Winner and margin Carlton vs Essendon

Just wondering how many goals that Neagle has kicked this year, and in how many games.

We kept Collingwood to 89 points last week, and I am sorry mate, but didnt they kick 150+ against you guys.

Didak, Medhurst, Cloke and co are significantly more dangerous at this stage, and with a better midfield than the Dons are right now. To win, some of the guys you have mentioned have to play better than eny of them have ever played before...BTW, your call re Monfries on Stevo is an intresting one, he wont have the tank. Would be more likely to go to Murph, but that may still be asking too much. Hasnt he been playing more as a defensive forward than a mid?

Neagle has played 4 games this year for 7 goals (the same number as Scott Lucas) including 3 last week. The kid can play, surely you would give him a couple of games to find his groove? Bookmark this: NEAGLE WILL KICK A MINIMUM OF 5 GOALS AGAINST CARLTON IN ROUND 13 (Disclaimer: Barring rain, injury and poor form! :D).

How do you believe Monfries doesn't have the tank for Stevens? Monfries shut down McLeod. Sort of defensive forward, been moving around a bit, he's had a run in the middle and up forward in that defensive role as you say.

Collingwood played their worst game of the season against the Blues. It'll be the trigger that ignites Collingwood. You can't suggest you're a better side than Collingwood surely???

What are you smoking champ?

I believe these sides are a lot closer than most people suggest but to say your midfield is superior to ours is silly.

Judd, Murphey, Stevens, Bentick, Scotland, Simpson, Gibbs>>>>Standton, Watson, McVeigh, Monfries.....

Carlton by 15 points.

Lloyd to kick 5
Fev 8

Murhpy BOG for Blues
McVeigh BOG for Essenden.

Looking forward to a great game.

Best of luck.
are you serious? Judd=McVeigh>Murphy>Stanton, Watson>Stevens>Monfries>>Bentick, Scotland, Simpson, Gibbs.
Bentick is hopeless, Scotlands a so-called tagger who doesn't care how many possies his opponent gets as long as he gets 25+, Simpson's just crap, and Gibbs will be good in 2-3 years MAYBE.

What are you smoking champ?

I believe these sides are a lot closer than most people suggest but to say your midfield is superior to ours is silly.

Judd, Murphy, Stevens, Bentick, Scotland, Simpson, Gibbs>>>> Watson, McVeigh, Lonergan, Lovett, .....

Carlton by 15 points.

Lloyd to kick 3
Neagle 5
Fev 9

Murhpy BOG for Blues
McVeigh BOG for Essenden.

Looking forward to a great game.

Best of luck.

Changes in bold.

Will Houlihan get a gig? He always tears us up! :D

Stanton hasn't played in the middle for a month, he plays off the half-back.

Please, Bentick, Scotland and Gibbs??? Scotland turns it over more than Watson does and Bentick is shithouse, Gibbs??? You are kidding me aren't you??? Soft as butter!!!

Mate if you read the Age today there is a great article on what the team is doing different, the fact is they are playing 18 man footy now, and against every midfield this year(over the last 9 weeks anyway), have basically worn down every other midfeld because of the depth, that is except the bigger teams - Geelong, Brisbane and Adelaide. Even against Brisbane though, they got away to a big lead but we wont the second half and were still working away to the finish.

That to me is where we will win on Sunday. Will grind you down if you manage to stay close.

Still a work in progress, but he TEAM is coming along very nicely.

I wouldn't mind reading that actually, it sounds like an interesting story. Mate, don't get me wrong, Carlton have shown good improvement this season and even if they only won another 2 games for the season it still would have been a good 'buildong' season for the team.

Also, you don't have to convince me that they will win on Sunday. I tipped the Blues by 29 points in the OP. Cheers.

Neagle has played 4 games this year for 7 goals (the same number as Scott Lucas) including 3 last week. The kid can play, surely you would give him a couple of games to find his groove? Bookmark this: NEAGLE WILL KICK A MINIMUM OF 5 GOALS AGAINST CARLTON IN ROUND 13 (Disclaimer: Barring rain, injury and poor form! :D).

How do you believe Monfries doesn't have the tank for Stevens? Monfries shut down McLeod. Sort of defensive forward, been moving around a bit, he's had a run in the middle and up forward in that defensive role as you say.

Collingwood played their worst game of the season against the Blues. It'll be the trigger that ignites Collingwood. You can't suggest you're a better side than Collingwood surely???

