Rumour GFC 2023 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists Pt1

As we are now getting into the season and we are starting to get a bit more serious with discussion, seems a suitable time to post the following as it's repeatedly shown itself to be a value reference tool in trade & draft discussion

And as per normal, thanks to Lore for putting this together - always a fantastic reference tool

And yes this post is now stickied - makes it easy to keep track of (can easily reverse this though if needed)

Question is was that because of the foot injury he carried (which has now been operated on) or is his body almost done? I also think mentally he might enjoy it a lot less without joel there and thus i reckon this will be his last year (hence we need to retain neale).
What is your affinity for Neale based on? Just asking, as I have rarely seen him. Is he just a tall to help share the load for JC, or is there something there?

He won't. Have heard from a very reliable source that he struggled big time recovering from matches this year. Will have to be heavily managed next year. Won't be physically capable of going again in 2024 and he knows it.
Probably not a bad thing in my book. At Tom's age he has served the club well and is a triple premiership player and has been our leading goal kicker for some time now. The Cats seriously need to look to develop another KPF to replace him.

What is your affinity for Neale based on? Just asking, as I have rarely seen him. Is he just a tall to help share the load for JC, or is there something there?
From what I have seen, I think that there is something there. He is a nice kick and is very mobile for a 202cm bloke.
He still has a lot to learn about forward craft, but I think that he looks to me more like a KPF than a ruck.

From what I have seen, I think that there is something there. He is a nice kick and is very mobile for a 202cm bloke.
He still has a lot to learn about forward craft, but I think that he looks to me more like a KPF than a ruck.
He is an excellent kick. Converts limited chances. Delivery at the top level is far better than at VFL level.

Just needs to get the ball in AFL when his chance comes. 2023 will be interesting.

He will only miss the first few rounds. But it will create chances for neale and also ollie henry.

I think its likely all of hawk sav and rohan wont be on our list in 2024 so hopefully neale can see a path for him to be the 2nd kpf in 2024 and he signs on.
I think Neale has earned the first three or four games next year ( if Hawkins is unavailable ). He has done his homework. He, as things stands is the FF in waiting. Scotty might have other ideas but that's where I would start.

Neale should play in place of Hawk for the first 6 weeks or so (just give the position to him carte blanche no dropping).

Sav should get the same opportunity down back in place of Kolo. Six weeks, it's yours to lose.

Neale should play in place of Hawk for the first 6 weeks or so (just give the position to him carte blanche no dropping).

Sav should get the same opportunity down back in place of Kolo. Six weeks, it's yours to lose.
Why we dropping Kolo in his peak years? Is he injured or something?

He was brilliant in the Finals series. Top notch level he played, and in his prime years.

Big kid... 202.. moves really well for abloke that size and good below his knees and is athletic when ball not in hand.
Lead marking is good... not great.. pack marking needs work IMO.
Beautiful kicking style and effective from set shots from 55 easily.
Could be our "King Brother" given the time and chances to develop more.
Good footy brain and reads the game well.

Need to continue to build body and fitness and develop further. Hes not gonna come in and be Tomma mk2.
But I reckon there is enough to work with and he's worked hard on fitness in WA this offseason. Seems content in Geelong lifestyle and given a few years he could be really good for us - much like the King's have had years to develop in GCS and StK.

GO Catters

Big kid... 202.. moves really well for abloke that size and good below his knees and is athletic when ball not in hand.
Lead marking is good... not great.. pack marking needs work IMO.
Beautiful kicking style and effective from set shots from 55 easily.
Could be our "King Brother" given the time and chances to develop more.
Good footy brain and reads the game well.

Need to continue to build body and fitness and develop further. Hes not gonna come in and be Tomma mk2.
But I reckon there is enough to work with and he's worked hard on fitness in WA this offseason. Seems content in Geelong lifestyle and given a few years he could be really good for us - much like the King's have had years to develop in GCS and StK.

GO Catters
That's it he has all the tools, but still very raw 3 or 4 years before we see his best

I think it's just experience though. He's quick, agile, can clunk marks, beautiful kicking action. The only gap is learning tricks in the seniors now and he has Cameron and Hawkins to teach him. Once Hawkins is gone he'll still have Cameron to shelter him from unreasonable expectations. It may never come but I am genuinely excited.

