Prediction Will we make finals in 2023? AFL responds with "...not on my watch"

Will we make finals in 2023?

TBF playing in 40 degree heat & 80% humidity, beat us ......GWS were used to those conditions, training every day in SYD's humidity .....we went too hard too early, and didn't adapt to the conditions

And then, what impact R1 had on R2 .....I guess we'll never truly know

Yes, issue is DEF (insert Butts) .......gee he's looking terrible

I wouldn't say that. That game was an example of "give a sucker a break".

Even if we shot at 50-50 in the first half, we win that game (and it's probably a mauling) and we missed a lot of shots we'd usually make.

I haven’t changed Jenny, the team has.

I’ve always been positive when it was warranted, just as I’ve been negative and critical when it’s warranted. The issue is over the last 5 years we’ve been a s**t show.

I’ll give you an example. I’ve been critical of playing Dawson in defence. He’s playing midfield and wallah, we are flying and I’m a happy chappy.

What annoys me is posters who can’t be critical when clearly it’s been warranted and then having crack at posters for being critical when it’s clearly justified.
I only had cracks at people who could only ever see the negative, despite there being obvious signs of positivity. In other words... you may now be seeing the light, but some of us could see it all along. ;)

Come on Jen can’t you decipher thru it, I’ve seen the the criticism’s “warranted ” and praise geez some get focused on when people are criticising the club and get so defensive. I’ve been critical of the the club of what I see now, we all know theres a future

Regarding our playing at the MCG, i was never confident back in 2017 and the lead up to it.
Me, same.
Pyke said pre-GF that it was one thing to get to the GF, another thing to win it. He said all they'd done was earn their spot in the GF. I liked that, realistic, but I don't think the players were listening.
There was a lot of talk about "deserving" --- certainly among fans but some players, too, I would think.
Along the lines of, "we deserve this" because:
--- of the Phil Walsh tragedy
--- we finished top
--- we thrashed Richmond (at AO in R6) by 76 points
--- we beat Geelong really well in the PF
--- most pundits think we'll win.
Not quite hubris or complacency, but an expectation that the 2017 Flag was "ours".

Problem is, a Flag is only "deserved" after it's won. Not before. :sadv1:

I was worried about:
--- the obvious disunity in the playing group (Lever/ McGovern)
--- the injuries to Smithers (who had been in top form and played well against them in R6) and McGovern
--- the Betts and Sloane appendectomies which must have had them at below their best
--- Richmond's obvious Home Ground advantage (and I was fearful of potential Umpire bias which happened beyond even my worst fears on the day)
--- Richmond were playing their best 2017 footy in the lead-up to the GF. They were hot, and hungry. I think the Crows had played their GF the week before against previous bogey-side Geelong. My impression was that after that, all they had to do was turn up and beating Richmond was a formality.

At half-time they showed the players in their rooms. What I saw made me turn to my mate (we were watching on TV @ my place) and say: "NO way we're going to win this". He asked me why.
It looked obvious to me.
The Richmond players were up and about, moving around, talking, encouraging.
Most of the Crows players were sitting on the floor, backs to the wall, looking miserably like a team AFTER they'd lost a GF, yes, at half-time.

Come on Jen can’t you decipher thru it, I’ve seen the the criticism’s “warranted ” and praise geez some get focused on when people are criticising the club and get so defensive. I’ve been critical of the the club of what I see now, we all know theres a future
I don't think that's right. The negative nellies couldn't see any positives at all. Nicks was shit. Players were shit. Recruiting was shit. Now all of a sudden... While those of us could see the age profile, the newness of the coach, the development of the team and the way Nicks was rebuilding (which meant pain before gain) there were glimpses of what was to come. We didn't just all of a sudden get good. We've been building for 3 full seasons - each season getting progressively better. Credit has to be given to our Club (and therefore Coaches, recruiting and fitness guys) and our players (who appear to be committed to a cause) for turning an utter shit show (2018) into this exciting group of young players (with a sprinkling of experienced blokes) we see before us. The future is exciting and some of us could already see that.

