Why do people "hate" football (soccer)?

Have I missed any other reasons :confused: :)

No other real reasons have been put forward iirc :confused:

Hate is such a very strong word.

Things I'm not comfortable with (and that's qualified by acknowledging that it's important that there be differences and variety etc) -

- the 1 pt scoring system with no 'quality' component. - this means that A. you don't get off-set scoring, i.e. to hit the front from 1 goal down, you need to score 2 goals. This is an issue for netball too. Basketball avoids this.
B. and basketball avoids it by having a tiered scoring system that is pretty well qualitative. 3 pts for outside a marked zone, 2 pts for regular in play and 1 pt for 'free' shots from a marked spot. Soccder could do with something along these lines. AFL for example has a qualitative component even on balls passing inside the goal, that is, it can't be touched or deflect off a post and MUST be kicked. Soccer allows anything and everything to count as '1'.
- lack of time accountability. - this encourages vast amounts of strategic time wasting. I recall the 2006 WC with the FIFA stats showing about an avg of 55 mins 'actual play' per pool game (i.e. 55 out of 92 or so allowing injury time). The max was 69 and the min was 47 (Ukraine vs Tunisia). I do believe the American sports go a bit overboard on time management. Aust Footy I reckon has got some components about right, but, as can be seen, strategic time wasting is ALWAYS seeking a loophole.
- homogeneity - I'd hate for soccer to rule the world like it rules England for 11 months of the year. I love that my kids play footy (real time sport, using hands/feet etc) during winter and then cricket ('turn based' sport requiring different social interactions within team and patience/discipline of a different sort) during summer. I'd hate for soccer to dominate, and it annoys me when soccerheads bemoan the dominance of AFL in one city of the world, and NRL in one city in the world. Seemingly, the world is not enough.
- the FFA WC bid - 'nuff said.
- Specialists - I don't like specialist kickers in either the Rugby's, Grid Iron or Soccer. I'm a great fan of it you earn the kick, then, you take the kick. It just seems a tad more egalitarian and I'd like to think reflected the free settle Victorian/Sth Aust ethic of the 1800s.
- heading the ball - I do hate this. I would NEVER use my head as a striking implement to propell a ball or object. Let alone that some other blighter might be trying a fandangled scissor kick and clock me with his boot whilst I've got my eyes shut trying to direct my header. It really looks like a 'loophole' that never got closed. I.e. you're NOT allowed to use your hands rather than YOU MUST kick the ball. This loophole allows the head to be used, as it was never specified otherwise. This allows therefore goals to be 'scored' rather than 'kicked'.
- one true football - yeah, I hate this. A. surely one true football would require goals to be kicked?? B. what's with the side line throw in and the goalie allowed to use his hands? But, this is the supporters, not the game.
- offside - I don't like it, I reckon it's outdated in modern soccer. Half the time it's got wrong anyway. Elements have been watering it down, the whole 'passive off side' thing etc. But, I'm glad that the 'off side' codes make Aust Football all the more distinctive by comparison!!!

so, that's about my list.

- lack of time accountability. - this encourages vast amounts of strategic time wasting. I recall the 2006 WC with the FIFA stats showing about an avg of 55 mins 'actual play' per pool game (i.e. 55 out of 92 or so allowing injury time). The max was 69 and the min was 47 (Ukraine vs Tunisia).

:D LOL :D

WTF bullshit figures are those MM? So on average they spent 37 minutes rolling on the ground faking injury?

Please provide some roof or sauces- if you can I'll give you the deed to my house.

In any case thanks for the lulz :thumbsu: :D

Things I'm not comfortable with (and that's qualified by acknowledging that it's important that there be differences and variety etc) -

