Why are Soccer players not being Targeted?

because soccer players are incredibly soft... coupled with the new rule on diving... lols

Took the words right out of my mouth, one little bump and they lay on the ground in tears, and no girls allowed in AFL at the moment. And if the score was 2 to 1 in the first 5 minutes they would wounder why the game is still going. Yes you have guessed I hate that game SOCCER it is not FOOTBALL!

Footy is a man's game. Soccer is for girls, as the World Cup is proving. Diving, writhing bitches. The Kiwis should have got a free kick for that cynical Iti dive last night - a free kick right into the bitch's ribs.

Soccer could be a really good sport but is ruined by officiating. I will never complain about umpiring in our game again. They have nowhere near as much influence on a result as soccer refs do.

That's the thing - every second game is decided directly by the ref - as if they determine which winning goal will or won't stand, and who is best deserving of a pen - little wonder it was just about the most corrupt and rigged game on Earth.

Yes, it's true, a bloke was stretchered off with a blood nose.

It would be sad if it weren't so funny.
Jesus, it's pathetic on the level of that Italian dive where there must have been the barest tug on the jumper and the guy dives.

Seriously, I'd like watching the sport (I'd play it at lunch back in high school on the basketball courts) but how generally corrupt the game seems to be.

ill always defend the world game, and i dont think its fair to call all soccer players weak.

the reason they dive and fake injuries is because FIFA allows them to, its not because they are weak. its to get a free kick or a penalty, get an opposition player sent off or waste time.

i dont expect many people on here to appreciate soccer for what it is, and unless youve been bought up playing or following it then most likely you wont. its just funny how you dont hear soccer fans saying footy is for big stupid blokes who chase around a ball in short shorts, while every time footy fans here the word soccer they have to bash it in some way shape or form.

im a fan of both codes, i appreciate each for what it is.

ill always defend the world game, and i dont think its fair to call all soccer players weak.

the reason they dive and fake injuries is because FIFA allows them to, its not because they are weak. its to get a free kick or a penalty, get an opposition player sent off or waste time.

i dont expect many people on here to appreciate soccer for what it is, and unless youve been bought up playing or following it then most likely you wont. its just funny how you dont hear soccer fans saying footy is for big stupid blokes who chase around a ball in short shorts, while every time footy fans here the word soccer they have to bash it in some way shape or form.

im a fan of both codes, i appreciate each for what it is.
You're right Foles, it is FIFA's fault. I grew up playing soccer on Saturday and footy on Sunday and I do love soccer, but it is being ruined. Super-talented sportsMEN rewarded for playing like little dibber-dobber girls.

...and the fact that half of them put ribbons in their hair doesn't help matters.

I' ve had about a dozen Aust rules players try and join my various soccer teams over the years.

They couldn't cut it and never got a game (one did). They all run in stupid predictable straight lines with their shoulders up and couldn't change their body balance to trick any other players or hold the round ball at their feet. Out of frustration I tried to teach one player how to run with the ball coming from behind but not face the kicker (so he needed precise timing and lateral vision), balance to the left but tap on the outside of the foot to the right - a classic feint, but it was like trying to teach a monkey unfortunately.

Basically - they were no good and they became benchwarmers and then returned to their aust rules the following season - i felt sorry for a lot of them they tried to give it a go and they were good blokes.

Nothing to do with toughness - that language doesn't register in soccer so it's best kept out - nobody's trying to prove otherwise. They didn't have the skill. If you want a tough sport, do boxing.

Already read that one, thanks.

Just highlights that AFL players are overpaid for their lack of skill, touch and balance - that's why no AFL player could make it in professional soccer.

I'd love to take on Judd, Abblett, Brown in soccer - they'd never get the ball off me, and I don't get paid anything to play!

Didak might get the ball off me though.

Just highlights that AFL players are overpaid for their lack of skill, touch and balance - that's why no AFL player could make it in professional soccer.

I'd love to take on Judd, Abblett, Brown in soccer - they'd never get the ball off me, and I don't get paid anything to play!

The bit that is missing out of that story about the charity game is that at half time the soccer boys didn't have the cojones to play Australian Football in the second half.

Nuff said.

Vinnie, you give me a head ache.

Why do people like you continually make stupid comments like no AFL player could ever make it in pro. soccer? You haven't got a f@#ckin' clue whether AFL players upon training for years at soccer couldn't make it.

Maybe Brad Green could also get the ball off you. Shit maybe I could get it off you. I played plenty of soccer after switching over , after getting a very bad injury playing Aussie rules.

And I must say that I didn't find it overly hard to make the switch.

Vinnie

With your abundance of skill, touch and balance, perhaps you'd like to take on Judd or Ablett at Aussie rules.
I reckon you'd dominate.....no really.

Vinnie, you give me a head ache.

Why do people like you continually make stupid comments like no AFL player could ever make it in pro. soccer? You haven't got a f@#ckin' clue whether AFL players upon training for years at soccer couldn't make it.

Maybe Brad Green could also get the ball off you. Shit maybe I could get it off you. I played plenty of soccer after switching over , after getting a very bad injury playing Aussie rules.

And I must say that I didn't find it overly hard to make the switch.

rooboy
it's like this

people like Vinnie could never get their hands on the footy in the playground, and to make up for the fact that they lack cojones, they start to make up a little story to make themselves feel better, that soccer is purely a game of skill, and that's why they play it and prefer it, and Australian Football is purely a game of brute strength.

but the story never stands up to close scrutiny

afterall, soccer is played with a round, rubber ball, put your foot on it, the ball stops, side foot it, and it will roll truly to the intended target, a two year toddler will kick a round ball quite accurately down a corridor

we look at the world cup, and a no hoper team like NZ, which includes at least one amateur (who came off the bench), actually held the world champions to a draw

Does anyone here understand what would happen if the weakest AFL team played a team of amateurs in Australian Football? The scoreboard wouldn't be large enough to contain the score that the AFL team would put up.

How do we reconcile this fact?

The bit that is missing out of that story about the charity game is that at half time the soccer boys didn't have the cojones to play Australian Football in the second half.

Nuff said.

Had you bothered to read it you would have read that the soccer players did acknowledge outright that they would have been thrashed having to play Aussie Rules, that wasn't the challenge, the challenge came from the VFL boys wanting to beat up on some soccer players playing a game of soccer, the premise being that Aussie Rules players would have little if no difficulty in adjusting and beating the soccer players at their own game due to their perceived athletic superiority.

Your constant overuse of the word "cojones" at every opportune moment implies that you yourself are either missing a pair or are sporting a pair of insignificant stature. Using such a term deliberately in a context of belittlement will not make you more adequate in that regard, it just makes you look like a flog.

Why are Soccer players not being Targeted?