Why do people "hate" football (soccer)?

Football isn't the most skillful sport around, sports like Golf & Tennis are. Football isn't the most physical sport around, footy is a more physical sport in some aspects then football.

What football is IMO the perfect balance of skill, physical ability & tactics that is unmatched in any sport. Some prefer their sports to be over physical and will tend towards your Rugby/AFL and those that appreciate sport as a fine skillful art will go for the likes of tennis/cricket/golf.

What seals it for me is that football is the only sport that every language & culture universally understands, no matter what country you are in, no matter what language you speak, no matter what part of the country you are from and no matter what religion you are. There's some aspects of footy that are preferable to footy but I cannot imagine as a total package any sport that has the beating of the world game.

I don't think Port Adelaide can pick & choose when it comes to fans at the moment, the modus operandi is take anyone they can get :)

Piss off mate, we had 36,000 members this year. Most just refuse to go to Crow park.

erform.
In NRL, AFL (as Gary Ablett Jnr proved this year) you can surround yourself with putrid garbage and still display and show off individual brilliance. You can do this in football too but the moments are few and far between and fleeting at best. The individual brilliant performances you see week in week out in AFL and NRL you dont get in football because ultimately its a much more team orientated game.
It's harder to do so in Soccer these days as the defensive structures are superior than 20 years ago and harder to breakdown but Maradona in the 80s won games, titles for Napoli and a World Cup for Argentina off his own boot. In "Old Soccer" the greats could dribble past 2-3 defenders like they weren't there. You'd lob the ball long to the big CF who would hold it up and then dish it out to the strikers and attacking mids to dribble past the defenders and score. Maradona didn't need any help though as he could dribble past a whole team lol. Messi is a modern wizard but he's still no Maradona.

As for judging tactics between Aussie Rules, Soccer, Rugby Union, Rugby League and NFL - it's comparing apples with oranges despite the crossover of tactics. Aussie Rules is a 360 degree game with no offside on a larger playing arena, you can handle, mark and kick the ball, there's full-body tackling and these days players are no longer positional except for perhaps the FF/FB. Hence it has more variables for players and coaches to contend with compared to the more fixed positional codes. Compare it to NFL which is the most fixed positional of all the codes where each and every play is determined before it is executed. NFL coaches need to know a phonebook list of set plays (eg: the Nickel) and the art is coming up with the play that beats your opponent's set-ups both offensively and separately defensively and having the players who can deliver the crucial plays. Both are Football codes but they are completely different so it's meaningless comparing which is tactically harder.

Most football strategies have developed out of warfare over the centuries. So debating which code is tactically superior is like comparing desert warfare (Aussie Rules), jungle warfare (Soccer), amphibious warfare (Union) and trench warfare (NRL/NFL). Trench warfare involves pounding each other trying to gain territory bit by bit until you can break through the opposing line; amphibious warfare involved charging forward getting numbers forward onto land to set up a beachhead from which you can attack again from in the next phase; jungle warfare is more intricate, easier defensively but harder to offensively to break down your opponent; desert warfare is fought over greater distances and movement so it's easier to inflict destruction on the opposition but there is nowhere to hide either so it's harder defensively. So which was tactically more involved and superior - Amiens, Normandy, Kokada or El Alamein? Good luck debating and getting a unanimous response to that question as there's no answer! They were all tactically different and unique to their own battle.

Football isn't the most skillful sport around, sports like Golf & Tennis are. Football isn't the most physical sport around, footy is a more physical sport in some aspects then football.

What football is IMO the perfect balance of skill, physical ability & tactics that is unmatched in any sport. Some prefer their sports to be over physical and will tend towards your Rugby/AFL and those that appreciate sport as a fine skillful art will go for the likes of tennis/cricket/golf.

What seals it for me is that football is the only sport that every language & culture universally understands, no matter what country you are in, no matter what language you speak, no matter what part of the country you are from and no matter what religion you are. There's some aspects of footy that are preferable to footy but I cannot imagine as a total package any sport that has the beating of the world game.

Outstanding post. Couldn't agree more. :thumbsu:

It's not the sport so much, It's the supporters (not all of them) that make it hard for me to go to the next level and say support an A-league club (already a Socceroos fan).

I don't have a problem with people calling soccer 'football', but when you have soccer fans that come onto the main board of Big Footy which is a Australian football forum first and foremost and refer to their sport as just "football" without any qualification to the round ball variety, I mean how arrogant and rude. They feel that because it's the world game than we must bow down to the one "true football" disregarding what football means to most of us in this state and others for 150 years.

