Autopsy Round 3, 2023: St.Kilda v Essendon *150 YEARS OF THE SAINTS*

I was in the same bay.

I was getting pissed off at the Essendon supporters in the standing bay though. On reflection I shouldn't have got as worked up over it.

Those ones chanting up the back?

Probably due to our inability to look at any other option. I feel like this period might be a blessing in disguise. We don’t trust anyone else when he’s there. This shows them that a spread of goals is better. When King plays we lose if he has the yips otherwise.
Overall it looks to have been a huge blessing in disguise, for multiple reasons. Not the least of which is that without all these injuries we almost certainly would have Hanmer, and he is incredibly promising.

He has so many things in common with Max. Same skinny build. Similarly very quick. Marks the ball strongly at the highest point. Played midfield in the juniors until he had a big growth spurt, which means he has moves in traffic and hands that most guys his height don’t have. Super-competitive in marking contests…

So looking forward to seeing the two of them playing together going forward and then we could have the marking power of Skunk, Owens and Pou up there with them as well.

pjTyIe7.gif

How far do we think Gresham can genuinely kick a drop punt? 45 metres absolute max? Probably less, like 35-40 comfortably without having to really sink his boot into it.

To be fair to Cordy, RTB wanted to go a different way so subbed him out.

Not sure what fair has to do with it.

A key we edge we have over other teams is our run and pace and RTB wanted to take advantage of that by increasing it. Hence Cordy who is one of our worst runners, if not the worst, was subbed off.

Essendon had gotten top in the clearances and so maximising our run was a way of wrestling the game back our way.

Losing Wood now is going to really hurt, as he has been our most effective runner and featured in so many chains, and intercepts.

Probably Owens or Nasiah to the wing now.

Can anyone who followed the media yesterday say if Stan Alves and any of his players were involved?

All the noise has been about the first Lyon era, but the 95-98 era was amazing too and deserved more than a loser's medal in one GF and a couple of Brownlows.
Did you manage to watch it? Everitt, Winmar, Loewe, Harvey, Burke were all there. Vidovic did media for the club during the week.

Given that Sam Fisher was there I think the club would've invited all past players - hard to imagine they would decide on not inviting a past player.

Another amazing win with a depleted squad. Loving the effort in the 4th quarter.

Bytel didn't get up but then had a big game for the Zebras so we still have a little depth.

Saints are proving that effort and hard running can make up for talent and experience. Sustainability is the question now.

Has the Wood news actually been x confirmed? Can’t see it in the media anywhere.

Until he's x-rayed they won't know I'm guessing. Should know this morning.

Did you manage to watch it? Everitt, Winmar, Loewe, Harvey, Burke were all there. Vidovic did media for the club during the week.

Given that Sam Fisher was there I think the club would've invited all past players - hard to imagine they would decide on not inviting a past player.

Was Traianidis there tho

Yeah I thought it was great and I was in M3. They got loud as you'd expect coming back and getting level. Then we absolutely gave it back to them as we kicked 5 in a row again. Footy banter is the best. Ya got to take a bit to give a bit. Perhaps though my age sees that through a different lense as a veteran of Windy Hill, Arden St and of course Vic Park. If we don't want segregated supporters then you have to live with opposition. For mine, from where where we were behind the middle of the goals the atmosphere was electric and that was because of the two groups of supporters.

I've been going for 45 years and an official member for 32 years (darn the lost members records before 1991) and I'm struggling to remember a better atmosphere at a home and away game but perhaps it's tinged with the emotion of what the game meant in history.

In any case we don't get to play in many massive games like that so breathe it in and enjoy it. We bloody deserve it.
I remember going to a game at Moorabbin with a friend who brought along a mate who was from England. He commented on how back home the crowds would be separated and how great it was to have all of the supporters in together. Probably something we take for granted a bit but I reckon the atmosphere is better for it.

Not sure what fair has to do with it.

A key we edge we have over other teams is our run and pace and RTB wanted to take advantage of that by increasing it. Hence Cordy who is one of our worst runners, if not the worst, was subbed off.

Essendon had gotten top in the clearances and so maximising our run was a way of wrestling the game back our way.

Losing Wood now is going to really hurt, as he has been our most effective runner and featured in so many chains, and intercepts.

Probably Owens or Nasiah to the wing now.
Both teams subbed off key forwards. Just wasn't a night for them.

Re-watching the game now and the chirp from Langford in the lead up... Pretty pathetic for them to come out the way they did with that said.

“I think they booked us in for a win,” Langford said. “They’re 2-0 and we are 2-0. We are going to build right throughout this week, and we’re going to come out nice and hot against them.”

******* gee whiz champion, pretty sure we kicked the first 5 goals and our depleted forward line with spearhead forward aka. natural winger or mid Mitch Owens was going harder at the ball than anyone on your team. Had the better of Ridley a few times 1-on-1, crashed packs as a 19 year old, took contested balls right out of the hands of "A grade midfielder" Darcy Parish, scrapped away with multiple defenders when outnumbered and often won. I'd say they poked the bear/gigantic teenage beast in Owens and got bullied. The Mitch Owens love affair grows though.

View attachment 1648189

View attachment 1648190
Mitchi-sans second effort to tackle Quagmire made me go full brownlow night Fev

I remember going to a game at Moorabbin with a friend who brought along a mate who was from England. He commented on how back home the crowds would be separated and how great it was to have all of the supporters in together. Probably something we take for granted a bit but I reckon the atmosphere is better for it.
Where I grew up the op supporters were behind a fence floor to roof high in a small corner of the stadium lol

If anyone has Kayo and wants to watch the Mini replay of the game, check out the crowd shot around 14:29 and freeze it- there's a man sitting there near the bottom of the screen just right of centre with glasses on, who looks uncanningly like Allan Jeans..maybe the ghost of Yabby was there? I had to go back and take a second look.

Re-watching the game now and the chirp from Langford in the lead up... Pretty pathetic for them to come out the way they did with that said.

“I think they booked us in for a win,” Langford said. “They’re 2-0 and we are 2-0. We are going to build right throughout this week, and we’re going to come out nice and hot against them.”

******* gee whiz champion, pretty sure we kicked the first 5 goals and our depleted forward line with spearhead forward aka. natural winger or mid Mitch Owens was going harder at the ball than anyone on your team. Had the better of Ridley a few times 1-on-1, crashed packs as a 19 year old, took contested balls right out of the hands of "A grade midfielder" Darcy Parish, scrapped away with multiple defenders when outnumbered and often won. I'd say they poked the bear/gigantic teenage beast in Owens and got bullied. The Mitch Owens love affair grows though.

View attachment 1648189

View attachment 1648190
How good was it. First 5, then challenged and responded in the 3rd, then challenged and responded again in the 4th. Going to watch for a third time tonight after work

Autopsy Round 3, 2023: St.Kilda v Essendon *150 YEARS OF THE SAINTS*