Thanks for validating my point, Stevo doesnt play as a half back mate!

That might sound good in theory mate but if that oppoinent is Waite, then that could really hurt, given how athletic Jarrad is.

If his endurance is a major issue at the moment, is it helping or hindering having him in the team? Jst putting it out there mate, not judging either way.

Definately helping him having him in the team getting some senior games under his belt. He has had two seasons pretty much ruined by injuries and it is imperative that he gets as many games into him as possible even if he is still a bit underdone. The fact is he is contributing to the team and this will keep him in good stead for the future. He would now be gaining the belief that he can make it in the AFL as a FF and a big pre season next season should see him takew it up a notch. In the grand scheme of things it should be of little concern if his opponents run off him on occasions this season. :thumbsu:

Thanks for validating my point, Stevo doesnt play as a half back mate!

Monfries won't take Stevens. I reckon Lonergan will be given that role.

Expect to see Monfries try and shut down your play maker off half back, Scotland.

Sensible talk, you say?

This game, obviously, is going to come down to goals (no shit, Sherlock), and more specifically, where they're coming from. That means, who's got the better backline v forwardline and who's getting the most goals from midfield.

Carlton are, effectively, a one-man band up forward. Sure, Kreuzer, Fisher, Betts etc. will all score a couple, or more every now and then, but effectively, it's Fevola or bust. We will most likely play Ryder on him, with Lovett-Murray and Fletcher zoning off their men (most likely Fisher and Kreuzer if he goes forward respectively) and covering the hole in front of him. That means that supply is going to have to be centimetre perfect. We all know Judd is capable of that, but how sure are we of Murphy, Stevens, Gibbs, Russell, Bentick, Armfield etc. under pressure? Furthermore, it'll be an interesting lesson for Kreuzer if Fletch moves off him as much as I want him to. I think your forward line will produce about 10 goals, most of them from Fev.

At the other end, Essendon has got a lot of options. Anyone of Lloyd, Lucas and Neagle can kick a bag, McPhee, Monfries and hopefully Rama can all kick a couple each. In the past, Waite on Lucas has been draw, and Lloyd has either been beaten (you win the game) or kicked a bag (we win the game) on Setanta or whoever else you put on him. What we saw last week was a forward line structure which had the potential to result in any mismatches in our favour being exploited. We had one key forward in the goalsquare, one about 25 out, directly in front, and one on each flank, about 40 out. These spots were filled by Lloyd, Lucas, McPhee, Neagle and the resting ruckman. If Neagle, Lloyd or Lucas is given a match-up where he is much stronger, he will be plonked in the goalsquare, and isolated. Also, if McPhee is given a short defender, he will be plonked in the goalsquare. This means that, effectively, Carlton has to play 4-5 tall defenders at any one time. If we do what I expect us to do, and rotate the forwards based on match-ups, I'd expect Ratten to counter that by playing his key forwards in positions (not to players), and letting whoever's in the goalsquare have Setanta, whoever's 25 out to have Waite, etc. If you did that, I'd be worried about Lucas and Lloyd playing up the ground a bit on likely 3rd choice, or shorter, defenders. If that happens, we'll win the game. Overall, I think our forward line will kick 13-15, including Monfries who'll be making Scotland accountable.

So that puts us 3-5 goals in front when we come to the midfield.

Clearly your midfield is better than ours. However, with Hille and Laycock, we'll be getting first use of the ball most times. With Welsh and Lonergan in exceptional form in tight, and some of our more piercing kicks (Stanton, Myers, Houli if he plays) I think our midfield should make it 40-60 to even. With Hille, Laycock and McVeigh all known goalkickers, and the rest capable of producing 3-4, I think we have you covered.

Essendon by 20 after a nervous last quarter.

Yep, great summary here, just about spot on i reckon.

Effectively, I see it from our (essendon) point of view as: stop fevola and judd. We need to help out whoever has Fevola in any way they can (zoning off their opponents, sitting the hole etc.) because if he plays well he will kick 8+ against us, he's proven he can do it plenty of times. We gotta get stuck into him early, rough him up and let him know he won't have it easy like he has before.

Judd's just a freak. Best player in the AFL with Franklin in my opinion. Sacrifice someone's game completely to limit his effect on the game, sacrifice a couple of players if it's needed even. If he plays well, murphy, stevens and the rest play well, and we're screwed.

IMO the bombers have the edge in most other areas, especially hille in the ruck and lucas and lloyd in the forward line. Also a matter of limiting midfield clangers.