During the world cup bid the whole "get out of our way, as we want the world cup" attitude is another example of this arrogance. The AFL volunterred the MCG which accounts for about 1/3 of the AFLs spectators, but that wasn't good enough for the FFA or the supporters who just had to have Docklands aswell which accounts for another 1/4. And then you have Craig Foster and that lynch fella. they don't make it easy.

It's not the sport so much, It's the supporters (not all of them) that make it hard for me to go to the next level and say support an A-league club (already a Socceroos fan).

I don't have a problem with people calling soccer 'football', but when you have soccer fans that come onto the main board of Big Footy which is a Australian football forum first and foremost and refer to their sport as just "football" without any qualification to the round ball variety, I mean how arrogant and rude. They feel that because it's the world game than we must bow down to the one "true football" disregarding what football means to most of us in this state and others for 150 years.

During the world cup bid the whole "get out of our way, as we want the world cup" attitude is another example of this arrogance. The AFL volunterred the MCG which accounts for about 1/3 of the AFLs spectators, but that wasn't good enough for the FFA or the supporters who just had to have Docklands aswell which accounts for another 1/4. And then you have Craig Foster and that lynch fella. they don't make it easy.

It is quite simple mate. I call what you call soccer "football" and Aussie Rules "footy". I don't have a problem if you want to call it soccer and anyone who has a problem with calling soccer "football" quite frankly is a complete w***er. From experience it is mostly the Aussie Rules hardcore zealots who insist that soccer not to be known as "foobtall".

It's more a case of we call it "soccer" and some soccer fan will try to correct us and say "football".

Sorry, it's soccer to me. Have a nice a day.

Soccer Australia has shot itself in the foot marketing the game as football, the name change hasnt worked and has only really antagonized other sports supporters which is their target market.

It's more a case of we call it "soccer" and some soccer fan will try to correct us and say "football".

Sorry, it's soccer to me. Have a nice a day.

Yep. In Australia it is SOCCER, just as it is in America, because they already had an established code of football before soccer came along. It's time some people accepted it.

As for hating the sport, I don't hate it, but let's just say I really can't get excited over a sport which can return a 0-0 scoreline.

Soccer Australia has shot itself in the foot marketing the game as football, the name change hasnt worked and has only really antagonized other sports supporters which is their target market.

Soccer Australia doesn't exist anymore. If you're going to troll, do it properly.

Yep. In Australia it is SOCCER, just as it is in America, because they already had an established code of football before soccer came along. It's time some people accepted it.

As for hating the sport, I don't hate it, but let's just say I really can't get excited over a sport which can return a 0-0 scoreline.

This post encompasses all the reasons why AFL will never succeed as a national sport in NSW & QLD. How arrogant, telling people what to call the sport they follow. How about you let people call the sport they follow what they want?

Aussie Rules can return a 0-0 scoreline, never happened before, and very unlikely to happen but it could.

and as WC2022 said people should be able to call the sport they follow what ever they want, I personally call it Football and Footy, if you want to call it Soccer and Football then thats up to you but don't come on this board and tell us what we should call it.

There are a few at Soccer House that think that the name change to football was a bad idea (Buckley). Can any of you Soccer supporters put forward an argument that the name change has helped Australian Soccer in any way at all? All it has done is make people dislike Soccer. I follow the A-League and love the Reds but I will never get a season ticket and support them that way because of Soccers insistance of calling themselves football and there are many other people who are in the same boat.

First time on this board.

I have minimal knowledge of soccer (it basically extends to FIFA console game ratings as to who the better players are), but have enough interest to see who is winning/who is qualified for which tournament etc.
So I'm not going to even try to pretend I know it all.

But a few things:
-Is this thread really about complaining that bogans hate soccer? Or reasons why? I think the most obvious answer is the answer....they're bogans. Thread solved :thumbsu:

-Craig Foster is an idiot, and I think he is the reason many people get offside (no pun intended) with the sport. He really needs to accept soccer isn't big here just yet, and that it is growing in popularity. No doubt with the multiculturalism of Australia it will prosper and thrive in our country. But with a remote chance it won't, why does it matter Craig? Just because a sport is big everywhere else in the world doesn't mean it has to be big here. I don't care if it is the world game, it doesn't mean everyone should watch it just to fit in.

