List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

The question that keeps popping into my head is with this jacob Hopper interest is why not also be talking to Josh Dunkley

Im thinking their salary demands would only be $100k-$150k apart and Josh Dunkley imo is a better player due to the fact he can play multiple positions and roles

FYI I spoke to my mate who is a recruiter for another club. He said he spoke to a gws recruiter on Sunday and they discussed which early picks gws would have. They said they have pick 3 and will also have our first pick so it sounds like pick 12 is definitely on the table for Taranto.

I was hoping we'd use a future 1st....

The question that keeps popping into my head is with this jacob Hopper interest is why not also be talking to Josh Dunkley

Im thinking their salary demands would only be $100k-$150k apart and Josh Dunkley imo is a better player due to the fact he can play multiple positions and roles

Probably a mixture of that extra 100-150k and more draft capital to make it work. Plus we don’t need Hopper to play other positions we have plenty of players everywhere but KPF and inside mid.

We have to be looking to trade in a key forward in the next 12-24 months so I’m guessing it’s all part of that plan.

Is Gold coasts king out of contract this year, I remember he only signed a 2 year deal and they were raving about warding off interest ? Also I think if we get both hopper and Taranto there might be a scenario where by the end of the year Cotchin isn't in the best 22 similar to Edwards

I Agree Samson will be better than Soldo and i think it will be not far off and possibly next year

Soldo offered nothing in 2022 imo and with another preseason for Ryan and with his agility and leap i would rather have Ryan on the list in 23 than Soldo

Nank & Ryan combination is better than Nank & Soldo
Ryan will be 22 next year and undoubtedly stronger and will train for the primary role over the preseason if Soldo was traded

* Not to mention that Nank is a very durable Ruckman and rarely injured apart from that Syndesmosis he had

Soldo just cane back this off a knee. He was actually our favoured number 1 ruck in 2019 and 2020 as nank was dropped a few times.

Whats was surpising was nank was named captain in 2022 therefore the number 1 ruck. Soldo must have been disheartened by that with the lack of go this year as sole number 1.

I reckon with a full preseason Soldo can potentially get back to his 2019/2020 form. He is better ruck going forward. Even though nank is captain i would move him on first. Then potentially have a soldo/ryan combo in the future.

I dont think we would have the trade capital for Dunkley after trading for Taranto.

To all those who ridiculed me when I said Soldo should perhaps look elsewhere and was a player we could use in a trade … now that’s being touted as a possibility on ‘On the couch’ …. I accept your apology. ( of course it may not happen but it’s clearly a live option).

you could fit a small house into the fairlane boots
P7644Gall.jpg

Soldo just cane back this off a knee. He was actually our favoured number 1 ruck in 2019 and 2020 as nank was dropped a few times.

Whats was surpising was nank was named captain in 2022 therefore the number 1 ruck. Soldo must have been disheartened by that with the lack of go this year as sole number 1.

I reckon with a full preseason Soldo can potentially get back to his 2019/2020 form. He is better ruck going forward. Even though nank is captain i would move him on first. Then potentially have a soldo/ryan combo in the future.

Gave Soldo a chance though to find a position for himself that wasnt ruck so that he could be of value to us without needing to be No 1 ruck. Unfortunately he didnt grab that.

I agree that perhaps a new season with the knee reco well and truly behind him is what he needs. I hope so as I feel as though we are vulnerable as soon as Nank is out injured. Miller has been a great story for us this year.

Chris Scott certainly wasn't happy with Dimma when he saw him today:

20220906_001644.gif

Neither Miller or Ryan are number 1 rucks at AFL level and Colina is barely VFL level but sure lets trade out Soldo and bring in a journeyman ruck to replace him.

Soldo was pretty woeful this season. I’m happy to accept he’ll be better next year coming off his ACL, but it’s not like we’d be losing a quality #1 ruck. If Nank is fit he won’t get a game … surely he’s keen to play senior footy.

2019/2020 soldo is better than 2022 nank.

It's good we are finally addressing our biggest weakness.
If we get those two , we should draft the best young key fwd to replace jack in two years time

Wonder who will be paid more hopper or taranto maybe hopper back ended contract

Watch the melts when we give up this years 1st and 2nd round pick (19) and also our 1st round next year for Hopper and Taranto then get a future 2nd round pick for Soldo 🤣

Means we will get Taranto and Hopper and still have our 2nd round pick this year but also have two 2nd round picks next year.

I have no issue with Soldo being traded or asking for a trade and he will 100% be surplus to our needs in 12 months time , He will be 27 in aprile and lets face it has not really made a killing at AFL football and will eventually leave as a free agent at the end of 2024 if he remains as a backup. Dont think we should hold him back if he has a chance to become #1 ruck and earn $400k-$500k for the next 5 years

Watch the melts when we give up this years 1st and 2nd round pick (19) and also our 1st round next year for Hopper and Taranto then get a 2nd round pick next year for Soldo 🤣

Means we will get Taranto and Hopper and still have our 2nd round pick this year but also have two 2nd round picks next year.
I will throw in Aarts & Castagna as the steak knives
Thats also a saving of $850k ;)