MRP / Trib. Tom Stewart bump on Prestia - 4 weeks to freshen up

Just heard on the 11 o click news the AFL are looking at not counting the goal that was kicked while Prestia lay injured as the game should not of continued while he was knocked could loose four points

Can't tackle a bloke who hasn't got the ball knock his head off was his only option

Will they go back and adjust the results of every other game where a player has been injured or hobbling off and an opposition has kicked a goal too?

Just heard on the 11 o click news the AFL are looking at not counting the goal that was kicked while Prestia lay injured as the game should not of continued while he was knocked could loose four points

Can't tackle a bloke who hasn't got the ball knock his head off was his only option
Loose 4 points?

It was a little tighter than that but not by much.

That's a beyond stupid idea. Teams are indirectly penalised for umpiring (non)decisions all the time but retrospectively re-writing results after the game is done sets a phenomenal precendent ripe for abuse.

Is this the first time Stewart been to the tribunal ?.

David King the flog calling for a 6 week suspension.

Tigers supporters seem to have a short memory, Cotchin's bump on Dylan Shiel.
For the millionth time on big footy
Cotchin’s bump did not concuss Shiel - it stuffed his shoulder
Sheil was concussed a couple of minutes later in a clash with Astburry

Regardless, irrelivent to yesterdays events.

Hope Stewart is ok

Hope you are all hoping Dion is ok

I just watched the news. They've also decided to review Close's goal that was given a point and they're adding 5 points to Geelong's score.

Unfortunately for you the result stays the same.

I just heard on the 11.30 news, The AFL are looking at not counting the goal Collingwood kicked in the 2011 grand final when James Podsiadly injured his shoulder.

Due to Astburry

And also, did not realise Shiel or Cotchin played yesterday???
Go outside and breathe in some fresh air ... Unless of course you live in Richmond then ignore that and go for a drive instead.

Thanks for your advice.
It’s just I’m really upset at losing one of our best players, arguably our best midfielder for a minimum of 1 & 3/4 games at a real important time of the season.

Thanks for your advice.
It’s just I’m really upset at losing one of our best players, arguably our best midfielder for a minimum of 1 & 3/4 games at a real important time of the season.
It's a game. If you're still melting this long afterwards it's time to do something different with your life.

Thanks for your advice.
Dangerously close to 9th…all is well

Attachments

• 1974271C-06C1-4B28-ADCE-8CA3541C63E5.png
    1974271C-06C1-4B28-ADCE-8CA3541C63E5.png
    112.6 KB · Views: 41

Hold on for a moment why are we all being such nice guys saying he should get 4 weeks?? I have seen players raise their elbows and shoulders before making head contact that do not even get 4 weeks, why should his which was a perfectly executed bump that contacted high be deemed 4 weeks?? 2-3 based off the fact there is no raising of the elbow/shoulder which I usually a give away that the player is intending to hit as opposed to bump

It’s going to be very interesting to see we go without him. On the bright side, at least he’ll be back for finals. I think he’ll get 4 weeks (3 weeks absolute best case scanario).

Thanks for your advice.

I agree that it sucks but that’s a part of sport and it’s something we have to learn to deal with.

Geelong are without Danger for about a month now, had missed Henry all season, shit we lost Ablett Jr in a GF. It happens.

Not going to question Stewart's character, that's not needed? but to say it wasn't intentional is garbage he lined him up, the problem is he excuted it poorly, as for length of time for supension no point speculating as the tribunal decidions are like chook lotto.

Hold on for a moment why are we all being such nice guys saying he should get 4 weeks?? I have seen players raise their elbows and shoulders before making head contact that do not even get 4 weeks, why should his which was a perfectly executed bump that contacted high be deemed 4 weeks?? 2-3 based off the fact there is no raising of the elbow/shoulder which I usually a give away that the player is intending to hit as opposed to bump

The fact that Prestia was assisted from the ground & subbed out with concussion would indicate that it wasn't a perfectly executed bump - hence why he's likely looking at a 3 or 4 week suspension

A perfectly executed bump doesn't connect with an opponents head, taking them out of the game - if you want an example of a perfectly executed bump, have a look at Stewart's bump in our clash with Adelaide

Not going to question Stewart's character, that's not needed? but to say it wasn't intentional is garbage he lined him up, the problem is he excuted it poorly, as for length of time for supension no point speculating as the tribunal decidions are like chook lotto.

He intentionally elected to bump, sure. He didn’t intentionally bump to knock him out though.

The MRP probably should have another term for that. Because punching someone should be intentional not electing to bump.

The question is - what does the 'intention' refer to - the intention to bump or the intention to hurt? If a player intends to bump, which is a legal act, but executes it poorly - then that is careless. But if a player intends to injure (eg the hit that broke Brayshaw's jaw) then that is clearly intentional and not careless. I don't think anyone believes that Stewart intended to injure Prestia. It was a football act, a split-second decision and careless. But he will probably get 3-4 weeks because of all the media uproar and everyone blindly being influenced by it.

In this context the intent is about the act: he intended to bump.

The consequence and where contact was made is judged separately, that’s the impact and then whether it was body or high.

So it will clearly be at least intentional, high (above the shoulders) and high (as in significant). It’s only a question of whether the impact is graded as severe instead of high.

Stewie isn't a dirty player, but he should be pretty embarrassed about that effort. He will cop his rightful whack.
You need to show some care if you choose to bump and that was just clumsy and careless.
No winners here

The fact that Prestia was assisted from the ground & subbed out with concussion would indicate that it wasn't a perfectly executed bump - hence why he's likely looking at a 3 or 4 week suspension

A perfectly executed bump doesn't connect with an opponents head, taking them out of the game - if you want an example of a perfectly executed bump, have a look at Stewart's bump in our clash with Adelaide
It was perfect technique just caught him high. Not a difficult thing to occur given the game moves in the blink of an eye. A little bit lower and was perfect. No raised elbow or shoulder which we have seen get given 2-3 weeks when it is intentional to hit in the head, Stewart’s bump was not intended to hit his head.

Should be graded less weeks than we have seen so far for the raised elbow hits to the head in 2022 if your going to be consistent.