-Australian sporting culture is very competitive, and just have to look at local sporting competitions to see that. Not many incentives involved, but it still gets very heated. I think that's why people get annoyed about the fake injury/kicking the ball out of bounds 'etiquette', as seen in Australia vs Thailand. Vareli, or however you spell his name, would not have appealed to bogans. Especially when the Thai guy wasn't even injured.
I think if Australia, and other countries, kept on playing, diving/faking injuries would become less common. Then the bogans would have to find a new angle to degrade soccer from (yes there is diving in footy, but not to the same level)

-Also, while some football journalists are bogans and only concentrate on AFL, you only have to look at the Herald Sun, routinely bagged for being bogan, which promotes all sports. They have AFL, soccer, rugby league, rugby union, tennis, golf, horse-racing, motorsport, ..basically everything. Compared to some editions of NSW/QLD papers, when there is actual AFL news to report, still doesn't get reported on. I think AFL is just as hated by non-fans, by people who don't understand it. Just like soccer is.

I don't think it's worth getting upset just because unevolved people hate the sport you love.

Go Australia, Brazil in 2014 :)

...I don't follow.

Ah yes, looking back on it, doesn't make sense.

Point was that socceroos still go under the soccer bit...they aren't the footballeroos.

Anyway wasn't a big deal. Just trying to create humour :eek:

when Soccer changed its name they hoped that the Socceroos name would fade away but because the name change hasnt worked the national Soccer team is still called the Socceroos

Surely you aren't suggesting that the atmosphere of an AFL match is anywhere near that of an EPL match? By in large AFL cheer squads are pretty tame compared to their football counterparts. That's not to say that is a bad thing - there isn't anywhere near the same level of antagonism at AFL games as a football match. If you want to interpret that as having a go at the game in general good for you but that is reality. Some sports fans even prefer the family orientated atmosphere of AFL games with a large number of children and woman fans attending - I personally prefer a football match with a whole terrace chanting and celebrating wildly when our team scores a winner in the last minute.

re the cheersquads, it's a bit like comparing the Mexican Wave at the footy vs the Mexican Wave at the cricket. How soon does the on field action regain the attention of the spectators?

The footy cheersquad is often 'shut up' by what's happening on the ground.

However, Collingwood, both in the old days at Victoria Park and currently, can provide a very hostile environment perhaps in the manner of the soccer crowd.

(for now I'm not much keen on taking the kids to a Collingwood game!!)

My soccer experience is limited to one game back in V2 of the HAL, 50,000 at Docklands, top of the table, MVFC v SFC....0-0 draw. But, the cheersquads at the Nth and Sth ends kept going all night......good on 'em, but, after a while it became more of an annoyance because it had no relationship to the match.

This I then think of the old steel drum bands at cricket test matches in the West Indies, going all day, no real relationship to the action on the field. However, if it's a unique sound, then, it may become iconic of that locations.

So, my suggestion. Aust soccer crowds go armed with didgeridoos, that'd be a unique sound, far less annoying than the vuvuzelas.

I think we've had enough responses to get an idea of why some 'hate' the game.

1. Not enough action/ 0-0 games / draws. This is a fair enough response I guess as people not bought up on the game wouldn't understand a lot of what is happening on the field. One reason I can't watch NFL is that I don't get what is going on and sometimes it's not worth taking the time to appreciate a game.

2. People call it Football instead of soccer. A pretty ridiculous reason to hate a sport imho but meh.

3. Arrogant supporters. I guess it's a bit like the smartest kid at school/Uni rubbing your nose in it that you're not the brightest spark. Soccer/football people know their game is the biggest/most popular in the World and if you don't like it your intelligence is questioned. A reason to hate the arrogant supporters but not the game itself imo but meh.

4. Diving/cheating. A fair enough reason I guess. Soccer/football is a game where for the most part you take whatever advantage you can get, even if that means cheating. I think all sports (football's anyway) do this but soccer is the worst in so far as players don't really try and hide the fact they are diving/making more of a foul etc. Once again, I think this comes down to being bought up on the game, and also the fact that it is a game played by many different nationalities. Teams play football in the psyche of their country for the most part. The Germans are efficient, the Brasilians are full of flair. You get to see the best of countries but also the worst. So countries in South America and Asia, where corruption is more prevalent will often see a more cynical style of play than a country like Australia. At least that is my take on it and a reason I don't hate the cheating aspect of the game.

Have I missed any other reasons :confused: :)

No other real reasons have been put forward iirc :confused: