Prediction Will we make finals in 2023? AFL responds with "...not on my watch"

Will we make finals in 2023?

If we dont beat Hawks ... have gone nowhere. Would be stunned if they can outscore us but have been burnt enuf to know its possible. Next 3 weeks after are against teams likely to finish top 6. Will be the make or break there.

Both Nicks and the players have lamented our defense in the first 2 weeks. If we scraped those 2 I don't think we win all of the following 3. It was a catalyst for defensive mindset.

I doubt it'd make much of a difference, seeing Nicks has wanted us to be known as a side for their defense. It's the only consistent theme throughout our rebuild. The offense is more to do with now having a playing group capable to pull it off.

Probably by conceding 85+ both weeks would have rang alarm bells.

If we dont beat Hawks ... have gone nowhere. Would be stunned if they can outscore us but have been burnt enuf to know its possible. Next 3 weeks after are against teams likely to finish top 6. Will be the make or break there.
Hawthorn are travelling interstate twice in consecutive weeks and are 3 days less rested. Also, they lost Wingard this week.

I'm not counting my chickens before they hatch, but hot damn there are a eggs lying around.

Port with an easy run coming up and the cats must be due for a block of home games, sitting 9th and 10th.

You'd think we'd be a prime candidate to fall out of the 8 - the other sides looking solid. The first two losses are major missed opportunities considering how GWS and Richmond are going.

Perhaps not this week though.

If we're any good we'll win, and win well. And yes I know we're playing at a bogey ground, but Hawthorn are s**t. They've managed 302 points for the year (60 average) with a highest score of 80 (vs north). Could end up 4th this week with a bit of luck.

You would have to think the 2 to fall out would be between Us, Essendon, Carlton and St.Kilda.

I think the Saints are too well coached to drop out. So that leaves 2 between Us / Carlton and Essendon to survive.

You would have to think the 2 to fall out would be between Us, Essendon, Carlton and St.Kilda.

I think the Saints are too well coached to drop out. So that leaves 2 between Us / Carlton and Essendon to survive.
Looks like Ross is doing Ross things at St Kikda. I’d have said Essendon too, but knocking off the dees is a big tick. For now anyway.

Long way to go, anyone could get the wobbles from here I spose.

Seems like a 10 horse race unless someone out of GWS, freo, bulldogs, Richmond get their shit together. That group is running out of time though.

Looks like Ross is doing Ross things at St Kikda. I’d have said Essendon too, but knocking off the dees is a big tick. For now anyway.

Long way to go, anyone could get the wobbles from here I spose.

Seems like a 10 horse race unless someone out of GWS, freo, bulldogs, Richmond get their s**t together. That group is running out of time though.

U never know. Sometimes teams go 10-1 or so and miss.

The commentary about Adelaide is getting a bit silly, particularly from Kingy, Cornes and now Buckley.

Just because we beat Carlton at home, again. Did it last year too. They haven't won in Adelaide since 2014 or something.

Carlton will go home and forget about this and play 15 games at the MCG.

Adelaide have hardly won away in 4 years, and the only way to be a success in this comp is to win in Melbourne. We won in Perth against the bottom team, and I think Ballarat last year.

We are playing in Tassie next week, and a win would be something.

But will our kids play well in the middle of winter against Collingwood at the MCG?

Will they be too tired?

Moreso, will other teams have worked out how to stop us? Sam Mitchell will have a plan next week, for sure.

Our team looked good last week, but so did 8 other teams. The youth will tire, we will get injuries, depth will get tested.

If we pass all these tests, then we are something, but there's a long way to go before we have a Crows Kids version of the Baby Bombers.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

The commentary about Adelaide is getting a bit silly, particularly from Kingy, Cornes and now Buckley.

Just because we beat Carlton at home, again. Did it last year too. They haven't won in Adelaide since 2014 or something.

Adelaide have hardly won away in 4 years, and the only way to be a success in this comp is to win in Melbourne. We won in Perth against the bottom team, and I think Ballarat last year.

But will our kids play well in the middle of winter against Collingwood at the MCG?

Will they be too tired?

Moreso, will other teams have worked out how to stop us? Sam Mitchell will have a plan next week, for sure.

Our team looked good last week, but so did 8 other teams. The youth will tire, we will get injuries, depth will get tested.

If we pass all these tests, then we are something, but there's a long way to go before we have a Crows Kids version of the Baby Bombers.