I mean what i saw in 2020 was better than vanilla and if we hadnt bottled the GF he would be a premiership player now. But his best footy was played under the old gameplan, we have no idea if the new gameplan suits his skillset or not (as he hasnt played much since) and we no doubt have far better depth and competition for spots now than we did in 2020. So this year is make or break for him and for the mids/fwds we have heaps of options

I dont think we are far from each other but he is going to have to do something to climb over several others to get into the side. More comp now and few others that would appear to be better options for the 2022 style. ... but as I said..it only takes one game and minds can be changed.

I think it's just experience though. He's quick, agile, can clunk marks, beautiful kicking action. The only gap is learning tricks in the seniors now and he has Cameron and Hawkins to teach him. Once Hawkins is gone he'll still have Cameron to shelter him from unreasonable expectations. It may never come but I am genuinely excited.
The thing is he needs games, and we can not just give him games like the King brothers got, if Hawkins goes on in 2024 that will hold Neale back even more

Bolded ain't going to happen Scott will be looking for early wins to set up the season for a crack at back to back I'm fine with Neal rd1 but he will be expected to contribute to stay in, not fussed at all on Sav over (Kolo the magnificent) on finals form.

The thing is he needs games, and we can not just give him games like the King brothers got, if Hawkins goes on in 2024 that will hold Neale back even more

I think next year is hawkins last.
Sav is now a defender and probably leaves next year so realistically the 2nd kpf spot is wide open for neale from 2024 onwards.

The big one for me - and we wont know until next year - is the hunger of the players

Geel in that GF - the hunger Geel played with - basically no one would have beaten them

What will happen in season 23 - will Geel just continue onwards - like Brian Taylor said in the call of the GF - Geel have been clearly the best and most consistent side of the past 2 decades - and they have - flags and stacks of games won

But will some of that hunger dissappear in season 23 - like the last 2 times Geel have been absolutely humiliated in a PF - they have bounced back and won the flag the following year

Melb in 21 was similar to Geel in 22 - played with great hunger - and basically nothing was going to stop them - but Melb in the 2nd half of 22 - that dissappeared - and they looked an ordinary unit

The big one for me - and we wont know until next year - is the hunger of the players

Geel in that GF - the hunger Geel played with - basically no one would have beaten them

What will happen in season 23 - will Geel just continue onwards - like Brian Taylor said in the call of the GF - Geel have been clearly the best and most consistent side of the past 2 decades - and they have - flags and stacks of games won

But will some of that hunger dissappear in season 23 - like the last 2 times Geel have been absolutely humiliated in a PF - they have bounced back and won the flag the following year

Melb in 21 was similar to Geel in 22 - played with great hunger - and basically nothing was going to stop them - but Melb in the 2nd half of 22 - that dissappeared - and they looked an ordinary unit

I do agree hunger is a big thing, and with the older guys it could go one of two ways. Either the guys like danger rohan stanley etc who have been chasing the flag for years and finally got it either they become content and coast (not on purpose but subconsciously) or they become driven by how good it felt to win a flag and knowing they only have 1-2 years left they are even more motivated to get another.

The good news is guys like bowes henry bruhn (plus guys like holmes and menegola who were very unlucky to miss out) who have come from clubs where they have had no success, they will be desperate to play well to 1) nail a regular spot and 2) win finals and a GF so they will hopefully push the rest of the group along with them.

AS other have said ..I think he has enough of the right tools to make it... its just if he can apply them. Its sort of a Stanley type situation... one looks at him and he has so much going for him.. yet its taken a long time, a lot of games and two clubs for him to finally reach ..probably his best .

My question on Neal is how he cope with the hurdy gurdy of the seniors..and for that to be answered we need to see him at the top level in 23 and on. Is competitive enough , agressive enough etc... but on running and jumping and marking and kicking has the the tools to make it.

When one looks the eye of the tiger conudrum at geelong..,. just how much has been Joel , just how much they all just become used to just doing it the right way etc. In the history of footy ...has there been many side that have gone for 18 years like we have since 2004? Its almost like they have arrived at a spot where even winning the GF is not some sort of belt loosening moment. but it more just an extra week or two more than what we have done for near two decades.

Imo, the maturity of our list probably indicates that we do not yoyo like Melb .... as long as we physically fit ..and all players are prime like this year ..then I do not expect to see a 2006 type season...Then we add fresh faces, along with that there are probably some like Danger who may be released from the pressure of the monkey but still have the desire to have more than just one tick in the book

We have a legit chance of back to back... as well as a legit chance of finishing 4 to 6 spots worse. Id be very surprised if we do a Melb and miss finals.