- the 1 pt scoring system with no 'quality' component. - this means that A. you don't get off-set scoring, i.e. to hit the front from 1 goal down, you need to score 2 goals. This is an issue for netball too. Basketball avoids this.
B. and basketball avoids it by having a tiered scoring system that is pretty well qualitative. 3 pts for outside a marked zone, 2 pts for regular in play and 1 pt for 'free' shots from a marked spot. Soccder could do with something along these lines. AFL for example has a qualitative component even on balls passing inside the goal, that is, it can't be touched or deflect off a post and MUST be kicked. Soccer allows anything and everything to count as '1'.
- lack of time accountability. - this encourages vast amounts of strategic time wasting. I recall the 2006 WC with the FIFA stats showing about an avg of 55 mins 'actual play' per pool game (i.e. 55 out of 92 or so allowing injury time). The max was 69 and the min was 47 (Ukraine vs Tunisia). I do believe the American sports go a bit overboard on time management. Aust Footy I reckon has got some components about right, but, as can be seen, strategic time wasting is ALWAYS seeking a loophole.
- homogeneity - I'd hate for soccer to rule the world like it rules England for 11 months of the year. I love that my kids play footy (real time sport, using hands/feet etc) during winter and then cricket ('turn based' sport requiring different social interactions within team and patience/discipline of a different sort) during summer. I'd hate for soccer to dominate, and it annoys me when soccerheads bemoan the dominance of AFL in one city of the world, and NRL in one city in the world. Seemingly, the world is not enough.
- Specialists - I don't like specialist kickers in either the Rugby's, Grid Iron or Soccer. I'm a great fan of it you earn the kick, then, you take the kick. It just seems a tad more egalitarian and I'd like to think reflected the free settle Victorian/Sth Aust ethic of the 1800s.
- heading the ball - I do hate this. I would NEVER use my head as a striking implement to propell a ball or object. Let alone that some other blighter might be trying a fandangled scissor kick and clock me with his boot whilst I've got my eyes shut trying to direct my header. It really looks like a 'loophole' that never got closed. I.e. you're NOT allowed to use your hands rather than YOU MUST kick the ball. This loophole allows the head to be used, as it was never specified otherwise. This allows therefore goals to be 'scored' rather than 'kicked'.
- one true football - yeah, I hate this. A. surely one true football would require goals to be kicked?? B. what's with the side line throw in and the goalie allowed to use his hands? But, this is the supporters, not the game.
- offside - I don't like it, I reckon it's outdated in modern soccer. Half the time it's got wrong anyway. Elements have been watering it down, the whole 'passive off side' thing etc. But, I'm glad that the 'off side' codes make Aust Football all the more distinctive by comparison!!!

Good post Mick.

- The one point thing I can't agree with, and one thing I detest about other sports is the need to have 3 points for this, 1 point for that etc...the worst thing about the NAB cup is the stupid mega goal or whatever it's called.

- Time accountability I agree with 100%. FIFA are very conservative with law changes and I can't see it ever being fixed, but it is annoying to have the guy in the middle decide what time is added on. One reason for it (and a major reason soccer is No 1 around the World) is that it simplifies things. AFL country or suburban games need time keepers/numerous umpires etc, soccer you just need the guy in the middle and it's game on. Countries in Africa/Asia etc don't have resources for all the extras.

- Homogeneity is a good reason to love AFL but not a good one to dislike soccer imo.

- World Cup Bid? I think the anti football media did a great job of getting the general public against what would have been an absolutely brilliant month for the whole of Australi...The olympicsx10 imo...a pity.

- Specialists, I was just thinking about that exact thing the other day...I agree it'd be better for the fouled player to have to take the kick...it'll never happen though.

- Heading and offside? I can't understand the problem personally...and you don't close your eyes when you head the ball :D the offside rule is fundamental to the game and can never be taken away...it is a pity the call is wrong so often though. However every football gets calls wrong, AFL has terrible umpiring as does soccer. It adds to the talking points though and is another reason we are all drawn to follow these games. :thumbsu:

Have I missed any other reasons :confused: :)

No other real reasons have been put forward iirc :confused:
It sounds a bit odd, but I think you've missed the elephant in the room...that being the racist undercurrent that permeates many discussions about Sockah.. it is often derided as a foreign game, played by people different to 'us'(who ever 'us' is:(
People are very good at hiding their racism and are much better coached in doing so, which is why you hardly ever hear overt racism like Wogball bandied around anymore, but there is still the element I believe and you hear it when ever someone takes exception to football by retorting that Australian Rules footy is the Australian game(almost as if saying if you don't follow or play the true Australian game you are somehow less of an Aussie than a AFL fan.
I find it hilarious that football is considered a foreign game but somehow, despite fulfilling the same criteria(country of origin, international aspect) Cricket, Rugby League and Union are not considered foreign by the folk that use that same switch to swat at sockah. WTF?
I really do think some people need to take a look in the mirror and ask themselves if the true reason they hate Sockah is because it is differentin so many ways(scoring system etc), different to their plain vanilla view of the world which has been shaped by the media telling them as they grew up that Footy and Cricket are the natural order of things and anything else is that dreaded word(unAustralian) When ever I hear the term unAustralian, besides thinking of politicians trying to score cheap political points, I think of bogans eating it up and using expressions like F*ck off we're full!" and "I'm not racist BUT...
No wonder we are considered annoying when people over seas meet us:( different does not equal wrong as I kept trying to teach my American (now ex-) girlfriend. Anything different for her was met with expressions like "that's dumb" and it should be more like...[insert home-country reference]"

