List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

As it stands, personally I'm quite happy to part ways with as many of Xon, West, Trew, Winder, Clark, Rotham, Foley, Petrucelle, Edwards, SPS, Naitanui, Shuey and Hurn as we can.

Ledwards or Hedwards? - I am more inclined to keep both, and SPS since he has been serviceable this year. I'd like to try and find a home for Petch but everyone else I'm happy to show the door. Anymore than 7 players will be cutting a little too deep, 7 this year 5/6 the year after including Witherden 2024.

Senior list

Out (7)
Retired: Hurn, Shuey, Naitanui
Delisted: Clark, Foley, XON
Delist and rerookie: Jilliams

In (7)
Culley elevated
Five ND picks
One random trade (Ruscoe or Brockman or someone)

Rookie list:
Out
Culley elevated
West, Winder, Trew delisted

In:
One MSD pick (Maric? Teal? Gilbey?) retained, plus the Cat Bs.
Jilliams re-rookied
Two RD picks

That’s where I’m at currently.

Don't mind it. Surprising you've actually got the axe out 👀

I don't think Naitanui will retire FWIW. He's still paid well to be a nothing player but most recognisable face of the club and merchandise pig. Also without a farewell game?

Hurn and Shuey yes.

Not sure what that would do to your plans if it happened as only 4 ND picks wouldn't seem enough.

Rotham is obvious, but does this mean you're giving Petch another contract? Isn't he out end of 2023? Perhaps that answers my question if Nicnat stays.

I just don't get it with DGB. Has some mongrel but it undersized by true modern standards. I think he's a great 2nd defender (lock down) at best.

Sam Taylor on the other hand, may only be 1cm taller but he's always looked stronger and reading of the play is FAR better. Two way defender too.

DGB is overrated for mine. I'd rather spend the currency on someone else.
What currency would it take?

3rd rounder.

He went pick 3 for a reason and the Hawks have been pretty average for the past two season.

Thanks for the updates mate, it's appreciated
AhUZcGwGHRuNA78QFnoECBAQAQ&usg=AOvVaw1aOw2g8G8dysqNrFwplDI4

This is where you can watch . It is half time . Ground has drained a lot from the start so will be a better 2nd half if it doesn't rain .

Senior list

Out (7)
Retired: Hurn, Shuey, Naitanui
Delisted: Clark, Foley, XON
Delist and rerookie: Jilliams

In (7)
Culley elevated
Five ND picks
One random trade (Ruscoe or Brockman or someone)

Rookie list:
Out
Culley elevated
West, Winder, Trew delisted

In:
One MSD pick (Maric? Teal? Gilbey?) retained, plus the Cat Bs.
Jilliams re-rookied
Two RD picks

That’s where I’m at currently.
that looks good. thalldo

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think Teal will go early mid season. I would pick Ryan in the first and Gilbey in the second. Gilbey and Teal to me just about equal on talent buy I think Gilbey is 2 preseasons away from AFL so can pick up a decent talent very cheap.

Kobe Ryan with the right development is a genuine best 22 Cripps replacement.

Buller isn't Afl quality, Maric is a tweener playing overage as a stronger body.

There's a few others but not much im confident on ATM.

Recall Kobe Ryan's coach was surprised he wasnt picked up.

Size his only query?

Has the skills.

What currency would it take?

3rd rounder.

He went pick 3 for a reason and the Hawks have been pretty average for the past two season.
I'd rather spend 40 on Livingstone than DGB personally. Different possies I know but you get my drift. (It think the Hawks would asking for a pick 25-29 range too)

He's won't be a #1 lockdown defender imo. Bazzo will be just as good, if not better.

Only thing I like about DGB is that he played for the Black Ducks.

Don't mind it. Surprising you've actually got the axe out 👀

I don't think Naitanui will retire FWIW. He's still paid well to be a nothing player but most recognisable face of the club and merchandise pig. Also without a farewell game?

Hurn and Shuey yes.

Not sure what that would do to your plans if it happened as only 4 ND picks wouldn't seem enough.

Rotham is obvious, but does this mean you're giving Petch another contract? Isn't he out end of 2023? Perhaps that answers my question if Nicnat stays.

Hmm, good question about Petch. I’d forgotten he was out of contract. If he stays healthy for the rest of the season (big If given his history and our current state) I’d give him an extension. If he breaks down again he might be gone, possibly in some sort of a swap for Ruscoe or whichever other random we bring in. I think there’s enough to work with that another club would take a punt on being able to keep him on the park.

Otherwise, if Nic doesn’t retire and we need to create one more spot, I dunno, maybe we delist and rerookie Rotham? I think SPS and Witherden have both earned extensions. Not sure who would be next in the gun.

Would still like to see Rotham given a run up the ground instead of a key back position.

Was training as second ruck in the pre-season before he had the arm injury.

Hopefully with Edwards and Bazzo due back soon it will free him up to go back to that.

Said it before but Rothams best game for the club was last year vs Saints when he was allowed to be more attacking as that second ruck.

Even as a tall wingman could be worth a try.

Thoughts from the game, it rained solidly all night and the ground looked ok but as soon as the players went to ground bucket loads of water sprayed up. So was a tough day, as the ball was sliding around and was hard to handle. I played on the ground before when wet and it's bloody tough to play on when wet like that - so I'll cut them all some slack.

I was probably more impressed with Vic Metro than I was the Young guns, this was last trial game for VM before champs so they would've been very keen to play well.

• Philactides was BOG for mine, he racked it up off half back and is a top 10 pick. I think he can end up top 5, especially if he goes into the midfield and needs to relax a bit when kicking as he can rush it. But he's got speed, power and great skills.
  • Archie Roberts, another first rounder for mine. He racked it up off half back and his kicking and how clean he was today was great to watch, he cracked in a few times too.
  • Docking, had a great game and I reckon earnt his spot on the VM team. Small half forward with great run and skills, was really good early and dominated the last quarter.
Nyko, Will Brown and Jake Smith were also really good.

Young Guns
  • Tough conditions for Maric, but he fought his way into the game and did some nice things. Want to watch him again, as think he'll star in dry conditions. Could've kicked 3 or 4, think he finished with 1.3.
  • Tedcastle, conditions suited him and he took full advantage with 3 snags I believe, had real nice forward craft. Slotted a beauty from a tough angle in the pocket, wind was coming straight at him too.
  • Rye Penny, had a very good game off half back. Was mostly clean and used it well, ran to support.
  • Luke Teal, got tackled in the wet side of the oval right in front of me and he would've been carrying 3 kilos of water after that. Had some nice moments, but not enough of it ultimately. He's got some nice attributes, and he noticeably was really trying, you could see he really wanted it but probably didn't have the day he wanted. Was ok.
  • Petric did some nice things across half back
  • Will Elliott, for a guy over 200cm kicked an awesome goal. Down the city end, the ball if it hit the ground would slide 30+ metres and he picked up one that bounced in front of him on the run and turned his defender inside out and kicked truly. Did a few other nice things.
  • Clay tucker, took some nice overhead marks early and tap work was good.