I don't think that's right. The negative nellies couldn't see any positives at all. Nicks was s**t. Players were s**t. Recruiting was s**t. Now all of a sudden... While those of us could see the age profile, the newness of the coach, the development of the team and the way Nicks was rebuilding (which meant pain before gain) there were glimpses of what was to come. We didn't just all of a sudden get good. We've been building for 3 full seasons - each season getting progressively better. Credit has to be given to our Club (and therefore Coaches, recruiting and fitness guys) and our players (who appear to be committed to a cause) for turning an utter s**t show (2018) into this exciting group of young players (with a sprinkling of experienced blokes) we see before us. The future is exciting and some of us could already see that.
I'm happy with the last 3 results but I recall the previous 2 matches. We need to put the brakes on it. Although the scoring and field play has been exciting we are still a long way off it. A loss to Hawthorn and all will be lost as our run after that game is tough. The recruiting is showing promise. Quality like Rankine and Dawson have been brilliant at a reasonable cost. Gibbs deal still gives me nightmares.
I am not convinced on Nick's.

I don't think that's right. The negative nellies couldn't see any positives at all. Nicks was s**t. Players were s**t. Recruiting was s**t. Now all of a sudden... While those of us could see the age profile, the newness of the coach, the development of the team and the way Nicks was rebuilding (which meant pain before gain) there were glimpses of what was to come. We didn't just all of a sudden get good. We've been building for 3 full seasons - each season getting progressively better. Credit has to be given to our Club (and therefore Coaches, recruiting and fitness guys) and our players (who appear to be committed to a cause) for turning an utter s**t show (2018) into this exciting group of young players (with a sprinkling of experienced blokes) we see before us. The future is exciting and some of us could already see that.
I gotta say, I couldn't see it, but it is exciting.

I feel this is now an exciting period of emergence for us - genuine “organic growth”. The whole team has lifted, and we’re no longer reliant on the few usual suspects. How far we can go this year is quite the unknown, but at least I feel that we’ve built a strong foundation for a serious attempt at contending.

Also, I think team morale is at an all time high since 2017, which is what’s been missing for a big chunk of time over these pandemic years!

Do you remember when Pyke tried to 'bring back the fun" to the game in 2019? In contrast to Rahilly this morning saying the fun was just letting players be themselves - really highlighting the change in culture for me.

I'm impressed by Rahilly.
Future head coach somewhere?
What do you think?

How many times have you argued against valid criticisms?

Hell, there have been posters up to the last weekend defending Dawson playing in defence. I’ve been critical of Nicks coaching because of it.

I was also critical of his chip chip go slow game plan and emptying the forward line, guess what we are not doing now?

So in terms of seeing the light now, fair to say we’ve flicked the switch since Nicks corrected some obvious errors.

Even now some will still try to claim they weren’t errors, despite all the evidence proving otherwise.

I think we can all agree that the first quarter of footy against Carlton was the best quarter we've seen in a VERY long time. 10 scoring shots for 8.2 is amazing. This prompted me to do a bit of scoring shot analysis to see how we are tracking.

So far in 2023 we are averaging 6.85 shots per quarter, and 27.4 per game. And in the last 3 weeks we seem to be coming home with a wet sail, with almost 8 shots on goal per game.

What's really interesting is we've actually had 2 quarters this year where we've had a massive 13 scoring shots.

Round 1 Q1: 13 shots for 4.9
Round 2 Q3: 13 shots for 5.8

I feel like we all know this, but we seem to have the power to break sides in a quarter of powerful footy. Now the boys seem to have put their kicking boots on, we may see more quarters like Thursday night, and less like the above 2

I'm happy with the last 3 results but I recall the previous 2 matches. We need to put the brakes on it. Although the scoring and field play has been exciting we are still a long way off it. A loss to Hawthorn and all will be lost as our run after that game is tough. The recruiting is showing promise. Quality like Rankine and Dawson have been brilliant at a reasonable cost. Gibbs deal still gives me nightmares.
I am not convinced on Nick's.
Even in the previous two matches there were glimpses (first half against GWS, third quarter against Richmond)... we just needed to put it all together, and we have! We will still be inconsistent (we are a team of kids and old farts). Sometimes it will gel, others it won't. But I honestly think we've turned the corner now.