I dont really see how Soccer is a foreign sport, it has been played in Australia for years, why alot of people see it as foreign is because Soccer was more popular with immigrants but does it really apply anymore? The whole 'Wogs, Sheilas and ****ters' way of thinking is dead

I don't know mate..last time I flew to melbourne for the AUFC @ MHT game, I flew Tiger...As I got on the plane at Tullamarine, still wearing my United kit, the middle aged man next to me asked e what I'd been in Melbourne for. I replied "I came over for the football and Adelaide United got the win!", overall a very successful trip. His wife leaned over him and said, the Soccer?, I thought that was just for the immigrants? To explain, I'm pretty Aryan looking, blonde hair blue eyes etc. I guess I just didn't fit into her stereotype of a woggy Sockah supporter. Not picking on Melbourne because I've had people all over he country laugh and say, "why would I want to watch that p**fta sport?" If I invite them to come along with me. Its kinda sad really, You would think we are beyond that sort of crap, but just the other day at my work, one of the older ladies asked me if it was safe to take her kids to an Adelaide United game at Hindmarsh....they'd been pestering her to take them and all she remembered about Sockah was the words 'soccer' and 'crowd violence'..disgraceful what the media do to the game in this country:(

Err...you were in that WC forum mate, the immigrant angle was on full view quite often in there.

It really looks like a 'loophole' that never got closed. I.e. you're NOT allowed to use your hands rather than YOU MUST kick the ball. This loophole allows the head to be used, as it was never specified otherwise. This allows therefore goals to be 'scored' rather than 'kicked'.

As opposed to AFL, where they said "You must not throw the ball to each other", so players just started punching the ball out of their hands instead?

I agree with most of this, except heading the ball. it's unique to soccer and is a great part of the game.
To add on to your specialists list is that of the goalkeeper, and the fact that they are allowed to use their hands. Different rules for different players does not sit well for me.

Alot of why people dislike football was really unearthed in a Harry Kewell press conference a few weeks ago about Harry Kewells so called lack of form. All these so called journalist harping on about his form despite throwing stats etc around really ignoring the basic structure of the actual sport itself

Stats cannot be used to prove the poor performance of a attacking player. A attacking player is defined by his team continuity, ability to feed him the ball and also the overall teams attacking performance. I think the importance of structure, tactics and a lack of indivdualism in the sport is a big part of the failure of it in this country

When Kewell signed people looked to him as the star but the fact of the matter is he aint no football star. Theres 3 footballers in the world that can do what Australians define as "football stars" (Messi, Ronaldo and Silva) and that is dominate a football game without the presence of his teammates. In football most grade A stars still need the nucleus around it to perform.

In NRL, AFL (as Gary Ablett Jnr proved this year) you can surround yourself with putrid garbage and still display and show off individual brilliance. You can do this in football too but the moments are few and far between and fleeting at best. The individual brilliant performances you see week in week out in AFL and NRL you dont get in football because ultimately its a much more team orientated game.

Those who hate football are drawn to indivudal sporting achievments and are drawn away by the complexities of what is needed to create a successful footballing team/culture. Quite simply creating a football dynasty takes 20 years, creating a AFL dynasty takes 2 or 3. Its a lack of patience and a lack of understanding really
how many goals has Harry Kewell scored this season.?.............that is just downright booooooooring.

A foreign sport......invented by the English just like Cricket and Rugby.

But the people shouldn't worry about the facts. Sokkaaaah is a wog sport. It's wogball after all. ;)

Most AFL fans don't get into soccer because they just don't care. They're perfectly happy just to follow their footy.

But those people who do try and get into it need to stop comparing it to AFL. They are very different sports.

The offside rule is a great example. When you're from an AFL background (like I started from) it seems to make no sense at all. Once you appreciate how soccer works you realise the game would be unwatchable without it.

For what it's worth, I think AFL and soccer complement each other beautifully. One is played in winter, one in summer (in Oz, at least). One is truly local, one is truly international. One is primarily an athletic game, the other is primarily technical. One is filled with scoring, the other is filled with tension.

There are so many great things about each sport. I reckon everyone should try and embrace them both.

