WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond

Word around the traps is that JLane wants to return to Braybrook. His missus is in the women's team and he has a lot of friends there.

I heard Bones on the radio say there was already 4 players lined up for next year including his other son (Lachlan?).

West juniors are fairly strong at the moment, but that doesn't always mean a lot in division 1.

Heard the Yarraville Cooks might be going to Rockbank as a package deal, with Brett obviously coaching (that is unless TD gets the job!).

North Footscray may lose one or two players to Rockbank also.

Who would Nth lose and why. Is cougar around again for next year and is Tommo going again or playing super rules for the 6th year in a row lol.

Rockbank are waiting on an answer from TD and if it's no they will then go with the Cooks. You know what it's like you have to go after the best first.

Seriously Lowerson went to Rockbank years ago and took the Innella's and others, they made finals then when the coach finished up so did the players and back to the bottom of the ladder. Wouldn't imagine their location would help much.

Are you playing again Gazza.

Who would Nth lose and why. Is cougar around again for next year and is Tommo going again or playing super rules for the 6th year in a row lol.

Rockbank are waiting on an answer from TD and if it's no they will then go with the Cooks. You know what it's like you have to go after the best first.

Seriously Lowerson went to Rockbank years ago and took the Innella's and others, they made finals then when the coach finished up so did the players and back to the bottom of the ladder. Wouldn't imagine their location would help much.

Are you playing again Gazza.

Am not Gazza, TD but will pass on your regards to the great man.

The Cougar and Thommo are going around again. Thommo is best mates with the coach so had no choice! Will play one or twos depending on form, age and how some of the other blokes come up. Too many old blokes probably cost the reserves in the finals, but it is important that guys hang around as they age.

Cougar will also play where required and wouldn't be suprised if he assists the coaches at a greater capacity this year.

F...k it's not even October and I am already excited about next year. The club has a few players targeted and a couple of young guys coming up. We had two under 18's play in the seniors preliminary final, so hopefully a few of their mates will press for selection.

Won't specifically comment on the Rockbank situation, but heard a few whispers on the weekend that we may lose a couple.

The Steven Vinning is about 23 or 24 and bro is 26-27 and if steve is playin ones you guys will be struggling havent seen his bro play

yeah think steve and paul would be in and out the 1s but his bro david was a good player for seddon along side leigh thomas who eah td played as seddon also. would be 2 very hand div 2 players but stil abit befor we can get them signed!! hahahaha not even in the country 1 of them

hey boys. just thought i would stop by and ask a couple of questions as i was in the EDFL this year..

who is coming down from 1t div and what are they like ?? any noticable retirements this season ?? who are the frontrunners for 08 ??

i would ask if the umpiring was any better but that is a stupid question as every inbred kid that got bashed at school ended up umpiring div 2 in the wrfl..

Easy champ now you have won the flag realistically how many of your senior grand final side are up to A1 footy. Interested to hear your response besides well known players you have a fair few unknown heads to me. Of the ones I know I would say these ones are not MJ, Innella, Lane - all fitness. Evans on the edge there also, J Lane - committment, Geddes, De ambrosio, Oldfield - age. Just a discussion nothing else.[/quote]

Now only hear say from what i've heard:

Innella, Lane, Geddes, Manye, De ambrosio, MJ retired or 2nd divvy

Oldfield is getting on but will be back and will be a good experience backman, if he does a preseason

Evans, getting on also but has not completed a preseason since 2004 (last season a seddon), which has obviously been seen by performances. If he finally gets one under his belt, will be valuble

J Lane unsure, heard rumors will head to Braybrook (good coach down there) but has spoken to We$t about having a real good crack at divvy 1

Lachlan McGee, heard has signed on with 4 others

Out of the 21 starting in the divvy 2 GF, slappa, mcgee, evans, oldfield, J lane, ziggy, henry, grixti, simo, webby, innella (if fit) will all be capable of playing divvy 1 (sorry if i missed anyone, there maybe more but these are off the top of my head!)

Easy champ now you have won the flag realistically how many of your senior grand final side are up to A1 footy. Interested to hear your response besides well known players you have a fair few unknown heads to me. Of the ones I know I would say these ones are not MJ, Innella, Lane - all fitness. Evans on the edge there also, J Lane - committment, Geddes, De ambrosio, Oldfield - age. Just a discussion nothing else.

Oldfield is getting on but will be back and will be a good experience backman, if he does a preseason

Evans, getting on also but has not completed a preseason since 2004 (last season a seddon), which has obviously been seen by performances. If he finally gets one under his belt, will be valuble

J Lane unsure, heard rumors will head to Braybrook (good coach down there) but has spoken to We$t about having a real good crack at divvy 1

Out of the 21 starting in the divvy 2 GF, slappa, mcgee, evans, oldfield, J lane, ziggy, henry, grixti, simo, webby, innella (if fit) will all be capable of playing divvy 1 (sorry if i missed anyone, there maybe more but these are off the top of my head!)[/quote]

Apart from the 4 from SA and Lachlan McGhee I believe West's are also making approaches to players named in the Div 2 team of the Year

Out of the 21 starting in the divvy 2 GF, slappa, mcgee, evans, oldfield, J lane, ziggy, henry, grixti, simo, webby, innella (if fit) will all be capable of playing divvy 1 (sorry if i missed anyone, there maybe more but these are off the top of my head!)

