List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Dow definitely had more effect on Sunday's game than Bytel, he moves well without being elite. Bytel is what a call a stationary ball winner type player, where Dow was winning his disposals and breaking through traffic on the move. You would think Dow's game would adapt to the AFL better but he plays in a very similiar fashion to Adam Cerra. If we think we need more midfield depth he would be ok. Having said that I would love to see the club commit to another draft and continue to develop the players on our list.

If I saw this article 2 years ago I would have been pretty "meh" about it, but he lifted last year and again this year. You can see he's got pretty good footy IQ, the way he gives instruction, picks when to come off his man and assist, and he's on the angry pills this year which says to me he's 100% buying in and believes in the club/group.

Happy with this.

AFLPA would quite literally strike mid season I reckon to shut this down.

Yeah this is an ambit claim to get some concessions out of the AFLPA
I reckon they’ll find some middle ground that locks players into their first contract.

That Horne Francis episode would have been a bad look in their eyes.

I reckon they’ll find some middle ground that locks players into their first contract.

That Horne Francis episode would have been a bad look in their eyes.

Maybe they will look at something to penalise oppo clubs taking on young players still in their first contract, or similar. Seems pretty obvious that Port were putting in the work to get him, it wasn't just JHF who woke up end of season and went "you know what? maybe I should get in touch with Port?".

Maybe some kind of additional draft pick points penalty?

Yes seb has been much maligned, but at the end of the day, he has got every last drop of talent out of himself to end up a dual best and fairest winner, and will end up a 200 game player for the club. Not many players end up with a cv like that. Apart from Geary, we haven’t really had a long serving, 200+ game player since the rooey, Joey, dal days. It’s hard to play one afl game, let alone 200.

Harmes at Melbourne is looking at moving next year & has sounded out the Saints, he want's to play inside midfield which he can't break into at Melb & is keen to get to us.

In saying that i don't thick he is what we need unless he replaces say a Jones i got that from his Dad at golf.
Harmes is an absolute flog of the highest order. No thanks

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

Contract talks?

Sign him sign him sign him

Mad Looney Tunes GIF by MOODMAN

Let's do it right this time. Now our list is starting to take shape I hate the idea of going all out for veterans that we think push us over the edge.
Keep hitting the draft and developing from within so we don't end up having too many of the same age and having to bottom out when our best players near the end.
This is a massive opportunity for our club to set ourselves up for sustained success.
Giving ourselves a small window is a bad idea considering the amount of luck you need to win 1.

Yes seb has been much maligned, but at the end of the day, he has got every last drop of talent out of himself to end up a dual best and fairest winner, and will end up a 200 game player for the club. Not many players end up with a cv like that. Apart from Geary, we haven’t really had a long serving, 200+ game player since the rooey, Joey, dal days. It’s hard to play one afl game, let alone 200.
100%

Should be in the F/S thread, but I can’t be arsed searching for it…

But our current potential F/S watch stands at*;
  • Seb Ross (186 games)
  • Tim Membrey (153 games)
  • Jack Billings (152 games)
  • Jack Sinclair (147 games)
  • Jimmy Webster (135 games)
  • Jack Steele (123 games)
  • Jade Gresham (119 games)
Then…
  • Rowan Marshall (92 games)
  • Callum Wilkie (91 games)
  • Josh Battle (83 games)
  • Hunter Clark (74 games)
  • Dan McKenzie (73 games)
  • Brad Hill (68 games)
  • Dan Butler (66 games)
  • Dougal Howard (63 games)
  • Ben Paton (61 games)
  • Max King (60 games)
  • Nick Coffield (51 games)

*club games

Let’s get some Viagra in those water bottles gents!

Everything I've heard about the bloke is that he is actually a great bloke? Very much loved by his team mates, even does some great work with charities

Maybe it's just that shit eating grin of his that makes you feel that way?

Harmes I don’t quite see if he’s moving for mid minutes, thankfully we’re not in a position to be making those kinds of guarantees/deals.

Paddy Dow I’m very interested in if he comes cheap/free. Would love to see what our coaches and system could get from him. Will just be the next Jono O’Rourke staying at Carlton at this rate

Team, we have invested in one of the best development guys in the business.
Let him do his thing.
One of the best appointments we have made. Damien Carroll is amazing, he was my coach at gippy power back in the day and was just so methodical in the way he spoke and went about it. You would seriously run through walls if he asked you to, just an amazing bloke

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Let's do it right this time. Now our list is starting to take shape I hate the idea of going all out for veterans that we think push us over the edge.
Keep hitting the draft and developing from within so we don't end up having too many of the same age and having to bottom out when our best players near the end.
This is a massive opportunity for our club to set ourselves up for sustained success.
Giving ourselves a small window is a bad idea considering the amount of luck you need to win 1.

Unless Ross changes his mind, he was going long window and not short. So I hope so

One of the best appointments we have made. Damien Carroll is amazing, he was my coach at gippy power back in the day and was just so methodical in the way he spoke and went about it. You would seriously run through walls if he asked you to, just an amazing bloke

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Is this Damien's 2nd year? This young players seem to be developing not sure about last year. I thing having Goddard is also good. As well having a goal coach coming in will assist Goddard in his development as coach.

He's a guy who is easy to dislike but we'd be crazy not to look at any decent player who is out there. He's wanting inside mid time and he looks like the type that could do well there. He's always played well against us.

Hes 28 next year though

We've got enough young kids that also want to play as an inside mid

Should be in the F/S thread, but I can’t be arsed searching for it…

But our current potential F/S watch stands at*;
  • Seb Ross (186 games)
  • Tim Membrey (153 games)
  • Jack Billings (152 games)
  • Jack Sinclair (147 games)
  • Jimmy Webster (135 games)
  • Jack Steele (123 games)
  • Jade Gresham (119 games)
Then…
  • Rowan Marshall (92 games)
  • Callum Wilkie (91 games)
  • Josh Battle (83 games)
  • Hunter Clark (74 games)
  • Dan McKenzie (73 games)
  • Brad Hill (68 games)
  • Dan Butler (66 games)
  • Dougal Howard (63 games)
  • Ben Paton (61 games)
  • Max King (60 games)
  • Nick Coffield (51 games)

*club games

Let’s get some Viagra in those water bottles gents!

Being a shit side for a decade has cost us a high turnover like it did the 80s and early 90s. Geelong and Dogs had way more father sons because they had fairly settled sides. We have 12 players left from our list 5 years ago. There is a good chance Gresham and DMac are gone at the end of this year and Billings would want to show something before the end of the year to get another contract.

Hes 28 next year though

We've got enough young kids that also want to play as an inside mid
There’s a constant obsession with clubs playing youth. Geelong have bucked that trend. The top teams are now playing a very experienced starting midfield group with their youth playing a more supporting role.

Harmes is at a good age as long as we think he’s best 22. I’d take him even know he looks like some newly discovered amphibian that’s just crawled out of the Mariana Trench.