GWS was an unlucky loss, and three solid, 5+ goal wins is a very solid start to the year for a team thought in a rebuild. Including a 8.1 first quarter statement against an unbeaten team.

Especially when there are 3 100+ scores against some of the stronger defenses in the last couple of years.

They've earned this moment in the sunshine.

Will they be too tired?

Kane Cornes is talking about All Australian selections, prior to this round too. It’s all about the now in the over saturated click bait media world.

Will they be too tired?

There's certainly a big question mark over whether Port, Fremantle and Carlton are the real deal.

Before the season a lot of people had all three making finals. Carlton a potential flag challenger.

Will that turn out to be the case, or have we just beaten up on three non-finalists and a potential bottom 4 team in Fremantle?

But can they do it on a cold rainy night in Stoke?

I agree that we shouldn't get ahead of ourselves, and smashing Carlton at home isn't as good as it looks. Nothing is as good, or as bad, as it first seems. To be a serious finals side, you need to win at the MCG against an MCG tenant - and there are two contender MCG tenants right now (Collingwood and Melbourne). This year, I don't think we can expect much better than a competitive showing against those two sides at the MCG.

Will they be too tired?

Agree with a lot of that but it’s not just because we pumped Carlton, they were on our bandwagon from the preseason.

It looks like it’s that type of year where a lot of the better sides are pretty even, there’s some inconsistency and some are copping some structural injuries.

What we’ve got going for us is the best forward line in the comp which will keep us in most games. Now that we’ve added Dawson to the middle, we’ve injected one of the best mids in the comp, he’s a friggin gun. Rachelle is playing a lot more midfield. We don’t need to win the middle, just go close to breaking even.

Our attacking game plan gives that forward line the best opportunity and when we don’t have the ball we harass and harass.

Guys like Milera who sucked last year whilst they nursed him back is playing good footy.

Guys who were walk up starts last year have been made to earn their spot and we’ve got good depth.

Our team hasn’t had this sense of belief under Nicks as we were rebuilding from scratch.

Then we have Burgess.

We really should be 5-0.

I said to my mate before the season started I just want to go to the footy with hope and expectation we can win, we’ve got that now. At home especially I believe we are a chance to beat every team.

You'd have to say right now we are at least 50/50 to make finals. That will be decided by how we can perform away from home, and how our young list holds up over a long season.

What I hope we are really careful of though, in the context of our rebuild, is going back to the old mindset of "make the 8 and anything can happen" that the club used to have under the old regime. Build a premiership side please. To win a flag you need to have a top quality squad, with elite midfielders. As a non-Melbourne / non-MCG tenant side we also have to be significantly better than our most likely Victorian opposition to beat them on their home deck on GF day. We need to be absolutely elite and probably at least five goals better than a Melbourne based opponent to jag a premiership.

We're not there yet. Dawson is showing us what the team is capable of with elite mids. Go get a couple more, then we're talking.

Real finals or premiership contenders? Surely the former unless Smith, Sloane and Walker miraculously find their 2017 form at the age of 32+ years old and Doedee and Milera improve.
I still believe Finals Contenders .....knocking on the door of the 8

Just depends on what sort of injury run we have ....there are teams being decimated by injury, concussion, ands dangerous tackles ....anything can happen

tbh, we should be 5-0.

Bizarrely bad goal kicking cost us in Rd 1
The heat of Rd 1 and the short break v long rested Tigers cost us in Rd2

We're playing a brand of footy that is a winning brand.

Dawson and Laird, ROB being more than serviceable, Top notch forward line.

Main issue will be defence. But we have a side that can score quickly. Few leads will be safe.

Why not now?

Will they be too tired?

The boys won’t be tired going into the Collingwood game in June given we have the bye the week before.

And just on games vs Collingwood at Adelaide Oval, the past two years those games have been decided by less than a goal.

Our last 3 weeks would have us in the premiership quadrant. The first two weeks we got heavily scored against which skewed this result but we have improved our defence significantly since then. It's too early for this to be predictive anyway as some teams have had an easy first 5 games draw. By week 10 this should be more beneficial. Coincidentally when Dawson was moved out of defence our defence has improved as it's not rebounding back out of our forward line and he is helping to win it out of the centre. We are also defending better when the ball goes down to our defence. Dawson has the highest conversion in the league for forward 50 entries.

Prediction Will we make finals in 2023? AFL responds with "...not on my watch"