Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

Too many are focused on the AUGUST line. In reality more was mentioned ....

No decision on Hinkley’s future until August​

Jake Niall

ByJake Niall

February 14, 2023 — 5.54pm

Port Adelaide will not make a call on whether senior coach Ken Hinkley continues in his role until close to the end of the 2023 season.

Hinkley said that he, the club board, led by chairman David Koch, and club administration had already agreed “100 per cent” that there would be no decision on whether he continued as coach until August.

Port Adelaide coach Ken Hinkley.CREDIT:AFL PHOTOS

“We’ve got a commitment to go to the end of the season, with David and the board and myself - and the whole footy department - on the same page,” Hinkley told The Age. “We’ll get to August before decisions are made.

“You can ask anyone at our club and you’ll get the same response.”

IMO this is fairly clear ... In August they will look at things...
Did Port make finals?
How has Hinkley performed?

If Port are in finals, then I doubt they will say anything until the campaign is over. We all just need to chill out.

I am confident that Hinkley will NOT be coaching Port next year.

34B6D6EE-A71E-4202-823D-A706BABF9902.jpeg

Was like, “getting off the gaspers has made Boof quite insightful”

A case for stability, through sacking Ken Hinkley: if Koch does fold by the end of the year, how much longer would Ken actually have left in the tank? 4-5 years? Carr presents as someone who could be a 10-12 year coach, get to a few prelims, obtain a few 5-win certificates. Sacking Ken and promoting Carr is the only move that can be made. We exist to be stable.

A good read. Adds a bit of perspective for those that think Carr is a monty to leave, with the choice of all vacant positions at this feet. The more I think about it, I actually think the opportunity for Koch to spin the narrative that Ken chose to leave (i.e. to Richmond), rather than we sacked him, is wide open. It’s win/win for him, get to be the nice guy, no blood on his hands, get the fans back on side while installing Carr or someone else.

He'd be all in on Carr though, and that will s**t me more than anything if we lose him to Richmond.

I'm hoping his ties to Adelaide are strong enough to keep him here.
Lad was checking the early odds on who will be Richmond's next coach. Reckons Carr was 4th favourite and Kenny not even on the list 🤣

Never ever believed that hinkley is some sort of self serving person, who does not have the interest of the club players the job he does at heart; that is honest and committed. That is a real cleavage between what the antis repeat repeatedly. They code it with words like accountability which mean nothing of any value.

Donald Trump GIF by Election 2016

Get your hand off it mate! Hinkley is being paid a motsa for his role. I am sure he loves the players, that is obvious. Loves the club? Not so sure on that. I would say the gloss has significantly worn off for him in 2023. He might have once loved the club, but he certainly doesnt understand it. Trumpeting the co-captains debacle set the club back two years, and showed he has no friggin' idea!

As far as being self-serving is concerned, that was well and truly answered years ago, when he held the Gold Coast mega offer over Koch's head to get his contract renegotiated. It is all about Ken Hinkley!

I love your work, Thundercloud. You really put a smile on my dial. That last sentence is an absolute ripper.

Can I ask some questions to you? I'm just interested in your point of view.

Are you happy with Hinkley as our coach next year or should we look elsewhere?
If you are happy with Hinkley when should we sign him?
If you want to sign Hinkley, does a milestone objective have to met this year?
Is so, what is it?
And if that milestone is met, how long is the term of Hinkley's contract?

Get your hand off it mate! Hinkley is being paid a motsa for his role. I am sure he loves the players, that is obvious. Loves the club? Not so sure on that. I would say the gloss has significantly worn off for him in 2023. He might have once loved the club, but he certainly doesnt understand it. Trumpeting the co-captains debacle set the club back two years, and showed he has no friggin' idea!

As far as being self-serving is concerned, that was well and truly answered years ago, when he held the Gold Coast mega offer over Koch's head to get his contract renegotiated. It is all about Ken Hinkley!
I cant see any significant relevance of what he is paid. Economics supply and demand in a market economy.
Again gold coast is just maybe who really knows and managerial level workers i would think are entitled to examine the market. Co captains is now back to tradition which is great.

I love your work, Thundercloud. You really put a smile on my dial. That last sentence is an absolute ripper.

Can I ask some questions to you? I'm just interested in your point of view.

Are you happy with Hinkley as our coach next year or should we look elsewhere?
If you are happy with Hinkley when should we sign him?
If you want to sign Hinkley, does a milestone objective have to met this year?
Is so, what is it?
And if that milestone is met, how long is the term of Hinkley's contract?
2 years with below provisos

we will be in finals. Win at least 1.
both parties agreed on august. I like the current model of hinkley being on-boundary etc as his role.
so role definition important and davies etc in the position to know if josh could do the role of THE head person.

I can't think of a club that would touch Donuts as senior coach...including GC imo.
Maybe as director of coaching or some shit, but footy clubs are results driven (excluding Koch and PA).
The Media can cup his balls all they want...clubs think differently. They probably all know that Carr is coach and Ken is bench boy.

I cant see any significant relevance of what he is paid. Economics supply and demand in a market economy.
Again gold coast is just maybe who really knows and managerial level workers i would think are entitled to examine the market. Co captains is now back to tradition which is great.
It's over mate. Blind Freddie can see it. I am not actually a Hinkley hater, I thought he was great in our early years, but the team & club have outgrown him. It's time to move on. Let's finish the season, do the best we can, part ways amicably, and bring in the new fresh voice.

It will happen. We wont have ken as our coach next year.

both parties agreed on august. I like the current model of hinkley being on-boundary etc as his role.
so role definition important and davies etc in the position to know if josh could do the role of THE head person.
In this scenario, when do we win a Premiership?

Carr will be gone before those 2 years are up

Midjourney, Ken Hinkley cleavage

Justin Leppitsch is the favourite for it.

Incredible after his time at Brisbane!
Not really
His time at Brisbane was comparable to being sent to the eagles tomorrow but with 2 thirds of the budget

Since then he has done time at Richmond for their flags and now at Collingwood as head of strategy

When was the last time a South/West Australian was giving a head coaching gig inside of Victoria for his first time as head coach?