Apart from the 4 from SA and Lachlan McGhee I believe West's are also making approaches to players named in the Div 2 team of the Year[/quote]

From what i know, We$t know what they are getting themselves into by going up to divvy 1 and know what is required to be competitive, and from the grape vine they are leaving no stone unturned to try and become the first team ever to go up from divvy 2 and play finals in divvy 1. Good Luck to them too:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Can confirm that MJ and louie will play on next year, they ar eboth looking for new clubs.

Heard laverton have approached wests assistant "larry", to do some recruiting for them for next year, word around they have a bit of money to spend

power house i wouldnt call it but we were competitive to say the least.....

lets not forget we have been in 2 out of the last 5 grand finals in div 2......so things are ok........i think anyway....

now as for why......1 reason i can think of is the jnrs........from 99 to 06 we have had 1 u/18 team which was a mixture of deer park and albion players and that was in 03 so for all these years we havnt been getting the kids coming through to play in the seniors let alone the ressies....we had 18's this year which is great some good players that played both snrs and ressies after the 18's which is a big ask of them...... they did it the club will benefit as will the players.......next year we will have 18's and the year after and the year after that so we will get these kids coming through playing some sort of role in the club.........to me that is the key for having success.........

you think about it and the team we had in the 90's will be back playing their role at the club to get it back where we should be...........as we all know its not an easy process but the kids need to be the main focus of re-building the club..........just look how heights have done this year jnr players playing snrs......im sure nth foots would be in the same boat......you could throw albanvale in there as well......

i was in the jnrs in the mid to late 90's maybe we played in the same team.........

just to back you up with the amount of players coming up next year is 8. All are looking forward to playing with the seniors and ressies. Looking forward to hopefully playing a few games in the seniors.

just off the grape vine...........

if you havnt been on the wrfl website.............

over pre-season before christmas and after january to febuary my good mate ROHAN SMITH the afl 300 gamer from the western bulldogs is holding coaching clinics from jnrs u/10 to senr players.......a good chrissy preasent for the kids also a good learning curve for them aswell.........it goes over every thing from running drills to diets....its a 10 week course and looks the goods......all clubs will be recieving the flyers........so get in and have a grack at it......or get on the wrfl website and have a sneak peak..........as numbers are getting bigger by the day............my jnrs are already booked in.....

cheers weapons......

wot about grixti he is another that seems to win flags at clubs go up to 1st division with them only to find him back playing div 2 with another club. we would have played at at least 3 clubs in the past 5 years???

hey weapons is deer park getting new clubrooms and lights and if yes when, and have heard there spending a bit of cash next year, are the lakers boys stickin around and will youse chase a few west boys

yes 1.4 million suposed to start at the begining of november new cricket nets being erected at the moment.......we will be in by the start of next footy season.....thats what they recon....they gotta start first.....lol....im not holding my breath we all know what the brimbank council are like......we do have some cash and why not spend a little...my opinion is to get the kids from the 18's up in the seniors and see how they go....got the agm comming up in a couple of weeks will know more then...........boys from lakes havnt herd much about them id hope they stay cause they have been great for the club......more importantly they are great blokes....why would we chase blokes from west??????

who else thinks the best in the comp was a joke? sorry to the bloke if he gets on here but didnt think he got a kick against us and plays for a team that would have won about 4 games!! whats peoples thoughts?

i picked him to win it........if it wasnt for all the bagging on the other thread i could show you guys.......anyway......can any 1 confirm my tip.....if not i know i did and thats all that maters....

true he played in a crappy team.....i watched him against d/p and i tell you what he would have got the votes that day........on many ocasions he kicked in from full back and then got it back by the 1/2 back,wing area and ran the ball through the middle with a bit of dash and got it into their f/ward line..to an umpire this stuff stands out... honestly i seen this 4 or 5 times in the first half.........plays with dash gets a lot of possies a worthy winner in my opinion......no doubt not the best player in the comp theres probably 10 players in the comp better than him......he is the best this year.....simple as that......

Here are all the winners from Friday night.

2007 Personality of the Year Robert McGhie (West Footscray)
2007 Media Person of the Year Adam Lux
Lindsay Patching Administrator of the Year Pam Snow (Port Melbourne Colts)
Umpires of the Year Brett Cryer (Field) Leigh Rowbottom ( Boundary) & Graeme Hodgart (Goal)
WRFL Woman of the Year Jan Schwartz (Sunshine)
2007 Wilson Security Club of the Year North Footscray
2007 Rookie of the Year Troy Kelm (Albion)
Division 1 Reserves B& F Dean Coleman (Spotswood)
Division 2 Reserves B& F Michael Dolny (Albanvale)
Under 18 B B&F Mark Dorricott (Hoppers Crossing)
Under 18 A B&F Maddison Hardiamn (Altona)
2007 Andrew Gibson Medal Mark Keenan (Spotswood)
Goalkicking Division 2 Robert Greto ( Sunshine Heights)
Under 18 A Scott Bell (Altona)
Under 18 B Sam Thurston (West Footscray)

Russell Douglas from Sunshine wins the 2007 Barry Priest Medal

2007 Alan Smith Medallist is Lee Braun of Braybrook.

well done to all winners.

hey karim is dolny = sticks?

anybody heard any coaching changes at the moment i know bomber will be going around again but our reserves will have a new coach next year.

and any word about when preseasons will be starting?

anybody heard any coaching changes at the moment i know bomber will be going around again but our reserves will have a new coach next year.

yup thats sticks........

jamie madigan to coach deer park.........

pre season starts november 6th.......

dipper won the deer park b&f
skippy won the magoos

yep thats him mate, he is a good player.. lee braun is a gun as well good on him for wining it, suprised chicky finished 4th (should have been higher if u ask me) and that dude from wyndnvale didnt even finish top 10:confused: