List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

Ask yourself - Would Narkle help us to be competing for a flag in 2026?

I will back up a bit here.

So you would be against Narkle as a 2nd pick in the MSD?

With the plan to replace one of Trew, Xon, West or Clark? Or Petrucelle or Winder.

Narkle is a mile ahead of 6 or 7 or our underperforming fringe / depth players and would be better than Gaff and Shuey is done.

We have a long list of underpreforming mids and HFF'S.

With the plan to replace one of Trew, Xon, West or Clark? Or Petrucelle or Winder.

Narkle is a mile ahead of 6 or 7 or our underperforming fringe / depth players and would be better than Gaff and Shuey is done.

Miles better than those players yet averaging less than 20 disposals a game in the VFL. Thats a big call.

The trade option has passed us. 2-3 playes of trade value are absolute structural essentials to keep. Barrass is one possibility but that wil never happen.

The draft with minor trades will take 3 seasons for us to emetge as a threat. We must trade in real quality not pick 8-15 type quality.

Of the player we fielded yesterday (kids aside) who would get a game in a competative AFL team? Allen, Kelly, Barrass and perhaps Sheed. The reality is the others are WAFL standard. The tragidy is tey when the play WAFL they dont dominate, the may make the Beagles best 5 and have fan boys salivating but they are way short of being the BOG.

Simmo is on the money - we are not good enough and must go to the draft.

Depends wbo is traded.

Still get interest in players like Duggan, Ryan, Sheed and Barrass.

Barrass is the one tbh but he wont leave WA imo. He's 27 and we all onow what happens to one club Eagles players after 30. The next 4 years will be Barrass at his peak. And we will be rebuilding for a fair amount of that 4 years.

Miles better than those players yet averaging less than 20 disposals a game in the VFL. Thats a big call.

Look at who we are comparing. Trew, West, Clark, Xon, Winder and Foley.

And Narkle has delivered 30 possesion game at the top level.

He a 25 year old with AFL experience who's shown glipses but injury has held him back.

How many more seasons do we persist with Trew, West, Clark, Winder, Foley, Petrecelle, Xon etc?

Look at who we are comparing. Trew, West, Clark, Xon, Winder and Foley.

And Narkle has delivered 30 possesion game at the top level.

He a 25 year old with AFL experience who's shown glipses but injury has held him back.

How many more seasons do we persist with Trew, West, Clark, Winder, Foley, Petrecelle, Xon etc?
I dont want to persist with any of them but I also dont want to bring in old average players to replace them as its pointless. Its all same same. Narkle has delivered one 30+ game in a flogging of Gold Coast. Its hardly a ringing endorsement. West had a 29 disposal game against Melbourne but it doesn't mean he isnt average.

In that vote how about you add who you intend to keep.

No to Narkle let's keep Trew instead.

Or West.

Or Xon.

Because that is what you are really saying.
You're making it sound like narkle is the only option out there...he's not. I doubt he's even the best option
Personally with our list the way it is I'd rather we went for recently overlooked youngsters
Like others have said on here players like K Ryan, gilbey, teal or the best performing small forward.
Drafting someone in who's probably performed worse than sps had for carlton isnt going to help our rebuild
I understand that you get fixated on certain players ala that north Melbourne/hawks guy or ben miller more recently but narkle would be about as useful as the mortons or oakley nicholls, of the world

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I haven't seen much to convince me Narkle is worth a free hit and I suspect he'd go as poorly in our system as others who are plugged in there and dropped repeatedly.

My preference is to go with the yoof, search for untapped potential and high ceilings. Narkle will be 26 before he even completes a preseason with us. That doesn't seem like the answer for where we are at

Thoughts from the game, it rained solidly all night and the ground looked ok but as soon as the players went to ground bucket loads of water sprayed up. So was a tough day, as the was sliding around and was hard to handle. I played on the ground before when wet and it's bloody tough to play on when wet like that - so I'll cut them all some slack.

I was probably more impressed with Vic Metro than I was the Young guns, this was last trial game for VM before champs so they would've been very keen to play well.

• Philactides was BOG for mine, he racked it up off half back and is a top 10 pick. I think he can end up top 5, especially if he goes into the midfield and needs to relax a bit when kicking as he can rush it. But he's got speed, power and great skills.
  • Archie Roberts, another first rounder for mine. He racked it up off half back and his kicking and how clean he was today was great to watch, he cracked in a few times too.
  • Docking, had a great game and I reckon earnt his spot on the VM team. Small half forward with great run and skills, was really good early and dominated the last quarter.
Nyko, Will Brown and Jake Smith were also really good.

Young Guns
  • Tough conditions for Maric, but he fought his way into the game and did some nice things. Want to watch him again, as think he'll star in dry conditions. Could've kicked 3 or 4, think he finished with 1.3.
  • Tedcastle, conditions suited him and he took full advantage with 3 snags I believe, had real nice forward craft. Slotted a beauty from a tough angle in the pocket, wind was coming straight at him too.
  • Rye Penny, had a very good game off half back. Was mostly keen and used it well, ran to support.
  • Luke Teal, got tackled in the wet side of the oval right in front of me and he would've been carrying 3 kilos of water after that. Had some nice moments, but not enough of it ultimately. He's got some nice attributes, and he noticeably was really trying, you could see he really wanted it but probably didn't have the day he wanted. Was ok.
  • Petric did some nice things across half back
  • Will Elliott, for a guy over 200cm kicked an awesome goal. Down the city end, the ball if it hit the ground would slide 30+ metres and he picked up one that bounced in front of him on the run and turned his defender inside out and kicked truly. Did a few other nice things.
  • Clay tucker, took some nice overhead marks early and tap work was good.
Thanks for your report, love your work!

Some unusual names, Tedcastle sounds like his first and second name were fused and Docking, well, docking is not everyone’s cup of tea :p

I recon if he gets a 2nd chance he'll be worth it and is well ahead of the 6 you mentioned IMO.

Depends wbo is traded.

Still get interest in players like Duggan, Ryan, Sheed and Barrass.

Barrass is the one tbh but he wont leave WA imo. He's 27 and we all onow what happens to one club Eagles players after 30. The next 4 years will be Barrass at his peak. And we will be rebuilding for a fair amount of that 4 years.
Of the players other than Barrass (agreed not going) only Ryan would bring value in a trade and then only a second rounder. The cupboard is bare.

The argument isn’t Narkle vs Winder, Trew or West though. It’s Narkle vs Gilbey, Teal and Ryan, seemingly talented youngsters that went undrafted for a variety of reasons.

Since we’re apparently going over that trade for the umpteenth time since October, what do you think happens if we don’t get involved in the Port-North trade and hang onto pick 2?

Specifically, when our pick comes up, who do we take? And who’s gone off the board at pick 1?

Would still like to see Rotham given a run up the ground instead of a key back position.

Was training as second ruck in the pre-season before he had the arm injury.

Hopefully with Edwards and Bazzo due back soon it will free him up to go back to that.

Said it before but Rothams best game for the club was last year vs Saints when he was allowed to be more attacking as that second ruck.

Even as a tall wingman could be worth a try.
Has to be tried

Link doesn’t work cob
Well if you can’t be bothered finding it then.
The overall take from the interview is that the Top Victoria prospects didn’t want to leave Melbourne and that interstate clubs were working from a different talent pool to Melbourne based clubs in last years draft.
Wasn’t rumour was straight from Jason McCartney GWS footy manager.

This.

We need to identify what quality we have on our list, cycle them into the team on a long term basis and then supplement that with players through the draft.

It's the drafting & trading in of players like Narkle that got us into our current position to begin with.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk