Game Day 2022 AFL Grand Final Geelong vs Sydney

I didn't mean drafting, I mean playing them in the team
Dawson, Hinge, Soligo, Parnell? Tex, Fog, Rachele all elite kicks. We are clearly prioritizing these type of players now, with guys like Taylor and Pedlar pushing for AFL games next season. Schoenberg is normally a good kick, hopefully rebounds next year.

We dont hear much said about John Longmire but he has to be up there as one of the best coaches. Always produces a more than competitive side.

The crazy thing is that on the Swans board they often complain about him and want him gone 😳

Jake Lever looks like a **** en flog with that hairdo and moustache

It's interesting that Melbourne no longer seem to have that extra gear now that Burgess is gone.

It could be Burgess, it could be a bit of arrogance. Just expecting it to happen for them. It could also be players no longer really hungry for success they’ve already had.

Swans won’t be losing prelim
Will play either Collingwood, Geelong, Freo or Bulldogs
You’d say Geelong could beat them, but fair to say they won’t be winning at SCG if they lose to Pies tomorrow
Imagine a Sydney v Collingwood grand final.

Who would have picked that...

Dawson, Hinge, Soligo, Parnell? Tex, Fog, Rachele all elite kicks. We are clearly prioritizing these type of players now, with guys like Taylor and Pedlar pushing for AFL games next season. Schoenberg is normally a good kick, hopefully rebounds next year.

We gave full seasons to McHenry and Murphy while guys like Cook and Taylor played heaps of SANFL. Sholl out of favor, playing Dawson where his skills have the least benefit, Worrell could barely get a game...

Sorry I know this has probably been covered somewhere but presuming Geelong and Freo win, what would next week's matches be?
From AFL site Finals

finals-2022-c-jpg.1497761

We gave full seasons to McHenry and Murphy while guys like Cook and Taylor played heaps of SANFL. Sholl out of favor, playing Dawson where his skills have the least benefit, Worrell could barely get a game...
Sholl needs to study a guy like Jake Lloyd whose carved out a very good career with a very similar skill set and physical profile. Does Sholl lack toughness or ability to win contested ball compared to him - if not what’s Sholl not doing that Lloyd is.

I've been critical of our club for years about not prioritising skilled players, but the last two years it's not really an argument.

Sure you can find a few players that still aren't great, but we've recently been drafting and trading for skilled players (and mostly playing them). Add Rankine to the list.

Sholl needs to study a guy like Jake Lloyd whose carved out a very good career with a very similar skill set and physical profile. Does Sholl lack toughness or ability to win contested ball compared to him - if not what’s Sholl not doing that Lloyd is.

I’d like to know the answer to this …?

Huge win for the Swans who would be confident going all the way given their record at the G. Sadly, Melbourne vs Brisbane will be an absolute fizzer.
Brisbane have been strangled by expectation the last three finals series. Nearly again last night. Haven't been able to cope with favouritism or home crowd expectation at all.

I think they'll be freed up this week. Away from home, underdogs, Melb staring down the barrel of a straight sets exit.

The handbrake is off

This is a legitimate take. My current thinking though, heavily influenced by being back in Rads last weekend and sneaking in to see the Bs seriously deliver against Norwood, is the development of the juniors is considered, deliberate and on track. Sholl is hard to understand but maybe his planned (?) departure for the first time (refer history ++) influenced selection. But otherwise, to see Pedlar and Taylor absolutely tear it up was a pure joy.

As an aside, btw, Billy F completely dominated across HB again and his middle finger salute to the Norwood fans was so good. The seniors sat nearby and Thilthy led the chorus for enjoying the moment. (He seriously is the best Crow loving Crow I’ve ever seen. He is the best). That guy Billy F could be anything, or nothing, I have no idea!

Stephens has such a lovely kick. Dawson quality.
I thought Stephens was a Crow like recruiting bust for Sydney, but he's developed enormously the past few months. Doubt he'll be coming home to us now.

I wonder how Dawson is feeling, would have been cutting it up on a wing there last night. Gee his Mum's cooking needs to be extra special to balance out not being with Sydney this season, they really look like they could go all the way now, certainly to the big dance you'd reckon.

and we complained about it all season but Nicks stuck to his busy hackers!

Enjoyed the Syd win. Don’t have any hate toward them atm. They are a good honest side. Don’t mind Collingwood either. Bris just seem to lack balls, and freo is a bit of an ‘out of site out of mind’ team for me.

Glad Melb lost, but, Cats getting eliminated is priority no.1.

Would enjoy dogs beating freo then knocking Geel out in straight sets.

Game Day 2022 AFL Grand Final Geelong vs Sydney