Should be a great game, think carlton is overrated but still a better side, but reckon bombers will get over the line.:)

Effectively, I see it from our (essendon) point of view as: stop fevola and judd. We need to help out whoever has Fevola in any way they can (zoning off their opponents, sitting the hole etc.) because if he plays well he will kick 8+ against us, he's proven he can do it plenty of times. We gotta get stuck into him early, rough him up and let him know he won't have it easy like he has before.

I hope they do get stuck into him! It only provokes him and makes him determine to get another bag. :thumbsu:

You guys have no one to stop him, chuck Kreuzer/Coke up there as well, and your back line will really struggle.

I have no problems with our backline, they've done sensationally this year.

I still firmly believe the blues can win this by 40+ if they don't get ahead of themselves. Bombers/Blues game is due for a blowout, the last few years have all been close.

Personally, it will come down to the MIDFIELD.

It will have very little to do with the Backline and Forward line this week.

If the midfield of Carlton get the ball near Fevola enough times, the Bombers should have very little chance of beating us. I think Lucas is a little too underdone to be at is dangerous best. Our defense if you look at the stats, is massively improved from other years(Having a dominant midfield surely does help that).

The key for the Bombers is to use their speed (when appropriate) and run some of Carlton's slower players off their feet.

Hille is vitally important, both in the ruck and drifting up forward. If the Bombers can split the midfield 50/50 (which I doubt) then you have a chance of winning. If Murphy, Judd and Stevens get on top of your midfield, it is basically game over.

Some matchups I would like to see are
Stevens -> Myers (huge ask, but I like Myers)
Judd -> McVeigh (He really needs to drift forward and make Judd accountable)
Murphy -> Reimers (Sorry don't watch a heap of bomber games, but I think Reimers is running in the midfield these days)
Bentick -> Watson (Two of the best in and under players for each team, Watson really has to play a BIG role in this game)

I hope it will be closer than expected, with Carlton kicking away in the final quarter.

Ok so i've thought a lot about this match this week. Mainly cause I'm on holidays now and been stuck sick at home so there's nothing better to do.

When i first thought about i thought we (Essendon) were a real chance to win. Coming off a good performance against West Coast, particularly with Lloyd and Hille finding form. Then i realised it was only West Coast; sure a great side last year and a few years before but for a reason I haven't decided on yet, they are nothing like they should be.

Then i think of Carlton and as much as i hate to admit it, they have improved and i start to worry.

I do however think that even with their superior midfield, our forward line is much stronger than their backline. Options with Lloyd, Lucas, Neagle and to a lesser extent McPhee and possibly Lovett and Monfries.

Their forward line of course involves the big Fev. He is in form but i think Paddy will step up. We have all seen his athleticism and skill but i think it is time for him to step up and shutdown Fevola. If he will be an elite backman he needs to claim a big scalp sometime this year. I think if Paddy plays on Fev all night and keeps him to 3 or under you would have to say thats a win to Paddy. With big Mal not playing Ryder should take Fev i reckon. But hey happy to hear what people think about that match-up.

Im hoping for Hille to have another big match and McVeigh and Stanton to step it up in the midfield.

And yes i know it's not ideal for a young team with a game plan they're trying to learn, but i want a shootout just this game...although Fev with only 3:p

Essendon by 25

Ill tip Essendon by a few goals. Would love nothing more than to knock these arrogant pricks off their throne. Spineless club which has no respect. Lloyd to dominate.

It's a shame this isn't round 22. Imagine if we had the chance to beat Carlton to kick them out of the 8 and finals! I mean it's still good to do it at this stage of the season but it would be even sweeter if it was the last round

I don't want to be offensive but personally I think the only thing that will stop us from winning is complacency and unwarranted arrogance. We're a year or two ahead of you in our development imo. Should be a good game between two of the brightest groups of young players in the comp and I look forward to it.

Were you saying this when we just beat you and you had lost your first three games of the season?

This game comes down to whether Carlton come to the game switched on or not. IMHO (and yes it is biased) Carlton have the better cattle on the paddock, if we turn up ready to play we will win, any overconfidence or just not ready mentally and the Dons will get the win.

Either the Dons by 15 or Carlton by 60.

This game comes down to whether Carlton come to the game switched on or not. IMHO (and yes it is biased) Carlton have the better cattle on the paddock, if we turn up ready to play we will win, any overconfidence or just not ready mentally and the Dons will get the win.

