Winner and margin Carlton vs Essendon

There is something to that, having said that if he does what he did in round 3 (Judd), it may be ugly. not a one man band anymore. Shaw went from Jud to Murph last week cos the little number 3 was more damaging, didnt stop Murph and then the Pies had let Judd off the leash as well.

BTW, is it just me or has McVeigh lost some of the spark he had earlier in the year?

You weren't a one man band in round 3 either. Many of your players dominated, including Judd. We don't have a player to totally shut him down. The best result for us would be to do some damage the other way. Spike is the perfect candidate to do this.

You could say that Spike has lost a little spark or you could say that the hamstring injury has interupted his season. I can see him having a big game this Sunday. Don't ask me why.

Will never be able to replace Lloyd, but he des look to have a future.

His biggest problem is he doesn't have the speed over distance to go with his opponent therefore defenders run off him too easily.

This might sound crazy but if i were Knight's i would consider telling him not to chase his man when they run off him. Thaw way if we get a rebound we score a goal. It might seem like a selfish or weak way out but it does more damage than good having Neagle continually bust a gut chasing defenders down the ground when he never has any hope of catching them.

You weren't a one man band in round 3 either. Many of your players dominated, including Judd. We don't have a player to totally shut him down. The best result for us would be to do some damage the other way. Spike is the perfect candidate to do this.

You could say that Spike has lost a little spark or you could say that the hamstring injury has interupted his season. I can see him having a big game this Sunday. Don't ask me why.

Mate if you read the Age today there is a great article on what the team is doing different, the fact is they are playing 18 man footy now, and against every midfield this year(over the last 9 weeks anyway), have basically worn down every other midfeld because of the depth, that is except the bigger teams - Geelong, Brisbane and Adelaide. Even against Brisbane though, they got away to a big lead but we wont the second half and were still working away to the finish.

That to me is where we will win on Sunday. Will grind you down if you manage to stay close.

Still a work in progress, but he TEAM is coming along very nicely.

His biggest problem is he doesn't have the speed over distance to go with his opponent therefore defenders run off him too easily.

This might sound crazy but if i were Knight's i would consider telling him not to chase his man when they run off him. Thaw way if we get a rebound we score a goal. It might seem like a selfish or weak way out but it does more damage than good having Neagle continually bust a gut chasing defenders down the ground when he never has any hope of catching them.

Spot on Jimi, why waste his limited fitness on chasing. We need him in the forward line more than anything else. Some one though would have to pick up his man, cant have a loose man streaming down the middle.

That might sound good in theory mate but if that oppoinent is Waite, then that could really hurt, given how athletic Jarrad is.

If his endurance is a major issue at the moment, is it helping or hindering having him in the team? Jst putting it out there mate, not judging either way.

Mate if you read the Age today there is a great article on what the team is doing different, the fact is they are playing 18 man footy now, and against every midfield this year(over the last 9 weeks anyway), have basically worn down every other midfeld because of the depth, that is except the bigger teams - Geelong, Brisbane and Adelaide. Even against Brisbane though, they got away to a big lead but we wont the second half and were still working away to the finish.

That to me is where we will win on Sunday. Will grind you down if you manage to stay close.

Still a work in progress, but he TEAM is coming along very nicely.

Never doubted it mate, just too many supporters going too far.

You could say that Spike has lost a little spark or you could say that the hamstring injury has interupted his season. I can see him having a big game this Sunday. Don't ask me why.[/quote]

Dont need a reason why mate, we all have opinions.

Never doubted it mate, just too many supporters going too far.

Come on mate, 6 years of pain, and believe me it has been painful, this sort of reaction was always going to happen. I have seen us lose so many times over the last 6 years that losing became expected, whch isnt a nice feeling, esp at $500 a bloody membership.

Here is the thing, yes we cheated, yes we deserved to get whacked, but it is the supporters who have suffered, and they/we less than anyone else at the club had anything all to do with what happened to cause those fines/draft penalties.

Cut those supporters some slack mate, we deserve it I reckon. Most would agree that we still have some way to go if you asked them away from BF.

Come on mate, 6 years of pain, and believe me it has been painful, this sort of reaction was always going to happen. I have seen us lose so many times over the last 6 years that losing became expected, whch isnt a nice feeling, esp at $500 a bloody membership.

Here is the thing, yes we cheated, yes we deserved to get whacked, but it is the supporters who have suffered, and they/we less than anyone else at the club had anything all to do with what happened to cause those fines/draft penalties.

Cut those supporters some slack mate, we deserve it I reckon. Most would agree that we still have some way to go if you asked them away from BF.

My respect for you and your supporters has gone up a notch. :thumbsu:
The suggestions that we have no future and no kids by some of your fans is the reason why i fume.

Should be a good game nevertheless, honestly I expect it to be competitive. I hope we attack the game, becuase if we defend we have no chance. I think Judd has to have some form of tag though. Slattery has done a few jobs before, no idea who else. Is Hislop back..if he is him and Judd could be the go.

Hislop would be a better match up than Slattery, if Slatery goes to CJ at halftime it will be 15-20 stats to about 2 or 3. At least Hislop appears to be able to get the footy. A totally negative tag just doesnt work, he is a magnificent player.

Hocking is the best one but I don't think he is back yet and even if he is, too risky. Hislop is one I'd consider, if nothing else it will be a learning experience. Maybe even give Myers a run with Judd as it is a learning experience.

Mate if you read Parrot's posts then he/she is getting the result that he/she (not sure which one) wants. I stopped reading Parrots posts long ago.

He/she/it's (parrot) is not one I bother reading!

That is exactly right, but i bet if i said it i would of been shot to a million pieces :)

LOL, who cares mate, the thing about fan forums like BF is that everyone is equal, and everyone has an opinion. As long as things dont go too far like the prawn that spat at Fev on Sunday.

Hocking is the best one but I don't think he is back yet and even if he is, too risky. Hislop is one I'd consider, if nothing else it will be a learning experience. Maybe even give Myers a run with Judd as it is a learning experience.

LOL, it sure would be. I always kew Judd was good but I reckon we (Carlton fans) are privelaged to get to see him play every week. If Myers goes to him, my guess is tht he will be watching him all day, well parts of him anyway!

I am all for youngsters getting a go at Judd, rotate it between them. Honestly Judd will get 30 possessions playing on whoever, so I don't see it being negative playing youngsters on him. We are in a rebuild stage.

Youre probably right.

True. Hope it is a good game. I will be watching this game in full (well..depends if it is close enough in the 4th). Hopefully our youngsters get some experience playing on some quality players.

Its just a game pal, every club has knobhead fans!!! :)

Hawthorn just has more of them:cool:

I'm not entirely sure about Jamieson, but speaking to a Carlton supporting mate today, he says that he's a little weak by AFL standards. If that's the case, and Knights plays his cards right, there's the potential for one of Hille/Laycock and Neagle to be one-out with Jamieson in the goalsquare. If that happens, our players will outmuscle him, and kick a few goals, and we'll be a long way towards winning.

you're midfield better than ours? you have 1 big goal kicker, shut him down shut you down. and our midfield>you're midfield, you have Judd and murphy, but thats it, and maybe Stevens if he can shed his fattyness

What are you smoking champ?

I believe these sides are a lot closer than most people suggest but to say your midfield is superior to ours is silly.

Judd, Murphey, Stevens, Bentick, Scotland, Simpson, Gibbs>>>>Standton, Watson, McVeigh, Monfries.....

Carlton by 15 points.

Lloyd to kick 5
Fev 8

Murhpy BOG for Blues
McVeigh BOG for Essenden.

Looking forward to a great game.

Best of luck.