Grand finsls is our specialty
Salt Bae Steak GIF

JDGs best effort was the week before. He kicked 3 or 4 on Rance in the first quarter, so Dimma moved him on to Cox in the second. The flog conceded 7 goals in a half.

I'm told Rance was actually a gun, very athletic, good skills under pressure and could both lockdown and zone with the absolute best.

We must have been his bogey side because what we mostly saw was a pretty haircut and lots of offended eye-rolling.

JDGs best effort was the week before. He kicked 3 or 4 on Rance in the first quarter, so Dimma moved him on to Cox in the second. The flog conceded 7 goals in a half.

I'm told Rance was actually a gun, very athletic, good skills under pressure and could both lockdown and zone with the absolute best.

We must have been his bogey side because what we mostly saw was a pretty haircut and lots of offended eye-rolling.
You forgot the arm waving and finger pointing...

10/10 eye rolling and flicking glances to the umps in that game too.

I repeat, people who know footy better than me say he was an absolute star so I am happy to acknowledge he was, I never got to see it.
Your observation is pretty spot on. Rance's strength was his ability to initiate early contact and then get into a wrestle where he could restrict his opponent enough that they couldn't get a good reach at the ball whilst walking the tightrope between good defending and giving away a free kick and then using his reach to spoil. Depending on your stance regarding holding free kicks for forwards is whether he was an excellent defender or just a very good scragger.

The reason JDG and Cox got on top of him in that game is that they didn't play his game and took his strength away from him. Both just attacked the contest and trusted that they would be good enough to outmark him. Cox with his height which allowed him a bigger reach which meant he didn't need to fight for position as much and could just use his bigger frame to his advantage. JDG used his athleticism to not let Rance initiate early contact and force Rance to defend and not turn the marking contest into a dog fight.

Rance's true ability was that he was largely able to maximise his strengths and minimise his weaknesses despite not being a traditionally naturally gifted defender, fairly similar to Nick Maxwell from Collingwood

Losing Grand finsls is our specialty
Salt Bae Steak GIF

I remember I was sitting the the MCC for Collingwood vs Richmond and JDG was getting a hold of Dylan Grimes. You could see his skin going red with rage. I reckon JDG was kryptonite to that era of Richmond for whatever reason.

At his best JDG is a mini Dusty. They knew how to play with him, but not against him.

There's a place in footy for the burst /big game players. Dane Swan could burst multiple times a game until the AFL decided it wasn't attractive.

At his best JDG is a mini Dusty. They knew how to play with him, but not against him.

There's a place in footy for the burst /big game players. Dane Swan could burst multiple times a game until the AFL decided it wasn't attractive.
Looking forward to seeing him fit and firing ...and losing against the mighty blooooz!

Huh, not one post since last Thursday? Where rhe hell are Fadge and Worm4 at?
To keep this fred alive I am going to ask a few Carlscum campaigners to tell me more about Jagga and TDK leading into the season proper, especially TDK as I am looking to start him in supercoach. Is he too injury prone or will he overcome those setbacks from last year?
I don't waste my time on that type of stuff but if they're getting points for hit out, then you'd go Xerri or even Meek who hit his straps late last year I'd imagine. TdK probably more of a crash and bash ruckman so susceptible to injury .
Jagga should play some early games not sure how much of an impact he will have but games against more seasoned midfields like pies, dogs, swans and lions is where we will get a better indication of his levels

I don't waste my time on that type of stuff but if they're getting points for hit out, then you'd go Xerri or even Meek who hit his straps late last year I'd imagine. TdK probably more of a crash and bash ruckman so susceptible to injury .
Jagga should play some early games not sure how much of an impact he will have but games against more seasoned midfields like pies, dogs, swans and lions is where we will get a better indication of his levels
Yep spare him a match up on Bont or Lachy Neale, great way to learn but would be ugly.

Not based on anything but stints at hbf and hff might give him a nice taste. Won't get him many of those fantasy points, but we eased Daics in through hbf and he got an excellent intro.

in honour of the Doncic for Davis trade i got a question for Blues supporters, If you had no say and your club traded Cripps and a future round 1 pick for Nick Daicos would you be happy?
Trading away the heart and soul of the club like that would be horrific. I think Carlton fans would burn down Ikon Park faster than the Mavs fans are about to burn down the American Airlines Centre.