Carlton now just needs to be switched on to win games of football.

You sound like a Geelong supporter but atleast they can back it up.

I like the idea of Monfries on Scotland, he has been fantastic in that role in recent weeks.

Welshy should go to either Judd, Stevens or Murphy... I'd like to see the latter personally.

I don't want to be offensive but personally I think the only thing that will stop us from winning is complacency and unwarranted arrogance. We're a year or two ahead of you in our development imo. Should be a good game between two of the brightest groups of young players in the comp and I look forward to it.
are you serious? you thought it was going to happen earlier in the year, when we were 1-1 and you 0-2. Carltank never are complacent against us, and vica-verca, but we always manage to win.

Arrogant lot aren't you blokes? Has the thought Essendon may just lift for this game and despite carlton putting in a good performance Essendon end up winning? I can't believe how confident some of you can be after so many years of being down on the bottom and the fact you have only beaten 1 top 8 team, even we have done that.

Definitely amped up for this one, boys.

I'm gonna say Essendon by 21 points.
Lucas to kick 6, Lloyd to kick 3, Hille to kick 2, and another BOG performance.

GO THE MIGHTY DONS!! :D

Now...
Stanton : Highly skilled midfielder who can shake the weaker tags... Like those placed on him from Brett Ratten.
Nash : Fast, makes good decisions, holds a key position in some of our fast plays.
Jetta : Excitement machine. Period.
Laycock: Extremely good kick, versatile ruckman who can play in many key positions.
Ryder : Future star, huge leap, speed, defensive pressure is improving every week.
Reimers: Firecracker, fires up the entire team with his run.... And boots.
Nathan Lovett-Murray : Very consistent player who always tries his hardest, and very often puts in an effort which stops opposition goals.
Welsh : Blanketed Sam Mitchell. Enough said.
Atkinson : Highly skilled, great build for a footballer, has great vision.
McPhee : All Australian in 2004, good mark, good long kick, strong tackle.
Monfries : Questionable decision-making, but never stops trying, gutsy as anything, great mark.
Watson : If someone tells him to stop handballing, we've got the makings of an absolute star.
Slattery : Daniel Kerr is Henry Slattery's #####. :D

Pretty comprehensive, I say.

u are a nut who is blinded by faith....i will try to put this in english

YOUR

TEAM

IS

REALLY

REALLY

REALLY

BADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

are you serious? you thought it was going to happen earlier in the year, when we were 1-1 and you 0-2. Carltank never are complacent against us, and vica-verca, but we always manage to win.

Mate Essendon are only of the only teams we have beaten consistently over the past 6 years. I picked teh Dons to win in round 3, as I tipped the Tigers to get us in round 1.

BTW, this Carltank thing is getting a bit tedious mate, have a look around there is already one club doing what we did last year and it is only round 13. BTW, that team is WC whom you beat so conviningly :rolleyes: last week minus Braun, Kerr, Fletcher and co, who just happen to be back this week. If they had of played last week, you wouldnt have won mate.

You may win this week, but you wont get 150 points like last time thats for sure, but we still my get 134 like last time when we were going terribly. Your midfield stinks defensively.

Arrogant lot aren't you blokes? Has the thought Essendon may just lift for this game and despite carlton putting in a good performance Essendon end up winning? I can't believe how confident some of you can be after so many years of being down on the bottom and the fact you have only beaten 1 top 8 team, even we have done that.

Is it arrogant to think we are the better team? Most tipsters, in fact pretty much all agree that we are. Sportsbet odds are way in our favour, so how are we arrogant if we think we are going to win?

Mate Essendon are only of the only teams we have beaten consistently over the past 6 years. I picked teh Dons to win in round 3, as I tipped the Tigers to get us in round 1.

BTW, this Carltank thing is getting a bit tedious mate, have a look around there is already one club doing what we did last year and it is only round 13. BTW, that team is WC whom you beat so conviningly :rolleyes: last week minus Braun, Kerr, Fletcher and co, who just happen to be back this week. If they had of played last week, you wouldnt have won mate.

You may win this week, but you wont get 150 points like last time thats for sure, but we still my get 134 like last time when we were going terribly. Your midfield stinks defensively.
Did you watch the game? the 2 who came in for the blokes highlighted put in a better performance than them 2 would have, also the kid who came in for Kerr put in a good solid performance.

Carlton are due for a reality check and hopefully we can deliver it.