The offside rule is a great example. When you're from an AFL background (like I started from) it seems to make no sense at all. Once you appreciate how soccer works you realise the game would be unwatchable without it.

From a Football background the offside rule doesnt really work, it limits scoring and limits appeal to the audience, Soccer would be more appealing to Australians if the offside rule was taken out of the game.

Yeah because appealing to the Australian Bogan is the biggest of The World Game's concerns ...

I dont "hate" soccer" I just find it boring to watch and I would suggest that a lot of Australian Football supporters are like me.

This :thumbsu:

To all of those that are saying the offside would make the game better, can you please elaborate on how you think the game would be more attacking without it?

This :thumbsu:

To all of those that are saying the offside would make the game better, can you please elaborate on how you think the game would be more attacking without it?

Goalhangers!

People like Inzaghi would be playing on 'til their 50s!

I don't have a problem with low socring in soccer per se, just that it's more likely leads in circumstances where a result is required to a penalty shoot-out. Now on their own a penalty shootout has drama and tension in abundance, but so would playing paper, rock and scissors to determine the winner but in the end it just leaves me cold. I don't know how to make it more fair, perhaps a goal count back or in the case of nill all just keep playing until a goal is scored. But it would be better if there was a different tie-breker to a penalty shootout.

:D LOL :D

WTF bullshit figures are those MM? So on average they spent 37 minutes rolling on the ground faking injury?

Please provide some roof or sauces- if you can I'll give you the deed to my house.

In any case thanks for the lulz :thumbsu: :D

the figures were posted on the official FIFA 2006 WC website at the time. I have no idea if you can still access them or not. If was FIFA's own 'Actual Playing Time' statistic. Ah!, here we go, here's a link to that Ukraine vs Tunisia match.

I was curious enough at the time about statistical analysis of sports.

So, over the 48 pool matches -
(no extra time involved)
and you had AvePlayTime (APT) of 55.08 mins.
Min of 47
Max of 69
So, 55 from 90 (but, let's use 92 as an arbitrary allowance for injury time).

It's about 60%.

So, for a game with extra time, 120 mins, we'd anticipate something around 70-80 mins.
And we saw that with Match 50, Argentina v Mexico, 77 mins APT.

And, the obvious comparison there, is to AFL, 80 mins of 'actual playing time', but, because of 'stoppages', it's spread over 120 mins of game time.

I found it an interesting parallel. You may not.

BUT, an apology for you abrasive tone might be in order. Why the 'WTF' and 'bullshit' rot before you ask the question of where my stats were sourced from.

btw -
I was also curious at the time about the 'sporting definition of a fluke'. But, that's another discussion, although, pertinent to this topic.

Most fans of the game call Australia, Australia. Funny about that. Adelaide Hawk's comments are right, we along with the USA call it soccer, he's also right that one of the reasons is because both countries have established codes, but it's a game of intelligence, skill and brains, and that's what attracted me. It's occasionally a game of horseshit thank's to certain tactic's, but not only is it an opportunity to see how we're progressing internationally it's also a chance to have a look at others, and thus far, we're doing ok. I'd love another shot at Brasil. We might learn something. That's my outlook on it.

Yeah because appealing to the Australian Bogan is the biggest of The World Game's concerns ...

I get a greater laugh reading the soccer comments on this site rather than the traditional soccer sites because this is predominately a foodyball site

Keep up the entertainment boys

The world game is growing in Bogan land
:)

Thats one more than Harry Kewell this season........

I recall a Simon Hill I think commentating the Socceroos, and at half time he goes on about Harry Kewell, "cometh the moment, cometh the man" and "is there nothing he can't do",

and

the scoreline at half time was 0-0

and Kewell had missed his couple of goal scoring opportunities,

and,

I'm thinking, the moment had come a couple of times, and the man did not cometh, and that illustrated what he can't do.

- - - now, this isn't a dig at Kewell; I'm potting the commentator instead, and for x-code watchers of sport, sometimes the commentary can be the most annoying part.

I recall a couple of years back seeing Greg Inglis in a semi final or prelim final in the NRL, and he has the ball, has a line break and is running toward the line, no one able to catch him,
and they provide us the slow mo head on shot of him running with the ball......he's got nothing to do except run - it's just a sprint then.....no bouncing, no requirement to kick the ball, just run and put touch it down.
and the commentators are going on about 'the Rolls Royce' and I'm looking thinking how little there is for him to do other than just run a straight line and the slo mo really wasn't required.