Hope so.

And I’ve seen the people that are critical also give credit where credit is due and some people can’t see that, a lot of the criticism was what was produced in the now, I’ve been around footy long enough to see that

I gotta say, I couldn't see it, but it is exciting.

It was there. After all, we sold the future of the club to players like Rankine and Dawson (and both likely stay put if they think Adelaide has a future of tire spinning). I've been pretty bullish for a while on it seeing it had a coach who seemed able to get everything out of a list, a group playing tough football, and some highly talented players showing signs here and there.

It's ahead of where I had the build, though I I'm mostly just surprised about how effortless it was to add an offensive game (i.e. it's just a case of adding better players), and Dawson being able to transition as an inside midfielder. That probably is a statement on any rebuilding team trying to play/develop an offensive game plan first has got it very wrong, which kind of makes sense looking back. It does seem to breed groups who find ways to lose when it matters, looking at Brisbane/GWS/Port in particular.

It was there. After all, we sold the future of the club to players like Rankine and Dawson (and both likely stay put if they think Adelaide has a future of tire spinning). I've been pretty bullish for a while on it seeing it had a coach who seemed able to get everything out of a list, a group playing tough football, and some highly talented players showing signs here and there.

It's ahead of where I had the build, though I I'm mostly just surprised about how effortless it was to add an offensive game (i.e. it's just a case of adding better players), and Dawson being able to transition as an inside midfielder. That probably is a statement on any rebuilding team trying to play/develop an offensive game plan first has got it very wrong, which kind of makes sense looking back. It does seem to breed groups who find ways to lose when it matters, looking at Brisbane/GWS/Port in particular.
I've been very pleasantly surprised by the improvements shown in the last 3 rounds.
Looking back, yes, there were 'signs' but I tended to disregard them with fading hope crushed by the losses.
I have to admit, I did not see the rebuild happening and I was not impressed by the 'improvement' from 7 to 8 wins 2021/22. I ignored totally the high-scoring wins at the end of last year. I think I was just too despondent to think ahead, not knowing at the time that Rankine was coming nor that Michalanney was on his way and that both would prove so influential.
Hindsight. Always 20/20.
Lots of pieces that looked like outliers (eg Fog's settling :winkv1: into goalkicking beast) didn't even look like pieces, but just "Oh, ok, Fog's coming good, about time", all started to fit. I didn't see it.

Thursday's first 1/4, then their responses to the fightback charges that Carlton made, then the runaway win was their best game since 2017.

Lets see when the players start to tire ....can they defy that fall away of previous seasons

Still a young side ....young talent will still struggle to be 100% on game after game .....you could even see us relax at times against CARL

Definitely on the right path ....definitely the right Coach .....not too many holes in the list, other than a KPD and RUCK

I think Dawson leaving sydney then coming to SA and choosing us over Port was the turning point for the club

Who knows where the journey takes us next but sure to be ups and downs

Absolutely scared re this match up with hawthorn in Tassie this week

I think Dawson leaving sydney then coming to SA and choosing us over Port was the turning point for the club

Who knows where the journey takes us next but sure to be ups and downs

Absolutely scared re this match up with hawthorn in Tassie this week

I thought Sloane staying was the turning point. Next game roosted a 55m goal vs Cats from memory. Nope.

And I’ve seen the people that are critical also give credit where credit is due and some people can’t see that, a lot of the criticism was what was produced in the now, I’ve been around footy long enough to see that
Very rarely, and reluctantly have they given credit when due. But now when faced with overwhelming evidence that things are changing, are they giving out credit. And look, my initial post to George was tongue firmly planted in cheek. It's absolutely terrific to see such positivity out of someone incredibly negative about all things to do with the Club (sometimes justifiable, others not). It makes for a much more pleasant experience in here, that's for sure.

Prediction Will we make finals in 2023? AFL responds with "...not on my watch"